GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition

SOULCALIBUR V is the latest entry in the premier weapons-based head-to-head fighting series. SOULCALIBUR V takes place 17 years after the events of SOULCALIBUR IV and continues the epic story of warriors in search of the legendary SOUL Swords in 17th century Europe. The heroic battles transpire in a beautiful and fluid world with eye-popping graphics and visual appeal. SOULCALIBUR V tunes the battle, ,movement, and visual systems so players can pull off cool dynamic attacks with ease and battle with complete freedom.
Average Customer Rating:
8.286
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Review 1 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Could have been better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
Series5Ranger
Location: Sector 2814
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Soul Calibur V is a great fighter with a disappointing story mode. Unlike the recently released Mortal Kombat which used its story mode to introduce you to the fighting mechanics of almost the whole cast by having you play them, Soul Calibur V only highlights 3 characters and 4 fighting styles.
*Shout out to Pyrrah's Japanese voice actress for the Awesome job she does.*
-The legacy characters cover the missing fairly well, but I am dumbfounded on the exclusion of Talim from the game since she's probably the most unique fighter in the group next to Tira who is in the game.
Ivy's mechanics were altered in that she has only 1 stance, unlike the 3 stances she had in SCIV which made her a lot more fun and picking the correct stance for whoever you were up against to maximize your advantage.
All in all slightly disappointed with it. Hopefully there will be some DLC fighters, or even Story mode DLC to make the game have a little more life to it outside of multiplayer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Gosh Darn it
Posted on:10/31/11
WallToWall
Location: jacksonville,fl
I pre-ordered because they said Dampierre would be the bonus as a dlc character, i dont want a fricken ivy bobble bud, and if they were gonna do that why pick ivy
21 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pyrocloud7
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about pyrocloud7 is loaded.
Additional information about pyrocloud7 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/4/11
The Dampierre trailer was made by Namco so he is probably a bonus character for anyone who buys the game new, not a gamestop exclusive.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Could have been better
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/12
Yugaiven
Location: Reno, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The soul series has always been a good weapon based fighting game and this new entry certainly keeps that exciting style of combat going as well as offering a great online multiplayer but aside from that it falls short on some other key points most of which is the single player, choosing to focus only on 2 to 3 key new characters which while it does well for those characters it fails to deliver any more relevant info or story regarding the other new comers to the series, also dismissing many old and popular characters from the line up (Talim why!!!!!!) and for some reason including in my opinion pointless additions like Elyseum and Kilik as more limited versions of edge master and omega Phyrra as well a meaner Phyrra, these slots would have been better spent on others honestly. In the end while the main gameplay is still solid the many other little flaws keep it from being as great as it could have been. Heres hoping for some DLC to fix this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
only real fans of the series will like this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
Natsu
Location: arizona, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
SCV was a big letdown for some fans out there specially Taki fans. it looks like Taki replacement was actually the Biggest let down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
A Huge Downgrade
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
ElectricNerd
Location: Parma Heights, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So, remember how in Soul Calibur 3, there was a massive character creation mode and a really fun strategy game that utilized custom characters? Remember how 4 did away with that? Well guess what, Soul Calibur 5 has eliminated even MORE options. Now, while I don't think that a fighting game necessarily NEEDS a story, the fact that they eliminated character specific endings kills me. Yes, there's a story mode, but it follows two very irritating characters that you do not get to choose. Beyond that, it's a very limited character customization and quite possibly the worst single player experience I've ever seen in a fighting game. Unless you're going to be doing nothing but multiplayer gaming, stay far away from this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
krashhole
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about krashhole is loaded.
Additional information about krashhole could not be loaded.
Posted 2/4/12
Sure the story is short, but the MP is awesome! Far as character customization, what else do you want? I spent nearly 2 hours working on a custom fighter because there is so much stuff to choose from. If more people did their research prior to purchasing stuff, there would be less complainers in the world.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Ezio from AC is in this game!
Posted on:11/7/11
DCS70
Location: Jackson, MI
Well it was shocking news to see. But Ezio from AC is in this game.
I already gonna get this game. But now it just got Better!
This game is gonna Rock!
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
Kamali
Location: New york, ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Although at times the game may be very frustrating to play, it ultimatly is a great game. . Although it may be very easy to get a couple of moves down for each charector it takes hours to truely master each one. Ultimatly a great fighting game with hardcore multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DontBuySC5
Greenville, SC
 
Please wait while more information about DontBuySC5 is loaded.
Additional information about DontBuySC5 could not be loaded.
I laughed so hard
Posted 2/5/12
Lol, I'm happy people like you still exist; you know the comedians who make us all laugh because of their delusions of grandeur and such. Overall a legitimately funny post and entertained me to no end. +1 to poster, supporting a bad fighting game promoting button mashing and lack of thought behind wake-up game, reset, or even frame advantage between the player and the opponent.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Lol@ at peoples whining
Posted on:1/12/12
TheRook
Location: Bay Area, CA
coming from someone who actually played the game, It doesn't need to have every single character in past Soul series games to be good as the characters who are in the game have had alot of changes to them, or are new characters who are generally better then the character they replaced, meaning everyone at this point is a viable character. In short SCV is what SCIV should have been, and its well worth the wait....Yes my soul still burns.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AJCk19
Buckeye State
 
Please wait while more information about AJCk19 is loaded.
Additional information about AJCk19 could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
It's called constructive criticism
Posted 1/16/12
This isn't about having every single character from previous installment to the newest one, but having people's "favorites." I am talking about in general and Taki was a huge favorite. Also, they can just easily better the move set of an older character. In any case, some people don't necessarily pick the "best" character as their favorite.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Soul Cailbur V
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/12
Kamali
Location: New york, ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game has a great story from the perspective of Patrokolis, however the downside of this is that it mainly only focuses on him and his sister. I was expecting for arcade mode to continue previous stories of all the other charectors but instead their simply used as a tie ins or not in the story at all. The online and charector creation however are where it really shines and that ultimatly in my opinion is the main part to what people are really looking at. A lot of optiones with easy to use tools makes for the greatest fighting charector creation i have ever seen. It's a joy to just to make one charector, and will have you spending hours on your charector just to perfect it in everyway. Ultimatly the game is great and every fighting fan should pick it up if they havn't already. 9/10 + charector creation + graphics + fighting online - missing individual stories
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Great C.E. and bad roster decisions
Posted on:1/5/12
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
The collector's edition has a lot to offer and the game should be great none the less. But one thing I can't shake off is why is Taki not going to be a playable character and some of other people's favorites? This is a deal breaker to some whether they are going to buy it or not. The really Hard core fans to the series are still going to get this regardless. Gameplay of course is going to be better than it's previous title.
But removing/adding certain characters to/from the roster does have an impact on casual fans of the series. I mean look at the reaction of A.C. fans when they found out Ezio was going to be in it? So imagine how people feel that Taki is not playable then insert Natsu like it is fine.
On that note, I think I'll pass on this one...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
NT110
 
Please wait while more information about NT110 is loaded.
Additional information about NT110 could not be loaded.
Talim style
Posted 1/30/12
I didnt think of it until now, but I do hope that they have Talim and Zasalamel (or their movesets). It would be interesting to see an older Talim though.
I don't care if the characters are new, as long as the tale of swords continues on and movesets are kept while introducing new ones. I love SC and will continue to love it until I either die or until they screw it up so badly that I just can't love it any more lol.
Customer Avatar
AJCk19
Buckeye State
 
Please wait while more information about AJCk19 is loaded.
Additional information about AJCk19 could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Contradiction
Posted 1/20/12
If your playing as a character with a so called same moveset then that means your playing the same thing over and over. They have found a way to keep some of the favorites so I can't see why they can't do that with the rest. At least give the option or provide dlc. It doesn't matter if a character is in a game or not if they are unplayable.
Customer Avatar
SemiCasualGamer
 
Please wait while more information about SemiCasualGamer is loaded.
Additional information about SemiCasualGamer could not be loaded.
Posted 1/15/12
The thing is Taki is technically in the game, only it is a different person with the same fighting style. Just like kilik is gone, some other guy with a rod is there.
Customer Avatar
WulfReinard
 
Please wait while more information about WulfReinard is loaded.
Additional information about WulfReinard could not be loaded.
Posted 1/14/12
This installment is set quite a bit later than the last one. Most of the original characters have passed on their legacies to new characters. Taki has left her legacy to her successor, Natsu, who has pretty much the same moveset, but is faster. So if it's movesets, not the character itself, that is bothering ou, nothing much is changing. I'm a die-hard Soul Calibur fan, and this change of pace is more refreshing than it is frustrating. Who wants to play the same thing over and over again? As long as a character has Talim's moveset, I'm not freaking out.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 11 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Soul Calibur V
Posted on:1/15/12
GalaticaCurruptus22
Location: Oklahoma, Enid
I'm a Fan of Soul Series and by the looks of this game it could TOP out Tekken series!!!! just because of the new added Characters it's downfall could be some of the previous Character(S) might not be in the new game, BUT their Styles could be available so There's a BETTER CHANCE!!!! Plus Jin Kazama Style is goning to be added into the game even as a Bonus Characters! I would wish ( ONLY they made it TAG TEAM like how tekken 6 was) But without Tekken(S) Moveset. But im not complaining Overall I give it A 100 because they really Amped up their Game designs moves, character creation and free movement control.....OH im sooo EXCITED VOLDO IM coming for ya Buddy!!! time to pwn some NEWBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Do not listen to the Internet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
DigleDante
Location: Gamestop.com :P
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This IS the best SOULCALIBUR in the series. YES there is a huge roster cut, the story DOES suck, but the gameplay, graphics, music, character creator, all easily make up for it. The amount of DLC is massive and if you do buy a regular copy of this you will be missing out ( Btw the "artbook" is more of a character bio collection. ) You should at least buy the standard edition if your having second thoughts ( Save you some $ ) Most of the hate this game recieves is from the die-hards. I am a die-hard SC fan and this is the best game. ( Everyone stop trying to compare this game to SC II lol )
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
An Great idea
Posted on:1/11/12
McFel
I think that this is a great idea for this game, it just I wish it had more DLC for other characters for it looks like the dark knight and the light knight are going be for Nightmare and whoever has soul caliber now (I know his name just forgetting about it now) but for this price with everything else I think this is one of the greatest collection I have seen that is not 150 for it all, but this is one of the few games that I have done getting an "harden edition" for a game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Awesome
Posted on:1/26/12
ViolenSoma
Location: Huntington park, CA
Cannot wait for this game, gonna have to practice alot since it's been awhile since I played SC I'm dissapointed that my best character " Cassandra's" not in game but hey Imma get to try some of the new fighters, and to those complaining about the bobble head being Ivy, Ivy is freaking awesome she's been in SC from the start so it makes perfect sense to have her, plus it looks cool!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
chibimello
 
Please wait while more information about chibimello is loaded.
Additional information about chibimello could not be loaded.
So excited!
Posted 1/30/12
I can not begin to explain how excited I am for this game! I've been playing this series since the beginning and I'm just amazed at how each game gets better and better. I've been counting down all day and I can't wait to pick up my collectors edition copy and my chibi Ivy bobble head in the morning. :D
Customer Avatar
Brit1989
 
Please wait while more information about Brit1989 is loaded.
Additional information about Brit1989 could not be loaded.
She might...
Posted 1/29/12
Cassandra might still make to SC5, I read that she might be a boss for the game and normally they make them unlockable. I'm hopeing to see some of the original fighters who didnt get announced still get maybe a DLC download.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
THIS IS EPIC!!!!
Posted on:10/29/11
JKDrake23
Location: Raleigh, NC
This game is gonna be mad epic.....downloadable content for character creation and that sweet game case.....epic!!!!
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mwild13
 
Please wait while more information about Mwild13 is loaded.
Additional information about Mwild13 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/2/11
Cant Wait for this game to come out! Just saw the trailer for it on youtube and Ezio looks epic!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for SoulCalibur V Collector's Edition
Question!
Posted on:11/4/11
NewWaveNinja
Is the collector's edition on Xbox 360 as well??? I really want to know as I don't play the PS3. This is something totally sweet and I hope I can maybe see a 360 version...please!!!
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gamersince93
Right here
 
Please wait while more information about Gamersince93 is loaded.
Additional information about Gamersince93 could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
.........You're kidding.
Posted 12/17/11
You searched this collectors edition yet you never saw an Xbox CE..... Are you kidding me. *Sigh* research again and don't embarrass yourself.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)