GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle

The newly redesigned 250 GB Xbox 360 upgrades your entire Xbox 360 gamingexperience, with a leaner profile, more ports, plenty of storage space and built-in Wi-Fi that makes it easier for you to enjoy Xbox LIVE games, HD movies, streaming TV and more. It's also ready to pair up with Kinect, the revolutionary sensor that makes you the controller. It all adds up to more games, more entertainment and more fun.
Average Customer Rating:
8.583
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
10 stars
34
9 stars
11
8 stars
3
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
52 out of 6087%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Best Console Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
PrimeSkorpion
Location: Trail Creek, Indiana
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had the console for almost a year nothing has went wrong. The best console ever. The xbox is like a rock has never broke i take it everywhere.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Good buy doesnt get hot
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/12
alexizm98
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you are looking to upgrade this is a great buy. It has a lot of memory and it stays really cool compared to the old xbox 360. This is the third for me my first had the 3 rings of death after only a year and a half back in 08 it used to get hot on the top and the bottom of the xbox. My second one had the new chip and it was a tank i played so much on this one and it never overheated but it froze a couple of times i had it from 2010 summer of 2012 and sold it to my cousin to get this one. BUT IF YOU WERE TOLD THIS WAS QUIETER IT ISNT IT SOUNDS LIKE ANY OLD XBOX. The only difference is it doesnt get as hot. DON'T LISTEN TO PEOPLE WHEN THEY SAY IT GETS HOT THEY ARE TAKING ABOUT WHERE THE FAN IS IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE HOT YOU CHECK THE BOTTOM OF THE XBOX IF YOU HAVE IT ON THE SIDE BECAUSE THE BOTTOM IS WHERE ALL THE COMPONENTS ARE.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Better than the original 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/12
mike104740
Location: schaumburg, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this xbox 360 5 monthas ago after my 120gb elite broke down becouse of the cpu and gpu fans i installed. Then i was playing the original xbox for about 5 months, than i got this xbox and its great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Read
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/12
DUHDUHDUHDUHDUH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Listen, other people say "The PS3 has better graphics!" NO. It has somewhat "better" graphics, but it also has 30 less frames per second. The Xbox has 60-70 FPS, while the ps3 has 40-45 on games like C.O.D, or halo. Do you want a really great console, with still great graphics, or a laggy PS3?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Great for serious gamers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
JayG1994
Location: Minnesota
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is my second xbox 360 and I love it its great fun to play mw3 with a buddie and Skyrim when i'm not playing mw3. However if you are a casual player this may not be for you. If you are a casual player who wants to play online get a ps3 PSN is free and it works just fine (don't listen to the xbox fanboys) but maybe you do want to spend the money then fine it is worth it Iove the console its so sleek and looks real nice it fits my room perfectly A little tip for ppl if this is your first xbox if you have a disc in the drive DO NOT move it around it will eat your disc alive but It has a sticker on the console but if youre like me I just take everything off and dont bother to read it so overall if youre really into online gaming this is for you and maybe the casual player who is willing to drop a few bucks for live I recommend it 100% love it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
never freezes
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/12
c0ldkillR303
Location: hampstead
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
my ive had for 4 mounths and its never frozen or messed up it is sooooooooooo worth it its fantasttic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
best gaming system ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/12
onekill
Location: wantagh, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i just bought this system for my self and i already love it!! I have had an xbox 360 ever since it first came out and mine just finally started to glictch out so i dcided to buy this one and it is worth the money to get it. it is much better than ps3 because the games on xbox are much better and the live is much better on xbox because when i go online using a ps3, i always here little kids who dont know how to play and when i go on xbox live, i always have compatition with the oter people. this system is a must buy!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/12
soysuace
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best game system ever if you like shooter and adventure games. Don't get a wii for shooter games cause it sucks. You can do almost everything on an xbox 360.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
A great console, but it`s not perfect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
XPlayerX
Location: Miami, Fl
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
XBox 360 is an amazing gaming console. It`s looks sexy, it`s very silent when running, and now the RROD is almost history, although it can still happen, but very rarely. The XBox 360 delivers with it`s amazing graphics, and good games, and XBox Live (although it will cost you $50 a year, or more) is awesome. XBL is easy, n00b friendly, and has a lot of content and games in it. Yes, yes, the console is great, but not perfect. I have experienced some freezes with it whilst playing Skyrim (but that`s the only game my XBox has frozen on). So, expect your XBox to sometimes freeze if your playing huge games (like Skyrim), or maybe it wont, if you get lucky. I recommend people get the XBox. They will have many other people to play with online, and it`s just great. The Pros are: Good exclusive games (Halo, GoW, etc.), good graphics, amazing 250 GB storage (90 more than what the regular PS3 comes with), huge selection of Arcade games on XBL (Minecraft is one of them!), great online community (most people I meet are nice and mature, but do expect to run into immature little kids while on XBox Live, especially if your playing CoD), the XBox RROD threat is very rare, only happens to 5% of XBox consumers (if you take care if it well, it`s impossible for this hardy console to brake), its extremely, extremely, extremely rare for the XBox to heat, I know this because I play around 8-9 hours a day, and much more. Cons are: Your XBox might freeze if your playing a huge game (or sometimes your XBox just wont like a game, and will freeze on that one, and that one only) sometimes when it does freeze, it won`t feel like turning off either, so you gotta keep touching the power off button, the controller gets dirty with some sorta grey stuff that sticks to it (I`m guessing it is sweat, even still its sorta gross, but I just clean mine and that`s it), Xbox Live is NOT free, so if you cant afford $50 a year, buy the Wii or PS3. And that`s all; Xbox is a great gaming console.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AFOmarksman
Santa Clarita
 
Please wait while more information about AFOmarksman is loaded.
Additional information about AFOmarksman could not be loaded.
Quick con.
Posted 10/28/12
another con is that you can accidentally bump the power button or disc open button if you grab a game from the tray. that happened to me a couple of times
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Great Product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
iGingerSnapz
Location: Manchester, NH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love my Xbox 360. I understand you may have to pay for online features, it's defiantly worth it though, PlayStation has got hacked like twice. The graphics really aren't as good without an HDMI cord for a HD Plasma TV. You never have to worry about running out of memory as if you buy this you will have 250GB of Memory. I hate how you have to pay an extra $100 to buy an Wireless Adapter. If you have those 2 things, you will be good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hotcarbon
 
Please wait while more information about hotcarbon is loaded.
Additional information about hotcarbon could not be loaded.
Posted 8/22/12
you do not need the wireless N adapter for the new xbox 360 s console it has a built in adapter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
its ok
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/12
techman136360
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its a great system but ps3 is a little better ps3 is faster better live that is free and ps3 has better graphics but this xbox is still very good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 51 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YouKnowWhatsGood
LA
 
Please wait while more information about YouKnowWhatsGood is loaded.
Additional information about YouKnowWhatsGood could not be loaded.
XBOX 360
Posted 10/2/12
Honestly the best System Ever i have both Ps3 and Xbox 360 and i think the xbox is by far better. i say this because You have a bigger controller that fits really nicely in your hand, shooting games, racing games have amazing graphics and you get downloadable content before ps3. Also you have to pay for live but that is good because then we get good updates are dashboard is nicer, and looks better, also by paying for live, xbox can't get hacked as easily and they get everything fixed quick. thats why with ps3 it took them a very long time for their servers to get up so no one could play. XBOX Kills PS3!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Needs better games
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
XxMissLivxX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this piece of junk about 3 months ago and haven't seen a decent game on it yet. Most of it so called decent games are already on the PS3. I tried Halo and it sucked bad. Gears was okay but wasn't that great of a game that Microsoft fans claim it to be. The only decent thing about the 360 is the Kinect other then that it's....... yeah that all I can say. My opinion to those looking forward to playing WAY better games, having better HD graphics, free internet, and a Blu-Ray player should really consider on getting the PlayStation 3. You will get your money worth plus a wider choice on games. I'm only giving Xbox 360 a 5 cause of it's looks and Gears other then that a huge let down. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON IT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 69 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
truth
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
AlanM87
Location: Providence,RI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was a playstation fan and ps3 is cool because of the free online but let's be honest free is garbage. you gotta pay if want want great service and that's what xbox is about. it's worh the 60 dollars a year and what it has to offer is better than ps3. hbo sports fios tv are some of the things you get with xbox not ps3 plus the apps to connect from your phone and the kinnect .............. come on. no competition people complain for its prices but nothing is truly free, might as well pay for a good service.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Don't listen to other reviews.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
SheriffSpooksy
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Don't listen to any review if they say the graphics are better or worse. They are literally the same. The Xbox 360 is a great console (was), but Microsoft stopped focusing on the games, the Xbox is so family oriented and kinect oriented now. Plus they raised the price on Xbox Live to $60 a year, but if you don't want to buy subscription to play, you should get a Playstation 3. But with the PS3 you get so much more out of the console. For one there are two versions. the 120GB for $250 and the 320GB for $300. Also it is completely free to play. If you want you can purchase playstation plus wich is a GREAT deal. Playstation gives you free games, access to betas, discounts on everything. What does microsoft give you? The ability to use things like netflix, and play online, but you get no incentive for paying for XBL. Everything on the Xbox 360 costs money, and they constantly change it, wich isn't always good. PS3 has had the same XMB menu since it was released. So you could buy this Xbox 360 and buy Xbox Live wich if you don't buy it, you might as well not even buy the Xbox. But if you aren't looking to constantly spend money, and just want to play games, but the Playstation 3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
THE BEST CONSOLE.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
Trentor316
Location: Boston
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love xbox ive been playing video games my whole life and if your trying to decide between getting an xbox or ps3 get the xbox 360. I have both and i definitly recommend the xbox 360. The ps3 does not have better graphics than the xbox 360 they both have the same size graphic card. the only thing different about the ps3 is that the ps3 discs are blu-ray and that only makes the games for ps3 brigther. I like the ps3, dont get me wrong, but i would still recommend the xbox 360
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Works great,Don't have it vertical
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
UGKxFreeDaBeast
Location: Williamsburg,VA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have owned this console since february 2012 and i had it vertical.Well if your a hardcore gamer (10th prestige mw2,4th prestige black ops,12th prestige mw3) be careful the way you have it placed. if you play for hours at a time have it horizontal because when it overheats you may go through the problem i had.......THE RED DOT OF DEATH(This is REAL)......eventually after it working so hard the motherboard will get hot and eventually become fried like mine. now if this happens microsoft will repair it for free but if you dont want to wait a month to play xbox i would advise everyone to have it horizontal
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
The Xbox 360 - Amazing offline, a hassle online
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
GamingDude
Location: MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This console is the best of the big 3. The problem with the system is the online component.
Design - the design of the console is much better than the PS3, and clearly a lot of thought was put into it. It is smaller, but performs better than its rival. The new slim model does not overheat like the infamous Arcade and Pro models did.
Graphics / Sound - the graphics in the console are very good. When using the HDMI cables for the console, the graphics for all games are phenomenal, and the sound is top notch. The console sounds amazing in surround sound or home theater setups.
Gameplay - The gameplay for games offline is great. The controllers do not lag when playing any type of game, and the movements of objects in the game are never choppy.
Xbox Live - this kills the Xbox. The Live component is very poor, especially considering it costs 60 bucks a year, while PSN is free. I have the router right next to my system, and it still struggles to connect to Live at times. When I select my network, it always displays 3 or 4 bars of WiFi, however it is a hassle to connect. The Marketplace ALWAYS seems to be down for maitnence, so I have to wait days, sometimes over a week to buy games. For example I purchased Minecraft a 2 days ago, but yet it refuses to download. Finally system and game updates are horrendous - they simply don't download. The bar moves an inch and then decides to stop. This means I can't play games online until it decides it wants to download. For a 60 dollar 365 day subscription, I estimate I get to actually use about 250 of those, because the 100+ other days the system won't download the game or its update. For 60 bucks, Microsoft could at least make the online decent... However, when the system isn't acting up, the online capabilities are very good.
**The Xbox 360 is a better system overall than the PS3**
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AdrenalineJunky0
 
Please wait while more information about AdrenalineJunky0 is loaded.
Additional information about AdrenalineJunky0 could not be loaded.
Xbox's are terrible.
Posted 9/19/12
So I finally bought a Xbox and the biggest problem I have with it is overheating. Unless your house is freezing cold, thing things shuts off. I even bought a cooling system for it, and it doesn't help at all. I can't even play for 15 minutes before it just shuts off due to overheating. Everyone: Buy. A. PS3.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Very impressed, the large Hard Drive is a treat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I always hear about "Xboxs melting down and exploding if you look at them funny." This talk has decreased quite a bit as gradual upgrades have been implemented.... I, for one, would like to say that my OLD Xbox, one of the White 20GB "old school" Xboxs, had only one problem: it started freezing on me on a regular basis. I simply took it to a local store that does Game Console repairs, they fixed it up for a very low price, and they slapped a warranty on it. No "I sent it to Microsoft for 2 months" horror stories; I had it back in a few days. (I say all of this because if you DO have something go wrong with your Xbox, you have other options than Microsoft that will have it fixed in a couple of days MAX.)
Now, all of this said, I ended up getting a 250 GB Elite after having my beloved, relatively trouble-free White 20GB for many, many years; mostly for the MASSIVE hard drive.
The first things I noticed were the huge speed increase, the decrease in sound made by the Xbox unit itself, and the complete lack of heat generated by the unit. All 3 of these improvements were most likely due to the fact that I installed any game I was going to be playing on a regular basis onto the hard drive. This meant no "CD Spinning Noise", no HEAT generated by the CD spinning and by the unit having to constantly store and dump information from the CD, and since the information was read straight from the HD and not from the CD: the speed was greatly increased.
I've had this unit for a while now..... more than a year though I'm not sure of the exact date (I believe about a year and a half) and I have had no problems. It froze up one time; I was playing a split-screen co-op game..... I was freaked out that it would be like when my old Xbox was having trouble but it's been a LONG time since then and never happened again.
The games I have installed range from 4-7 GB on average (with a couple like Last Remnant and Mass Effect 2 & 3 being quite a bit larger), which means with a 250GB HD you can literally cram 50 (FIFTY) games on the HD if they all average 5 GB a piece. For most, I would imagine, this would allow you to store every game you own into the HD and still have room for all of your music CDs/MP3s. For myself, I can't put EVERY game I own on the HD but I do have every game I play regularly on the HD while installing and deleting when necessary those games that I play more sparingly. On this note, you can delete the game information while keeping any DLC or, perhaps more importantly, any SAVED GAMES you might have accrued while playing (you do this by going into your HD storage and NOT DELETING THE ENTIRE "FALLOUT 3" DIRECTORY, but rather going INTO the Fallout 3 directory and deleting the "Fallout 3 Game Data" while keeping the "Fallout 3 Saved Games" and "Fallout 3 DLC" files {the "DLC" might be under the specific name OF said DLC so make sure you are aware of the specific names to avoid deleting anything you'd have to re-download at a $$ price.}).
To sum up my typically long review: My experience with the Black 250GB Xbox Elite has been amazing; by being able to install everything I'm currently playing onto the HUGE Hard Drive it increases game speed while decreasing load time, heat generated by the console (put your hand by the air-blower-outer-thing and you'll have to play non-stop for 3-4 hours (of an installed game) before you start getting warm air (and since heat is the #1 killer of consoles, you are extending you Xbox life by a LOT by installing to the HD), and an installed game produces little/no noise (run a game directly off the CD and you'll see the difference.)
If you don't feel like reading all of that: The Black 250GB Xbox Elite has worked great, is faster, less heat-producing, and more durable than the older-school Xboxs (from my experience, anyways.) I'd recommend it highly but keep in mind: around the holidays they start pairing Xboxs with a couple of newer free games.... when I got mine it was Alan Wake and Forza 3 (and i think some Star Wars game that I never played). If you are interested you might wish to wait until the holidays... or at least until there is a gift-card or some other goody thrown in the deal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
Blahhhhhhhhhh
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
sundownea98
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is one of the worst systems ever. i'll b plain and simple it sucks its bad and slow and the $200 dollar one has only 4GB, breaks all the time and you have to pay for live common. Don't waste your money its not worth it. a ps3 is $250 has 160GB and has free live and uncharted and infamous and LBP1&2 ect....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Game Boy Advance SP System with AC - Used
8.6 out of 10(56)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 86 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Elite 250GB Console Matte Holiday Bundle
bar set very low, in my eyes.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
nick13145
Location: nokesville va
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have all 3 current systemsand the xbox failed to appeal in my mind heres why: the targeted audience flipped and flopped, from teens to adults to children and now back to teens.
(wii & ps3 stuck to their targets)
the discs were standard duo-layer and scratched very easily.
(wii had a solution with disc patented disc covers and ps3 didnt need to worry with their blu-ray games)
the graphics were okay but not fantastic (nor was ps3 or wiis).
(but ps3 had alot more room to stretch the graphic bandwidth as well as sound game time)
it was rushed.
(but if i remember correctly ps3 was too. while wii pledged not to join in the competition and did not rush too hard)
it had alot of problems from start onward.
(as did ps3 but not nearly as much as for wii i have had no problems and i got it the first day)
all and all. not worth the trip to game stop for this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
6 of 43 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>