GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS VITA ArmorShell

Mad Catz' ArmorShell provides tough, transparent protection for your PlayStation Vita. Constructed from rugged polycarbonate, the armored shell shields your console from dirt, scratches, and minor damage. Easy access to all of the console's ports and buttons means that once you snap the ArmorShell on, it can stay on, giving your handheld total protection without compromising gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
8.583
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS VITA ArmorShell
Review 1 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Useful but not necessary.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/12
Aeope
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I ordered my ArmorShell a couple of weeks ago along with a screen protector. I'm obnoxious with keeping my electronics safe in my pocket and when I'm not using them. All in all, it's a fairly sturdy piece of plastic that is well designed for the most part.
My only problem with the design is that it latches on top, right above where the Vita's game cards are put in. This means, whenever you want to switch games (unless you have them downloaded), you need to open the case up. That's a small personal issue, however.
While it keeps smudges off the handheld itself, the ArmorShell is not smudge resistant itself. You will still need to keep the outside of it clean of finger prints every once in a while.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for PS VITA ArmorShell
i like it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/12
Gbert
Location: bronx
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i got the armor shell when it first came out and i got to say that it the best thing so far it good if you like keeping your system safe
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Does it's job.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
ReapingShadows
Location: Miami,FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This case does exactly what it's supposed to do. It works just fine and the price wasn't terrible. I'd recommend it to anyone that doesn't want their Vita so get scratched up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PS VITA ArmorShell
its okey but not that great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
extremis0
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
love the see thru.In the shell gets the job done but looks like it could break easily if your vita is out the shell so be careful and don't let your friend sit on it .Reason for the 8 if you love your vita to death plz get a forward back screen protector cause the back opening area is pretty loose and since it always in my pocket it tends to rub a lot. Gave my lovely lite scratches ;_;
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Nice form fitting case for PS Vita
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/12
skippylt1
Location: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a nice form fitting case for the PS Vita, it gives the system a little extra protection. It is not big and bulky like some other cases on the market.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Perfect Shell
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
WhitestHispanic
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you're looking for something light weight that doesn't add a lot of bulk to your new PS Vita this is it. Light weight with no bulk makes keeping it in your pockets as easy as if it didnt have the shell on at all. However, parents, please advised that unless your little one is completely accident free I would not recommend this for anyone under the age of 13. Sadly because it is made of plastics it probably wouldn't save the Vita from much damage if dropped. However if you an adult and take emaculent care of your electronics like I do this is a great alternative for. It also comes with a nifty stand to prop your Vita upright for movies.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Good but be wary of cracks
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/12
Royboy
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this the day of buying my vita, and as far as I can tell it's design is very well thought out. Clear cases are often very pretty but flimsy, and the plastic seems fairly solid. There's even an extra piece of plastic to cover the back panel when it's not in use. My one gripe about this product that kept it from a ten was my shell had a small crack inside the plastic. It hasn't gotten bigger, and isn't a physical outside crack, just a rough patch in the plastic that retracts from the all around sexiness of a clear case. My advice is when you pick one up at the store, give it a once over for any cracks or blemishes before you purchase. Not a big deal to everyone but I'm really annoying about this stuff.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Keeps Vita safe, but you'll miss your grips!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
beasy44
Location: Iron River, MI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this but I miss the grips of the vita, so I sort of put it on when I'm out and about but when at home I enjoy the feel of the vita
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 9 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Low profile, sturdy, does its job
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
ShadowTheHellJumper
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This little piece of armor is light weight and adds very little thickness to the system, so therefor if you have a sleeve or the pull 'n go portfolio, you can still slide it in easily with little to no hassle. The small stand on the bottom is also very nice and strong and is able to fully support the weight of the system. Not to mention this also protects from scratches and fingerprints on the glossy face of the system, and of course, paired with a screen protector, would ensure the aesthetic safety of you PS Vita system. This comes highly recommended from a daily user of this system.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Great Crystal Case
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
topher339
Location: Albuquerque,NM
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great crystal case. It fits the vita nice and snugly. I got this over the nerf because it is slimmer and would still fit in my pocket. The little stand part is real nice for watching movies. It has a cove for the rear touch pad which I found odd but somewhat useful. The only thing I dont like is the part that covers the top and snaps the sides together. It covers the game slot so every to you change out a game you have to pop it off then put it back again. Its annoying but doesnt really detract from the case. i definitely recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Affordable Protection, A few design issues
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
Anonymous
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Since I like to keep my stuff looking like new, I purchased this for my Vita. It does a good job of keeping my system scuff free, and gives me a little peace of mind if i were to accidentally drop it. The case isn't too bulky, and doesn't impede your ability to press any button. There is one glaring problem in the design, and that is at the top of the case. The top of the case is closed by a little cover that actually prevents you from easily changing game cards. You have to press down kind of hard in order to secure the top cover again. So that is a little inconvenience. The plastic of the entire thing seems a little flimsy, I am worried that something holding it together might snap off. The flip stand underneath the case is a huge plus, it allows you to watch Netflix and other stuff easily. No more finding stuff to prop your PS Vita on.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS VITA ArmorShell
SLIM CASE AND AFFORDABLE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
moto
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this case cost me 13.77 with tax which is a great price and it looks great. almost makes the Vita look better. With a screen protector all you need is this and the onlything you are REALLY touching is the buttons.. I bought a first edition Vita so it came with a limited edition carrying case. The Vita with this clear armor shell still fits in its limited edtion case so i say +++++ this will prevent those pocket/table scratches as well as more.. THIS IS A NEED TO BUY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS VITA ArmorShell
Clear affordable protection!
Posted on:2/9/12
polik890
Location: College Park, MD
This case looked like a great deal for me because even though I'm on a balanced budget. For only 12.99 this can provide me protection and peace of mind for this 300 produce(3g version). You don't know how bad it feels to spend 300 then drop it and watch it break cause you couldn't spend 13 dollars or buy a warranty. I also would advise you to check out the screen protectors because if you have a touch screen device, we all know how dirty those can get. If you check out amazon, they have them for 9.99 instead of 12.99 here. Plus that launch bundle is *WORTH* it! (exculd if they don't offer the bundle, this was posted in Feb 12')
4 of 8 found this review helpful.