GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition

From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, the HD Collection offers old and new fans a chance to experience the epic game play, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise. The "Metal Gear Solid (MGS)" series is the seminal work of Hideo Kojima, Japan's master game creator, and the progenitor of the stealth action game genre. The series has become a global phenomenon, with over 27 million copies sold worldwide. The player controls a secret agent from an elite special forces unit who is sent on solo sneaking missions through enemy installations, vast jungles, and sometimes even the thick of battle. Alone and surrounded by the enemy, even a special forces agent will find it tough to come out alive. But that is the secret behind the series' popularity - the cerebral challenge of figuring out how to avoid combat, and the thrill of sneaking through enemy territory undetected.The MGS series is also known for its storyline, which blends seamlessly with the gameplay. The scenarios are based on extensive research and incorporate the drama of actual developments in society. These elements have made MGS what it is today: a mature work of entertainment that transcends national borders and the confines of video games, and one of the leading products of the Japanesecontent business.
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Big Boss and Solid Snake all in HD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
Azure10166669
Location: SJ,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Too bad they left out MGS1 but anyways the collection is included with the classic metal gear games on disc 1/ MGS 3. Peace Walker is great for online play/co-op and MGS 2/3 are both single player but both offer a great content and amazing concept of the storyline (don't forget the bosses!) Kojima Production makes the story seem real which your going to like! The art work (which is included) is full of character design/original design which is pretty neat IMO. If your a huge fan of MGS then I recommend this game for you.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
I Love MGS But....
Posted on:10/26/11
Silver251
Location: DE
MGS is a classic i like all of them 1-4 (never played peace walker) but how could they not include the first one man, it was epic
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Posted 11/11/11
it sucks! it cost to much. it fills dateds and Conckey uninteractife and its mostly cut seens and it sucks and it has Bad graphisce!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Best Game Of All Time!!!
Posted on:10/6/11
PrincKyuubi
Location: 77 Varet Street
This Is A Must Have For Any MGS Fan!! I Myself Will Definitely Be Getting this Copy!! =)
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Excitement and some mixed feeling
Posted on:10/28/11
Thames
Location: Fort Mill, SC
When I saw the interview with the ad showing this was coming out I was really excited. Two, Three and Peace Walker are going to be great to play and there is online which really makes me excited. I have the PS2 collection and will not mind buying this one. The only thing is it feels like so much is missing. MGS 1, MGS 1 VR missions, Portable Ops and Acid 1 and 2. Though this is a Step in the Right Direction the Art book is worth the 20 though most people dont want to pay for it, it is entrusting in the fact there letting people see the design process. Will I pay for this with the Book most likely not, Am I excited for the chance to have all Metal Gears in one nice package one day yes. Also I'm really excited to see what Hideo Kojima will bring us next after Metal Gear.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
AWESOMENESS!!!!
Posted on:10/5/11
Semperfi
Location: New York, NY
I've played MGS2 & MGS3 on the Ps2 & totally fell in love with it! Now it's on HD & for the Xbox 360 wow!!!<3 If anything I might get this game when it's realeased instead of Mw3 ! MGS keep the games coming!! >:D .... Ps I'm the first to write a buzz of this! <3 (:
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Animeman1000
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Animeman1000 is loaded.
Additional information about Animeman1000 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/26/11
OK so another dude recently complained about MGS1. And since you scroll down the page I answered his question. It was long and right now I have to wait 3 days before it gets posted. So in 3 days read the comment I add to the one with the Title wth! by krome05.
Customer Avatar
snakeskillquick
columbia, sc
 
Please wait while more information about snakeskillquick is loaded.
Additional information about snakeskillquick could not be loaded.
are you for real
Posted 10/22/11
i loved the 2nd game didn't care to much for the 3rd. but the 1st was totally amazing and your not going to put it out either. yea i was going to get it but might not be getting it now.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
wth!
Posted on:10/12/11
krome05
Location: Texas
yeah, where is MGS1 HD, dont mind 2 n 3, but they forgetting the best 1 imo.
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Animeman1000
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Animeman1000 is loaded.
Additional information about Animeman1000 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/26/11
They can't release an HD version of MGS1, because the original graphics are to old to just render in HD. They would have to redo the entire game if they wanted to put it in HD. It would be cool though. The best you can do is find it on PSN, or the PS2 Collection. And if have XBOX, then I'm sorry but you're out of luck.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Metal Gear Solid
Posted on:10/13/11
Anonymous
Location: NJ
Its about time this franchise released onto the xbox 360 . The only reason I woild ever buy a Ps3 was for this game now my prolems have been solved. This is by far the best game(s) ever best story . Thank you Microsoft and hideo kojima . Cant wait.
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Meh
Posted on:10/25/11
TheWidOne
Location: Circleville, OH
Ok, it doesn't come with MGS1, strike one. It doesn't come with Portable Ops, strike two. $60 for the regular, and $80 for the Special Edition(basically a $20 book), strike three. Sorry, but it's not going to be on my hit list, till a price drop has happened. If you still have a PS2, it's a better deal there. It's going to be next gen before X-Box can handle MGS 4, so I don't see myself running to the shelves to get this. I'd rather have a trully complete collection with all of the games. By the way, Peace Walker is the sequel to the story of Portable Ops on the PSP. So I think it's ridiculous to not have Portable Ops in there. Also, why would you not include the first game? Dumb really. It's like not including the original Star Wars in the recent Blu Ray set. Just doesn't make sense.
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
OMG . OMG . OMG . OMG . OMG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
DeityDarkLink
Location: UNSC : New Hylia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
. . . . . . . . . ( s p e a c h l e s s , a n d a l m o s t w e t h i m s e l f ) . . . . . . . . A MUST BUY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
This kinda sucks
Posted on:10/8/11
HailiesDaddy299
That sucks that this doesn't come with the HD remastered version of the first Metal Gear Solid. so for 20 bucks more you get a book.....big whoop
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cannier
 
Please wait while more information about cannier is loaded.
Additional information about cannier could not be loaded.
Did
Posted 11/5/11
They already redid the first one for the gamecube, why would they go out and redo it again?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Just an masterpiece!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/11
RoflTimTim
Location: Blythe,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its just amazing I have been waiting for this forever.Yes t is missing the remastered MGS1 but whos to say they cant make it an DLC.But overall this is what i need to get me through the wait for Rising and the recently announced MGS5.Then the art book is amazing to see all those pieces of work!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Good but could be better
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/11
DragonRider777
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This collection is well worth the fifty dollars however it doesn't really seem complete to me. Since this is a 360 game as well, I can't help but feel cheated that the original Metal Gear Solid was included with this set. Seeing that this is the first time MGS has ever appeared on this console I personally feel that the original should have been included with this. That's basically my only big gripe with this collection. The games play and look really good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Looking forward with questions.
Posted on:10/26/11
Namataki
Location: Maryland.
Allright. Where to start?
I'm in love with the Metal Gear Solid series. I've been with it ever since Metal Gear for the NES. I'm grateful to hear that they are expanding the game to the 360, BUT, Is it particularly necessary? I understand it brings better Income to Konami, but Metal Gear Solid has, and should always be a Sony Playstation exclusive title.
It's like this, How do you think Microsoft and all of their fans would feel if Halo went Multi-Platform??
Anywho, On to the game itself. I'm particularly looking forward to this, for many reasons.
I have The Essential Collection for PS2, and I was totally captured by Snake Eater. I cried at the end of the game. (For Many Reasons) Now, Since It's SUBSISTENCE, Does that mean they are gonna include the 2nd disc of content? Such as the two NES titles--Metal Gear, and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake? Also, Are they equipping the game with the Critically Acclaimed Online Multiplayer mode? Cuz I'll be honest, I loved Metal Gear Online, and I think they could have gone soo far with it. :)
Metal Gear Solid 2--So many things I could say. I totally love the game, as I've put years into my copy. To have the game Re-Mastered for up to date systems, is soo coool, and very helpful!
Metal Gear Peace Walker---Don't really know what to say here. I don't know much more than the Bio. I played the Demo for it, but never bought it, because I sold my PSP shortly thereafterwards.
I just hope they fix some of the aspect ratio, so it's not all pixelated and grainy looking--I know this is hard because it's a PSP title, but I bet they can come up with something.
Also. Just gonna drop it here--If you're a true fan of The Metal Gear Franchise, then You'll get it for the PS3. I bought my PS3 this year Solely for MGS4.
3 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
cannier
 
Please wait while more information about cannier is loaded.
Additional information about cannier could not be loaded.
umm yeah
Posted 11/5/11
You said that metal gear solid has always been sony play station exclusive? well the SNES was not a playstation bro...
Customer Avatar
FuGaDev10
Orlando
 
Please wait while more information about FuGaDev10 is loaded.
Additional information about FuGaDev10 could not be loaded.
Metal Gear Solid has BEEN multi-platform
Posted 10/28/11
I understand what you are trying to say however, Metal Gear has been on Xbox since Metal Gear 2: Subsistence not to mention Konami is planning to make the new metal gear title on both systems as well.
You have to look at it from a creator point of view. Konami makes games for both systems. If they want to make money they have to make their titles accessible.
I have both a PS3 and a 360 and I'll be honest, Metal Gear isn't meant to be an exclusive title. The only reason it appears that way is because at the time, Playstation was the only game capable of what Metal Gear Solid had to offer. N64 was its only competition.
Exclusive titles come from in-house developers. Not much else to say about that.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
A MUST HAVE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/12
mrosas
Location: La Habra, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you love the series (Like I do) you should buy this product. Perfect for any player who has heard of the series and wants to play the game. If you are frustrated with the camera angles of the PS2 Versions of Metal Gear Solid 2 & 3, this game has over the shoulder camera options. If you are a die hard fan of the series and have a Xbox 360 then this is the game to get.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Outstanding!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
oswaldony
Location: Valley Stream, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I can Understand all the mix feeling, but this Game is a must have for hardcore gamers!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Trophies?
Posted on:10/25/11
Tinydog
Location: New York, NY
Game not worth getting without achievements or trophies.
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cannier
 
Please wait while more information about cannier is loaded.
Additional information about cannier could not be loaded.
Yes
Posted 11/5/11
the game will have achivments and trophies
Comments (1)
Comment (1)