GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MLB 12: The Show

The Show enables fans to immerse themselves in exhilarating baseball moments by delivering true-to-life gameplay, authentic franchise and season modes, and incredible detail not found in any other sports game. MLB 12 The Show builds on what has been delivered in previous franchise releases adding compelling features that bring unparalleled innovation and polish to the sports genre.
Average Customer Rating:
8.804
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
10 stars
57
9 stars
19
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
80 out of 9287%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MLB 12: The Show
Review 1 for MLB 12: The Show
AMAZING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
ImNumber1Homie
Location: LA, California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It has a Very Good RTTS. Awesome Diamond Dynasty. Fun for everyone i highly recommend this! very good
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
yes
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MLB 12: The Show
gameplay
Posted on:2/25/12
LamBro3
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
I was watching the preview of this game and I think they r bringing back the pitching meter from MLB 10 the show :D
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nathansch
 
Please wait while more information about Nathansch is loaded.
Additional information about Nathansch could not be loaded.
Posted 3/2/12
Just one question. Do you actually know how to play baseball???? Thousands of other players, myself included, bought he game, found no problems with it and loved it. It must have been user error in your case. Sorry......... but not really.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for MLB 12: The Show
Diamond Dynasty has me addicted
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/12
DrJay
MLB THE SHOW is a great game and with the new addition of the game mode, "Diamond Dynasty" I just can't put down the controller. If you are a fan of baseball or sports in general I highly recommend this game to you.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MLB 12: The Show
the best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
ljohn99
Location: gautier ms
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
People who like baseball should get this game. Homeruns with special graphics. The ps3 xbox every thing will be great
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MLB 12: The Show
By far the best in the franchise
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/12
FableIIILuvR
Location: Crosby, Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have to admit that I was really hyped up for this with all the new features that was added to this. I did read some of the comments people were leaving about how this game is going to be the same and everything like it is every year. Sad to say that those people are always wrong when it comes to this game. Every year Sony always updates the game and everything about it. Yes MLB 11: The Show was kind of bad on the PS3 but good on the PS2 but since they didn't make MLB 12 for the PS2 this year, they went all out on it this year. The Diamond Dynasty is pretty interesting but what you are not warned is that you have pro players ready to be put on your team. The interface for the game is pretty good, the music sucks (like always), and the Show is pretty cool. They start you off in the AA and you have to work your way up. This by far blows Major League Baseball 2K12 out of the waters like it does every year. So this is a must buy if you are a baseball fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MLB 12: The Show
Best MLB Game Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
jllew24
This is the first time I've ever played MLB the Show because I had a 360 and having to play mlb 2k which is awful compared to this! The graphics are amazing hands down the best of any MLB game I've ever played. I will admit that hitting is difficult to learn however you can adjust the way you hit whether it's timing where you just push the button at the right time based on the type of pitch, pure analog where you use the right thumbstick to time your leg lift before the pitcher throws and move the thumbstick toward the spot of the pitch, and you can use a system where you put the left thumbstick on the location and the right thumbstick is used for the timing. I am still adjusting to the system and trying to figure it out but it ultimately gives you the most control of your hitter than 2K. The color commentator is the only downside 8/10 they aren't bad, but the color commentator will say negative things even if you get an rbi single he may say something about how lucky the hit was or you weren't trying to do that, it isn't too annoying and I've only heard it a few times. If you play the mode where you only control your created player it is much better than 2K because if your at 2nd or SS you will play defense when there is a DP opportunity if the ball is hit on the ground to another infielder your player will have to make the throw to 1st. Diving and jumping is also great because they are seperate triggers R1 and R2 which gives greater control you can also change the setting to just one button if you choose. Stealing and getting back to the bag on a pick off attempt is user controlled unlike 2K where your player would get picked off even if you were attempting to get back. To steal you push the thumbstick toward the base to get back you push it back so you have to actually watch the opposing pitcher and be able to get back on a pick off attempt. Your player can also bobble the ball if he is not a good fielder I actually lost a game in extra innings because my player bobbled a ball hit at him and I couldn't throw to first in time which sucked but it was incredibly realistic that things like that happen in a game. If your debating between 2k and The Show buy The Show. I've played 2k for the last few years and it is years behind the realism and authenticity of The Show. Don't let the hitting difficulty steer you away they have adjustable sliders as well and over time and with practice hitting becomes easier.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MLB 12: The Show
Strike 3... Your Out
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/12
HanShotFirst
Location: Alton,IL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Let me start by saying I am a huge Baseball fan this years rendition of The Show is not good, and I am a huge The Show Fan! Start off by saying if it's not broken why fix it, the pitching interface is awful, I know you can set it back to the old ways but then what am I paying $59.99 for, also the new batting interface is just as goofy! I played a full exhibition game 6 errors in one game, also was beating the computer and all of a sudden about the fifth inning could no longer throw a strike and the A.I. starts making a miraculous comeback, same as the past couple of years the rubber band A.I. for all the bells and whistles the presentation supposedly went through I'm hearing the same commentary from the past three years? Online play I think the game is sharing the same server Twisted Metal is using Lag, Lag, Lag! Finally what gives Sony a 10GB install for the game to run smoothly, 10GB! Come on! I guess I will give MLB 2K12 a rent, but I have a feeling I'll just stick with The Show 11 and let both 2012 games ride the bench!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MLB 12: The Show
Suggestion
Posted on:1/27/12
mbarr2841
Location: Iowa
the game gets better and better every year but they need to make a college baseball game and call it CWS Road to Omaha or something and be like nccaa football and madden does by importing your player and have a MLB Team Draft him.
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MLB 12: The Show
It would be cool if......
Posted on:1/29/12
mbarr2841
Location: Iowa
it would be cool if they made a college baseball game that goes with MLB The Show. Itd be a huge hit and it can have the same concept like ncaa football and madden does where you can import your player you created from ncaa to madden but from the college game to MLB The Show. Plus theyd be the first one to have the college baseball game since ea sports made it long time ago
17 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fludiddy
 
Please wait while more information about Fludiddy is loaded.
Additional information about Fludiddy could not be loaded.
Posted 2/6/12
They can't. EA owns the NCAA rights.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for MLB 12: The Show
i agree they should make a college game
Posted on:2/15/12
tvm31597
Location: new jeresy
i agree they should make a college game like they do for ncca football and madden but i think they want to be different then other sports game butg if they do make a college game and you can import your player in mlb the show now that would be awesome i was saying that for years and yes they did make a college game around 05 and it was for ps2 but i cant wait for this game i look forward to it every year.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jtrc02
 
Please wait while more information about jtrc02 is loaded.
Additional information about jtrc02 could not be loaded.
Done it already
Posted 2/22/12
They did make a game for NCAA and it flopped so EA dropped it. But then again This isnt EA so maybe they can try it
Customer Avatar
Weeezy
 
Please wait while more information about Weeezy is loaded.
Additional information about Weeezy could not be loaded.
completely agree
Posted 2/18/12
I would love to see a college based road to the show and i think it would do very well. To import your player into the mlb game would also be awesome.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for MLB 12: The Show
Great, Fun, easy to learn, incredibly realistic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
Ball4Life
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great to play. Friends came over and we made a RTTS pitcher and just took turns playing switching off innings. Its fairly easy to learn and really fun to play with friends too. The umpires are incredibly realistic as sometimes it can be 2 inches inside the strike zone and it can be a ball however it could be 2 inches outside and be a strike. The graphics are amazing and it when playing exhibition mode it even gives you real life scores at the bottom of the screen...now that its 39.99 its a MUST BUY!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MLB 12: The Show
the show must go on
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
umyproperty2
Location: rocky mount, nc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best show to alot of people the online action of the game is not were they want it but i dont play for the online thing and the guys in the booth have gotten better.So to all this is a must get game in my eyes
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MLB 12: The Show
Boys Of Summer
Posted on:1/31/12
atrain9
Location: Jersey
I am sure this year will be amazing!! As all the other years have. The show is just the best real deal game out there. I would like to see some weather conditions, maybe a tarp come out. Just love the real life situations. I hope in the future they would make a college baseball game just like the show!! That would be a big buy! Have like D 1 / D2 schools!! Be so much fun!! I own it for PS2, the only one they ever made!! Keep up the good work!! Our past time is almost here!!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BombshellRell
Los Angeles
 
Please wait while more information about BombshellRell is loaded.
Additional information about BombshellRell could not be loaded.
It's Coming!!!
Posted 2/3/12
Can't wait to immerse myself in the next installment from my favorite game on the entire Playstation game platform. Im currently ranked in top 50 playing online. Hopefully this years' version I can make it into the top 10 like"LABOY"
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for MLB 12: The Show
new franchise
Posted on:2/12/12
hound32
Location: arizona
looks great. they should make a new game mode where like madden and ncaa series where you can begin your own franchise and customize your jerseys and stadiums. I still dont understand why they havent brought this feature into this franchise yet.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MLB 12: The Show
The Show > 2k
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/12
Laxlover98
Location: brookyn, new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After playing the demo for MLB 2k12 i decided to get The Show which in my opinion is way better. I have always loved the show since i played the demo of the show 10 in walmart. I got the ps3 for christmas in 2011 just to get the show 12. Great choice. The realism makes you feel like ur there, the sound of a crowd, rtts, season, and diamond dynasty makes this the must buy mlb game for the ps3. The stadiums are so real, ive been to yankee stadium and it looks exactly like it, fences, dugout, field. Bottom line is to get the game,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MLB 12: The Show
feels like your at the actual game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
LWC4life
Location: chicago illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amazing!. BETTER THAN 2K SERIS!. the graphics are amazing!, dymond dynasty is amazing!. I wished for that since i can remember. the commentators are awesome!. their creative and not repeating what they say. I like how they give background knowledge bout the players!. I like how they have the old uniforms!. Road to the show is sooo fun!. the create a player is amazing. very detailed. what LACKS is it takes years to make the pro. I want to play with modern players from actual baseball. not computer generized players. i wanna play pro 2012. not 2020!!!. It's creative how they have all minor league teams!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MLB 12: The Show
So hard it takes the fun part away
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
drummerboy144
Location: Juncos, PR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is as usually the best baseball game out there graphics are awesome, sound as well but i have two reasons for my low score. first the "improvments" in gameplay were completley innecesary, new pitching interface feels like 2k so i went back to the meter, and the yellow location hitting is just dumb, i think the improvments in this game should focus on RTTS and franchise mode. the second thing is in this game is to hard to hit, and no its not the timing bucause i have had groundouts and flyouts with perfect timing. This game is good but sometimes is so hard is not even that fun, it sucks to be leading by 4 in the 8th and all of the sudden the A.I makes a comeback, and the you cant even hit a single in the 9th its just dissapointing
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scoot
Tennessee
 
Please wait while more information about Scoot is loaded.
Additional information about Scoot could not be loaded.
I can sympathize.....
Posted 3/12/12
Sounds like its the same game as MLB 2010, just 2 years newer man. I complained about the same thing with that game. Leading late in the game the computer AI would just suddenly go off and hit EVERYTHING...or my fielders would make 3 or 4 errors a game on a consistant basis (very unrealistic) to keep late inning rallys alive for the Computer. That is why I say this franchise is not what its cracked up to be. Its that pretty gift box on Christmas morning all wrapped up in a bow with WOW ME graphics, and you unwrap it to find hollow and unrealistic gameplay.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for MLB 12: The Show
Am I playing a game or watching ESPN?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Mas3
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
The graphics are so incredible, my parents have to ask if i am watching a game or playing a game. Seriously, they are incredible. Perfect for any baseball fan who plays video games, everything can be customized to fit your skill levels and preferences. Best baseball game there is....period
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MLB 12: The Show
Nothing new and noteworthy for RTTS players
Posted on:2/23/12
ScootFla
Location: Lakeland, FLA
The RTTS mode didn't receive any fixes or enhancements that make the game worth getting IF you're only into playing this game for the RTTS part. At least 2K made some updates with their My Player mode, but RTTS still suffers from there not being much reason to play once you get your ratings up high and have made it to the majors. There are no trophies for breaking MLB records and there certainly is nothing to entice you to want to play an entire MLB career in the game. Plus, when you get a homerun in the game, the players and coaches in the dugout still stand around like nothing happened as the camera shows you rounding 1st or 3rd. So the gaps in game realism still exist. I'm not a hater of the game, but they have to be making a killing charging 99 cents for player upgrades and they haven't used any of that money to improve the RTTS mode.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dirty82
 
Please wait while more information about Dirty82 is loaded.
Additional information about Dirty82 could not be loaded.
Needs SOMETHING more for the RTTS players!
Posted 2/27/12
I could be wroong but the one thing I seem to remember hearing is that when you reach the Majors you are not just a bennch/platoon player but a full on starter. That may go for your minor league career too. There just seems to be a lot more focus on the season type modes.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for MLB 12: The Show
MLB 2012
Posted on:11/26/11
xxGameNerd115xx
Location: Detroit, MI
This is definantly one of my most anticipated games of 2012. Mlb 11 was by far my favorite sports game that i have ever played and this is going to top that. One thing i would like added is postponed games in franchise and season mode, but should be sure to limit them to about 5 per season. Because something i like to do because im such a nered is that i like to play one franchise game on the day it is scheduled to be played on in real life, and i think that would be a cool feature. Last but not least..... GO TIGERS!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swagg6
 
Please wait while more information about swagg6 is loaded.
Additional information about swagg6 could not be loaded.
so excited
Posted 1/22/12
i am really excited. but i hope its better than last year cause last years wasnt that goood. 2k was better so hopefully the will make this 1 better. They should also make a think where u can argue that would be sick. i hope it good n go YANKES.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>