GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles

Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles is a brand new game in the Resident Evil franchise, with familiar locales from the entire series. This action/shooter hybrid reveals the back story behind the fall of the Umbrella Corporation by exploring locations from Resident Evil 0, 1, 2 and 3 as well as new never-before-seen locations, such as Umbrella's stronghold. Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles combines first-person, light-gun style combat with interactive pathways, multiple weapons and new enemies to create an entirely new Resident Evil experience that could only be delivered on the Wii.
Average Customer Rating:
7.833
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
6
8 stars
11
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
24 out of 3080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Review 1 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Could be faster shooting
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/10
mysteriosgooch
Location: Arcade,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When i playing the first level of the game that I'm reviewing i saw that right away when i shooting as fast as i wanted to the game would only register half of the shots i wanted. It would make the game alittel more easyer to play if it could shoot as fast as we want. The story is good enough with the bounus episodes, the only probem is how that you can't shoot as fast as you want to.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/09
bluebigman2006
Let me start off by say I am a die hard Resident Evil fan. As far as the umbrella chronicals the game length really sucks I think I finished the game in under 5 hours I guess im used to most RE games be longer. I have had problems with the wii zapper sometime when dodgeing attacks the B button on my didn't seem to work but that could also just be mine. Graphics are great i think for the wii. The story fills in alot of missing bits and pieces that are just skipped in the otheres. The biggest thing I really dont like about the game is that herbs that are found you can't save them they are used right then and there. Were as ones before you could save and use when needed. To me i think the best part is being able to play as characters that to me have been forgot about in some newer RE games. i.e. Jill, Carlos, Wesker, Rebecca, ext. I think for the price this game runs out at it is worh the money.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ZACH7
MY HOUSE
 
Please wait while more information about ZACH7 is loaded.
Additional information about ZACH7 could not be loaded.
good but short
Posted 4/23/11
i like game it fun but way to short
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Quite Good Wi game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/09
BlueAce57
When I first heard of this Resident Evil game for Wii on Rails Shooter I guessed it's pretty good. The challenge in the game is pretty good. Controls are OK (It's a Rail-Shooter) And the Graphics are OK as well, but I will like the sequel Darkside Chronicles anyways. Interface is also much at 7 or 8 as well. The length is about 3 hours for all modes on Easy Normal and Hard making the game go about at 9 hours of game play also you can play as Chris Jill, Rebbecca, Billy, Carlos, Ada, HUNK, and Wesker there is also 2-player co-op mode. There is a lot collectibles too get during game play but are hard too find but worth getting. I would recommend Umbrella Chronicles for somebody who is a Resident Evil fan who wants a serious challenge for it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Awesome but.........
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/11
Ryanater89
Location: harppers ferry wv
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game i REALLY FUN! But I think darkside chronicles will be a lot better. I am probobly getting it tommorow. Still umbrella chronicles is a great game for people who are in for a scare and love the resident evil games. If you are a fan of resident evil GET THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
not bad for wii, not good otherwise
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/09
Andeww
This game is just like an arcade shooter. All you do is point the controller and fire. The game moves your character for you. So its really easy, and there's really no challenge in this game. Plus I completed the game the day after i got it, so its really short, but it was fun while it lasted. The graphics and sound quality are really good, and the controls are comfortable and easy to get used to. So there's not much to complain about other than that its just too short and easy. As far as the storyline goes, this is a recap of some past resident evil games. And its really not scary, the zombies wont randomly pop up and startle you, theres just alot of blood and gore. So i would recommend this game to fans of arcade shooters, and resident evil fans. And one last thing, its much cooler to play co op with a friend.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
cheesehead1
Location: PA
This is an awesome game. It starts out with pre shows. You then come onto a screen where there are different settings. When you complete a setting, you go back onto the same setting, but a harder version. When you complete all the levels in that setting, you go on to a new setting. The process repeats a lot. Some levels of the settings are single or double player and some are just single player. You always get a handgun. You can also choose either a machine gun or a shut gun. You get unlimited bullets on the hand gun, but limited bullets on the machine gun and shot gun. You also get a knife and grenades. There are extra guns, bullets, and lives you can pick up during the game. The game moves your person for you. You don't even have to move. What you do is you kill zombies, bats, gorrilas, dogs, plants, sharks, snakes, scorpians, etc. The game is not that easy. It can be easy, but it is usualy not. The end of every level in the setting is the hardest. The end has the biggest enemies, and it is very hard to kill them. Overall this gameis the best game I have ever played.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
1 MORE DAY!!!
Posted on:11/12/07
joey
its gonna be extreamly worth buying there is 22 levels broken up new chaaracters places completly reinvented. each level takes a hour or more(thats when u have powerful guns and weapons) thers 22 levels so this aint a game u beat in a day also it will be playabkle cuz u look aroud the area for 2 paths u can chose one and play again and choose the other 1 this is gonna be 36423764278 out 5 stars buy itif u love the resident evil franchise i wpould recomend even if u dont like rail shooters.also i dont recomend gettiung the wii zaper cuz waste of money and pressing the A button os very annoying i played RE:UC at the mall with the zapper. thers gonna be so many good things about it the snearuies atre very interactive theres so many guns not just the pistol shot gun and submachine guns and find out so many things the previosuly relasesd games didnt show like how rebeca got int the mansion
Review 8 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
O.K......
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/09
kitty kats are not dumb
I just bought this game along with a wii and resident evil 4. I was curious if the series would go well with an FPS. And it does and doesn't. Here are my reasons why: IT DOES: because i really like how you can collect items far away by shooting them which helps because it can be annoying trying to get it running past a horde of zombies trying to smash you. Also because it can be challenging and lasting at times when you are face to face with a monster. And because it tries something a bit more new to the side games. IT DOESN'T: because i really like the 3rd person view and it can make you feel like it isn't a resident evil game at times. Also because I think the game resident evil 5 on 360 and PS3 were amazing and I think that they should make some side games for the 360 and PS3 as well. Those are reasons why you should get the game and should just get resident evil 5 or 3.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
so so
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/08
xelaeverhs
What can I say it is a resident evil game and besides that one big exception the chain of average games follows here. I know it is a wii game but still the graphics are weak. Its controls are very simple and are fun but I expected more from a mature rated game. It is still difficult and on hard you will die a lot but it is never to overwhelming. The story take you over Resident evil 0, 1, 3 and lets you play them arcade shooter style which is quite enjoyable. There is fun but doesn't wow the senses it is an average game form an average system and weekend players should stay away from it. The idea of the game is good but where it loses its zing is after you play it a few times. Depending on how good a player you are it can take from 8-15 hours to finish. I knock it out in 10 and i'm ok so base your time off that. Overall average but fun for hardcore Resident evil fans only.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Not as good as 4
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/09
angyd
Resident evil Umbrella Chronicles is not at all what I expected. The graphics are not as clear, too dark not much color. I don't like the fact that they walk for you instead of you being able to move about by yourself. Even the games this one refers to were better than this one, there was more interacting on those games then on this one. Me as a gamer and a die hard re fan can't stress the importance of a good interaction between the player and the zombies. The coloring makes it difficult to get a good feel and a wow excitement for the game. I pretty much am disappointed with this game and hope the two other games they have out are much better than this one.I only like it because it is a new game and not for any other reason. Resident evil 4 was by far the best yet...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Good For A Rental
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/09
Jack565
This is actually a pretty fun game. If you're a Resident Evil fan, you'll like this. What this game is about, is exactly what the title is. You're taken through the events of the Resident Evil games in order on which the events occur. This game is fun when you play with another person!! If you play alone it's not as fun, but it's still fun. I won't spoil you but I'll tell you something disappointing...they don't have you play as Leon Kennedy and Claire Redfield - they completely skip over that one and go directly to Jill and Carlos. I've never played with a zapper but...if you have one you might want to buy this game because the zapper is made for games like this and it's probably a lot of fun. Overall, this is a good game and you'll have fun but it's a really short game so I recommend only renting it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
RE as a shooter, and it works...mostly
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was skeptical about Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles at first. Resident Evil's past attempts to venture into the on-rails shooter genre have been mediocre at best. I'm pleased to say that this one finally gets it right (for the most part). Umbrella Chronicles takes you on a flashback of Resident Evil 0, 1, and 3 as if they were a theme park ride. Everything plays out in first-person, on-rails style...you aim with the Wii remote to shoot / pick up items and look around with the nunchuk. A second player can join in as well for the main campaign missions. Think of it as House Of The Dead, only slower-paced and more story-oriented. Your standard weapon is the pistol--which is unlimited, thankfully--but you'll gather a whole host of weapons which can be upgraded for further effectiveness.
The series' staple zombies and monsters make numberous appearances here, obviously...and they look pretty good for a Wii game. Herbs and first-aid sprays are present also, although how you use them is slightly different: When you shoot an herb, it gets used instantly (refills about 1/2 to 2/3 of your health)...and first-aid sprays serve as an auto-resurrect when you run out of health completely. You'll need every herb you can find, as most enemies tear your energy away quickly.
The Umbrella Chronicles has it's share of problems. The graphics tend to be dark and lacking in color, and the difficulty level can be unforgiving (even on Easy there's some tough parts). The dialogue could also have used some polish. Overall though, I'd say this one's a winner. It's got that classic RE atmosphere to it, and it's packed with nostalgia for series veterans.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
the usual arcade game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/08
resident evil... you failed
First, this is a good game, it's not anything new that I've seen to the resident evil series. I could go to the arcade and play a game like this for 50 cents, mainly because of the ridiculously nauseating movement mode. It would have been more exciting and challenging if it was free motion, but the game moves the character for me, an element of gaming that should not be used in home consoles, and if you use the zapper, the controls are just plain awkward. with the setup of the remote inside the zapper, and the nun chuck on the outside, it leaves no leverage for holding the zapper, which throws off your shots, but if you do without the zapper, it completely defeats the purpose for the game. Of course, this is a resident evil game, so that means this game just follows the usual cliche of random enemies popping out of seemingly nowhere, but after the first 4-5 times, you can expect it. Graphics-wise, this does all right for a wii game. Enough said there the levels are pretty short, so, depending on how long you play per sitting, you could finish this in about 3-5 days. So overall, between this and the late 90's arcade games that cost a dollar to play, the only differences that I found was the graphics and the cost, the latter of which I think is much too expensive, please take caution before you purchase this item.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
shaws reveiw
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/08
shaw24256
First off this game is superb. It’s amazing with mini-chapters after each set of missions. The graphics definitely great. There are no real flaws in the game. I bought it and it was great. Plus I own all but three of the resident evil series. If you like shooter/zombie/horror/strategy games you'll love this game. If you have time then grab a resident evil and get ready for a long exciting game such as resident evil code veronica X you really can't go wrong with these games. I mean if you have the time to sit and watch TV you should definitely consider buying one of the greatest games in the world. Resident evil is the bomb. With zombies here zombies there zombies everywhere. The greatest shooter in the entire world or even galaxy of gaming. Period!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cruise22
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Cruise22 is loaded.
Additional information about Cruise22 could not be loaded.
RE DC is better
Posted 6/11/13
RE DC is better. RE UC has confusing almost bad weapons upgrades menus. Some of the bosses are way, way too-hard - even on "easy mode". Talos & Twin Ivans are impossible to beat the first time through & you have to go back & replay levels to upgrade weapons and save ammo. This is where DC spanks UC. UC is DC's subordinate (Operation Javier is an original DC) - not an original for UC.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
ALOT of orginal cast
Posted on:11/8/07
joey
if u wanna know how this is separted from levels its like this u pick alpha or bravo pciking stars will start u off in the mansion but barry is not in the intro. then u play jill and caRlos in resident evil nemises then jill and crhis go to russia and destroy umbrella. if u picked bravo u start with rebeca and billy on the train incendent. then you find out how rebeca got into the mansion. and play as her in it. then you go destroy umbrellla BUT (destroy umbrella) That might meen no more zombies! but in re5 there are many returning cast jill,chriss,wesker, rebeca and more i pre ordered this A LONG time ago u should to but u have a good chance of gettn this game when it comes out becaUse more than 20 games are being released 11/13
Review 16 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Looks improved from at first.
Posted on:10/5/07
John Amer
It does seem alot much better than what people encountered the first time it came out. The gameplay was tweaked up a little bit since game testers said that it was extremely easy to beat one stage. I'm kind of disappointed that the Resident Evil 2 storyline was cropped out of the game, they must have their reasons for doing so. I was looking forward to seeing a better version of Claire since she was the only one who didn't receieve a updated look besides Code Veronica. They also seem to be pushing this a little bit far, into a month later than what it originally was slated for. This does look very promising, and it's probably a game for those who are extreme Resident Evil fans, and those who are looking for a good Wii game.
Review 17 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
The Nemesis is back!!!
Posted on:10/13/07
Albertwesker568
This game is gonna be awesome. Especialy because he is making his return...The Nemesis! Besides that Racoon City is finaly getting a makeover. It will be awesome looking finally. Not only is the city getting a makeover but so is the Nemesis and now since this game is a rail shooter you cant run from him. That also goes for the Tyrant from RE1. facing those guys in first-person is gonna be even scarier than in 3rd. A cool thing is the computer girl the Red Queen from the first RE movie is gonna be in the game and there is no telling what shes up to in the game. I can tell you right now this game is gonna be the best M-rated game on the wii for years to come.
Review 18 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
this is awesome
Posted on:7/19/07
dmc
its better if its on a track because its like being at the arcade except you dont have to spend hundreds and hundreds of dollars (call me crazy but i have all at one time) worth of quarters when you can just buy the game and the wii zapper. you dont have to focus on obsticles and puzzles when you just want the game for blood thirsty zombie action. since ghost squad is also set on a track it will be like you have an arcade at home. And the bonus of resident evil umbrella chronicles is it doesnt have the stupid storylines like the arcade games, its story line is resident evil. this game might be the best shooter ever if you buy the wii zapper with it.
Review 19 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
ggh
Posted on:8/18/07
ghnd
Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles is a brand new game in the Resident Evil franchise, with familiar locales from the entire series. This action/shooter hybrid reveals the back story behind the fall of the Umbrella Corporation by exploring locations from Resident Evil 0, 1, 2 and 3 as well as new never-before-seen locations, such as Umbrella’s stronghold. Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles combines first-person, light-gun style combat with interactive pathways, multiple weapons and new enemies to create an entirely new Resident Evil experience that could only be delivered on the Wii.
Review 20 for Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles
Very Excite
Posted on:9/22/07
Matt
i recently got a Wii and i also got RE4. RE4 is amazing and when i heard of Umbrella Chronicles in RE4 i was so excited. The Co-op i think is going to be so effin fun. Plus the WiiZapper is going to blow my mind omg just like arcade haha CANT WAIT. I am new to the Resident Evil games but since playing RE4 and now that REUC is coming out, i am completely hooked. I agree with a previous previewer that Nintendo should appeal to an older audience... this is a must have for Wii lovers, RE lovers, anyone who has an anger managment issue, and 2 ppl who are lookin to McOWN some zombeez
1 2 3 4 5 next>>