GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation Vita Portable Charger

Extend your PlayStation®Vita battery life with the official Portable Charger. This plug and play external rechargeable battery carries 1.5 times the charge of the PS Vita internal battery. With a sleek and lightweight design that's easy to store, keep your PS Vita charged no matter where you go.
Average Customer Rating:
7.857
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Review 1 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Extra Juice!
Posted on:11/29/11
JoeT93
When I first heard that the PS Vita was only gonna have around 5 hours worth of total gameplay (while not charging), I thought this wasnt gonna be a device I would be spending all day outside my home playing on. Then this lil' baby comes along and bam and extra battery pack in your pocket, this will ensure PS Vita users will get just over double the amount of battery life from the standard PS Vita's battery. Its just a shame it comes in the form of a pre-charged one which you need to connect rather than replacing the systems main battery... But hey I'm gonna be happy I can play just that bit longer without having to stay bound to a plug socket.
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Actully well worth it for the money! (read why)
Posted on:2/10/12
NightRaven1080p
Location: Southfield, MI
If you look at Energizer and Duracell's offers for portable chargers, NONE of them offer 5AMPs (5000mAh). The CLOSEST one's are there 4 AMP (4000 mAh) XP 4001 gaming charger witch is already the price of Sony charger and there XP4000 camera charger witch is...a lot more and then they have there XP8000 netbook charger that costs even more bucks but offers 8 AMPs (8000 mAh). Energizer's only offers 1.1AMPs (thats 1100 mAh) If you look up the prices of these chargers on google (rules say i can't post them -_-) then do the math, Sony's charger definitly worth it. Also, Sony's charger dose indeed USB port so it can charger your other devices (your iPhone/iPod your android phone, you kindle, etc...) as well as your Vita.
10 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
candyman2131
USA
 
Please wait while more information about candyman2131 is loaded.
Additional information about candyman2131 could not be loaded.
umm i think your wrong
Posted 9/15/13
im not a complete expert or anything but I was looking up some of this stuff and it seems to me that the amps have to do with how fast something actually charges and mAh stands for how much of a charge something has. for example lets say an Ipod max battery charge is 1000 mAh (no idea if this is accurate or not) and you have a charging device with 2000 mAh then you can fully charge you ipod two times were as the amps represent the actual speed to charge it. so let say 4 hours to charge at one amp but 2 amps will charge it in 2. the amps themselves don't represent the mAh that you get. im planning on getting something that has about 6000 mAh and 2 usb charging ports. one port charges at 1.1amps were as the other charges ant 2.1 amps
Customer Avatar
brolol
 
Please wait while more information about brolol is loaded.
Additional information about brolol could not be loaded.
Ipad 2 charger
Posted 3/2/12
Can it charge the IPad 2 as well? If so then its a great value for me!
Customer Avatar
kingmuimui
Elverson, PA
 
Please wait while more information about kingmuimui is loaded.
Additional information about kingmuimui could not be loaded.
Posted 2/21/12
Yes, but the one that I got (see previous post) has both more mAh of charge (9900mAh) and two usb ports. If price is the issue than the IMP70D has 7000mAh, two usb ports, and is 5 cents cheaper. :P(just sayin') Plus free shipping on amazon.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 3 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
This thing is amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
Rollx2015
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this for my fiance to charge her Galaxy S2 phone when she arrives from Europe, since she does not have a USA charger. I have not used it with the Vita yet as mine is in for repairs in Europe cuz I spilled root beer on it ( I got the unlocked one)
Anyways I have been charging my phone with it until she gets here, and man its great my phone actually lasts all day thanks to this thing! If anybody has an extra $50 of game credit I recommend using it for this it will make your life a lot easier!!! Best of all you can use the VIta charger to charge it. I always plug up my phone and this charger before I go to sleep so they are both fully charged in the morning. When my phone runs out I plug this in :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Great solution to a glaring problem.
Posted on:2/1/12
MysteryMeatwad
Location: A Cave in Idaho
First, let me say that this product should not exist. Really, I'd hope a Vita battery would last at least 6-8 hours without help. I personally plan on playing my Vita for more than a few hours a day, often using 3G, so I will probably need this. However, I'm going to give out a piece of advice that EVERYBODY should follow, including myself. DO NOT buy this product UNTIL you know for sure that you will need it. Try your Vita for a week or two. If you consistently find your battery dying even after charging it overnight, this product is for you. If you can make it without needing a charge, don't get it. It's not super cheap, but it more than doubles battery life, so it may be a necessary evil.
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation Vita First Edition Bundle
9.8 out of 10(94)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
cool looking and perfect service
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
Jetburn
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
a classic looking but portable charger that can easily fit in your pocket and can charge many things (phone, tablet, game consoles) + charges the PS vita to full battery up to one a a half time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Richard Solo is Better
Posted on:3/3/12
IcelandicViking
Location: Lebanon, OR
The RS Super Power Bank offers more battery time and looks better for only ten dollars more. It has 6,600 mAH and two usb ports.
6 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wambada
 
Please wait while more information about Wambada is loaded.
Additional information about Wambada could not be loaded.
Posted 3/18/12
Do you have a Richard Solo Super Power Bank Charger? I purchased one specifically to charge my Vita with and I can't get it to charge it...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Maintains charge for up to 1 year
Posted on:2/3/12
geofri1997
Location: royal oak, mi
•Compatible with most mobile devices
•Plugs in for instant power
•Maintains charge for up to 1 year
ok what do they mean 1 YEAR maintains in charge for up to 1 year what happen after the year?
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NightRaven1080p
Southfield, MI
 
Please wait while more information about NightRaven1080p is loaded.
Additional information about NightRaven1080p could not be loaded.
explnation
Posted 2/9/12
Just what it sounds like, if you charge it today and come back 1 year later, it will still be at 100%. Any longer than, and it starts do lose it's charge.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
A Must Have For The PS Vita
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
Vita4Life
Location: slc,UT
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought two of these for camping & it took me 3 hours 20 minutes to charge & i got 6 hours and 50 minutes of gaming i say its worth every penny if you're going camping or flying.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
It will be a must
Posted on:2/26/12
2cool4u
Location: Hawaii,HI
Since the ps vita only has about 3-5 hours of gameplay, you will need it especially if your going to play on the go.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
an absolute must
Posted on:12/22/11
Rollx2015
Location: Indiana
Vita has already been released now in Japan, and there are reports of it lasting 3 hrs 47 min gaming with 3g off.
Now I'm no expert but with 3g on it would be significantly less, maybe even bit over 2 hr. or 3 hr even. SO if this battery pack is 1.5 times capacity of the internal battery, you could get maybe 4hrs extra average with 3g gaming
If you are going on a 20hr drive like me as passenger you will need approx 5 of these to be safe. That's $250 extra but I think well worth it
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation Vita First Edition Bundle
9.8 out of 10(94)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Yoppsy
None of YOUR business sucker
 
Please wait while more information about Yoppsy is loaded.
Additional information about Yoppsy could not be loaded.
not that smart
Posted 1/30/12
just get a car charger. cause i know i wouldn't spend $250 on an extra battery life. and where r u going on this 20 hour trip.
Customer Avatar
AvidGamergirl
 
Please wait while more information about AvidGamergirl is loaded.
Additional information about AvidGamergirl could not be loaded.
Really!!
Posted 1/25/12
Hmmm, you do realize that you can get a car charger for that 20hr drive? But hey, if you feel the need to spend an extra $250 go for it. It's people like you that keep companies in business. Do some research before you make decisions, you will save a lot of money.
Customer Avatar
Sean2391
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Sean2391 is loaded.
Additional information about Sean2391 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/3/12
Or get a car charger
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 11 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Great charger!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
ckdmj
Location: Cartersville, GA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the most powerful and reliable portable charger on the market. It was designed for the PSVita but will charge almost anything that uses a USB cable to charge including your tablet or phone. You can buy a cheaply made no name portable charger or you can spend the same money and get a great, name brand charger with more power and more compacity.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
ps vita must have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
KelsGz
Location: seatown, wa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
charge it before first using the portable battery charger. use the PS vita wires to do so. it takes 2-3.5 hours to fully charge, once it stops blinking it is ready for use with the vita. I have used it to also recharge my galaxy nexus. got a second chager for my wife's note II. bought a third one since the it does the job.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
It didn't make it last any longer for me
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
Tanorok
Location: Columbus,GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this on Wednesday the 6th I was thinking finally they made something real awesome that could make the Vita last longer it didn't It took at least 5 hrs to charge the charger and then I hooked it to the Vita and it lasted the same amount of time IT DID NOT LAST ANY LONGER It might be possible I got a defective one but man I was hoping to be able to play at least an extra 4-7 hrs but it did not happen THANK GOD I GOT MY MONEY BACK.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NightRaven1080p
Southfield, MI
 
Please wait while more information about NightRaven1080p is loaded.
Additional information about NightRaven1080p could not be loaded.
wait a min...
Posted 7/11/12
this makes no logical sense.are you sure you were using it as the instructions advised you to? was your vita fully charged? give us details.
Customer Avatar
tjonline
 
Please wait while more information about tjonline is loaded.
Additional information about tjonline could not be loaded.
Might have gotten the info wrong
Posted 6/13/12
I believed they meant you can play longer as it is a charger on the go so along with charging it with it you can play it and it will be fully charged. My guess is that you play it already charged and when it's about to die, use the portable one on the go.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Bad Idea
Posted on:1/4/12
BobbyQ
Location: Kansas City
Instead of making people buy a spare battery for more life, why wouldn't Sony just engineer the system to have a larger capacity battery out of the box?
How portable is the system if you're going to carry around a spare battery all the time? As powerful as the Vita is, I would greatly prefer something LESS powerful and MORE portable.
1 of 53 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
DJDavis
 
Please wait while more information about DJDavis is loaded.
Additional information about DJDavis could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 2/25/12
If you want something less powerful, and more portable, then get a PSP :/
Customer Avatar
NightRaven1080p
Southfield, MI
 
Please wait while more information about NightRaven1080p is loaded.
Additional information about NightRaven1080p could not be loaded.
Well... you see...
Posted 2/10/12
you ever wonder why batteries for smartphones suck when compared to there non-smartphone counterparts? it's because they are drained by the power requirements and cool stuff that we want to do on them (3DS only lasts 2:30 with the 3d on max! for example) and the stuff these batteries used in is more advance then our current battery technology. Until battery technology is improved, all future portables and phones will continue have unsatisfactory battery life... unless you don't mind a huge, bulging, heaver battery on your smartphone or Vita.
Customer Avatar
Nanashi86
Boston
 
Please wait while more information about Nanashi86 is loaded.
Additional information about Nanashi86 could not be loaded.
selling at a loss
Posted 2/9/12
First off, the wasn't built with a more powerful internal battery because the system would have been more expensive. They wanted to hit that $250 sweet spot to maximize their sales (even though doing so meant selling at a loss). They system is a power machine and the average smart device has the same battery life. The 3DS which is far less impress (but however has the 3D effects) only goes up to 3 hours. This is fine as is but of course we would like more. I'm never going to burn 5 hours playing when I'm on the bus, train, lunch break, and bus train again back home.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 15 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Nice idea, but...
Posted on:2/6/12
kingmuimui
Location: Elverson, PA
I have to agree that there are better alternatives, I always try to go Sony when it comes to accessories, but in this case I actually went with New Trent's IMP99D. Yes a bit more pricey, but also far more mAh of charge. As for those saying that the Vita should come with a larger internal battery, then you design one and give Sony a call.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
six2flip
 
Please wait while more information about six2flip is loaded.
Additional information about six2flip could not be loaded.
Posted 2/23/12
Have you had success in charging with the Trent?
Here's an excerpt of an email I inquired with to New Trent:
The IMPxxx battery is design to support 5V output devices.
Although the PlayStation Vita is a 5V, 1.5A device. However, our IMPxxx battery doesn't support the PlayStation Vita USB charging cable at present.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
it was good until...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
jedimoon
Location: hawaii
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i had it about a 3 weeks it work fine the 1st few weeks when i try to charger my ps vita it would charger for a sec and turn off i try again and still the same thing very mad now trying to return it to sony to get a new one
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation Vita Portable Charger
Do not get!
Posted on:1/31/12
Cloud9119
Location: Kailua, HI
This is way over priced! You can get generic ones for way cheaper, do not waste your hard-earned money on this.
2 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
kingmuimui
Elverson, PA
 
Please wait while more information about kingmuimui is loaded.
Additional information about kingmuimui could not be loaded.
Aye, and...
Posted 2/24/12
I bought a New Trent IMP70D for the vita, and the output isn't enough for the Vita to even realize it's being charged! Returned to Amazon to pre-order this.
Customer Avatar
NightRaven1080p
Southfield, MI
 
Please wait while more information about NightRaven1080p is loaded.
Additional information about NightRaven1080p could not be loaded.
be weary of those generic chargers...
Posted 2/10/12
The components used in most of those generic ones are not the best and can also potentially short out your Vita's battery and Vita. There mostly cheap for a reason and see how long it will last, probably not very long.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)