GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Devil May Cry HD Collection

Devil May CryTM HD Collection brings the first three original Devil May Cry® titles; Devil May Cry, Devil May Cry 2, and Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening Special Edition together in one high definition package for the first time. Featuring Dante, one of the most iconic video game characters of the last decade, Devil May Cry HD Collection is full of the award-winning gameplay and style that the series has become known for with the addition of stunning HD graphics, bonus content and support for Achievements.
Average Customer Rating:
9.35
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 out of 2095%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Review 1 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Finally Remaster in HD
Posted on:12/4/11
Link007
Location: Portland, Or
Devil May Cry has always been my favorite Hack and Slash game, and I cannot wait to get my hands on the HD version for the PS3. Also, I'm glad that this is going to be put on a hard disk unlike resident 4 hd.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/13
Anonymous
Location: Donna , TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Devil May Cry is perfect for hardcore players (like me).I really enjoy it alot, so I recommend you to get it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
All 3 Last-Gen DMCs Remastered
Posted on:2/20/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This compilation disc contains hi-def remasters of all 3 Devil May Cry games that were originally released for the PS2--and includes trophies as well. The first DMC redefined the 3D action genre with it's frantic shoot and slash gameplay, paving the way for other visceral action hits such as Ninja Gaiden and God Of War. The second DMC was drab and repetitive--a clear cash-in on the first's success--but the third saved the series from mediocrity with better level design, weapon variety, and story (and a more vibrant color palette). TAKE NOTE: The version of DMC 3 included here IS the special edition; it includes the ability to play as Vergil, a survival mode, and other extras. Considering Capcom is about to reboot the series with "DMC" later this year, now is the perfect time to retread these classics. It's unfortunate that DMC 4 couldn't have been included to complete the experience, but it's to be expected.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Just What I Was Expecting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
aNormalGuy
Location: Warrenton,NC
I had never played the devil may cry series before but was interested in it. When this came out I went out and bought it, knowing that it was gonna be awesome because of what everyone had said about the series. I have still not completed all the games, but so far the series is AWESOME! I would recommend this to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Must Buy
Posted on:11/11/11
SilverDiamond18
Location: SilverDiamond18
This is my favorite series for the PS2 and to see that it will be transfromed in hd collection for the PS3. This might be my last time playing as my favorite devil hunter Dante because I'm not really feelin the new rebooted Dante
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Long Live Devil May Cry!
Posted on:12/13/11
SparklyCookies
Location: Independence, KY
A re-released 3 game pack full of our beloved sliver haired demon slayer Dante! I myself grow up with the DMC series and loved and still love all of them. Great game-play and storyline/s. I can't wait to see their amazing re-done in beautiful HD! just perfect for this series! I'm hoping for some extra stuff along with it, like side stories! because this is the real DMC series not the new "Reboot" DMC, which will never have nothing on the originals, I don't even have to play the "reboot" to know that! that's why I hope for something special. We need more real Dante love!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
If Only DMC2 Had Never Existed...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
Thief
Location: Cypress, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My review would be a perfect 10 if not for one problem...Devil May Cry 2. The original DMC and DMC3 are masterpieces, but DMC2 holds the collection back. Being a third of the collection, it cannot be forgotten (though it should be) and therefore, the collection as a whole takes a hit.
DMC and DMC3 on the other hand, are incredible games with great graphics, characters, fights, pacing and stories. These two games are what make the collection worth your time and money. While DMC seems to be slightly harder than DMC3, it won't hold most people back (though it might frustrate you slightly) and you'll keep playing, just to finish up the stories.
Overall a decent collection, but I recommend staying away from Devil May Cry 2, as even completionists might stop halfway through the game, due to it's gameplay, dialogue (or lack of) and lack of enemies through the areas.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Fianlly
Posted on:3/1/12
wereninja86
Location: Fayetteville, NC
ok i have been a dmc fan since the first edition capcom redefined the action genre and after dmc 4 i knew it was only a matter of time for the fact of lately the game companys have been remastering classic games into hd collections the prince of persia collection, the god of war hd collection twice, the splinter cell hd collection the metal gear solid hd, collection, and the jak and dexter hd collection if i forgot one you guys will know the one i missed but isn't it about time dmc hd collection i think so i i really wanna thank capcom and everyone that helped out in remaking dmc for us and keep it alive also how about a resident evil hd collection thats another very popular idea huh.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Awesomeness
Posted on:3/16/12
DynamikDynomite
Location: Boston, MA
I cannot tell anyone how long i have been waiting for this collection to come out. I have played the whole Devil May Cry series and i absolutely love Dante's wisecracking and smart alec remarks. I hope they do not change anything in these games, i have owned a few HD collections for example the Metal Gear Solid HD Collection, the Ico and the Shadow of the Colossus HD Collection, and they were simply blissful to dive back into my childhood. I garrentee that i will give this game a 5/5.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
This game is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
Rebirth
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Guys this is a must get if you played the devil may cry series on the playstation 2. The graphics and the frame rate in the game is amazing. It's a really good collection three amazing games for 40 dollars is a must get. Buy this game and a must have to all devil may cry fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
MUST HAVE!!
Posted on:12/20/11
NiteDrgn81
Location: MD
Devil May Cry has been a part of my collection since the beginning, and I still pull them out to play them. Number 2 I honestly never got through when I got stuck at that orb boss, but it was still awesome to have two storylines on different disks. Including things like being able to play as Victor in 3, are an indication that Capcom actually care about their fans to do an HD remake right. Most HD remakes have been sloppy, shoddy attempts to re-cash in on their games by boosting the framerate (Prince of Persia HD collection comes to mind) and I'm thinking this one will be different. Definitely on my "to buy" list.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Revised Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/12
CaDaVeR
Location: Monroe, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now that i've made it past the first game and half way into the second one, let me tell you that this is defiantly a must buy for those who love and remember the series as i do. Anyone thinking of jumping into the series now, this would be the best choice of a game. The combos you perform with Dante are more insane than i remember, you can upgrade your weapons and moves to take the game further. Each game introduces more combos, weapons and moves.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
You Should've Already Bought This
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
Lionheart2025
Location: Springfield, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Collection Is A Must Have For Both Hardcore DMC Fans And Any Newcomers To The Series. All Three Titles That Dominated The PS2 Market In One Package With All Its HD Glory. These Three Title Have Full Trophy Support And You No Longer Have To Worry About Those Pesky Loading Times.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
whole collection
Posted on:3/24/12
superkinggamer5150
Location: Atlanta,GA
ive never played devil may cry i can get the collection for $40 so why not im buying the day it comes out this is a cool game enough said add me at KingGamer5150 on psn if you agree
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
You may question your gaming abilities.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/12
Nextlyfe
Location: Dallas, Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'd never played a Devil May Cry game prior to buying the HD Collection, and the same was the case with Metal Gear Solid when I bought that HD Collection, and since I'd enjoyed that collection so much, I figured that I might as well try out a series that the company felt inclined to remaster in HD. I'd heard mixed reviews of their experiences with various Devil May Cry titles, but now I can rightly say that the experience I have had with this HD Collection is one of, if not the MOST, INTENSE gaming experience ever. Now, I've played games for 15 years now, since I was 3 and gaming on the ol' Sega Genesis and Nintendo Entertainment System, and I've never felt so incredibly horrible at video games in my LIFE. The first one took me a few days of solid gameplay just to beat it on normal. When the screen popped a "Now try Hard difficulty!" message, I was intimidated to say the least (I would expound upon this, but I'm sure profanity isn't really appreciated). In short, I'm stuck on the final Nelo Angelo battle and I've since moved onto the other titles since then. Now, for anyone who has played the games before, I'm sure you already know, and will agree, that the second game is definitely the weakest title on the collection, but is still a worthwhile experience. It definitely makes the ridiculous difficulty transition between 2 and 3 stand out. Devil May Cry 1 and 3 are extremely challenging, but not in an unfairly impossibly way. The games (2 being an exception), require you to think about your gameplay rather than barrel through the entire game like many newer games have resorted to. You won't forget your experience with these games, and most likely you'll be happy with this collection. (On a side note, you probably won't forget the countless hours spent yelling at the game for killing you too many times...)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GhostlyN1GHT
 
Please wait while more information about GhostlyN1GHT is loaded.
Additional information about GhostlyN1GHT could not be loaded.
Posted 8/10/12
These games are incredible. ive been reading through comments and see some bashing DMC2, ya its not as good as the other 2, but it is still a really good game and there isnt any reason to skip it. Also, DMC3 is a prequel, so you may want to play it first, followed my 1 and then 2
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Very convenient
Posted on:11/18/11
Camdude793
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Buying a new ps3 that isn't backwards compatible hinders me from playing my ps2 games so this really works in my favor. Freaking awesome!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TrophyCollector08
Minneapolis,MN
 
Please wait while more information about TrophyCollector08 is loaded.
Additional information about TrophyCollector08 could not be loaded.
It's About Time!!!
Posted 11/27/11
With the re-releases of various Video Games in HD, I was wondering when this one was going to appear! and the best part about it is that it's three games in one!!! I can't wait to play the original devil may cry in stunning Hi-Def.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
OH YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/12
soulknight405
Location: wilmington,DE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ONE OF THE BEST GAME SERIES IS BACK AND IN HD. I ONLY GOT THE THIRD ON AND I WAS HOOKED NOW I CAN PLAY ALL THREE.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ShadowXDarkblade
 
Please wait while more information about ShadowXDarkblade is loaded.
Additional information about ShadowXDarkblade could not be loaded.
Posted 4/24/12
I been a pretty decent fan of DMC. when I found out they made a collection I almost came on my mother. I bought this collection and it is fun don't get me wrong. But if your new to DMC, the only game you should look forward to is dmc 3. 1 is annoying and can be very hard for a rookie and well...everyone knows 2 sucks. Overall not a bad collection. But if your trying to go for a platinum trophy or all achievements...your gonna need Gods help....i'm serious.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
FINALLY!!!
Posted on:12/20/11
LordBl00dfyr
"Thanks for breakin the console-based lock for us, Capcom-boy. And WELCOME TO H3LL!!!!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Best HD collection
Posted on:10/17/11
Perfect
Looking forward to this one more than any other HD collection ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Devil May Cry HD Collection
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
Capcomfan2010
Location: Joliet, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved it as much as I like the originals. The first one is the only one of the three that does a better job with the HD 2 and 3 however, not so much. If you've never played it I recommend you do if you're interested in the reboot or what ever they're calling it (I don't support the reboot at all). Why you may ask? Well mainly to get the back story of course. If you've had these games before on the PS2 there's no change in them other than the free OST's for each game, the HD redefined games, and Devil May Cry(Original) changed the controls to the Devil May Cry 2 and 3 scheme. Other than that you might as well get the PS2 version or if you really want this just to add it in to you game collection definitely worth picking up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>