GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yakuza Dead Souls

Yakuza: Dead Souls is set in the infamous red light district of Tokyo, which is under attack from hordes of zombies. Players will not only face armies of the undead and incredibly powerful mutants, buta treacherous Japanese underworld that is just as merciless. Playing through the eyes of four of the most infamous characters of the series, witness allegiances shift quickly and the line between friend and foe lost. If you thought zombies were bad...meet the Yakuza!
Average Customer Rating:
8.7
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yakuza Dead Souls
Review 1 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Pop some zombies
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
Unit
Location: NY
I beat this game twice already. The game is huge,you will def get your moneys worth that's for sure. It's a spin off and also the end of the Tokyo location and game engine..Hence the title "of the end". Part 5 is being developed as we speak with tons of work to be done considering they are making a whole new engine. Now I won't go into heavy detail as I did with my Yakuza 4 review, but give my pros and cons. Pros: Storyline- Can never say more than enough for a STELLAR storyline.. you will not find better from any series including cutscenes. Characters- The loan Shark,Dragon of Kansai and Majima join Kazuma into gunning hordes of zombies popping heads like it's going out of style. Can't ask for a better team. Graphics- Same as 4,same engine..Love it or hate it, it works. Mini games- Are all here..Whether you like to bowl, play slots,arcades,cards,mahjong,hostess bars,batting cages,karaoke,massage parlors tell me when to stop..And many many side missions for each character(One example is saving store fronts and reopening businesses). When complete you can have the option to travel around a normal town or apocalyptic town with zombies. Cons: Sadly the controls are a little problematic at first,but as you play you will be popping heads with a hostess in no time. Some Framerate issues at times. Overall it's a great end to this engine and the Tokyo location. I hope when 5 is complete they bring it to the West. Sadly other reviewers will sway hordes of people from even touching the series. Thank you Sega for supporting your fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Yakuza with zombies in it? a whole game??
Posted on:1/29/12
VicDoom
Location: Bay Area
Aaaaahhh man!! why does it have to be released right before Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City??
Im a big Yakuza fun but now that i see theres zombies in it too im going to have to buy this as well.
March is going to be a good month.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Stupid yakuza vs. zombie fun!
Posted on:1/15/12
OMGmyFACE
Location: Portland, OR
I'm a huge fan of the Ryu ga Gotoku series, I own and have enjoyed all the Yakuza games that have come out in the US. When I heard they were doing a Yakuza of the Dead style game, I knew it was gonna be decent. I played the demo in Japanese and, while I couldn't understand the written dialogue or menus, still had a blast. The shooting mechanic is surprisingly well done, considering that firing a gun has never been a priority in ANY of the games before it. The feel of this game harkens back to the good old PS1 days of playing actually good zombie/survival horror titles. Can't wait to play it for real and in English this March!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Great Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
IzZombie
Location: Salem,Va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Have to say this is great!! I love zombies and the Yakuza series so when I heard about this I was really excited. It slipped up on me and I didn't know it came out this past tuesday and lucky me my location had 1 in stock so I have a feeling that this will be one of those "hidden" gems. If you come across this and you like zombies this is a game for you. If you like this series then this game is for you. Basically Buy this game you will not regret it as long as you like this style of game it does play like the series. ZOMBIES!!!! ARE YOU READY?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Sounds good
Posted on:12/5/11
nickolsssssssss
the small summary of the game sounds pretty good, might be a good game to play since it has Yakuza, zombies, and mutants
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Enjoyable Zombie touch to the Yakuza series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
GP88
Location: Fort Myers, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I took a chance 3 weeks ago on this game(seeing as I'm a Yakuza fan to begin with). And this game didn't dissappoint. Same engine as Yakuza 4,only this game you blow away zombies. At first I was unsure about Yakuza + Zombies but it surprised me. The Shooting aspect of the game is really repetitive after a while,but it can become very fun & very addicting especially if you shotgun blast a small circle of Zombies & watch them all fly with limbs & blood flying everywhere. Heat sniping is really cool as once your heat gauge fills you can shoot various parts of enviroments like gas tank of a car,Oil Drums,Propane tanks etc.. & watch them blow up a gang of undead freaks. Story is fun & am still in the process of beating the game. Substories & All mini-games from previous Yakuza's are all here,including my Fav. "Steamy Table Tennis Ranked." & there's still the ability to Free roam within Kamurocho(of course). This game even has a natural Sense of Humor to it as I found myself chuckling a bit at some of Majima's psychotically twisted & freaky Sarcasm. There are minor flaws to this game But if you Love Yakuza & Zombie games you'd love this. Or if you like Zombie Games but have never played Yakuza for example, this might impress you, just as long as you're not a complete nit-pick type of gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Fun zombie game set in Japan!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
mckinley2
Location: waynesboro va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is by Sega and to me Sega has always made fun awesome games. Let me start off by saying the positives about Yakuza Dead Souls. First, if you like zombie games like dead rising, dead island, then you will enjoy this game The graphics are nice and the storyline is great and the game is long. You get lots of weapons which are cool. Now for the negatives. When you first put the game game in your PS3 you will have to install it which is long. The controls are hard at first, but you will get used to them. There is also lots of backtracking. I managed to overlooked the negatives. The game starts off slow but when you progress it gets better. I loved the game. Maybe you will too.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Machine Gun Hand Guy!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
TheViralSamurai99
Location: Mountain Home AFB, ID
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So yeah, as the title of my review suggests, that's the only reason I really bought this game. Dude in a white longcoat with a machine gun for his right hand killing zombies? Yes. Just yes. Turns out, that you have to play through 2 other characters stories first to get to him though, which I didn't really mind. The first one is some guy getting medicine and rescuing his clearly infected partner, the second one is a one-armed psycho who reminded me of Deadpool, haven't gotten to the fourth guy yet but I don't think they'll be able to top machine-gun hand guy. If you like slaughtering unlimited zombies, guns, Yakuza games, and sarcastic humor, you should get this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Yakuza Dead Souls
If you're a Yakuza/zombie fan, id recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
JTDOOM
Location: Bay Area
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ive been following the yakuza franchise for a while now and just like the others, this game is very creative and has a cool different open world that we're not usually used to exploring. Sega was always known for their creativity. The gameplay is pretty fun and theres alot of weapons to choose from. Its a good spin-off with zombie killing count combos and a deep storyline. Just like the other titles, it could get a bit random from time to time but thats the beauty of this game. Theres so many things happening and so much to do, you wont want to put this game on shelf yet until you explored everywhere.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Yakuza Dead Souls
A fun time to be had.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
Lurkzilla
Location: Donnellson, Iowa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a long time Yakuza fan, and I'm glad to see this game make it to the states. The controls take a little while to get used to, but once you do, you'll have a fun time running around Kamurocho shooting everything that moves. Fortunately you also don't have to have played the previous Yakuza games to get into this one, but after playing Dead Souls you may want to check out the rest of the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Yakuza Dead Souls
telling you straight up
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
superkinggamer5150
Location: Atlanta,GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
alright im just going to tell you straight up the yakuza franchise sucked i mean playstation could have done way better than this xbox can have yakuza until now zombies yakuza now his is a game i can play but it definetly isnt better than dead rising 2 add me at KingGamer5150 on psn if you agree peace
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yakuza Dead Souls
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/12
cubanboy2002
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LOVE THIS GAME AWESOME GRAPHICS AND GREAT GAMEPLAY,I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO A FRIEND.THIS IS A HARDCORE GAMER GAME. BETTER THAN DEAD RISING.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Yakuza Dead Souls
yakuza best series ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
goda
Location: tokyo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its fun im already 90 hours into the game still playing so much content for the price so if you like zombies get this and try all yakuza games!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.