GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition

From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, the HD Collection offers old and new fans a chance to experience the epic game play, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise. The "Metal Gear Solid (MGS)" series is the seminal work of Hideo Kojima, Japan's master game creator, and the progenitor of the stealth action game genre. The series has become a global phenomenon, with over 27 million copies sold worldwide. The player controls a secret agent from an elite special forces unit who is sent on solo sneaking missions through enemy installations, vast jungles, and sometimes even the thick of battle. Alone and surrounded by the enemy, even a special forces agent will find it tough to come out alive. But that is the secret behind the series' popularity - the cerebral challenge of figuring out how to avoid combat, and the thrill of sneaking through enemy territory undetected.The MGS series is also known for its storyline, which blends seamlessly with the gameplay. The scenarios are based on extensive research and incorporate the drama of actual developments in society. These elements have made MGS what it is today: a mature work of entertainment that transcends national borders and the confines of video games, and one of the leading products of the Japanesecontent business.
Average Customer Rating:
9.5
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Y U NO MGS:TS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/11
Rade
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A great game however I feel they should have opted for MGS Twin Snakes instead of Peacewalker. Nothing against Peacewalker it's a great game but MGS with the style of MGS was just awesome!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Re:Loving ever minute of it !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
DonnyB
Location: Clovis, New Mexico
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphic's are great, I never had the chance to play Peace Walker, so I also had a new game to play, plus the classic's. You can also buy just the game for $49.99 instead of the limited addition, I bought just the game and saved $30.00
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
It's MGS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
Buttertoth34
Location: TInley Park, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is MGS what more can i possibly say? The artbook you get with this edition is pretty freaking awesome. Congrats on the awesome release of a package of the MGS series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Best game ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
pyru420
Location: Caguas, Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After playing all the MGS saga I just can't say anything else just MGS is the best game I ever play( gameplay tactics, the sound of the guns, the sniping, camouflages etc..)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
The best story of all times
Posted on:11/7/11
PEGASUS
Location: Portland,OR
Oh boy, it all started way back in the 1980s when i fell in love with this awesome game !! i've played this game on different consoles over the years and every time i play it i love it even more !! the best tactics, the best ever storytelling in a video game!!! i can't wait to get my hands on this new ultimate collection edition !! SNAKE's backkkkkkkkkk !!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
MSG yesssssssss
Posted on:11/7/11
FearGOW12
Location: Baltimore, MD
Its about time cant wait son son imma be the frist
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Best Storyline of all TIME!!!
Posted on:11/3/11
Buttertoth34
Location: TInley Park, IL
Now I am a MGS fanboy. I love the gameplay, story, characters, etc, etc. Now i am very happy that they are releasing these 3 awesome games on the ps3 (sad they ported it over to xbox. But hey they dont get the awesomeness that is MGO) I have been a fan since the first game came out. It was awesome and i loved the story. I played the 4th game Guns of the patriots and i got confused with the story not knowing much about the backstory. Well now with the release of these games the story will now be complete for me. I advise anybody who is picking up this game to totally get this edition. I have never seen a artbook before that has 250 pages of pure awesomeness! I am so crazy for this game i will be playing this before i start playing my call of duty (sorry mgs just takes a alot more skill and patience then cod)
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
$30 extra for a book and case?
Posted on:11/1/11
2pacalypsenow
I love MGS But 30 extra dollars for a book?? i dont see how it can be worth the extra 30
10 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
I WANT THIS!
Posted on:10/31/11
dudemandinga77
Location: PSL, FL
I want this so badly. I cant wait to get this so i can play my favorite games in HD! I have all three of these games on there original consoles, the normal release of each game, and every rerelease of each game (of all the games,almost). Yes I know what you're thinking, "NERD", but this is like the best sieries ever! Also, I'm glad they're puting it on the xbox360, that way everyone can play it. Well, almost every one. They should release it on that new Wii thing nintendo is releasing too, that way EVERYONE can play it! I gues they should put it on PCs as well huh? Hopefully everyone will have fun!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
most assuredly
Posted on:10/27/11
MGSLover
Location: tx
these 3 are great games xbox should never b allowed & always awesome playn games where u get2c the improvements of 2d to 3d n the real lifelike world of kojima/konami games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Love MGS...but.
Posted on:10/9/11
Epirocker
Location: Shinnston, WV
They could have done so much more than this. Metal Gear Solid is one of those game series that DESERVES HD graphics. MGS4 was beautiful. The God of War Collection beats this one out, hands down in graphics. They should have put much more time in to this.
I'm all for a re-release on to PS3 but with PS3 graphics!
5 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 10/14/11
Konami wouldn't dare remaster the original Metal Gear Solid. You can't risk botching a re-release of the most widely hailed game on any platform.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
MGS FOR LIFE BUT.........
Posted on:10/3/11
BIGBoss1972
Location: Cartersville, GA
I am a big fan of all of the metal gear solid games this is awesome You get an Art Book and a Bunch extra u pay 30 more dollars get it I highly recommend this edition.
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
This is ultimate
Posted on:10/2/11
LiquidSnake
Location: New York, NY
The Art of MGS is beautiful, and and extra $30 for for a new case and 250 page art book. Oh yeah!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Well, there goes $80...
Posted on:10/2/11
Nitro731
Location: Dallas, TX
I can honestly say I am surprised this is coming out state side. I remember seeing the art work and coverage during TGS, and no one would think it would come out in the US. Well, it is... and now I have to pre-order it. I own all three titles, and I have beaten them many times, but I cannot pass up on a Collector's Edition of anything Metal Gear Solid related. Looks like I am about to be $80 more poor between Uncharted 3 and Skyrim!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
Go get it now! Worth the price tag!
Posted on:10/1/11
FoxHounder
Location: Dunellen, NJ
I'm a MGS Collector. I collect things new and old. This is going to be a must-have for any fan of the series. The Yoji Shinkawa artwork and the artbook itself are totally worth the price tag.
May not be as good as the Japanese version special editions, but It's pretty dang close. Go pre-order yours now, what are you waiting for?! Can't wait to play my favorite MGS titles in HD!!!!
9 of 10 found this review helpful.