GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Souls

Enter a dark world filled with despair and threaded by hope where your ability to creatively strategize, learn and overcome unpredictable and unique challenges determines your fate. Dark Souls will demand your absolute concentration, unflinchingly punish your mistakes, but reward your ability to learn from death. Each challenge is a mind game met with endless combinations that will test your ability to creatively strategize a way to conquer unimaginable monsters and progress deeper into this bleak and forbidding environment filled with the un-dead.
Average Customer Rating:
8.256
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (164 reviews)
10 stars
75
9 stars
42
8 stars
9
7 stars
4
6 stars
6
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
11
127 out of 16079%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Souls
Review 1 for Dark Souls
Totally Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Maclane0911
Location: Des Moines, IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has to be one of the best RPG's I've ever played, and I've played allot. I'm a HUGE fan of The Elder Scrolls like basically everyone that play's RPG's is. But setting TES aside for awhile and picking up this game, GREAT CHOICE! This game is AMAZINGLY realistic. Coming from me which I've trained in SCA, you know training in real sword fighting to be a Knight, and perform in Renaissance festivals and stuff like that. Your character carries his own weight, and by this I mean, he/she feels and moves with the armor, not oblivious to the fact that your wearing Knight Armor made out of Steel/Leather. No, your character moves slower, and the armor makes the sounds it would depending on the movement of your character. The "Ka-Chink" of the armor is all there and amazing sounding. Plus, it weighs you down, so like I said, you move slower, at a slight jog rather that a full on jog/run. Your characters moves are limited, you can't go jumping of huge ledges and walk away unscaved, you can't hop your way up steep slopes, nothing like that. It's all realistic, like what a real Knight would be able to do in his armor. Like what I do in My Iron armor. Now to the Sword fighting. It's got a real response to it. Previous reviewer's said that his character didn't respond quick enough, well lets see you actually put on real heavy armor, pick up a REAL Shield and sword and try and fight a Knight or even your basic Militia. It's insanely tasking and brutal, and your arm goes Numb withing less that 5 mins, it takes all your stamina to walk around in the armor and swing the sword 15 times, let alone fighting for 30 or more minutes. Or until you win your Dual or spparing match. This game so far is the closest RPG to reality. This is why I love it. Because i'm tired of being Davahkiin and running around slaughtering everything on Master difficulty, and looking slightly fake while doing it. Now don't take that wrong, I LOVE TES's, And I'm huge on the lore of Tamriel. But I'm just saying, this game is a great reality. You want the closest thing to swinging the sword yourself, play Dark Souls. IT is challenging, but its more time consuming that anything. You just have to learn, and all this is coming from a Player and real life Warrior who plays this game using only the Knight class. Although I assume that the feel is the same with any Class, Thief, Cleric, Warrior, or Knight. So in this HUGE Review, I am explaining in the End, BUY OR AT LEAST RENT THIS GAME, AND HAVE PASTIENCE WHILE PLAYING IT, AND YOU WILL FIND IT IS A TRULY UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Souls
Not for the Casual Gamer, Game with a Lesson
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
Teague
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I read the reviews for this game and listened to the constant ramble of dying over and over; yet I still got this game. I started playing and in fact started dying over and over again like everyone else was; but as I played more into the game I found myself dying less and less.
While I was first playing, I thought that I had to level up my character to be able to beat the boss of the area, or grind my way to oblivion just to hold this super awesome shield. I continued with this and finished the game.
I then restarted the game with a new character, and did not die once. I finished the entire game the second time, at level 1. This game doesn't focus on leveling a character easily and fighting; to me and to my friends that have played it, it more or less levels up the Player; definitely teaching patience.
You'll enjoy this game if you give it a shot. Play a few hours, stop, then come back and play a few more hours. You'll find yourself enjoying this game very easily.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dark Souls
Dont be put off by the difficulty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, a few weeks ago I bought Dark Souls. I spent the first few hours getting used to the controls and beefing up my character. Now most people say that you should "prepare to die", youll be crying in a corner because its so hard. Not true. This put me off from buying it as I suck at games but as long as you A: keep up your shield constantly, especially in new areas B: get a bow and weak arrows to pull enemies toward you so you dont get ganged up on C: get magic, for the same reasons as a bow and arrows D: just move slowly and pay attention to enemies in front and behind you. Follow those steps and youll do fine and have a crazy good time. The gameplay, once you get past the fact that dying isnt a big deal, and follow my steps, is so fun. The controls are well done, and never conk out on me, I always feel like what I mean to do happens and if I die, its usually my fault. The enemies are cool and fun to fight, and most importantly the areas you explore are mysterious, dark and super super cool. I love how every area ties in with the next and as you go along you discover shortcuts to link the areas together even more then they already are.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dark Souls
You need to love to die!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
Cricket
Location: Spencer, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Look people if you know nothing of this game back from the PS3 Demon souls and your looking for a game to just play around on and win all the time the first go around then this game is not for the light of heart. This game is going to push you down and kick you when your down. YOUR GOING TO DIE about 500 times plus. So if you hate to see your dead on the screen then don't even bother lol! If you want a challenging game then don't look no further this game is going to give you that and much more. If you see other reviews that say this game sucks because you die a lot and can't get no where, well the object of the game is getting that achievment of winning that boss fight or getting that far into the game. Its also getting to say hey I beat that game when your friend threw the controller down about the 400th time seeing your dead on the screen. Plus this is a game for getting a group of friend's online and getting some help if you want to. All in all a challenging game even for the hardcore gamer! A must buy for me!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Souls
Not for the faint of heart....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
thatguy1234
Location: Albany, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is absolutely amazing, anyone who is hating on this game due to no storyline obviously did not play into deep enough to uncover the storyline, this game is the most challenging game I have ever played but it is also the most rewarding. The fact that anything can kill you at anytime really keeps you on your toes. Although the boss fights can seem impossibly hard and the progression can be repetitive when your dying constantly, the game teaches you how to master it. You don't have to "not have a life" to be good at this game, you just have to learn from it and not suck. This is not a game your going to hack and slash your way through in 8 hours. It takes time and patients and rewards those who come to understand these terms. All and all I recommend this game for anyone who really wants a challenging and rewarding game play and if your in the beginning and hate it already ( for those of you getting destroyed by the taurus demon).... I hate to break it to you but this game does not get any easier.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dark Souls
Prepare to Die
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
TaoQ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To those people who complain this game is "too hard" Bandai's whole marketing campaign was "PREPARE TO DIE". What more do you need? It's not like they mislead you. Anyways, this game is for Hardcore gamers who love a challenge and are willing to LEARN from their mistakes. It is not a blind "Hack and Slash" but a strategy, if a enemy is too powerful use the environment to beat them, use some items, or RUN! The last appeal for this game is that you will absolutely run across insurmountable odds and you need to get past them. This if for gamers that are tired of button mashing, pretty graphic games that make you drool over the prettiness but have no substance. This game feels visceral, it plays on your frustration and makes you work hard for your progress. This is quite simply a game you are proud of when you get so far (even across a bridge) and you are proud of the fact that it is hated. Because quite simply it is hated by those that have little time or patience for old school hardcore gaming, the games that weren't pretty, they weren't about instant gratification, it was about the GAME and THE CHALLENGE and about saying I DID THAT!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dark Souls
Uniquely satisfying experience!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
Hypnotiq
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is my first review but after completing the game with 72 hours on my first character I felt compelled to tell others about it. This game is not for the faint of heart, and early deaths are an inevitability. Dark Souls is not about hand-holding, and thus the rewarding experience and sense of accomplishment is created. The game requires patience, focus, and skill, and mastering a play style is as much about learning and adapting as it is developing finesse. I played through as a thief character which requires quickness to avoid getting smashed by the multitude of enemies who can kill in only 1 or 2 swings. My roommate is playing a warrior stacked laced with plates of steel, a massive sword, and an even larger shield. Both are equally effective in their different ways. The environments are beautifully interwoven into a massive and believable world ranging from dungeons to castles, forests to lava pits, and heaven to the abyss. Beasts and enemies are beautiful with incredible variety, each terrifyingly dangerous but with distinct weaknesses that those who have mastered the finesses can exploit. Boss battles, of which there are numerous, are unique and breathtaking, and with each ensuing encounter one will say, "wow, look at THAT thing!" Gameplay is nearly perfect, as the player has tremendous control over the character, where both victory and defeat are fair because they come down to the user, not luck. Leave no rock unturned as you make your way through the horrors which await, and you will feel consumed yet masterful of the world in which your character roams. Learn to block, learn to dodge, learn to strafe, learn the dance, and go on to defeat the odds!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
33 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dark Souls
GREAT EXPERIENCE MEANT FOR THE HARDCORE!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
Jarrlee
Location: Raytown MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game....oh man this game is simply put amazing and is definitely a lasting appeal. Though another thing should be said about this game...in the begging it is hard as NAILS! though it's difficulty is what actually defines the game itself! Your death within the game is actually a core game play mechanic! From Software created this game defiantly with the Hardcore Audience in mind instead of the more casual sort. To sum this game down without ruing anything story wise it is easily the best Role Playing Game the Xbox 360 hosts and am in pure suspense for the arrival of Dark Souls 2! It will require you about 60 hours to finally complete your first play-through of the game!!! and has amazing replay-ability hosting new game plus modes increasing in difficulty each time you complete them! If your looking for a Hardcore action Role Playing Game single player experience that will be memorable, then Dark Souls is the prime definition for you!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Souls
Love hate relationship.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
Aeryn
Location: Albuquerque, NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Me and this game have a love hate relationship. I love it, just exploring, farming souls, even dying. And you die alot. I mean more than you can keep up with. It's really not for the feint of heart, do not buy this game thinking you are going to roll through everything, because it is the opposite, things roll through you.
On the upside the story is great, it sounds wonderful and the gamplay is fantastic, it makes you use your brain to figure out strategies.
Some nights i get stuck on a boss and feel like throwing my controller through my window, and others when i actually beat said boss i do a dance like i just ran from one side of a football field to the other and got a touchdown.
Very rewarding.
Lasting appeal, i can see this game being played alot. Seeing as how it takes time to get through some of the easier parts of the game. I have been playing for about a week now and still only have about 6-7 of the achievements.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Souls
Think ahead
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/12
AWSOMO1234
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is epic! you will be assassinated, poisoned, burned,stabbed,impaled by a spear, bashed in by a club and every other possible way to die. But that's what makes this game AWESOME you have to learn from your mistakes are fail miserably. Every fight fells new and exciting! For example i was looking through a window and i see 2 swords men and 2 spear men. So i pull out my bow and shoot them i see them starting to run to the house im in. But unfortunately i thin like a regular gamer and wait for them at the door and there come the spear men. I raise my shield only to get attacked from the back the two sword men from the back and next thing i know im dead losing all my souls. That just shows you have to think in this game you just cant charge into a mob of people and expect to live. and if you are one of those people dont buy this game you well just get mad rage quit and be out 40 dollars
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dark Souls
Pleasantly Surprised!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/12
CMasta
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just want to start out by saying that I would give this game a 9.5 since I can't. This is one of the only games that really created a battle within me trying to decide if I wanted to play it. On one hand I have always loved RPGs and from what I had seen the combat and exploration in this game looked to be right up my alley. However, I had heard and read about the brutal difficulty and it hardly offering anything of a tutorial.
I finally decided to buy a used copy for cheap and play it. While the game is definitely challenging and pretty much leaves you to figure out almost everything on your own, I have enjoyed exploring, fighting, and even dying within the world of Dark Souls. It's addicting.
I didn't enjoy the game at first, however. After you create your character from a wide variety of different classes and are shown a little bit how movement of your character works you get placed within the world of the game with not much direction. Sure, there is a guy within your proximity that explains a bit of what you need to do but offers little in terms of direction. This proved pretty frustrating for me since I kept going in different directions trying to find where to go only to get attacked by incredibly tough enemies and killed. I knew the game was going to be difficult but getting killed by one hit at the get go seemed too much. I have to admit, I looked up where to go on online guides from other players. Ever since then I have have been glued to my tv learning from past mistakes and figuring out how everything works(with the occasional help of forums of course).
This is one of the reasons I find the game so addicting. It's challenging but it rewards you greatly for overcoming obstacles that you once thought were impossible. Looking back a few hours of playing the game you can really see how much better you are presently. There have been boss fights that kept killing me over and over again but I would finally find the weakness, exploit it, and kill it while reaping the numerous rewards crucial for leveling up, upgrading equipment, buying equipment, etc. This also even applies to many of the smaller and more common enemies in the game as well. Your patience is always repaid.
This game would fall apart if the gameplay wasn't up to the task. Thankfully, it's fantastic. The control scheme is simple to understand but difficult to adapt to each enemy encounter. There is definitely the factor of the level of your character and the equipment being used, but largely its your quick thinking and reflexes that determine the outcome of each encounter. This makes it so its almost always your fault when you die. You need to always be aware of your surroundings and never take your hands off the controller. The only thing I really have to complain about is the fact that you can't really pause the game while playing. You better make darn sure youre in a safe place if you plan on taking a short break.
The game looks fantastic. Each area I have seen of the game has been vastly different from the last and they have all looked great. Whether its a forest area, castle grounds, or a dank dark sewer I have always enjoyed the incredible design and look of each of the environments I have found myself in. This doesn't just apply to environments, however. The character models(your character included) look fantastic. They are detailed and animated well. The bosses are exceptionally well done.
One thing that did surprise me about the game is how great the online aspect of the game is. In an RPG like this I figured that the MP experience would just be an afterthought. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself enjoying pretty much everything about it. You can use different markers that you acquire as items throughout the game to right messages to other players, spawn friends' characters into your game, and even invade a random player's world in an attempt to kill their character for some of their equipment. Im sure there's more but these are the ones that really stood out to me. There's nothing more satisfying that someone invading your game and killing them. It's a great feeling.
I could write a ton more about the game but I'll end it here. I can't believe how much Im enjoying the game. All I can say is that if you're an RPG fan then definitely give the game a try. Even if you're turned off by some of the descriptions about it you need to experience the game anyway. You'll probably be glad you did. Remember: you can always learn how things work from other players on the internet forums and such. I figure that everyone playing the game is in it together so I don't feel so bad in seeking help from others.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AlexGuitar
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about AlexGuitar is loaded.
Additional information about AlexGuitar could not be loaded.
Awesome
Posted 10/22/12
I got this game when it first came out... And i was truly surprised. I had played demon souls at a buddys house a few times and seemed interesting. When i heard they were making a game with the same elements i was excited. This game will leave you with not knowing what could happen next thats what i loved about this game. GREAT GAME 10/10 for me. They need to make another whole new game from these elements or a Dark Souls 2.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dark Souls
A Dark but Beautiful Adventure
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
Twevz
Location: oh heal no!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dark Souls is the game people have been waiting for. It is the game with the epic-ness of killing huge monsters and being a knight. It is the game that is filled with content. It is the game with amazing graphics and gameplay. But one things for sure, don't think it isn't hard. Dark Souls is the hardest game ever (I'm sure you have heard about how you will die a thousand times) but don't turn your back now. It is as fun as it is hard, the thing is don't think it will be action at every turn and that you will be like Kratos from God of war. The weapons have weight, that means that you can't really go all berserk with them you can slowly hit them for a harder and more powerful hit or faster for a more light hit but offers damage. This is a great buy for anyone who liked Skyrim, believe me you won't be disappointed but beware if your the kind of person with anger management problems then I greatly suggest you to not play this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dark Souls
Great Experience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
BoDerek27
Location: West Bumble, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I never write reviews, gamer for 15+ years, just got this game a few weeks ago with the guide. I need guides for these types of games to avoid frustration and wasted time as i only have so much time to play. Great atmosphere, gameplay and graphics, nothing else like it. I've played skyrim for 65+ hours and I've had a better time with this. Dont get me wrong, Skyrim is a great game, but the dragon battles are ho hum compared to what a BOSS battle is like thru Dark Souls. Hardcore gamers only, some decent skill and lots of patience needed, but the reward is amazing. What a sense of accomplishment when I finish level which you can rarely saw anymore, maybe at the best battle for a game, but here its basically each level. For any of those afraid of the difficultly, the guide is worth the price for the enjoyment of this game. Those looking for a real challenge its a great game to test your gaming skills, with or without the guide
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
8.7 out of 10(12)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dark Souls
Trying to give a fair opinion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
DarkSoulzdestroyer
Location: NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay, this game is awesome. Don't get me wrong at some points I just want to throw my entire system out of the window and cry myself to sleep. But, there is just something about it that makes me want to continue the epic journey that has been bestowed upon me. The feeling that you get when you defeat a boss is just over-whelming. I love that feeling, I would much rather die hundreds of times in a challenging game, than spend sixty dollars on a game that takes eight hours to complete and has absolutely no replay value. Personally I have been waiting for a game like this for years, and finally it has come. You have to at least give this one a try. If you like RPG's you will absolutely love this game. You will not be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dark Souls
Do Not Buy this Game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
BoVicexO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Save yourself a lot of time and money, and do not buy this game. So far I have spent 7 hours and 53 minutes playing, and I'm only on the third town. This game is as hard as everyone says it is, but not rewarding AT ALL. The bosses look cool, but boss battles are long, repetitive, and not a fun time in the slightest. Its a game where you will not get anywhere unless you farm for souls for hours, and if you have a life like me, that's just something you'd rather not do. I have 69k Gamerscore, I'm somebody that has played most RPGs on the XBOX 360 platform, and I can honestly say that this is the worst RPG I've ever played. I have so much hate in my heart because of this one game. Don't end up like me, please. Just stick with Fable, Skyrim, and Fallout. Don't listen to these reviews that say it's the most amazing game ever. It's not rewarding, it's boring and repetitive, the live is mediocre, and you will break your controllers. What a waste of a weekend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dark Souls
A Beautiful Death!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
sigmapsicharlie
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
OK, after the first hour of the game I was ready to pull my hair out and quit. Then after I came back from a break and actually took my time, I made it to the first merchant (then i accidentally hit him, and had to kill him) then a friend told me how to get the Drake Sword (a sweet sword you can get early in the game) I was mad because I had to get a bow and arrows, but I couldn't because the merchant was dead, so I was determined to get that sword, and eventually I did. The thing is this game is full of epic gear and weapons, and sometimes you stumble on it or you get it from humongous bosses. Anyways, this game is challenging and after I realized I had to be careful and take my time and not die every time I took a breath, the game started to get awesome and awesome and more awesome. I was actually rewarded for progressing in the game, sometimes just by getting to that bonfire so i didn't have to run all the way back to where I was. Anyways, this game is HARD sometimes, but well worth the effort. And it allows you to play the way you want to play and create the character you want. GREAT GAME!! Don't PASS THIS UP!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dark Souls
You will NEVER, EVER beat this game without dying
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
Carnagefiend97
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Stunning graphics and a heart pacing combat system are only the beginning of this epic that is Dark souls. In this game, patience IS a virtue because you will have such difficult enemies and such difficult pathways you are PROMISED a gruesome demise and the epitemy of a challenge. You may at the end of day one want to find the nearest kitchen knife and end it all, but trust me, 65 hours later, you will beat the final boss (After one heck of a brawl) and you will choose the path you choose to take to end the game. This game made me angry more times than I can count, but when its over, you will have the bragging rights of A GOD, you will be able to boast of your conquering what is HANDS DOWN the hardest game known to man. One last thing, don't ever bet your friend 20 bucks that you'll get through the entire game without dying, because that's 20 dollars you'll be loosing as soon as you see the Asylum dragon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dark Souls
One of the best RPG's I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
DeadSpaceMarine
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been playing RPG's my whole life. None have ever hit the perfect note like this game has for me. The mood is perfect. The storyline minimal, but mysterious & very interesting with hidden paths leading to more lore of the world. The battle system is all skill based & takes perfect timing. If your timings off even the lowliest enemies can take you out. The online is a strange pseudo MMO with people entering & exiting your world. The boss fights are frightening & some of the most challenging I've ever experienced in my life. But one warning, do not expect this to be a cake walk. If you play games like The Elder Scrolls you'll probably rage quit in the first few hours of the game. It is relentless & requires more than just hacking & slashing away at enemies. But if you want an awesome game world full of secret areas & hidden treasure with terrifying enemies guarding them. This is your game. I would recommend anyone playing this game, but be prepared for many deaths. If you can take the punishment you will love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Dark Souls
Brutally Incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/11
D4RKN3551NC4RN473
Location: Parts Unknown
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As was said numerous times prior to this games release, it is brutal and merciless. It is, if not one of, the hardest game ever on the Xbox 360 and that is why its so great. As one of the many people who "rages" at difficult games, it is hard to believe that I love this game so much. I guess its because it isn't a game that gives you much hope of surviving by, say, adding in NPC characters that are supposed to help you kill enemies or giving you tons of powerful weapons right off the bat. It challenges your own skills forcing you to actually think about which equipment to use or how to fight in order to kill your foes and hoping you have enough health to fight a boss should there be one nearby. This game is not for casual gamers who only play games for fun. Only get this game if you really want to truly test your gaming skills.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dark Souls
Dark Souls review.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/13
Xbox098
Location: Houma, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first got this game I did not like it, I liked the idea but like most others quit out of frustration. My friend bought it on computer and played with a friend and loved it. He bought it for xbox and I decided to give it another go. So after playing with him I found I love this game when playing with other people. The gameplay is unique and just all around amazing, there's so much in this game. The graphics are amazing, lasting appeal: I can play this game for hours on end, never do that with video games. The sound will make you scared and relaxed at the same time and the music is just phenomenal. While waiting for Dark Souls 2, (I've never beat Dark souls yet) my friend went into the marines so I do not have anyone to play with. So if you're interested in playing with me my gamertag is A Br00tal Kitty (2 zeros). But DEFINITELY pick this game up and give it a go, it's only $20 and is worth way more than that. The gameplay is hard, but once you get used to it I promise this will be one of the best games you have ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>