GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom

Japan's Edo Period was drawing to a close. The shogunate, who'd held power in the country for more than 200 years, found itself challenged by the imperial court, and by several domains who had chaffed under shogunal rule. In this midst of this political unrest, an organization rose to prominence: the Shinsengumi. Originally formed to protect the street of Kyoto from dangerous ronin, they came to represent the last, tragic bastion of the honor-bound samurai culture that had defined much of Japan's history.
Average Customer Rating:
9.545
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2295%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Review 1 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Awesome First Otome Game In America
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/12
Amaihana12
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Love love love this game very much<3. From playing the game first then watching the Hakuouki anime makes me want more Otomake games come to america I would love to play every single one of them : 3
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
So happy that Hakuoki gets translated
Posted on:11/4/11
Mochi
Location: Austria
Oh thankfully its getting translated to english =_= some of my friends and I got really desperate we even started to do it ourself xD hahaha (and its worst translation not even 1/10 done kesesese) :D well 4 Months might be bearable >> but wouldn't mind a earlier realize such as X-Mas ;P dunno!!!!
Thanks guys!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Beautiful Otomoe/ VN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
yoitzo
Location: So Cal
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Definitely geared towards females, this otome is beautiful. While it can get repetitive trying to get all the endings, the fast forward button is a time saver. The pictures and CG is truly breathtaking. There are a lot of characters, and therefore, a lot of Japanese names to remember. The Encyclopedia definitely helps. There is no "gameplay" since this is a visual novel. You read, read, read and make a choice every once in a while. The main character is a girl that you control and make choices for. She can be a bit frustrating and many people seem to think she was made by a man (LOL). While this is supposed to be romance game, it isn't the main portion of the game; rather there is a deeper story line of historic Japan between the shogunate and the imperialists. The voice acting is superb and (thank goodness) is in Japanese while the text is in English. This may be off putting to some while a saving grace to others.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
A guy buying this game
Posted on:11/22/11
Jonoangelofdeath
Location: Spokane, WA
While i am a straight male i am thinking of buying this game as i am a sucker for a good story as long as it has drama, romance, fighting, and some humor. Be you male or female take pride in what you play and enjoy the heck out of it if your the target audience or not.
52 of 53 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KingRose58
 
Please wait while more information about KingRose58 is loaded.
Additional information about KingRose58 could not be loaded.
Totally Understand!
Posted 1/24/12
I'm the same way! I want to play this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Can't wait
Posted on:11/1/11
Catolf
Location: Sandusky, Oh
I've never officially played an Otome can't so I can't wait to get my hands on this, and hopefully with the buy we'll see more of them coming stateside.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VampireSuductress
Henderson, NC
 
Please wait while more information about VampireSuductress is loaded.
Additional information about VampireSuductress could not be loaded.
Can't Wait!!!!
Posted 11/4/11
I've seen the anime to this and LOVED it because it was so enlighten and really told me a lot of history so I cannot wait for this game to be released. If this is anything like the anime, this game is going to sell great!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Not the first translated! Hopefuly not the last!
Posted on:11/12/11
AesopDark
Location: AR
Yo, Jin, Bo The Body Guards was the first otomon game translated. Sadly it had few buyers so they haven't translated one until now. Hope Heart no Kuni no Alice gets Translated next !!!!! So if you are a person that plays these games you need to buy this one so more will be translated!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XxDestinyXx
 
Please wait while more information about XxDestinyXx is loaded.
Additional information about XxDestinyXx could not be loaded.
Posted 11/12/11
I would hardly count Yo-Jin-Bo as a proper Otome game. Sure it had all the elements, but it was AWFUL! Way too short, horribly tacky jokes, and the story was boring.
I am not surprised Yo-Jin-Bo did not turn people on to Otome games.
Luckily, Aksys is putting out a much better Otome game for us. So, hopefully many people will pick this up and games like the one you mentioned (which looks very good) and Hiiro no Kakera will soon be in our eager hands! ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
The best otome game in America
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/12
SamuraiGirl10
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So Hakuouki is mainly aimed at a female audience, however it has a broader range because of the many genres and yes I know some boys who even went out and bought it and they loved it. Not all of the Hakuouki games are visual novels, there is actual gameplay in them depending on which ones you buy so don't let people's opinions rule you; give it a try! The art is perfect and so are the voices (they keep the original seiyuus from the anime) and the plot is amazing. Depending on how you play will determine the ending you get at the end of the game. Hakuouki, even though it's aimed at females, doesn't focus on romance but instead it focuses on the action, fantasy, paranormal and horror aspects of the series. I suggest that people check out the game trailers and the official websites as well as the trailers for Hakuouki Bakumatsu Musouroku, the upcoming game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
A Wish Come True!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
MouTea
Location: San Diego
I've always wanted to play this game, being the huge Kazuki Yone fan I am. I love all of her art work and this game blows my mind! With multiple endings and gallery collects along with many other things, it keeps the game going! And yes you can change the protagonist's name.
Although I do believe this game to run towards the female audience instead and you can't really compare this game to the Anime (I don't watch Anime so I can't really say) because the art is completely different. I've looked up some pictures for the Anime of Hakuouki that people were talking about and I just told myself "No"... I highly prefer game than Anime because you get bad insights (or girls get jealous which I find funny, according to forums) about the main character. You must play the game to know the TRUE story! I hope more comes out because there are more out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Did not disappoint!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
SamHam
Location: New York
I'm a fan of otome games and visual novels and I was so happy to find out that one of the popular ones in Japan would be translated to english. I'm not exactly a fan of Hakuouki but I needed to give it a chance because it was the first PSP otome game in english and I hoped that if this one fared well then more otome games would soon follow. I didn't have high expectations for this game but when I actually got to playing I was blown away. The graphics are beautiful, the sounds were great too. The plot was very enjoyable and I found myself getting really into the game. I really hope more otome games will come in english! They're probably my favorite things to play haha :) Hopefully games like Starry Sky, Uta no Prince-Sama and more will follow! Oh and one more thing: this game isn't exactly a game. You don't get to hack at bad guys and mash all the buttons to beat a level or whatever. It's a visual novel and a great one at that :) I highly recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
I was very impressed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
WendyRae
Location: Leesville, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had originally found out about this series a couple years ago when I had stumbled across the anime by DEEN Studio. After finding out it was a visual novel originally, I began to follow playthroughs and the like of the original Japanese version (but to hardly any avail since my Japanese is very basic). I was ecstatic when I figured out that Aksys was going to release this game in English. I was very impressed with what Aksys did with the translation. They kept the story straight and not too confusing, while adding a touch of English localization. I never knew Hijikata had cussed so much, haha. Speaking of dialogue, I'm ever so grateful that Aksys kept the original Japanese dubs. Morikubo Showtaro and Tsuda Kenjiro are two of my favorite voice actors. The art of the game is absolutely stunning, but I'd expect no less from Kazuki Yone. The soundtrack is also something that I adore from this game. (So glad I got the LE.) The only downfall to this game is that it can stretch your patience. My first playthrough took around 26~30 hours, and I even got a bad end! But I believe your patience is rewarded greatly. I give this game a 10/10. I hope others will think the same! Maybe we can help bring more Otomate Visual Novels to the US!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
AMAZING!!!!! Worth the Buy!!
Posted 4/3/12
Not only was the game amazing! I was pleasantly surprised to find a CD and Art Book included in the box! I really hadn't expected it! The Art is Stunning~ The Story has so much potential and because of this game I'm now addicted to the Fandom!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
So So Excited!!
Posted on:11/13/11
Zanarkand9
Location: TX
Wow, I really can't believe they're bringing this series the U.S.!! I watched both seasons of the anime, and I do confess that my inner fangirl absolutely fell in love. Nevertheless, the art is stunning and the characters are amazing. I'm looking forwards to this game SO much!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
FINALLY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
ThatGuyYouKnowThatGuy
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of the best games i have ever played on my PSP it is a dating SIM yeah i said it they were crazy enough to release one in the U.S. and it is a great game unless you are looking for Action or movement this game is at its core a Dating Sim and the fact that they kept the Japanese voices is the most appealing part though since some people seem to dislike that feature i admit they could have added an English Voice button but for me like many Anime fans could careless about english dubing it has a great story and gives you the ability to make some choices personally i think it is well worth the money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
My wish!
Posted on:2/7/12
Yukina
O my goodness it finally came true! I hope this won't be the last one they do because they have MANY more games similar to this one!~ Lol my wish came true TT^TT so excited fangirl ness is being unleashed lol!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
I can't believe it's finally here!
Posted on:11/3/11
MouTea
Location: San Diego
I've always loved Kazuki Yone's work and being a huge fan and all I was bummed that non of her novel's and games came out in North America.
But now it's finally here! The first of the Hakuouki series!!! I don't watch anime so I can care less what people are comparing with the anime. YOU MUST play the game to see the wonderful art work! This game is mostly pointed towards female audience because "Otome" games are more what people like to call simulation dating. I will definitely get this game for sure!!!!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
In one word...WOW.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
Senshi75
Location: Woodville, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a huge fan of Japanese history (samurai mostly) and yes, I'm an anime fan as well so this game was all that and a bag of chips. I'm so happy I found out about this game from the American publisher via You Tube or else I would have never found out about it. I wasn't at all disappointed.
I'm no stranger to the history behind the lives of the Shinsengumi's most recognized leaders so there were no real surprises as to some of their fates. I did like how you were able to alter that by going one route or another. I'm new to otome games and I fell in love with the whole concept.
The game itself was lush, colorful and absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting was left intact from the Japanese original and I was tickled pink to actually recognize several of them in particular Shotaro Morikubo and Kosuke Toriumi. I was expecting a dub which happens so often but was happy they left it as is. It would have totally destroyed the atmosphere. The sound effects and in-game music were much to be desired but the intro and outro themes were superb.
All in all this was a fantastic experience and I hope more games in this series and more otome games altogether make it over here. I also hope they bring the PS3 version of this game over as well. I'd be first in line to buy them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
gozita444
Location: Maryland, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was my first visual novel and I am well impressed, it was truly addictive and suspenseful even after already seeing the anime! (Which is a must see by the way). At first I was a little turned off by the whole "no gameplay thing" but once I got used to the idea and gave it a try I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. This game has one of the best storylines I’ve ever seen in games, and don’t worry there is a lot of action in this game as well as romance! It's a samurai war story after all. My only advice is to know what you’re buying before you purchase this game, understand what a visual novel is and get used to the idea before playing it, I would recommend this game to people who like history, romance, a good storyline, samurais, anime fans, onimusha gamers, and psp owners in general, I'm not going to give away any spoilers but this game is mainly for a female audience though I do believe boy gamers could still play it. This game does have an anime series based off of one of the character paths in this game which is a great bonus! I HIGHLY recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Great Visual Novel!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
chichiri
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After playing Hakuoki, I can see why this game has been such a hit in Japan. (The PS3 version is actually the first otome game to be released on the PS3). With a mix of war, romance, fantasy and history, this game has an incredibly compelling story. The Japanese voice acting job is incredible. Many of the voice actors are considered top knotch and it shows. The art is also stunning and while the background music isn't to die for, it is still enjoyable. This game is text-driven, so I would recommend this to anyone who likes to read in their spare time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Absolutely amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
MitsukitheFangirl
Location: Madera, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was exactly what I expected. Amazing art, characters, and storyline. Even though it's an otome game - a game aimed towards female players where you try to develop a romantic relationship between the main character and one of the main male characters - I highly recommend buying this game, whether you're a boy or a girl. The story completely takes you in, and you can find yourself playing for hours on end. I definitely hope this sells well so Aksys can release more otome games/visual novels, we really need more of them in the States.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MitsukitheFangirl
Madera, CA
 
Please wait while more information about MitsukitheFangirl is loaded.
Additional information about MitsukitheFangirl could not be loaded.
WAIT
Posted 3/4/12
I lied. Make that 9 on the Sound a 10. I dunno what I was thinking, the sound is great. Sure the music can get repetitive after awhile but the awesome voices make up for that. :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
BEYOND MY EXPECTATIONS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
Yasha147
Location: Orlando, FL
I can be a hardcore gamer sometimes but it depends on which genre of game. Being a big DMC fan, I was a little unsure about this one since most games like these lose their appeal quick.....but this one.....IT WAS AMAZING!!! I have spent countless hours and days playing it and I haven't reached the half way point yet. Sometimes you can predict what can happen, but this game keeps you on your toes! The art, detail and music are incredible!!!!! I really hope they release more of the franchise here!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Brilliant!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
Zanarkand9
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was anticipating this game hardcore, and it definitely went beyond my expectations. The art is utterly stunning, and the gameplay is excellent. The music was a bit disappointing, but overall fits in nicely. Being very text-driven, this game would appeal to both casual gamers and hardcore gamers, like myself, as well. It's fun to see all the side stories depending on which character you get close to and compare it to the anime adaptation!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>