GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Amazing Spider-Man

Harness Spider-Mans powers with Manhattan as your playground!Set shortly after the events of Columbia Pictures' new film, The Amazing Spider-Man throws New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of unimaginable threats.
Average Customer Rating:
8.478
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
7
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2391%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Amazing Spider-Man
Review 1 for The Amazing Spider-Man
awesome!
Posted on:6/14/12
zeejey
Location: dallas, texas
I've played the demo on the nintendo e-shop and i have to say, this game is AWESOME! The enemies are hard to defeat, but when you do defeat them it feels very rewarding. The combat itself is even more rewarding, instead of blindly flailing your fists about like in most spider man games, you can pull off awesome fighting moves like jumping behind the enemy, grabbing his head from behind, and slamming him into the ground in front of you. The web rush makes it even more interesting, with the web rush, you can pause time for a few seconds and zip to a spot twenty feet away! It's also useful in combat. For example, you're punching an enemy, and another enemy points a gun at you, using the web rush, you zip over to the enemy and web him up before he even realizes what's happening! the demo only includes the first few minutes of it, though, so i can't judge the rest of the game, but so far, it's awesome!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Despite no FreeRoaming...its still quite enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
TheaterNerd
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Of course people who haven't played the game will say it sucks because of no free roaming, but I pre-ordered it and I am close to beating it, and I must say I am not mad that I bought this game! After all the regular 3ds games are $40 but this game is only $30!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Despite the lack of solid titles for the 3ds this is one of the most enjoyable I've played. It follows the same stroyline with the same bosses so it's flows nicely with the console version instead of feeling like completley different game. The biggest complaint I have is the sheer lack of difficulty. Hardcore game can blow through this rather quick. In all, theres about 12 hours of gameplay in this game which isnt bad at all for the 3ds, after all the console version only has 25-30 hours confirmed gameplay So the 3ds is about half the length of the console which again isnt bad. Sometimes you're forced to used web rush in boss battles which isn't a huge deal since its still so cinematic and fun to use and look at. If you don't have a console then this is a must get because its the same game just a little watered down but after all it is a handheld. Im not going to pretend that the 3ds version is better but it is a great substitute for gamers without a PS3 or a XBoX!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mgsmaster
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about mgsmaster is loaded.
Additional information about mgsmaster could not be loaded.
100% true.
Posted 6/30/12
I agree completely. I have a wii, xbox360, and a 3ds and I am going to buy it for them. I like Beenox and all their work. Graphics aren't perfect but they are good and I'm not picky like other gamers, so I agree 100%.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Amazing Spider-Man
GREAT FEEL AND LOOK!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/14
djffkrejhih
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Honestly I think it does have great gameplay also missions are broken up into parts and overall makes it easy to play on the go. Many games are fun but not at this level and that is because of the want of perfection you will get when you play this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Very Good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/12
Homerschooler
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a very fun game. The graphics are really good, better then the pictures on nintendo.com and the estore. The fighting style is very unique, no more boring plain punches ad kicks. Now Spider-man is throwing them, putting his feet around there head and twisting them to the ground and many other great things. One thing that made the game very enjoyable is web rush, something new that they added in. It allows you to stay out of your enemies sight until you are ready to take them out in a new stealthy fashion. In the beginning you can only leap from the ceiling/ wall and web them to the ground. But as you upgrade you can pull them up on the ceiling. The negative is the sayings Spider-man says are repetitive and rather annoying. It does have some challenging parts but once you get passed them you feel accomplished. Then you remember you are playing a video game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Proof there is free roam
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
extremegamer55
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Many people argue there is no free roam.Well turns out you guys were wrong.In some missions there are such as SO-1 boss fight and hunter bot fights but there is limited space so you cant go around the city but you can run on walls web swing like crazy and dive and more.This game was so intense after i beat the game i was like wow.After you beat all the challenges you unlock the classic suit.Its basically like the movie suit just improved.I recommend this game to anyone looking for a decent game because this game made my life's wish come true.The game has good parts that flows with the story and this game makes a perfect backdrop for a spidey game so any one wanting to buy this game with limited free roam go ahead AND SPIN THOSE WEBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Demo is great.
Posted on:6/14/12
PSPownsDS
Location: Ohio
Just played the demo off the E-Shop and i can safely say this game looks like it gets Spider man right. Judging from screen shots it looks like new York will be open to free roam like Spider man 3 on the DS (the game only had a level at a bank). Mission featured played a lot like the other spider man games on the consoles You beat up thugs and completed objectives that took you all over the place.. The graphics look great everything from the character models, details in environments ,and animation. 3D was good but saw some ghosting. Combat is a mix of Spider man Web of Shadows and the recent bat man games. It's easy to string aerial web based combos with mostly a single use of one button, attacks depending on your direction of the circle pad. There's an easy to use interface with the touch screen on dodging or retreating and buttons having multiple uses depending on the situation is easier than it sounds. Theres also a mix of stealth, rpg elements, and photography .my only complaint is i did not really care for the voice of spider man. over all this game looks like a great time and i can't wait.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Homerschooler
GA
 
Please wait while more information about Homerschooler is loaded.
Additional information about Homerschooler could not be loaded.
Posted 6/23/12
WHere did you see screen shots for the DS?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for The Amazing Spider-Man
A Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
kiddplay
Location: bronx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Free roam or not this game will give you the greatest bang for your buck,from the insane combos to the slick web slinging action.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Seems great!
Posted on:6/18/12
Cyphon
Location: lakewood, CO
After my experience with the eShop demo, I can come up with this conclusion: The game will probably be great. The voice acting was pretty good, though the characters repeat the same thing over and over again. Eventually I just turned my sound off.
Even though I am pretty certain that the game will be great (the storyline and gameplay), the controls are pretty hard to use. The buttons work great for controlling Spider-Man, but tapping the "Dodge" button on the touch screen is pretty hard to hit while using the X, Y, A, and B buttons.
I can't really say that much about this game yet, because it was just the demo, and demos always have something that was taken out for the demo.
Anyway, bottom line is that this is probably going to be a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Amazing Spider-Man
awesome
Posted on:6/14/12
Homerschooler
Location: GA
I just played the demo on the 3DS, you can download it from the nintendo eshop, even with out free roam it was amazing. great graphics crazy fighting style web rush is insane... they did a great job
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mgsmaster
 
Please wait while more information about mgsmaster is loaded.
Additional information about mgsmaster could not be loaded.
I know...
Posted 6/16/12
That's exactly what I said. And it's true, it's, well, amazing. There will also still be car chases, bank roberies and photo stuff. You also probobly can replay missions. And on top of that, the camera has motion and gyro sensing. Also the graphics rock.
Customer Avatar
khfangirl
florida
 
Please wait while more information about khfangirl is loaded.
Additional information about khfangirl could not be loaded.
I think I fell in love with this game!
Posted 6/15/12
It's awesome just plain awesome. I played the demo and I was pretty clueless on what I was doing with the web rush and blah blah blah. Then I got the hang of it! So I suggest take very close attention to the controls! I can't wait until it comes out though. soo....EVERY ONE DOWNLOAD THE DEMO THATS AN ORDER!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Really Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
MLBChris
Location: Fayetteville, NC
I wasnt sure how this would look on a small screen of the 3DS, but the 3D really imrpoved it. the fighting moves and web shots were fun and easy to master, and dodge was easier to use than i expected. Web rush was a fantastic feature for the game, and it made the gameplay twice as fun as it would have been without. The graphics were also surprisingly good for the 3DS, and almost matched that of Resident evil Revelations for the 3DS. All the boss battles were fun and some challenging. one problem was that the game either froze up or the system had to restart itself many times during the gameplay. not sure if it was a problem with the game or system, but that is my only complaint. other than that, really fun game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Amazing Spider-Man
excelent!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
antiphoton
Location: denver,co
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game! its just too much awesome. the only downside is the controls are a bit clunky, however, the game itself is excellent. highly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Amazing Spider-Man
After playing the demo!...
Posted on:6/23/12
TheaterNerd
Location: Georgia
I am a bonafide Spidey fan! I love the movies, comics, but most of all the games. My favorite ones are Shattered Demensions, Web of Shadows, and Spiderman 2! Those game are great and hard to live up to, but I think The Amazing Spiderman game even for the 3ds will do that!!! I downloaded the 3ds demo within hours of its release and I have to say....it was bada*s!!!!!! Because the developers zoomed in the camera for a more personal feel sometimes it zooms in to much and you'll zoom inside of Spiderman's model!! Other than the weird zooming effects of the camera I LOVED this demo. Since this version dosent have free-roaming the only thing that worries me is the lenght! But if it is short it'll be fun, and OMG ITS ONLY 30 DOLLARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Amazing Spider-Man
EHHHH.....
Posted on:5/20/12
ZeldaBuzz
Location: Southaven, MS
Well, i was hoping for a big, free-roam 3D Spider-Man game, but I have to see some of the gameplay footage of the 3DS version beofre I buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fcfcy
 
Please wait while more information about fcfcy is loaded.
Additional information about fcfcy could not be loaded.
ah man
Posted 5/27/12
I preorderd this with out even reserching so im stuck
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Free roam or not, I'm buying.
Posted on:5/14/12
mgsmaster
There have been many Spider-man games without free roam that I played when I was little, and yet I still can't stop playing. Have you guys ever played a Spider-man game for ps1? I did and I still make it one of my favorites. So free roam for the 3ds or not, I'm buying.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Amazing Spider-Man
I JUST PLAYED THE DEMO
Posted on:6/25/12
micky67257
Location: new york ny
The demo was very good faboulus game freeroaming fun and the going anywhere with the web was a very good feature i think u should buy the game.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Amazing Spider-Man
love it , get it
Posted on:4/6/12
yodasoda
Location: miami,fl
ahh this game i already pre-ordered for the 3ds it is awsome heard they got the free roming back in the game so you can swing around and fight badguys while just flying by
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SuperBilly
Yo Momma's House
 
Please wait while more information about SuperBilly is loaded.
Additional information about SuperBilly could not be loaded.
It's Not Free-Roam for Nintendo.
Posted 6/8/12
Both the Wii and 3Ds will not have free roam
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Looks awsome
Posted on:6/8/12
nax2466
I am a fan af spider man and can't wait for the new movie and game. This one looks the most promising of them all.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Amazing Spider-Man
The best spiderman game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
Hile
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing.It would have been ultimate if 3ds had the free roaming ability.The game play is great,the graphics are okay sound fine it could be louder.This game is better then edge of time.I advise you to pick it up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Amazing Spider-Man
NO FREE ROAM :(
Posted on:6/21/12
Gamer0326
Location: NC
What do you mean NO free roam. This looks like a good game and I was really excited about getting this for the 3DS but is says right under the discription that free roam is availible for Xbox 360 and PS3 ONLY. I hate it when they make a game for consoles and then they make it for a handheld and mess it up. They did that with Skylanders and it looks like they are doing it with this. WHY DO THEY HAVE TO MAKE HANDHELD GAMES BAAAAAAAAAAAD!!!! :(
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Amazing Spider-Man
pretty amazing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
crazygamer58
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is really fun. it has great graphics, awesome combat and the new "web rush" feature is so cool!!!! the only way this game could be better is if it were open world... overall great 3ds game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>