GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Max Payne 3 Special Edition

For Max Payne, the tragedies that took his loved ones years ago are wounds that refuse to heal. No longer a cop, close to washed up and addicted to pain killers, Max takes a job in São Paulo, Brazil, protecting the family of wealthy real estate mogul Rodrigo Branco, in an effort to finally escape his troubled past. But as events spiral out of his control, Max Payne finds himself alone on the streets of an unfamiliar city, desperately searching for the truth and fighting for a way out.
Average Customer Rating:
8.286
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
Review 1 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
Lacks freedom,but rockstar has delivered yet again
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/12
TannersCandyvan
Location: Salem,OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game overall is great the singleplayer is short but sweet.
The multiplayer has incredible customization and is fun.
The single player lacks exploration to the biggest degree.
This game is a must have for any Max Payne series fan.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Special edition review:The statue is good except that the face doesn't look like max.
The soundtrack has some good songs in it and is enjoyable.
The classic characters pack is a must have for any fan of early max Payne games you can play as characters such Nicole Horne,Vladimir Lem,Mona sax, and a few more
The weapons pack is decent but a "meh" overall
The bullet keychain is awesome and it opens.
The still arts are cool if that is your thing,for me they are just another bonus.
I have had other collectors edition packs before and this pack is a
8.5/10
A must buy for any Max Payne fan
 
My Product Recommendations
Max Payne Bundle
8 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
re: Max Payne
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/14
BReview
Location: Plano, Tx
This game is perfect for: party gamers
RockStar once again blew it with this game. They took a cheap chessy script slapped it together with some cr--py graphics and, Came up with undoubtedly the most whining, Pathetic miserable lead Character ever known to gaming society. Not that RockStar games are bad at all. Actually, Most of their games are quite fun. Such as Red Dead Redemption, Midnight Club, L.A. Noire, GTA series etc but, This game is the total crapper and can only be likened to Far Cry which made me cry after I plopped out premium cash for only, To be disappointed by yet again, Poor scripting, Bad graphics and, C--p graphics and meaningless Boss fights. I wouldn't recommend Max Payne or Far Cry to anyone because they are poor quality all the way around as far as gaming goes in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 3 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
A must buy!
Posted on:1/24/12
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
I have been looking at max payne 3 and i came across a limited edition and when i saw what it came with i knew i had to get it instead of the normal edition. i am pretty mad that it keeps getting pushed back though it was origanally going to come out in march then it got pushed back to may and now it has been pushed back three days, i hope it doesnt happen again because i cant what until max payne 3 comes out. and dont listen to that guy who says that it will come with alot of discs because he is one of those people who think playstation is better only because psn is free.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BIGGDUMMY
Parts Unknown Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about BIGGDUMMY is loaded.
Additional information about BIGGDUMMY could not be loaded.
Too Much Time On Ones Hands
Posted 4/3/12
Playstation has become so worthless the fans of Gaystation have nothing better to do than find quality xbox pre-orders and try and bash on a system that has proven itself time and again.I cant help but feel your pain,just sell that silly modern day dust collector.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
Max Payne special edition
Posted on:11/22/11
AJEDIWARRI0R
Location: california
OMG! thank you rockstar for making a special edition ive been waitng since 2008 i wrote a post along time ago hoping for a special edition thank you for living up to it, game looks amazing by the way and for the Special edition everything i wanted is there. now i just have to wait a few more months for it to come out.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
av1798
 
Please wait while more information about av1798 is loaded.
Additional information about av1798 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/3/11
wooow .... finally its coming out cant wait to get it!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
The best game of the year!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
Metalblade23
Location: Redlands,ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the best games I have ever played in a long time. Great job rockstar!!! Me and my brother had a good time playing max Payne . Go out and buy this game now!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
I can't wait!
Posted on:5/10/12
AYKAY47
Location: New Jersey
Already have this preordered and FINALLY it is being released this Tuesday! I am a huge fan of the series and have the special edition preordered and CANNOT WAIT TO PLAY THIS!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
Max Payne 3!!!!!!!
Posted on:4/24/12
AJEDIWARRI0R
Location: california
Max Payne 3 is almost here and its about time,ive been waiting since 2009 for this game to come out and now its almost here. its going to be epic, ive been a fan of the series since day 1 when the first max payne came out on the original xbox. and for the special edition everything i mentioned that i thought it should have in a post about a year or two ago is included and more so i am more than happy so thank you rockstar for not lettin me down and making another great game and bringing back Remedy"s classic and deffinetly living up to the orginal .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Alan Wake's American Nightmare - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.4 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
AJEDIWARRI0R
california
 
Please wait while more information about AJEDIWARRI0R is loaded.
Additional information about AJEDIWARRI0R could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
to. oldskool
Posted 5/9/12
ya i am more of a single player guy myself but the multiplayer doesnt look to bad.
Customer Avatar
Oldskool1
Jacksonville
 
Please wait while more information about Oldskool1 is loaded.
Additional information about Oldskool1 could not be loaded.
Single player hold out
Posted 5/3/12
I ALWAYS pre-order the most expensive and comprehensive editions for great games. I did not pre-order and will wait for used, solely based on the pre order bonuses being exclusively for multiplayer. I do not play multiplayer, so, rockstar, you could have had another 99 bucks. I still love GameStop though!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
Definitely a must own game!
Posted on:4/22/12
bl4ktout
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Pre-ordered special edition and I am too excited. I've waited soooooo long for this game. Must buy!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
H-O-L-Y C-R-A-P!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
AuditoreAssassin
Location: North Pole, AK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game about a week ago and all I can say is that after playing for 5 minutes I was in love. I thought I wouldnt like this game because I havent played the first two. I was wrong. All you need to know is that Max is a drugged up drunk. Also he is still crying over his family being killed many years ago. This game is great for gamers who like realism in a game. Yes I know you cant slow down time in real life but its a game for christsake.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
ACT FAST
Posted on:1/4/12
callofdutybestplayer
Location: el paso, tx
you better act fast preordering this because the last day to do it is january 15, so dont think it to much, if you dont preorder this before that day you would not be able to do it later, =\ i think rockstar dont want to make extra copies of this bundle that would not sell.... act fast!!
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AJEDIWARRI0R
california
 
Please wait while more information about AJEDIWARRI0R is loaded.
Additional information about AJEDIWARRI0R could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
may 15 is the release date!
Posted 1/19/12
they pushed the game back again april 2 is the last day u can pre order now for SE hope it still is limited im mad.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
Max Payne goes beyond regal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
blackhawk2k10
Location: La quinta, CA
Ok so within I got the game today and finished the game. I have to say it is the best game i have played in a long time with a unbelievable campaign. The Multiplayer is awesome, just goes beyond all expectations. Rockstar gaming has out done themselves. Seriously consider a contender and probably game of the year. In the end Max payne is a step beyond regal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kingsfan1995
 
Please wait while more information about kingsfan1995 is loaded.
Additional information about kingsfan1995 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/19/12
I got max payne it a good game and i passed disc one,but when i put disc 2 it ask me to put disc 1 to continue the compaign what do i do???
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
good enough game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
PHANTOM896
Location: WoodBridge, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
max payne 3 has an amazing story mode with interesting characters and settings. its cool how its in new york during mp2 and in brazil. sound is good and gameplay is good in story. multiplayer is bad in my opinion max payne is mainly a singleplayer game. i would recommend for story mode.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
have fun
Posted on:1/11/12
flips82
have fun with your triple, quatruple, quintuplet, sxtuplet disks woow xbox disk trays are in 4 it now
4 of 68 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
fucallart
 
Please wait while more information about fucallart is loaded.
Additional information about fucallart could not be loaded.
freeze
Posted 5/8/12
and that why the last rockstar game kept on freezing on ps3
Customer Avatar
Jesus25
Butner NC
 
Please wait while more information about Jesus25 is loaded.
Additional information about Jesus25 could not be loaded.
Xbox
Posted 2/2/12
I have a ps3 and a 360. If my house was on fire and I had time to save either the ps3 or the xbox, sorry but I'm grabbing the xbox!! So the whole more discs thing is a stupid reason to trash "the most played system out their"!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Max Payne 3 Special Edition
Amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/12
Rafiki
Location: Tijuana,B.C
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think rockstar games max payne wanted to do our best hope gameplay graphics grand theft auto v is even better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10