GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition

The unfolding drama of FINAL FANTASY XIII, released in 2010 and selling six million copies worldwide, continues in FINAL FANTASY XIII-2. Explore a richly developed world featuring both new and familiar faces, and an exciting and highly developed strategic battle system. In this ongoing saga, the future is about to change...
Average Customer Rating:
9.191
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
7
8 stars
5
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Review 1 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
FF XIII-2
Posted on:1/14/12
Roxas210
Location: Arroyo, PR
I played the demo and I love it, I can't wait for the collector's edition and the guide itself, please le t it be th 31'st.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
I enjoy RPGs, especially Final Fantasies.
Posted on:12/15/11
Sikotik13
Location: Columbus, GA
I suppose from reading many of the comments here that people no longer have a desire for anything new in gaming. Everything must be a carbon copy of their particular favorite to be worth playing. As a long-time gamer, I find this rather sad. The best thing about Final Fantasy is the constantly changing systems used, that you must learn and adapt too. It's never perfect, but each had a beauty in it's entirety. I am looking forward to this sequel, as it addresses my only real issue with FFXIII, linearity. If you found classes being called by a different name confusing, perhaps you should stick with platform gaming, because they change the names of classes in almost every other genre. And if you struggled through FFXIII because you couldn't get the hang of when to shift paradigms, that's not the fault of a game, nor does it make the game a failure. Your job as a gamer is to learn the system, if you can't do that, it's your own failure. Looking forward to a new system and a continuation of the best story Square-Enix has put out so far.
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
XIII-2
Posted on:12/23/11
DarknessReborn
Location: Melissa, TX
wow... cant believe some people have nothing better to do than come here and say bad things about a game. I agree the last game might have been way too strait forward and lacked free roam, but honestly, that doesn't make it any less grand of an experience than the previous games in the final fantasy franchise! the first game ever wasn't long at all! the second was completely different from any of the other final fantasy games in both magic use and strengthening your characters. the third game has the class change system, four has set classes and unforgettable story events, the fifth game... i don't know, but i hear its great as well! seeing the pattern yet? the games aren't EVER the same! but always epic in their own ways! i cant wait for this one to come out, so i can add it to my growing collection of epicness! >XD
 
My Product Recommendations
 
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JoJo06
 
Please wait while more information about JoJo06 is loaded.
Additional information about JoJo06 could not be loaded.
Excited!
Posted 12/26/11
I can't wait for this game to come out here in the U.S!! I've imported the game, and the only thing I have to say is that I can't wait to get the English localization!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Try the Demo out First
Posted on:1/11/12
0nard00
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Play the whole demo...don't rush into it.
Do everything that's needed to be done..level up and explore every monsters and every new features..
Took me 2 Hrs 21 Mins to complete the whole thing so dont judge the game before you played the demo and stop listening to those downers who I guess likes to rush these kinds of games.
I really recommend this game very much!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide - Collector's Edition
7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
27 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
0nard00
Sunnyvale, CA
 
Please wait while more information about 0nard00 is loaded.
Additional information about 0nard00 could not be loaded.
Nice..
Posted 1/23/12
I bought the game the moment CE came out @ game stop which was in November hehe..
Been running a campaign for people to vote for this game on PSN hahaha...so far so good...
Looks really awesome, cant wait for Monday night I hope they have a Mid night release. Cause that would be really awesome..
Customer Avatar
PixieDust
 
Please wait while more information about PixieDust is loaded.
Additional information about PixieDust could not be loaded.
Play the demo and Buy this game!
Posted 1/16/12
I was a super fan of the FF13 and I played hours of it after I broke my hand and it was the only game I could play in cast. Love it and still play it all the time. The demo of this game as killer awesome and drew me instantly. Play the whole way through it and you will buy this game.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Something to sort of look forward to in 2012
Posted on:1/4/12
b0n2006
Location: Omaha, NE
When I heard about FF13-2, I was like what about versus 13, but after seeing all the action and somewhat a better play/battle style I was like I have to pre-order this. The extras you get for the collectors edition is reasonable so I don't mind paying the extra $20. The story line takes place three years after the first FF13 and looks like in fits right in. Everything about this game is great except for one minor thing I'm not too happy about. According to all the previews I've read and seen, there are only two main playable characters (Serah and Noel). Normally in FF games you have at least 4-5 characters to chose from, but not this time. You get to recruit monsters to fight for you(what is this Dragon Quest, if I want DQ I will go buy DQ). Everything about the game I think is great except for the monster recruiting, but even so as a FF fan I have to buy this to try it. I hope versus 13 and FF Type: Zero get a US release date soon.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TimeRocker
 
Please wait while more information about TimeRocker is loaded.
Additional information about TimeRocker could not be loaded.
Why are people reviewing this?
Posted 1/19/12
Why are people reviewing this?! The game isnt even out yet!!! Stop saying its good and cant wait to play it, only to find out you hate it or something. Unless you own, and have thoroughly beaten the japanese version, these reviews should be REMOVED!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Gamers demand and SE delivers
Posted on:1/9/12
WTPho13
Location: Anaheim, CA
So, what are some things that SE knows we know? FF has awesome musical scores. So what do they give the collector's edition? A 4-disc official soundtrack. SE also has beautiful visuals, so of course they have to include concept art. This is what they're giving us with an addition of only $20. For FF fans, I don't think it needs to be said of how amazing the deal is. As for the game itself, well what was the biggest complaint for FFXIII? The linearity, which while frustrating to me, did not take me away from the amazing experience. Despite that, FF developers are vying to give all gamers a better experience this time around with more exploration, even going as far as bringing back the multiple endings element. That should give reviewers some incentive to give this sequel a high replay value. However, if the quality of the last game with the inclusion of additional freedom in this one is any indication, I doubt they'll need that extra incentive anyway.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide - Collector's Edition
7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide
7.3 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Haven't been this excited about FF since FFX
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
Jasonstrife
Location: New York, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Simple, short review: The voice actors are phenomenal, just like any Square-E title. Graphics, i mean what more can you expect from Square-E than amazing. Gameplay is surprisingly fun ! Choosing to battle or run away is great! Story, it's great! I cant wait to finish this game. I havent been so excited to play a final fantasy game since final fantasy X! Of course it'll be ten times better if you played the original final fantasy XIII. I honestly dont get why people complain about it being too linear, as if final fantasy x wasn;t linear. All you did was follow one straight long path, but the game was still one of the best games out there. I agree with the director of the game, people saw it too much from a western point of view, which isnt bad or anything, but you honestly shouldnt expect grand theft auto roam from a final fantasy title. Oh and the collectors edition case has such a n ice HIGH quality texture to it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Simply worth it
Posted on:1/21/12
prinnykite
Location: los angeles
Many people didn't seem to like FF13 because of the linearity which they did revamp entirely in this game by actually giving so much more to explore! From the demo which came out recently(which I'e played repeatedly) they add in all sorts of new features, some seem kind of awkward like the new Crystarium takes a little time to get used to and all. Obviously many people don't like the idea of using monsters as the 3rd ally instead of having 4-6 characters to choose from but probably because many players just don't want to try something new. Tales of Symphonia 2 tried it and they did really well with it!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
It's actually a really good game, give it a chance
Posted on:12/9/11
Alveration
Location: Orlando, FL
Final Fantasy 13 was actually a very strong game, with a really immersive storyline that you can sink your teeth into. The fighting system was solid, also. I really appreciate Square-Enix for making games that are all not like FF7, which to me, was extremely over-rated, but it had its own Pro's and Con's.
People just need to realize that RPG's are going to be changing forever, and FF went with the more cinematic-fighting style look, which people are just going to have to deal with.
YES, we know the first FF13 was linear, and we already know you will have WAY more things to do in this one, so lets all just get ready for another fun game!
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Simply amazing
Posted on:1/25/12
Glacegon
Location: TN
Despite the fact that a lot of people don't like final fantasy 13 and 13-2 due to some reason like final fantasy series died after FF 10, I have always enjoy these game and all new feature added to them. Fast piece combat and stagger system save a lot of time to deal with monster, and like many previous ff games, graphics is the whole reason distinct final fantasy from another game. In additional for that, new crystal system gives you more choices for customizing your characters and as a pokemon fan i really like the monster recruiting an use them battle. Although i just played the demo and limited information is given , I still recommend this game if you are a true final fantasy fan(as well as pokemon fan :) and everyone who like amazing graphics.The bonus of pre-order pretty nice so get it while it last.
 
My Product Recommendations
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide - Collector's Edition
7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Square Enix is awesome; I can't wait.
Posted on:11/29/11
SonyBoy225
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Only thing left is 4 KingdomHearts3 for PS3 2 come
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Definitely better than XIII
Posted on:1/10/12
chinoman
Location: Texas
Initially, I wasn't really looking forward to playing this even though I preordered this edition, but after playing the demo (which came out today), I'm now looking forward to it. Gameplay wise, this game plays much better than FFXIII. If you disliked FFXIII because of it's linearity, then give XIII-2 a shot because it eliminates that and it has more to do now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
They got it right this time!
Posted on:12/27/11
YoDaD
Location: Oklahoma City,OK
Final fantasy XIII the original had what I considered a pretty well thought out plot and good story.I agree that the lack of free play is something of a bother but what really turned people off it was the utter lack of a decent grinding system(Hope whining the whole time didn't help either).After the release of the game in Japan....it looks really good!I can say with full confidence that this next version, can easily make it to the top three of any Final Fantasy fans list(as long as the grinding method changes,like allowing money after battle)..........P.S.:Can't wait for Versus XIII too!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YoDaD
Oklahoma City,OK
 
Please wait while more information about YoDaD is loaded.
Additional information about YoDaD could not be loaded.
Just played the Demo!
Posted 1/15/12
Okay i'm commenting on my own review and I was right....guess what fans gil after battle!!! That's right gil after battle!!! They did get it right this time!!...P.S. the new screens are really awesome and you can switch party leader and contorl of party leader switchs to next character if KO'd!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Solid CE
Posted on:1/2/12
NobleSix61
Location: Philadelphia, PA
I can admit I would spend more than $80 on a solid collectors edition for this game, since I am such a FF fan. However, for $80, a 4-disc soundtrack makes me ecstatic. For other FF fans, they will know how amazing every soundtrack in the series is, and that alone made me pre-order this game, even if I haven't followed an ounce of it. I LOVE FINAL FANTASY!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide - Collector's Edition
7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Get...GET....GET!!!
Posted on:1/20/12
Blashyrkh89
Location: Santa Fe Springs, CA
So after literally an hour of listening to the opening theme on repeat I finally ended up playing the demo. And the demo was absolutely awesome. Took about 2 hours and some change to do everything. This game is going to be amazing! Already payed off the collector's edition game and strategy guide. Seriously can't wait anymore...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide - Collector's Edition
7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
This game is better then some think
Posted on:12/3/11
thekingofkings
Just because it has a different approach then the others doesn't mean that its a terrible game, ive been playing FF for a long time and 13 is my second favorite game out of anything else, you have got to enjoy a game to like it and thats the case senario here, i like the new stuff they have done for this game and i play it more then the others so definately a good buy for FF fans who like to see a different approach to the series. The Collectors Edition is gonna be nice as well.
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WolfyEinherjarz
Chico, CA
 
Please wait while more information about WolfyEinherjarz is loaded.
Additional information about WolfyEinherjarz could not be loaded.
It Going to be an strong fantasy of Final Fantasy.
Posted 12/5/11
It coming after the Japanese version is weeks away and the US/EU version still an 1/2 months, still I pay like $80 of for the Limited Edition an Serah costume and the Genji Bow so pick this Final Fantasy game up, be for it gone, and still Wait my approval of the series of the Fabula Nova Crystallis series Final Fantasy Versus XIII and Final Fantasy Type - 0.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
can't wait!
Posted on:1/25/12
GeneiJin
Location: Antioch, TN
i played the demo about a week ago & i absolutely loved it! Loved it so much that i actually went on to pre-order the game. I recommend playing the demo & exploring all the possibilities with the crystarium & monsters & how all the new things work. Can't wait till the 31st. Got the game & strategy guide both collectors edition. 6 more days ! (:
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide - Collector's Edition
7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
It's Great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
KanyeWes
Location: North Carolina
The game it self is amazing, the exploration, the scenery, and battle system. You take the role of Serah and Noel, which are trying find Lightning, Serah's sister, the story progresses by jump through time gate to a different time to try find Lightning. The previous title was considerable linear and Square Enix got reprimanded for it by their dedicated fans, but this time around it is open, exploration is key. But some areas lag due to the fact of an expansive area, but still has the glamours, to make you say "wow." The characters are great and the story is compelling, but one thing that tops it off is time travel, yes you can time travel, which makes everything better. The battle system has some new features, monsters fight at your aid which makes for fighting and capturing, like they say "Gotta catch then all.", but is a great edition. There is also anomlies, puzzles you have to solve in order to fix time and as you travel through time you must fix paradoxes,"distortions in time", but if you like time travel " who wouldn't", exploration, and cool haircuts, get Final Fantasy XIII-2, it is worth your time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Collectors Edition not worth it, Game is
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
Cryoban
While this game is great, stay away from the collectors edition. The "Book of concept art" is like 10 pages(I was expecting 20 front and back at least, but its 10 or so front and back) stuck in the middle of the unfoldable book like case that holds the game and sound track. While the artwork on the case is nice, the pages inside make it awkward to open and close. Seems easy to damage for those who arent careful. Havent tried the sound track yet, but Im currently wondering why the game fits on 1 disc, but the sound track must be split among 4 discs. Other than that, its great. Different than FFXIII, but the same. No more of those amazing pre rendered cg cutscenes, its all real time rendering(which is why it fits onto 1 disc for those pesky xbox readers, duno why they would be reading a review on a PS page). The new cutscene actions makes it so you cant just sit down and watch cutscenes, but actually participate in them. While the impact of whether you succeed or fail doesnt really matter, I like seeing the actions for when you succeed. So far, its not bad, just different, and I dont have to worry about hope and vanille refusing to heal me.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
0nard00
Sunnyvale, CA
 
Please wait while more information about 0nard00 is loaded.
Additional information about 0nard00 could not be loaded.
I have the CE
Posted 2/4/12
And I ripped the Concept Art Booklet off the boxing coz it was annoying me now I have it movable and to add I have the CE Guide Book so Can't really complain..
Hate the Binding though...feels cramped..
Customer Avatar
amwisdom
 
Please wait while more information about amwisdom is loaded.
Additional information about amwisdom could not be loaded.
Sound Track
Posted 2/3/12
Going to get the game right now, but wanted to say that the game fits on one disk because the sound track is compressed and when in True Digital , the sound is not compressed and takes up alot of space. True Digital is so much better than compressed. Hpoe that helped. David
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collector's Edition
Awsomee :)
Posted on:11/15/11
HaseoPKK
Location: Ponce, PR
we just have to wait now for the Crystal edition which i hope it will come out in the US :)
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>