GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Devil May Cry HD Collection

Devil May CryTM HD Collection brings the first three original Devil May Cry® titles; Devil May Cry, Devil May Cry 2, and Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening Special Edition together in one high definition package for the first time. Featuring Dante, one of the most iconic video game characters of the last decade, Devil May Cry HD Collection is full of the award-winning gameplay and style that the series has become known for with the addition of stunning HD graphics, bonus content and support for Achievements.
Average Customer Rating:
8.944
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 1894%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Review 1 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Biggest complaint is hereby eradicated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
Ramman
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The biggest complaint I seem to find in this game is "The HD upgrade isn't much of an upgrade". Compare the two side by side, HD vs original. The FPS is far higher, the blacks are a lot better, the gameplay is smoother, and there is a LOT more detail. the video below would help to prove my point.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Anticipation of the Year
Posted on:2/14/12
Zanman
Location: St. Louis, MO
For me, this year in gaming will not be as big as the last. I pre-ordered 12 games last year. I've only pre-ordered 2 thus far and it doesn't look like i'll be pre-ordering too many more. However, there is one thing coming out this year that blows almost every game that i've bought in the past out of the water. The Devil May Cry Series is and has always been one of my favorite series to play. There are just so many aspects about the game that can entertain you for hours and make the games playable over and over. That being said, you can imagine how excited i was to see the HD collection announced. My anticipation grows each passing day. Not only do we get to play some classic games in a remade HD setting, but now we have achievements to strive for to give that much more to do on the games. This definitely will not disappoint (seeing as though most of the DMC fans have played the classic games) and will keep us plenty busy until the anticipated DMC5 comes out. On 4/3/12 i will be ready to slay some demons....in HD!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DMC53142
Saint Louis, MO
 
Please wait while more information about DMC53142 is loaded.
Additional information about DMC53142 could not be loaded.
Amazing Games, Now Made Better
Posted 5/25/12
I remember as a kid playing DMC at my uncle's house. I loved it. I got my hands on the entire series, and loved all the DMC games. Now, they're in HD? Like the title says: great games, now better!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
I'm really excited for this
Posted on:11/17/11
spardinng
Location: Fresno,Ca
First before I make the preview buzz i want to thank you CAPCOM for bringing this three amazing games to the 360 and PS3.. I can't wait to play it.. I already pre-ordered this game and I'm gonna get it the first day.. Ever since I bought a 360 and PS3 I've been searching for information about DMC HD collection, at first the news in the internet were all hoax but now Capcom confirmed it I'm really happy.. I wanna play as Dante again.. Especially DMC 3 Dante which is hella funny and sarcastic..I've finished DMC 1 2 3 up until Dante Must Die mode.. I've also finished DMC 4 until HeII and HeII mode.. Thats how addicted I am at Devil May Cry games.. For me Devil May Cry is the King of Hack and Slash games It has complex combos and stunning visuals when it was on the PS2.. Many players hate the Complex combos of DMC but for me thats what make its challenging coz I just don't want to button mash in Hack and Slash games.. Like how other Hack and Slash games are made.. So all in all this game is a must for me.. Like what Dante always say "This party's gettin' crazy! Let's rock!"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
A blast to play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/13
guido3456
Without knowing anything about Devil May Cry, I picked it up at my local Gamestop not knowing what awesomeness it had in store. The Devil May Cry series has earned a lot of awards for it's flawless franchise of games and I can see why. You get the first three games that were released on the Playstation 2 all in HD. You have Devil May Cry, Devil May Cry 2, and Devil May Cry: Dante's Awakening. The stories are fantastic, the combat is fast paced and fun to play, and the voice acting is great. The only thing I did not like at first was the camera. It will switch locations and it kind of got on my nerves. However, what I learned is that this game was supposed to be a Resident Evil game and somebody messed up on it, creating this awesome franchise so I realized that it has that same camera style of Resident Evil games. Devil May Cry has earned a place on my favorite games list and hopefully you will find a place for it to when you pick it up at Gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Nastalgia never looked so Stylish!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
JAKofA11TradeZ
Location: Louisville, KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved the first Devil May Cry Collection but it was for the PS2, now that I can get the first 3 Devil May Cry games for my 360, and in HD no less, I was like a kid on Christmas morning. Getting to play every Devil May Cry by going to a menu, getting acheivements for beating demons into the ground, this collection has it all. It is a must buy for Hack and Slash and Hardcore DMC fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Take Home the Classics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
GuardianE
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Every once in a while, a title comes along that re-defines the future of gaming. It's a turning point in game development, and spawns hundreds of budget clones that try to cash in while it's hot. In 2001, DMC was one of those games. It single-handedly invented the action game genre as we know it. DMC3 invented true Stylish Action- with weapon switching, evasive maneuvers, and over-the-top powers.
The ports are really solid. I had some concerns after reading about the problems with other HD collectiosn recently, like the Silent Hill HD Collection. Visuals are crisp and clean, and the games look excellent considering their age. DMC1's textures hold up surprisingly well (shows how far good art direction can go) aside from the pixelated skybox or so. DMC3 looks absolutely gorgeous. They added some anti-aliasing, and the motion capture looks impressive even by today's standards. The only gripe that some people might have is that various menus and cutscenes (the ones that are full motion video) are still in 4:3 ratio. This isn't a dealbreaker for me, and recreating these videos would have been pretty impractical.
Some people are saying that they stretched the aspect ratio of the games to fit the widescreen. THIS IS ERRONEOUS. They actually widened the viewing area to 16:9, which makes some of the camera angle griefs much better.
Of course, the entire series runs at 60fps for buttery smooth combat. No hiccups or framerate issues. No technical glitches or bugs. The gameplay is pretty much flawless.
As for extras, the Vault comes with a collection of never before released pre-production concept art. One of the other reviewers on Amazon said that this is all stuff you can get on the internet, but it's simply not true. There are several pieces of art from back when DMC1 was a Resident Evil title. These never made their way to the general public. There's also a nice selection of music from each of the three titles. This is, unfortunately, incomplete, but it's still a nice touch. Throw your favorite track on while you peruse the gallery.
DMC2 is a throwaway title. It always has been. Don't let that discourage you because DMC1 and DMC3 together are worth well more than the $40 asking price. Even so, it looks as good as it ever has.
If you have ANY interest at all in action games, maybe you want to see what all the hubbub is about, or if you want to revisit these incredible titles with gorgeous visuals, you owe it to yourself to pick up this collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EonShifter
New Rochelle
 
Please wait while more information about EonShifter is loaded.
Additional information about EonShifter could not be loaded.
LOVE IT
Posted 7/13/12
This game is the best. I love the Devil may Cry seris and i recommend this to everyone!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Love it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
Vampireangel
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Started playing it and I started to like it, but when there got to be more action in it I LOVE IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Great!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
axel187
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just played it and it is the game i played as a kid with better graphics and better camera angles. the feel to the game seems better ,but i still hate how the bosses use the cheappy attacks at the end when they have low heath but it is expected from a campcom game. love this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Will for sure bring back memorys!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
CrisBliss95
Location: San Antonio TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off being a fan of all the Devil May Cry series this is great, just bought it today when i saw it and it brings back so many memorys loved all the games. For sure BUY this hd collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Thank you Capcom.
Posted on:10/21/11
Darkslayer15
Location: CA, Los Angeles
I love this game so much, and would like to thank capcom for doing this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ebony
 
Please wait while more information about ebony is loaded.
Additional information about ebony could not be loaded.
THANK YOU SO MUCH
Posted 12/11/11
my all time favorite game! mostly dmc2,but still im very happy about this!! i cant even wait for dmc5. capcom you are awsome,thanks once again
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
DMC x 3= Trifecta of Awesome
Posted on:1/21/12
gdcc1989
Location: Alhambra/Los Angeles, CA
Finally! Vintage Devil May Cry on the 360 in HD!! There's no way I'm missing out on this. I haven't played the first installment but I can't wait to experience it first hand, along with the sequel (DMC 2) that got me into the franchise in the first place and the incredible prequel (DMC 3). The upcoming remade dmc can eat its heart out!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
total flash back
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
KFRGreed
Location: orlando
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i got this and i have to say i think this is amazing cuz i remember how it was back then and now remade in hd has made it perfect and to top it off all three on one cd.
its a must buy for those who loved Devil May Cry
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Epic
Posted on:11/15/11
NeroToler
Location: Ohio, oh
Thank you capcom I just might keep buying your games but if you wouldn't have let ninja theory mess up the new dmc i wouldn't be upset But this i am so glad u made it. Next time make a devil may cry about vergil
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
For All Devil May Cry Fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
fkyeahitsjackie
Location: Morrow,Georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this recently a while ago and this game is in High Definition. It has 3 games in one disk. Devil May Cry 1,2, and 3. Its for gamers to relive the classic Devil May Cry. GOOD GAME MUST GET!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Dante's History. YES!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
coolguy7
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been waiting forever to see an HD remake of these games because i don't know the whole story. If you want to get in to this storyline, this is what you need! GO DANTE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Can't Wait!
Posted on:10/27/11
MajorGamer312
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
DMC has been and always will be my favorite game series, and im glad it will be coming to Xbox in a couple months!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Pain in the butt!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/13
tankkiller41
Location: Rantoul,IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game on a whim.I wanted something different to play.I had a few problems and I had to actually go online to figure it out. I'm a hardcore gamer.I played anything and everything.But my biggest complaint was you have to constantly save and save.If you don't you will have to start the mission over.And trying to reload your save was a task in itself.I know when the originals came out 2001,2003,and 2005.And released on high def in 2011-12!The game play is about individual missions.I guess its to each his or hers own likes.Would I recommend this to any one.The answer is NO!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 18 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Great for people who want a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
Blaziken
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game was great because you had constant challenge after challenge. And it took a very long time to complete a true hardcore Gamers game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Hardcore Hack and Slash
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/13
ktt257
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would not recommend this game to people who are very bad at games. It will cause you to be frustrated if you are. Now i recommend it to hardcore gamers and people who want a good challenge. Devil may cry 1,2, and 3 are in this disc. I personally dislike dmc 1 and 2. Devil may cry 3 is probably the best hack and slash game I have ever played. I like all the different weapons you can choose from and the styles. Styles are basically you're abilities. You can choose from Trickster, Swordmaster, Gunslinger, Royalguard, Quicksilver, and Doppleganger. Trickster is probably the one you want to stick to you're find time playing around since it can help you dodge around moves and teleport. Swordmaster is the style to choose if you want to have flashly moves. Gunslinger is okay if you want to look cool with guns, but i personally never used it. Royalguard is for veterans who now exactly when to block. Doppleganger is when you just want to summon another you who mimics whatever you do. What i like about doppleganger is the fact that you can have a 2nd player controlling it when you press start on the 2nd controller. Now quicksilver is my favorite style, it's where you can slow down time. This made it much easier for my to pass the difficulties. If you're a first timer i recommend you play through the difficulties in order, so you can get enough red orbs (you get them from killing monsters) to level up you're skills and weapons. You also unlock costumes on hard and dante must die mode which give you infinite devil trigger which is basically you're ultimate form. You regenerate your health and can slow down time infinitely. Overall i rate this a 10/10 because it felt so satisfying to beat all the difficulties and to get all the achievements. Although i really didn't like DMC 1 and 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
One the Best Collections
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/12
Hellraiser22
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This collection is great. It gives both existing fans and new ones an opportunity to play through the first three games. Before, I had only played the first game and I was borrowing it from a friend. All three games have distinctly different styles of gameplay music and story which boosts the overall value of the package. The original will always be a classic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>