GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rygar: The Battle of Argus

Grab your "Diskarmor" and swing into action on the Wii as the legendary warrior, Rygar! Immerse yourself in Greco-Roman mythology as you journey through the sundered Island of Argus. Intuitive use of the Wii Remote allows you to deftly and effectively control the use of the powerful Diskarmor to destroy enemies and maneuver on, around, over, and under obstacles to save Princess Harmonia! Rygar: The Battle of Argus is packed with action and adventure, spanning various unique zones and light puzzle solving. This enhanced Wii version brings new enemies, techniques and an all-new Gladiator Mode, specifically equipped for the versatile swinging movement of the Wii Remote.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Review 1 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
ALRIGHT
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
FLAMEFREZE100
Location: MCDONOUGH,GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ok but need A BOOST TO ROCK WHAT I MEAN IS I DONT KNOW BUT NEEDS SOMETHING TO IT .THE CONTROLS COULD BE A LITTLE EASYER.I THINK IT COULD USE LOCK ON TARGET OR MAYBE A ZOOM LIKE U R USING A RIFLE
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Nothing Like the Other
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/09
Dave 2point0
Rygar was one of my favorite games on the PS2. It was awesome...a great remake of a forgotten game. This one comes close to that at best. I had been looking forward to this game since I had heard about it, reserved it, and got it the day it came out. This will be the last time I buy a game without first checking the reviews. The Gameinformer Mag was right on in it's review. Wish I would have read it first. The graphics are maybe slightly better, but not by a lot. I know the Wii isn't really "next gen" standards, but still, it could have been a lot better. It really looks like a port of the PS2 game. The controls are in no way as good as they were on the PS2. They're choppy, stiff, and a little boring after 5 minutes. Nothing is done new with the controls. If anything, they were dumbed down. The PS2's were more fluid and easily combinable. This one doesn't come anywhere close. The story line is laughable. Horrible voice overs, and a plot that really feels way too cliche and so done already that it's not even enjoyable. Not really much more to say about that. As far as the challenge goes, it's typical. Not too hard, not too easy. It wouldn't be hard to run through it fairly easily without getting too stumped on any particular part. Overall, if you were curious about the game, rent it, or buy it from Gamestop used. That way, you can take it back in 7 days and get something else with your money. If you have never played the PS2's and didn't really know anything about the franchise, this might be a little more enjoyable. My advice would be to grab another game with your bucks and pick up the PS2's version. You'll definitely get a lot more enjoyment out of it. I'll end with reiterating to buy used or renting. And hey, if you do happen to like it, then great, you got a game for a little cheaper than new, but if you realize I was right, you still have the 7 days to get your money back or switch it for something more enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Japanese God of War
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/09
PolarBear-Gamer
This game reminds me of God of War. I think this game is awesome, but would be a lot better if it was rated M, because of blood could make this game a lot better. the actions in this game are sweet; a lot of ripping, slashin, etc. just think if it was rated M, there would be so much blood. Overall this is a great game. for some reason GAME-INFORMER thinks this game sucks. I'm not sure why, i on the other hand think this game is great. i think anyone who loves Mythological creatures and adventure should get this game. it would be cooler if there was a little bit more choices of weapons, but the diskarmor blade is awesome. Rygar looks awesome too. i would have to say Rygar looks cooler then the God of War. overall, the controls are great, graphics are good, and the adventure is fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Great for mythology lovers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/09
crystalswords
This is a great game for people who like mythology and for people who don't alike. I am not going to lie though, the camera takes some time getting use to and the graphics are okay... but the game is a great length and challenge and some of the puzzles are really hard.While I can see why people would pick up this game, put in the Wii, and try to play the first level and then turn it off, I would still like you to try the game. I think they should come up with a new one and make the camera better and add more save spots but otherwise it is a great game.It is really hard in the later levels and the first boss takes some time getting use too. But it is still a great game and has a great storyline so please just give it a try. So now that I have shared my opinions with you, you can now either waste your time playing games like Wii Music and Wii Cheer or you can pick up a copy of this game and give it a try. You WONT be disappointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Looks can be deceiveing! The camera is an example
Posted on:12/4/07
SnakeEyesX
Camera please do by all means not mess up this game with those horrible camera angles!..because the PS2 game had issues with the bad camera angles..If you can work that out with the Wii version then this game will be for sure a winner!.
Review 6 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Cannot Wait
Posted on:10/28/07
Sarah
This is the third installment of the Rygar series and I cannot wait for it to come out. I am interested to see what Nintendo does with the Disk Armor, there is a lot of potential for this weaponry with the Wii controllers. I have been playing Rygar since I was a child and I will definitely get this one too!
Review 7 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Cool blast from the past!
Posted on:10/26/07
Mr.Furley
I loved the rygar arcade game and then the old nes version.Didn't know they made another or (others).Anyway hopefully they can make a nice adventure game out of this.The pictures look pretty good,but thats always something to much emphasis is put on anymore just make the mf playable and a decent story + ACTION.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
2ed might be good
Posted on:10/17/07
Senel Valens
I've played the first one on the PS2, the game may be look like DMC and that's about it. DMC may have come out a year before but, Rygar fights with a shield and thats it (unless of course they changed that). Don't know what to expect.
Review 9 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Looks like a DMC wannabe
Posted on:10/16/07
CCCP
This game looks like a DMC wannabe...the protagonist looks like Dante, the health bar/extra bar also look very similar...usually i would totally mark off a game that copies many aspects of another game but now i wont...why? because dmc wannabes are usually good and sometimes, in god of wars case, better...:)...so here is a game that can really do well on the wi...other than this and soul caliber...the dmc/gow fans wont have to much excitement
Review 10 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Looks Pretty Cool
Posted on:10/12/07
The Bum
Well, all I have seen of this game is its 1 trailer. The trailer shows some pretty impressive graphics, considering this game is for the Wii. Gameplay, although not shown much, looks like it somewhat resembles that of Dragon Blade: Wrath of Fire. Overall the trailer was cool, and I have high hopes for this game.
Review 11 for Rygar: The Battle of Argus
Dont go by the screenshots as of 9/11 of this post
Posted on:9/11/07
Shadowsaint
The screenshots listed here are for the Evolution series of RPG games (and these appear to be the dreamcast versions)....and not for the new Rygar game. As for the game itself, not much is known about it except existance. I'm hopeing that this won't turn out to be just a port over of the PS2 game. If it does indeed become a new development then there's alot of potential in the license as Rygar is one of those underused but high quality series (at least based on past experience).