GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom

Japan's Edo Period was drawing to a close. The shogunate, who'd held power in the country for more than 200 years, found itself challenged by the imperial court, and by several domains who had chaffed under shogunal rule. In this midst of this political unrest, an organization rose to prominence: the Shinsengumi. Originally formed to protect the street of Kyoto from dangerous ronin, they came to represent the last, tragic bastion of the honor-bound samurai culture that had defined much of Japan's history.
Average Customer Rating:
9.545
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2295%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Review 1 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
gozita444
Location: Maryland, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was my first visual novel and I am well impressed, it was truly addictive and suspenseful even after already seeing the anime! (Which is a must see by the way). At first I was a little turned off by the whole "no gameplay thing" but once I got used to the idea and gave it a try I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. This game has one of the best storylines I’ve ever seen in games, and don’t worry there is a lot of action in this game as well as romance! It's a samurai war story after all. My only advice is to know what you’re buying before you purchase this game, understand what a visual novel is and get used to the idea before playing it, I would recommend this game to people who like history, romance, a good storyline, samurais, anime fans, onimusha gamers, and psp owners in general, I'm not going to give away any spoilers but this game is mainly for a female audience though I do believe boy gamers could still play it. This game does have an anime series based off of one of the character paths in this game which is a great bonus! I HIGHLY recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Awesome First Otome Game In America
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/12
Amaihana12
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Love love love this game very much<3. From playing the game first then watching the Hakuouki anime makes me want more Otomake games come to america I would love to play every single one of them : 3
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
I could not stop playing this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/12
Anonymouswashere
Location: Spring,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok I'm not gonna lie, at first it seemed a little slow and odd because you have to read a lot and it's just different from the games I typically play, like Skyrim. The plot is so addicting and the characters are just awesome. It's very different and cool because since it's an Otome game, you have several male characters you have to develop a romantic relationship with one of them and you have this thing in the game where you can check your romance status with the different characters. It's just such a good game and it was totally worth buying, if you liked the Television show of Hakuoki, then you would love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
AMAZING!!!!! Worth the Buy!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was so happy to finally get this in the mail!!! So worth the buy! Amazing Art Work, Story line and because of this game I was introduced into the fandom!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Did not disappoint!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
SamHam
Location: New York
I'm a fan of otome games and visual novels and I was so happy to find out that one of the popular ones in Japan would be translated to english. I'm not exactly a fan of Hakuouki but I needed to give it a chance because it was the first PSP otome game in english and I hoped that if this one fared well then more otome games would soon follow. I didn't have high expectations for this game but when I actually got to playing I was blown away. The graphics are beautiful, the sounds were great too. The plot was very enjoyable and I found myself getting really into the game. I really hope more otome games will come in english! They're probably my favorite things to play haha :) Hopefully games like Starry Sky, Uta no Prince-Sama and more will follow! Oh and one more thing: this game isn't exactly a game. You don't get to hack at bad guys and mash all the buttons to beat a level or whatever. It's a visual novel and a great one at that :) I highly recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
I glued my face to this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
Gamestopluver
When i first got this i was amazed that i could have many different story lines witch makes the game ALWAYS interesting. If you love a good story and heart pounding moments you should get this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Yukina
Nevada
 
Please wait while more information about Yukina is loaded.
Additional information about Yukina could not be loaded.
LOVED IT
Posted 4/8/12
As soon as I bought it I couldn't put the item down. The game is as awesome as the Japan's product. Drawing is so beautiful and the story makes you blush, cry and smile. I highly recommend this game for those who simply need a little romance in their imagination. I'm looking forward to more Otogames in the future!~
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
I could kiss it.... :3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/12
AngelicVanga
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a masterpiece. If you play it you'll want to kiss it as much as I do. from the art to the storyline and to the characters the game is awesome all the way around. Whoever dosen't like this game is an idiot and dosen't deserve to be called a gamer. If your reading this go buy this game right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Finally!! Worth the buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
AGrace13
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Bought the Limited Edition and it was worth every penny! I've waited years for an otome game to come to America. The plot and characters are great! And the graphics are AMAZING! I love this game!! I really hope this isn't the last otome game to come to America. This is deffinetly more centered towards female gamers since you play a girl and there's romance but I'm not one to judge if a guy tries it or likes it. Anyways, I recommend it! (p.s. thank you Aksys Games for translating!!!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Just what I wanted!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
LeoCancerLibra
Location: Mesa, Az
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a fan of the Hakuouki anime for about a year, and I was so excited to find out the game was being translated into English! I wanted to play it sooo badly, so needless to say, I bought the limited edition as soon as I could. Although, do NOT expect it to be like other games! It is a visual novel, and the most you do during the game is pushing up or down, and most of the time you're pushing X to move on in the story. I would recommend it to people that like to read and would be interested in an interactive novel like this, or obviously to people that like anime and eye candy! x3 The graphics are beautiful, but I think it'll get a little redundant after I play through everyone's routes. Despite that, I still love it, and hope that more games like it (Starry Sky, Uta no Prince sama) are translated!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
The best otome game in America
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/12
SamuraiGirl10
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So Hakuouki is mainly aimed at a female audience, however it has a broader range because of the many genres and yes I know some boys who even went out and bought it and they loved it. Not all of the Hakuouki games are visual novels, there is actual gameplay in them depending on which ones you buy so don't let people's opinions rule you; give it a try! The art is perfect and so are the voices (they keep the original seiyuus from the anime) and the plot is amazing. Depending on how you play will determine the ending you get at the end of the game. Hakuouki, even though it's aimed at females, doesn't focus on romance but instead it focuses on the action, fantasy, paranormal and horror aspects of the series. I suggest that people check out the game trailers and the official websites as well as the trailers for Hakuouki Bakumatsu Musouroku, the upcoming game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Finally!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
HKittylvr
Location: North Carolina
Ive been waiting for a game like this forever. Im not a big gamer like my man is but im a huge anime fan and I yell at him when he tries to skip cut scenes when he plays RPGs :P I really get into the plot of games so a visual novel that is aimed at a female audience is perfect. I ordered this game a couple weeks ago, have played it pretty much every day, and just beat the whole game. I was just lucky that I happen to own a psp. I love Hakuoki and would like more games similar to this please!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Absolutely amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
MitsukitheFangirl
Location: Madera, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was exactly what I expected. Amazing art, characters, and storyline. Even though it's an otome game - a game aimed towards female players where you try to develop a romantic relationship between the main character and one of the main male characters - I highly recommend buying this game, whether you're a boy or a girl. The story completely takes you in, and you can find yourself playing for hours on end. I definitely hope this sells well so Aksys can release more otome games/visual novels, we really need more of them in the States.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MitsukitheFangirl
Madera, CA
 
Please wait while more information about MitsukitheFangirl is loaded.
Additional information about MitsukitheFangirl could not be loaded.
WAIT
Posted 3/4/12
I lied. Make that 9 on the Sound a 10. I dunno what I was thinking, the sound is great. Sure the music can get repetitive after awhile but the awesome voices make up for that. :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
FINALLY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
ThatGuyYouKnowThatGuy
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of the best games i have ever played on my PSP it is a dating SIM yeah i said it they were crazy enough to release one in the U.S. and it is a great game unless you are looking for Action or movement this game is at its core a Dating Sim and the fact that they kept the Japanese voices is the most appealing part though since some people seem to dislike that feature i admit they could have added an English Voice button but for me like many Anime fans could careless about english dubing it has a great story and gives you the ability to make some choices personally i think it is well worth the money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
I was very impressed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
WendyRae
Location: Leesville, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had originally found out about this series a couple years ago when I had stumbled across the anime by DEEN Studio. After finding out it was a visual novel originally, I began to follow playthroughs and the like of the original Japanese version (but to hardly any avail since my Japanese is very basic). I was ecstatic when I figured out that Aksys was going to release this game in English. I was very impressed with what Aksys did with the translation. They kept the story straight and not too confusing, while adding a touch of English localization. I never knew Hijikata had cussed so much, haha. Speaking of dialogue, I'm ever so grateful that Aksys kept the original Japanese dubs. Morikubo Showtaro and Tsuda Kenjiro are two of my favorite voice actors. The art of the game is absolutely stunning, but I'd expect no less from Kazuki Yone. The soundtrack is also something that I adore from this game. (So glad I got the LE.) The only downfall to this game is that it can stretch your patience. My first playthrough took around 26~30 hours, and I even got a bad end! But I believe your patience is rewarded greatly. I give this game a 10/10. I hope others will think the same! Maybe we can help bring more Otomate Visual Novels to the US!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
AMAZING!!!!! Worth the Buy!!
Posted 4/3/12
Not only was the game amazing! I was pleasantly surprised to find a CD and Art Book included in the box! I really hadn't expected it! The Art is Stunning~ The Story has so much potential and because of this game I'm now addicted to the Fandom!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Beautiful Otomoe/ VN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
yoitzo
Location: So Cal
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Definitely geared towards females, this otome is beautiful. While it can get repetitive trying to get all the endings, the fast forward button is a time saver. The pictures and CG is truly breathtaking. There are a lot of characters, and therefore, a lot of Japanese names to remember. The Encyclopedia definitely helps. There is no "gameplay" since this is a visual novel. You read, read, read and make a choice every once in a while. The main character is a girl that you control and make choices for. She can be a bit frustrating and many people seem to think she was made by a man (LOL). While this is supposed to be romance game, it isn't the main portion of the game; rather there is a deeper story line of historic Japan between the shogunate and the imperialists. The voice acting is superb and (thank goodness) is in Japanese while the text is in English. This may be off putting to some while a saving grace to others.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Addicting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/12
Rinn
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've always been hoping for an otome game to come to America. This has passed my expectations. It's story plot is amazing and the sounds might get a bit annoying after awhile, because they don't have a lot of OSTs. Although the story makes for that. The game kept me busy for days. It's enjoyable and hopefully they decide to sub more of these type of games to America.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gamestopluver
 
Please wait while more information about Gamestopluver is loaded.
Additional information about Gamestopluver could not be loaded.
Greatest Game EVER!!
Posted 3/30/12
I just go this and wow i fell in love with it such a good story and you can choose in some parts what happens witch changes the story a little. This is just like a good story but in video game form :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Lame......
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
FF130
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
are you kidding me this isnt even a game its a visual book you dont fight or nothing the art is good but this isnt a game!! if i wanted a love story book i woulda got it from my kindle. For those who are thinking about buying this it is a book that you get to make lame decisions like twice a chapter there is no gameplay just reading they could at least of made it in english...................waste of money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 73 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MitsukitheFangirl
Madera, CA
 
Please wait while more information about MitsukitheFangirl is loaded.
Additional information about MitsukitheFangirl could not be loaded.
Posted 3/2/12
Huh. Wow. Well, what I'm wondering is, why the heck would you buy a game you knew nothing about? Do you just randomly buy games without researching about them first?? Like the other commenter said, it really is hard to take your opinion seriously if that's the case. This is a really poor review, too. "they could at least of made it in english" It IS in English. The voice-overs arn't. As much as I love dubs, dubbing this game probably would've ruined the atmosphere of it. -sigh- It's really sad that you could not appreciate this amazing game by Aksys.
Customer Avatar
XxDestinyXx
 
Please wait while more information about XxDestinyXx is loaded.
Additional information about XxDestinyXx could not be loaded.
Posted 2/29/12
It is hard to take your opinion seriously when you went out and bought a game without knowing anything about it.
It is a shame you could not see how amazing this GAME is. Oh well, your "wasted money" was just another sale Hakuoki deserved. Thanks for the money!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
In one word...WOW.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
Senshi75
Location: Woodville, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a huge fan of Japanese history (samurai mostly) and yes, I'm an anime fan as well so this game was all that and a bag of chips. I'm so happy I found out about this game from the American publisher via You Tube or else I would have never found out about it. I wasn't at all disappointed.
I'm no stranger to the history behind the lives of the Shinsengumi's most recognized leaders so there were no real surprises as to some of their fates. I did like how you were able to alter that by going one route or another. I'm new to otome games and I fell in love with the whole concept.
The game itself was lush, colorful and absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting was left intact from the Japanese original and I was tickled pink to actually recognize several of them in particular Shotaro Morikubo and Kosuke Toriumi. I was expecting a dub which happens so often but was happy they left it as is. It would have totally destroyed the atmosphere. The sound effects and in-game music were much to be desired but the intro and outro themes were superb.
All in all this was a fantastic experience and I hope more games in this series and more otome games altogether make it over here. I also hope they bring the PS3 version of this game over as well. I'd be first in line to buy them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Brilliant!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
Zanarkand9
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was anticipating this game hardcore, and it definitely went beyond my expectations. The art is utterly stunning, and the gameplay is excellent. The music was a bit disappointing, but overall fits in nicely. Being very text-driven, this game would appeal to both casual gamers and hardcore gamers, like myself, as well. It's fun to see all the side stories depending on which character you get close to and compare it to the anime adaptation!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
A Wish Come True!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
MouTea
Location: San Diego
I've always wanted to play this game, being the huge Kazuki Yone fan I am. I love all of her art work and this game blows my mind! With multiple endings and gallery collects along with many other things, it keeps the game going! And yes you can change the protagonist's name.
Although I do believe this game to run towards the female audience instead and you can't really compare this game to the Anime (I don't watch Anime so I can't really say) because the art is completely different. I've looked up some pictures for the Anime of Hakuouki that people were talking about and I just told myself "No"... I highly prefer game than Anime because you get bad insights (or girls get jealous which I find funny, according to forums) about the main character. You must play the game to know the TRUE story! I hope more comes out because there are more out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>