GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition

Join the world's greatest fellowship of players in the award-winning online re-creation of J. R. R. Tolkien's legendary Middle-earth. In the Lord of the Rings Online, adventure through Middle-earth as you have never seen it before. Battle and win glory against the ravenous hordes of the Dark Lord Sauron, and forge your own legend in the epic story of the War of the Ring. From the picturesque surroundings of the Shire to Moria, the most fearsome underground realm ever imagined, players will experience the world of Middleearth for free! The legend is yours, and the adventure is free!
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Review 1 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
An immersive, creative MMORPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
Inkstained
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you've just started playing LotRO, or are thinking about getting into it, buy this Mythril Edition. The price makes it a steal for all the quest content, Turbine Points, and other goodies it includes.
I'm a pretty hard sell when it comes to MMOs, but Lord of the Rings Online has managed to maintain my interest. Folks who are really into Tolkien's lore will absolutely adore the game's storyline and consistency, but newbies to the Lord of the Rings - like myself - will find it easy to dive into and a lot of fun once you do.
There is an in-game store, but it's not a cash shop: the items sold are mostly aesthetic, and are reasonably priced besides. There are also plenty of opportunities to get your hands on store content besides paying for it: the game includes methods of gaining store currency as you play as well as offering packages like this one, where you get a ridiculous amount of content for about a third of the price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
A Fantastic MMO for any fan of the series!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
Taekwondoman10
For me, MMOs are definitely not my favorite type of game. I'm typically a sucker for RPGs and action games that have a good story to them. When i saw that Lord of the Rings online was free to play, I thought that I should give it a chance since I could follow the story. It was really the best MMO I have ever played, and that includes WOW, League of Legends, and countless free to play MMORPGs (however I still want to play Star Wars old republic)! It was a story that I actually liked and was able to follow with gameplay that wasn't irritating. A lot of MMOs out there have very confusing gameplay with too many different attacks and abilities to manage with various effects, cool downs, and cast times that just are too much to remember off of a small icon. With LOTRO there are a manageable number of attacks and powers too keep track of, and are also easy to upgrade so you don't have an overwhelming amount of icons at the bottom of the game screen.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Great Deal
Posted on:1/13/12
ZeroTorrent
Location: Louisville, KY
This pack is a great deal for pretty much any LotRO player. The Path of the Fellowship quest line goes for 2950 Turbine Points in-game, which are worth approximately $30. Adding on the 2000 Turbine Points and 500 Turbine Point bonus is worth another $25 or so. In total, this pack is the equivalent of over 5400 TP, or about $54. Unless the account in question already has all the quest packs listed (through purchase or from being a VIP), the Mithril Edition is worth nearly twice its equivalent USD value in game currency.
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
It is a starter edition BUT . . .
Posted on:12/16/11
Crailen
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
As the other post states, it is a starter edition, but the poster doesn't tell you everything. First, yes it is a starter mount, about 30% faster than on foot, but the monsters in game don't travel very quickly so outrunning them on the mount is pretty simple if that's what you're trying to do. Additionally the first 20 levels or so, you really don't need a mount at all because Turbine has proven to be pretty solid at keeping quests in similar regions of the map.
Second, you COULD go and grind out a bunch of instances to earn the turbine points to get new areas, or you could just do the 'Deeds' that pop up VERY frequently in the first 20 levels of the game. I earned about 500 in my first two weeks playing (yes, I will admit I played a bit more than 'casually' at about 2 to 3 hours in the evenings). That hardly amounts to a ridiculous amount of grinding.
-- OR, you could pay 9.99 a month (they dropped the price as of the time of this posting because of their anniversary) and have access to everything except the Rune-Master and the Warden (those you will still need to purchase with Turbine Points) and the PvMP races (other than I think it is called the Reaver or Ravager, something like that). Additionally, you will get 500 Turbine Points each month with your subscription. So, on top of having access to the quests, instances and all the areas you get the extra points to spend on unlocking (for the account) other aspects of the game.
As a free-to-play account you do get to send messages to other players, join Kinships, and purchase from the Auction House (not post in it) and as a Premium Member (which purchasing the box makes you) you can post on the Auction House.
So as to not make this too much longer, I'll just mention that yeah the 5 gold limit is pretty low, but it is more than enough to purchase the standard houses that become available to a level 15 character (don't expect to have 5 gold by that point) or any of the mounts available in-game (specialty mounts require Turbine Points or special accomplishments in the game).
Now there are other quirks that crop up on occasion in the game, but the majority of them aren't even annoying they just give you a moment of pause to think 'what was that?' and then you move along to do something else. So far (2 months in) I've had no issues recur, just once and done which in itself is a little strange, but I'll accept it.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Decent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
Thorman
Location: 54921
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
LOTRO is an AMAZING game, however, i never recieded my pre-order bonus. If you still think its a good deal for you, feel free to order it is still a dixcount from buying pure TP.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
It's worth it.
Posted on:1/7/12
Namalator
Location: California
Firstly in case the first poster hadn't noticed it includes the path of the fellowship qp's which include Trollshaws, Eregion, Moria, and Lothlorien, Which is freaking awesome because Moria is a key area and the fact that you also get Lothlorien means you could hit Level 65 and have racked up enough TP from completing deeds which you do without even realizing it half the time, and buy the ROI QP, or however it's bundled for, yeah you get a 5g minium but when I first started playing that minimum was 2g and it being raised is pretty sweet for newer players, not to mention by the time I was like lvl 25 I had enough tp to have it removed it's not that much to get it taken off also buying this gives you 2000TP which is actually quite a bit, the only QP'S you'd even need after buying it if you wanted would be Angmar, Evendim, and Dunland, which with that 2k tp plus what you rack up would be moooore than enough. This is seriously a sweet deal. I've been playing for a little under a year and I can tell you had this been out then I so would have gotten it. Not only does LoTRO provide a unique gaming experience, friendly players, and just a beautiful game to look it. It provides sales on QPs fairly often, along with a ton of other sales. Also if you wanted a 250hp 62+speed mount, you could EASILY get one via one of the 4 festivals that occur by season by achieving kindred status with drinking factions. Which is easily done before the festival ends. And one of those festivals is coming up for the Spring, and the Yule one is still continuing. So honestly with that 2000k tp, the 4 QP's included, and even a freaking starter mount it's more than worth it.
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
This is A Great Deal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
lorenzoj
Location: Norwood, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
An account wide steed, 2000 Turbine Points, and the Fellowship quests all for a really low price ( 9.99 on sale ), how can you go wrong. Just logged in to my Turbine account ( I already have the FTP game installed) , entered the code and you are good to go. 2000 TP's and an account wide horse which will save you lots of future TP's. Grab it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Seamless,detailed,and story driven!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/12
Wolfmoon
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have to tell you, i been around when it comes to MMO's i started in 2003 with EQOA for ps2. since then i have tried easily over 100 mmo's most of which were free to play garbage. There is a massive market out there now for these games. Back in the day your choices were quite limited, that being said. Lotro is a shining beacon of hope in the cold,long dark of F2P games! This is easily the best free to play game The only reason the graphics got a 9, is because the character models are lacking a bit. I mean they just don't look as good as they should given the environment and lighting, not a big deal just takes away from it very slightly. The restrictions are the least intense ive ever seen! You can go anywhere without paying a single dime! The cash shop that is in place, server for mostly cosmetics, nothing to give others a edge over you. I got mithril edition and dropped 20$ on points to make for 3600 points and i got most of the content i was lacking! Quests, extra bag slots, and some cosmetics. There is little to no loading in this game, you can ride from one end of the map to the other with only a very mild zone load between the MASSIVE zones. Even if your not a fan of lotr, this game has something for everyone! Running around the shire doing quests and taking in the scenery.... just get this game dudes! it's epic! trust me! lol. oh and btw, the 2k points you get pay for this edition and then some! this is a STEAL!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Prohibitive for international players
Posted on:2/27/12
Petha
Location: Brazil
Well, I tried to buy the Mithril Edition. I was really excited, the game is great after all. But this sale is awful for those who not reside in United States. I am really surprised that besides the 29.99 U$, I have to pay more 59.99 U$ for shipping. What i really want is the game benefits, not paying 90 U$ for something I'll only use online. Gamestop should think about it's international customers to-be, since the money from those outside US has the same monetary value.
6 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
THCLoco
Olney TX.
 
Please wait while more information about THCLoco is loaded.
Additional information about THCLoco could not be loaded.
Nice Buy.
Posted 12/15/12
Please get more of these in stock, this would make a great Christmas present for me and all of my friends, Id love to buy multiple packs.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Game worth buying!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
Wintercool
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you want an awsome mmog this is the game for you!It has a awsome story guidline and chapter quests you can follow. the graphics are amazing for the time that this game was made and still outpass a lot of games ive seen!Well worth the $20
 
My Product Recommendations
Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
9.4 out of 10(314)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Great for Starters
Posted on:12/9/11
MrGoodPie
Location: Houston, TX
It appears that this is just a basic starter edition. The mount included is a starter mount, meaning it's one of the slow mounts. The quest pack gives you access to the quests in several areas, but you will need to purchase an additional quest pack or grind instances and skirmishes for several days (if you're fast) to gain a high enough level to access the quests in these zones. By the end of the free zones that anyone can access, you will be in your low 30s. The lowest-level zone included in this pack is the Trollshaws, which is a level 40 zone. Quests packs cost 750 Turbine Points, and you’ll need to buy the North Downs unless you don’t mind a very long grind.
The description on the page is deceptive. No monthly fees are “required”, per se, but you will have to shell out some serious cash for this game aside from this starter pack. You have to buy access to use the following features:
1) Send personal messages
2) Use the mail system
3) Use the auction house
4) Trade items
5) Carry more than 5 Gold (which is an embarrassingly low amount)
6) Use the Warden and Rune Keeper classes
7) Do certain skirmishes
8) Have access to all the classes in Monster Play (LOTRO’s version of PvP)
You will have 5 character slots, but keep in mind that purchasing items 1-5 and 7 only applies them to the character they were purchased on, meaning you have to rebuy everything for every character. Also, Lothlórien, the highest-level zone in the quest pack, is not the final zone. There are about 5 zones that come after it, along with several zones before it. If you want everything, expect to pay a premium for each character that makes even the loosest of spenders shudder.
There are 3 levels of membership: Free, Premium, and VIP. Purchasing this pack will make you a Premium member, increasing your character slots of 2 to 5 and increasing your gold cap from 2 Gold to 5 Gold. VIPs have access to everything, but have to pay a monthly fee of $15.
The moral of the story is if you’re already a paying, playing member, this is a waste of money unless you just want a hard copy. If you’re new to the game and don’t want to go VIP yet, then this is a great deal, as the 4 quest packs included apply to all characters across all servers on your account. But don’t let the release date of this box keep you from playing now. You don’t need this to create an account and start playing “free of charge” today. Just keep in mind that this game is not a one-time purchase. You will either have to start paying a monthly fee of $15 or get nickel and dimed by microtransactions every time you turn around.
9 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
BarthoBuckford
The Shire
 
Please wait while more information about BarthoBuckford is loaded.
Additional information about BarthoBuckford could not be loaded.
Still a steal
Posted 5/21/12
Even at $19, this is cheaper than buying the Turbine points outright ($20 gets you 1600 when they're not on sale). You not only get a mount on every toon, but you get the riding skill on every toon, so you're saving even more points that way.
Customer Avatar
Kyrian
Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Kyrian is loaded.
Additional information about Kyrian could not be loaded.
Much of MrGoodPie's info is wrong.
Posted 5/21/12
For starters, the game has been free to play for some time with many restrictions on F2P to prevent abuse by gold sellers.
You CAN use the mail system and chats even when you're F2P.
You can Trade.. you just can't send or trade money..
You can receive money though.
You can even buy a small house.(The gold limit does prevent huying a larger home)
F2P starts with 2 character slots which is increased to 3 upon any purchase in the store. Many more can be purchased.
This package comes with 2000 points which are worth over $20 dollars in the store. They will cover needed quest packs. This pack actually pays for itself.
Also, you can earn points by playing the game.. there are tons of deeds that give you points. If anyone is being nickled and dimed, it is the company doing it to themselves.
You also get a bonus horse for every character you ever make.. It is NOT a slow horse, it is a medium speed.. the most common speed of the horses in the game. the difference between this horse and the fastest is only 6%. The starter horse is slower than this one.
I am a founder and VIP and don't need the quest packs, but still found this pack worth it just for the horse :) Nice mounts usually cost quite a bit.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Actually...
Posted 5/5/12
You can get everything in this game without spending a dime (unless the last two updates have made that no longer possible). You have to grind quite a lot and do the deeds with multiple characters, but if you have the time it isn't that hard...
Customer Avatar
ZeroTorrent
Louisville, KY
 
Please wait while more information about ZeroTorrent is loaded.
Additional information about ZeroTorrent could not be loaded.
Posted 1/13/12
Your review is misleading. The complaints against "no monthly fees" in LotRO really has nothing to do with the Mithril Edition pack. LotRO has had a free-to-play service for quite some time, and this product really doesn't affect the way that funtions. Because of the included 2000-2500 TP in this pack, the "nickel and dime" effect of microtransactions are somewhat nullified even for free players, not to mention you gain TP through playing the game anyway, so you will quickly gain back the points you spend on the small, optional purchases. As a side note, making a purchase in the LotRO store does not make you premium. However, with every other pack for LotRO, adding the game code to your account makes the account a Premium account. People on the LotRO forum confirm this to be true with the Mithril edition as well. Also, even with a VIP subscription, this pack would be useful, as it contains not only the point bonus, but 2 of the 3 expansion quest packs, which are not normally included with VIP. The only people for which this pack really isn't worth it are those that already have all the quest packs.
Customer Avatar
Lonewanderer23
Irvine, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Lonewanderer23 is loaded.
Additional information about Lonewanderer23 could not be loaded.
Good For Starters, However...
Posted 12/23/11
If you already started a character like how I did, it makes this look kind of redundant. Although, if you didn't start one this would be a great advantage because it gives you a lot of extra stuff like Turbine Points which you either earn through deeds or buy with real money (which means 2000 is quite a lot). Word of Advice: you become a premium player by buying something from the LOTRO Store, a smart move would be buying the gold cap removal...
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 12 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
False Advertising
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/13
MaBruce
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this edition because it was a good deal. In the Lotro store you have to buy Moria seperately and points and steed - It took me 3 days to get it downloaded and then no points and no steed - hard time in Moria!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 13 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Don't waste your time!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/12
Fhelstag
Location: Texas
The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition is no more than a goodie bag for those that have paid accounts. in order to even use the keycode that comes with your purchace they veryify that you have a paid account, otherwise they tell you "Sorry, in order to use this keycode you need to have a payment method on file" All you get is the basic game client and some extra quests, and a mount you can't use unless you have the level and skill to use them, and if you have not bought them you're locked out of them until then.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 58 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ravenclaw77
Worcester MA
 
Please wait while more information about Ravenclaw77 is loaded.
Additional information about Ravenclaw77 could not be loaded.
No payment required
Posted 8/26/12
This is a fantastic deal on an absolutely fantastic game. LotRO is the best MMO on the market because there's more hours of gameplay, doesn't require grinding (even for end-game raids), has the best story, graphics, and combat in my opinion. Mithril Edition does NOT require a payment type to use. You do need the riding skill in order to use the included mount. subscribers can complete a quest for the skill, players who do not wish to subscribe can choose to purchase the riding skill for 95 TP (this pack includes 2000, and TP can be earned in game by completing quests)
Customer Avatar
BarthoBuckford
 
Please wait while more information about BarthoBuckford is loaded.
Additional information about BarthoBuckford could not be loaded.
This is absolutely incorrect
Posted 5/17/12
You don't need a paid account to use this - if it asks you, just select the option for 'Game card/pay later.' I just did it myself. You do not need a payment method on file to play LotRO.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition
Best MMO I Have Ever PLAYED!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
LOTROMASTER
Location: Madison, AL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BECAUSE IT IS THE BEST GAME FOR EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10