GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Syndicate

In the not too distant future, the world is divided into regions controlled by mega-corporations known as Syndicates. In this future, business is war, and you are the weapon: the latest prototype agent for Eurocorp, one of the most ruthless Syndicates in a world dominated by greed. In single-player, embark on a unique sci-fi shooter adventure of corruption and revenge, as you utilize DART 6 chip-enhanced technology to breech, manipulate and control the wired world. Or form your own Syndicate in four-player co-op and dominate nine action-packed missions inspired by the original Syndicate game.
Average Customer Rating:
8.85
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 2085%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Syndicate
Review 1 for Syndicate
Starbreeze, Cyberpunk and Mind Control. Awesome.
Posted on:11/9/11
CGold
Location: Berwick, ME
After quite the wait, just a few months from its release date, Syndicate is back in the hands of grossly underrated Swedish developer Starbreeze Studios, the FPS guru's behind works like The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay (one I wasn't a big fan of) and The Darkness (one of my all time favorites). Set in the year 2069, people can have access to anything they please from any Corporation so long as you are "Chip'd". Healthcare, money, entertainment, etc. You name it, you get it. Just one problem: You have to give up your personal freedoms to do so. You are Miles Kilo, an Agent working for one of Corporations, EuroCorp. Everybody's gunning for each other and you're the guy that has to make sure that EuroCorp comes out on top of everyone else. That's right, you're the Bad Guy here. Sounds like fun already, don't it? When the game was first announced, it caused a variety of reactions with people. Some think it looks like an awesome resurrection of a series from the 90's. Others think that said series is ruined and will be a generic FPS. And others think it's a Deus Ex 4 (which it isn't. Syndicate was made in the early 90's. Do your dang research!). I'm in the first category here, even though I've never played any of the previous games. Gameplay looks different and yet similar to SB's previous works. It seems you can only carry two weapons and there's a standard ADS, but you can perform nasty execution moves up close to people, slide kicks and control enemies to horrible things to either themselves or their friends. Force a buddy to blow themselves up with a grenade or make put a gun to their head and pull the trigger, anyone? Video Game Cruelty Potential hooray! On top of this SB's graphics engine looks as beautiful as it ever does. Heck, some of the screenshots for some of the characters look just like real darn people. With all of the pieces in place and 4 player Co-Op mode in the vain of how the original games had planned missions, it seems that Starbreeze and EA have quite the game to be looking forward to. You see XCOM, THIS is how you resurrect a franchise as an FPS.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Can't stop listening. Why?!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MrStricKnight
Somewhere, NY
 
Please wait while more information about MrStricKnight is loaded.
Additional information about MrStricKnight could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
The music on the video is the...
Posted 12/30/11
original syndicate score...almost. They did add a little techno. However that is the only thing they left in the new version . *this game*. In the old game you could upgrade your body with implants, research weapons and much more you were basically a generally with an army of cyborgs taking over the entire world. Now.. you are just one cyborg in an FPS. And I don't really know if you are a "borg" or not just guessing. You and all gamers should look up the original syndicate that was made I think in 1991-1993. It was an awesome game. Plus they had expansion packs and one sequel before this called "Syndicate Wars".
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Syndicate
Good game but, it is very short lived
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
JestoNsane4u
Location: colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I like this game a lot. The single player really doesn't have much of a storyline but, it's pretty fun game play. The coop is pretty solid, everything you get from the demo. Some levels are longer than others. You can create or join a syndicate with friends but, besides trying to get to the top of the leaderboards, there really isn't any reason to join a syndicate. There are 20 levels in single player but, it seems more like 10 with how short most of them are and, there are 9 coop maps. Basically, the biggest motive to play online is to level up your weapons and chipsets to max so, you can take on the levels in Extreme mode. One major glitch about playing online is, if you are using Xbox Party, it crashes the game so, beware! The in game chat works just as well as Xbox Party so, I have no reason to play in a party. All in all the game is really fun, pretty good graphics but, it is very short. Not really worth $60 but, I'm hoping they come out with some additional maps or expansion pack to make the games replay value a bit higher.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Syndicate
worth the long wait!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
syndicate hits all the main points that any game needs to acheive greatness, especially its gunplay! all in all dubstep isnt my favorite type of music, i like it, but its not my favorite, but when you are in a fast paced, head to head boss battle, skrillex's new song, syndicate, makes the fight all the better. voice acting works well and never will have mouth gliches,as far as i know. the graphics are outstanding, enemys look fantastic and buildings make 2027 look like star trek, and thats not a bad thing! the campaign is average lengh, but fun all the way through, although some boss battle will take you a long time to killyour enemys, especially when they keep on calling in re enforcements. but the co op is outstanding and is worth at least 40 dollars by itself, and the campaign is worth much more than 40 dollars seeing that throught the entire experience, you are on the tip of your chair, sucked in to the world of syndicate! but the gunplay is really were syndicate shines, it has hundreds of different guns that have unique and powerful ways of tearing thru enemys...especially miniguns! all in all this customer is very satisfied with this purchase! two thumbs up on this side!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Syndicate
The Demo Is Pretty Fun, Thinking Of Getting This..
Posted on:2/3/12
JestoNsane4u
Location: colorado
Before the demo for this game came out, I was a lot like everyone else. "Oh, just another deus ex." But, after playing the demo, I must say I'm pretty impressed. At first I didn't like it but, once I caught onto everything, it was epic, played it for 2 hours straight. It's pretty fun and, the coop makes it feel like coop with a purpose. Not just run around shooting things and you're done. You have to heal teammates while shooting at the bad guys and, quickly run over to unlock a gate and throw up some cover walls. It's pretty intense and the upgrade system makes replay better than other games. Not only do you have to get so many kills/objectives to be able to unlock weapon upgrades but, once you buy the upgrade you have to get so much XP to use the upgrade. It sounds dumb but, it makes it really fun. Only flaws I found are: grenades are strange to most FPS, AI might kill you with 1 shot or 10,000 shots (is there something wrong with the tracer counter?), gameplay is borderline Brink, if your coop teammates aren't very good chances are you won't pass the map. The demo was pretty fun and, there isn't many other titles coming out for a few weeks so, I may be picking this one up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Syndicate
AWSOME, and not a deus ex copy
Posted on:10/7/11
gamestopcrazy
Location: U.S.
this game is way different than deus ex people, did u even watch the trailer? this game is really high paced, deus ex was one of the slowest paced games ive ever played. another reason this isnt a deus ex copy, syndicate is a remake of a computer game made a while back, cyberpunk is a genre people. not a deus ex game, now hush buy this AMAZING game and be amazed, i hope it has multiplayer and a REALLY long campaign thanks EA u always make me happy.... well almost always...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lorenzo3
maine
 
Please wait while more information about lorenzo3 is loaded.
Additional information about lorenzo3 could not be loaded.
Cool
Posted 10/14/11
this game seems pretty awesome from the trailers. hoping to get it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Syndicate
I cant believe more people arent playing syndicate
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
HMGamer101
Location: rome
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
syndicate has outstanding gunplay, and combat is fluide and works perfectly!the sound is perfect and effects sound great! the graphics look really futuristic and remind me of star trek and battle star gelactica! i would definetly recommend syndicate to all fps fans!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Syndicate
syndicate
Posted on:11/16/11
ace27841
Location: longview tx
Y'all don't realize Syndicate is a really old computer game. If I remember right, you could customize your entire body. I played it on a DOS system years ago. I hope this xbox 360 version lives up to the awesomeness of the Syndicate name.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Syndicate
not bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/12
ZzGHOSTzZ
Location: PITTSBURGH P.A
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well i picked up a copy of syndicate today i had my 20% off cupon for my b-day plus my 10% for bein a powerup member its not that bad i havent beat it yet but its way better than that demo that was out its worth 35 40 bucks so wait for a price drop or use some kind of reward for it it worth the playthrough if your a fps shooter fan the story is pretty cool your powers are tight so if u can snag it for a little under blue book its worth it. 1 thing i want you to no dont judge the game by the demo cause the campaign is way better
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Syndicate
Remember Deus Ex?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/13
rooman75
Location: Garden Grove, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Syndicate reminds me much of Deus Ex. The only difference would be that going in loud is more effective. When you start the game I urge you to go in open minded. I thought this was going to seem like an Electronic Arts side job, but the further in I got, I realized that this game took effort. To be honest I expected Sydicate to be something like Brink. The graphics are pretty good except for a bit of a blue like like tint. The shooting of guns is nice and loud and the characters voices sound like someone is really talking. To my surprise the multiplayer is fairly busy. I make the request to join a match and in about 20 seconds I will already have other players. If you have ever played video games electronic arts has made then you're in luck. The controls are very similar and are easy to understand. In the end, I recommend you at least try this game and you'll hopefully like it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Syndicate
perfect co-op game
Posted on:2/6/12
UpbeatPuma
Location: Texas
the reason i say perfect co-op game is because this is not like any normal shooter their is no run and gun you have to play as a team to make it passed the level heal your teammates while still shooting at the enemy that come in waves and if ur stuck with bad teammates you will be doing most of the healing and killing the most ai. Now for the most part I liked this game a lot more then most shooters because it adds teamwork more then any shooter i have played this game im in the top 100 in leaderbords and mostly because my team sucked so i had to get all the kills while picking them up. The weapon pickup is great whatever you upgrade on your guns you get when you pick up a enemy weapon and if you upgrading it during the gameplay if it is done upgrading it will pop up on your gun the next time you shoot are switch weapons the game gets a 5 out of 5 i have talked a lot of gamer friends in downloading the demo they said its just another shooter UNTIL they played with me and now the love it oh and i played this game for 8 hours straight i never play like that just a very addicting game just hope all the points role over cause they top you out at rank 10 but you can still get points and blue prints to upgrade all your weapons upgrade the pistol and it sounds like robocop hope this helped, but like i always say download the demo and try it before you buy it wish i did that with Duke Nukem the only game i didnt try first
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Syndicate
Wow
Posted on:1/31/12
Trust
Location: IL
I just played the co-op demo ... Just wow... I have not played anything that fun since like... LOL... I think I will be getting this, but the one thing that I don't understand is that why do you have to cock the gun each time and cocking it each tie when you switch weapons... But overall WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nightx360
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Nightx360 is loaded.
Additional information about Nightx360 could not be loaded.
Great game
Posted 2/24/12
The guy who said hes had it for 2 weeks is lieing for one you might have the demo but you dont own the game yet since its not out but yea this game is great they need more co-op shooters like this no not co-op deathmatch I mean real co-op.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Syndicate
Great entry into the cyberpunk genre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
MoodyTheViking
Location: Pensacola, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was everything that Shadowrun should have been, but there were some changes I would have made. The campaign is pretty awesome, not very long, but a great story nonetheless. I remember playing Syndicate on PC back in the 90's and this was a great reboot of it. If I had any choice in the multiplayer, I would have allowed players to choose what corporation they want to work for, each with it's own specific weapons and cybernetics, and the ability to run missions to steal tech from other corporations and upgrade your character. But hey, what do I know haha. Overall, I would recommend this to anybody that like FPS games. Also, liking dubstep wouldn't hurt.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Syndicate
Fantastic Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/12
poppyseedsoldier
Location: House
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Syndicate is based on strongly on the plot story. At times the plot may not be too well, but you can still follow it. The gameplay and upgrade system makes this game great. A "Chip" allows you to use perfect abilities to take on enemies in more ways than one. This game isn't the casual shooter where you go out guns blazing, but more of a strategy shooter. The gameplay is fast with parkour abilities and tons of enemies with new ones every few minutes. I would reccomend this to someone who wants "A new style of FPS."
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Syndicate
Looks Good
Posted on:10/3/11
Anonymous
Location: menomonie, WI
They did a great job with the trailer, it makes me want to play! The game definitely looks like it has a lot of potential. I am anxious to see how it actually turns out. From what i see in the prod. description i'm going to guess that there is probably nice replay value in this game since there isn't much of an online multiplayer aspect (just 4 player co op). I have high hopes for Syndicate, i hope it doesn't end up like Brink did, lots of hype, looked great, but was a disaster of a game.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Syndicate
4 Person Online Co- Op!!
Posted on:1/21/12
RAVENOUSKELLS
Location: San Francisco, CA
Exactly 1 month until this game comes out! There aren't that many games that are this exhilarating (shooters wise) that is a 4 person co-op! I'm definitely looking forward to playing the game while simultaneously intrigued by it's story line! I'm totally going to make my boyfriend buy this to play with me :D & when this comes out it's possible i will make youtube videos with commentaries for this game!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Syndicate
The Most Underrated Game YOU are not playing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/12
Moose828
Location: Northeast USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love a good shooter. It is even better if the shooter has a good storyline. Good graphics are a plus.
Now you usually find these in games that are hyped beyond beleif, and sometimes you are let down.
Then there is the sleeper game that somehow catches your eye and you decide to give it a shot. Such was the case with Syndicate.
Let's face it, you probablt have not heard that much about this game. That does not mean you should not pass it by. No, you should get the game, play it, embrace it, and tell all your friends about it.
If I were to point out a minor problem for me, it is in the graphics. For the most part, they are sharp and clear, until you look at the edges and there is some blurring and that is intentional. BUT that is my only nitpick.
BY ALL MEANS PLAY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Syndicate
Short Lived Fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
Wally1108
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game was actually pretty good, to graphics were good, story line was cool, and the weapons here were also pretty nifty. But the only problem is that the story is way to short. After you are done, your done. No multiplayer but at least there is co-op. Very good game, but you might want to wait until it costs less to get.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Syndicate
amazing gameplay,music, and graphihcs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
crazynoob
Location: californa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this video game is one of the best games I've ever played. The graphics are stunning.i would recommend to someone who has xbox live. This game is legit. it wouldn't hurt to like dubstep also.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Syndicate
good looking co-op
Posted on:2/18/12
ZzGHOSTzZ
Location: PITTSBURGH P.A
cant really comment on campaign because i havent played but the co-op looks great and im sure the campaign will follow closely im getting this game for sure the graphics are goo d gameplay is smooth check out the demo on xbl
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Syndicate
Loved the Demo
Posted on:2/19/12
alv1nblack
Location: NC
THe demo was so much fun and me and my friends could not stop play it. The HUD is so cool and i love the music.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>