GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

HD-PVR: Gaming Edition

Record your video game play in HD - HD PVR Gaming Edition records high definition video from a Sony® PlayStation® 3 or Microsoft® Xbox® 360, onto your PC in a compressed high definition H.264 format. Make video recordings of your best game play in HD. Upload your favorite games to YouTube and share them with other gamers online. Or make a high definition movie of your game play to share with your friends or use it to discuss tactics with your clan members! You can also play your game play recordings back onto your PC screen or transfer them over your home network for playback on a PS3 or Xbox 360.
Average Customer Rating:
8.9
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Review 1 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Best EVER!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Duck0574
Location: New Orleans,La
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have went through 2 other HD PVR's and this one by far has both of the other ones beat by a long shot. If you're serious about recording and broadcasting your gameplay on a youtube channel,then this is the perfect software that you would need to get professional results. I am a highly respected gamer/director for Machinima Sports,GameFaceStudioes,and Dirty South Gamers and my gameplay video's are just flat out awesome and have such high quality. I have been commentating sports gameplay for like 4 years now and this is one item that I do not regret dishing out the money for.It is pricey if you're not serious about commentating,but if you are and want to make a great hobby out of it or get much respect in the gaming world,then this is a must have. It works really well with the "snowball" mic and I use Sony Vegas Pro 11 for rendering all my gameplay with it and it is perfect for what I need it for. I highly recommend this if you're serious.Peace
 
My Product Recommendations
Roxio Game Capture
7.6 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
killermonkey540
 
Please wait while more information about killermonkey540 is loaded.
Additional information about killermonkey540 could not be loaded.
GREAT!
Posted 6/9/12
I bought this and it works great, better than the roxio game capture! the picture quality is great! my youtube is killermoneky540
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
HD PVR Worth Buying? YES!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/12
BostonBigTom447
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Before I bought this Hd PVR from Gamestop, I wasn't sure if it was going to be a waste of money or not. This is defientely not! If you love playing video games and are good at it, consider getting this. Many of the greatest YouTubers have become famous from just being good. I know that the price being at $200 may seem expensive, but it's very much worth the price. The HD recording is incredible, it's easy to set-up and use, and is an overall great recorder. If you want to see how good the hd is for this product, check me out on YouTube (BigTom0447).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Finally!
Posted on:11/22/11
EvilP
Location: CaNaDa
Finally, I'm going to be able to show the world how bad I am at gaming!
115 of 140 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TB0n3
MD
 
Please wait while more information about TB0n3 is loaded.
Additional information about TB0n3 could not be loaded.
RE: to Finally!!!
Posted 11/26/11
you forgot to add and in HD lol......
i too don't need to be reminded of how much i Stink at play COD or BF3. and i sure don't want the world to know.
it's great for people who take gaming way to seriously. otherwise it's a bust.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Best PVR around!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
EraOfDeadshot
Location: Ogden, UT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When they named this PVR, they did it right. It is HD 10/10! For the best recording, record in 720p. For some reason, it looks better on YouTube at 720p rather than 1080p. I recommend this product to everyone that wants to record their XBOX 360, PS3, or Wii Gameplay. I use it for XBOX 360 recording to put videos on my YouTube channel and I have to say, I get a lot more Likes and Subscribers using this than when I was using a Digital Camera! It has better quality than any other PVR on the market and is well worth the price! The best part is that it comes with built-in adapters for different consoles so you don't even have to buy HDMI cables if you dont already have them! Get it!
 
My Product Recommendations
HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
8.9 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Juggalo420killa
 
Please wait while more information about Juggalo420killa is loaded.
Additional information about Juggalo420killa could not be loaded.
Um i think not
Posted 9/4/12
1080i? well I'm pretty sure Rca cables don't provide support for 1080i that's why all HD systems use either HDMI or B/G/R plus R/W for audio. fail.......
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
Gester24
Location: Alabama
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
10/10 Hands Down This is the best gaming recording device on the market as of right now for consoles
 
My Product Recommendations
Roxio Game Capture
7.6 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
CaptainGetGood
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
RebuiltCrayon
Location: Tucson,Az
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My gamertag use to be RebuiltCrayon my friend posted a comment on here. But man ever since he got me this PVR I have been hard at work trying to become a good youtube star, if you will. And I have to say if it was not for him buying me this PVR I would not be were am at today. It records in beautiful HD. If any of you guys want more info on it hit me up my new gamertag is CaptainGetGood on XBL and don't hesitate to ask if you want a edit or want me to make a video of your clips just hit me up, I would be glad to.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Very Impressed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/12
Monji
Location: Ramona
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ok so i got my HD PVR and im gonna want to do voice over commentary but i don't know how ill do that the closest idea ive thought of is turn on the rercorder on my laptop put the microphone next to my while i play the game and use live maker and just put it together any better ideas?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
wutup843
Conway, SC
 
Please wait while more information about wutup843 is loaded.
Additional information about wutup843 could not be loaded.
this is what i would do
Posted 6/10/12
i would use the microphone jack at the end of headsets like a turtle beach (i have x12)thats for the pc and convert it to the red/yellow jacks with for example the piggyback cables it comes with. then just connect that and the game consoles together and plug it into the HD PVR sound inputs.
Customer Avatar
Slifer
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Slifer is loaded.
Additional information about Slifer could not be loaded.
Commentary
Posted 4/12/12
A Simpler But Also Harder Thing U Could Try, Is Just Recording Urself On Windows Media Player Or Something While Ur Playing The Game, And Then Put It On Some Type Of Editor, I Think Windows Media Player Works Like That Too But Im Not Sure, And Then Just Like, Sync The Video With The Voice, lol
Customer Avatar
Dragon45
Greene, Maine
 
Please wait while more information about Dragon45 is loaded.
Additional information about Dragon45 could not be loaded.
A Headest
Posted 4/11/12
Get one, they reach from USB-Turtle beach, my recommendation is the PS3 bluetooth headset(no wires)
Customer Avatar
HappyHour
 
Please wait while more information about HappyHour is loaded.
Additional information about HappyHour could not be loaded.
I Say Turtle Beach..Just Sayin...
Posted 2/29/12
I Would do Turtle Beach. It's expensive, so at your age I don't know what your budget is, but for the efficient use and it' high quality sound, it's a must!
Customer Avatar
Golby
 
Please wait while more information about Golby is loaded.
Additional information about Golby could not be loaded.
Commentary
Posted 2/24/12
I would suggest buying a microphone like a Blue Yeti USB microphone for amazing quality but if you want it below a certain price then good quality can't be promised.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 8 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Looks good so far
Posted on:11/27/11
ryan100000000
Location: Pennsylvania
Looks Good, I might get this, it is a bit pricy. What is the difference between this and The normal Hd Pvr? Just the coloring?
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
optactix
Hilliard,FL
 
Please wait while more information about optactix is loaded.
Additional information about optactix could not be loaded.
The Difference
Posted 11/28/11
The difference between the regular one is the coloring and it comes with the composite hd cables for your gaming console.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
looks great
Posted on:11/28/11
SHEILD
Location: Olathe, Ks
i'm glad gamestop is branching out because i don't know jack about this stuff and im going to show everybody how to be a noob
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Good, but not the best for the price
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
Fr0stB1tten
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought the Hauppage HD-PVR gaming edition a month ago to compare to the aver media Dark Crystal capture station. The Hauppage did have great quality and not much lag, but, the aver media had a much higher contrast in colors and a more crisp look. For $160 the aver media is smaller, looks nicer, has better picture quality and contrast, and also supports hdmi output which most do not. Therefore i believe you are wasting your money with the Hauppage and should buy the Aver Media Dark Crsytal capture station.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
doesn't work good with old consoles
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
xdraculaalucardx
Location: pittsburgh
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
OK the product works good with ps2 ps3 xbox360 and Nintendo Wii and sega dream cast but it doesn't work on psx games unless there being plaid on a ps3 and it also doesn't work with a Nintendo 64 if you try to use this with the non supporting consoles the program will crash and the video will turn to no signal on your tv. honestly i would recommend this if you don't have a computer strong enough the handle a "black magic intensity pro or shuttle" its good for ps3 xbox 360 and wii but anything under that this isn't worth it if you wanna spend 200 on a recording device make sure it records all so your getting your money's worth
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheMarkofj
new York Brooklyn
 
Please wait while more information about TheMarkofj is loaded.
Additional information about TheMarkofj could not be loaded.
first time youtuber urgent !
Posted 7/28/12
whats your youtube channel shoot me a friend request Sittingbull82
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
More details?
Posted on:11/28/11
attilahun
It doesn't say if it has a hard drive and how big it is or do you have just use your computer's hard drive, if that's the case it seems to still cost way too much money. I'd like to have a pvr with more space I have 2 dvr, one is the cable box and it can only record a few hours of high def and the other has more space but doesn't record in high def.
5 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Glitchxx
Joplin, MO
 
Please wait while more information about Glitchxx is loaded.
Additional information about Glitchxx could not be loaded.
Posted 1/5/12
It saves to the system it is connected to.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
GREAT DAY IN THE MORING YA'LL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
TweakRandom
Location: P-FN-A
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This here is one GREAT Recording Thing a ma bob that you can get. it work Very well on my PC but for those who want to use it on MAC you have to PAY more money to get the program to run it on your system. Also if you have more then one system hooked ip to it it will not work right or not at all even if the other systems are off. I give this a 8 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HD-PVR: Gaming Edition
Famous
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/12
RebuiltCrayon
Location: Tucson,Az
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This product is amazing I got this for my friend on his birthday. Now he is one of the biggest youtube stars in the world he does gameplays, commentary, and tutorials. If you want to get to know him, hit him up on xbl his gamertag is RebuiltCrayon. Definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking to become famous on youtube for there gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 27 found this review helpful.