GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen

Shinobido 2: Revenge of Zen is the sequel to Shinobido: Way of the Ninja, featuring the series' trademark stealth action gameplay with the addition of new stylish assassin moves and a dynamic storyline. Developed by Acquire, the story is set six months after the events of the previous opus. The Utakata region is once again at the center of the storm and embroiled in a civil war involving the mysterious Tenma Mirrors, rumored to have magical properties. Players will take the role of Zen, a man who has suffered betrayal at the hands of his companion and the loss of his home. Saved by the Asuka clan of Utakata, Zen makes up his mind to live as an assassin and begins a perilous journey in search of revenge.
Average Customer Rating:
8.222
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Review 1 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Expect nothing less from Acquire
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
Anonymous
Location: San Francisco, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Having a ninja game made by Aquire is playing a game from the masters. Afterall, Acquire is te studio responsible for the Tenchu series, but because of licensing, they had to make a new Ninja game, Shinobido. This game plays well in the portable format. If you are anything like me, I don't always have a couple hour blocks to devote to a videogame if I'm commuting at work. The format of picking missions on the go is a great format for the portable handheld. The gameplay is great, however it will appeal to niche crowd of ninja game lovers. This game isn't for everyone. While the graphics are dated and the camera controls can be somewhat wonky, I don't expect anybody but the hardcore Tenchu fans to appreciate this particular game. Voice acting and overall story line is mediocre at best. The activ is similar to a cheap toy tie-in cartoon on Sunday morning. While I've ragged on this game enough, I still find it fun to lure enemies with ninja tools and then do silent kills! It's not a bad game, but it's also not the best game. In my book, it's definitely a game I would play to pass time.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Much better than anticipated a ORIENTAL MANHUNT!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
hakman
Location: FL.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I do not know why this game has been dissed like it has?! This game was much better than any review I read about it. It is a stealth game first and foremost and does that excellently . The controls for making stealth kills and using the various weapons are done flawlessly. The big negative about this game is when or if there is actual action combat. During aggressive combat the camera tends to have a mind of it's own and makes things frustrating. However this game is not mean't for aggressive combat but rather stealth-strategic killing and does this excellently! The graphics are not the best of all the Vita games but certainly look better than any PSP game I ever owned. The audio is very crisp and the music sets the mood perfectly.This is a ORIENTAL MANHUNT.The missions are straight forward and one never gets lost or confused with the navigation. I recommend this game to all stealth fans. 8.5/10... not a excellent game because of camera problems with the action fighting control. But this game is very good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Doubtful for the most part
Posted on:2/15/12
ShinRain
Location: Bel Air, MD
As the day for Vita release came closer, i scoured the internet on much reviews on any game possible. I kept reading that this game had bad controls and was not fun. However, that is far from the truth. I will no longer read reviews from IGN since they seem to be incompetent. This game is fun, controls are fluid, and the story keeps you immersed. I highly reccomend this game to anyone that is a fan of the Tenchu series!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SUERHERO434
INDIANA
 
Please wait while more information about SUERHERO434 is loaded.
Additional information about SUERHERO434 could not be loaded.
I AM ENJOYING THIS GAME
Posted 3/26/12
THIS GAME MAKE'S YOU THINK AND WORK THE BRAIN. i WILL BE PLAYING THIS GAME ALOT.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
The game that was "almost" good....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
vhanley
Location: Washington, DC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game had the potential to be great. It unfortunately rarely if ever reaches that potential. The gameplay has several issues that drastically reduce the experience to one of frustration. Take combat for example. There is no way to truly lock on to an opponent and should you dodge an attack you had better be ready to go searching for where ever your opponent has gone because you will likely overstep them. Even when attacking you will often just pass them by. They, however, have no problem staying oriented on you.
The rest of the game becomes repetitive and boring unfortunately early on. The abilities are interesting, and visually it is a nice looking game, but it is obvious that they simply pushed this one out in time for the launch. If you are a Tenchu fan you will likely be disappointed as this game never quite satisfies any particular itch.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Dissapointed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
Ayyo38
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really excited about this game because of it's Tenchu like qualities.
But this game was completely destroyed by the fact that there's only like 5 different environment's to do all your boring missions on. This game would have been so much better if the game was story based, instead of stand alone missions.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xBladex
Birmingham AL
 
Please wait while more information about xBladex is loaded.
Additional information about xBladex could not be loaded.
I concur...
Posted 3/22/12
I totally agree with you, this game has no real story, and fighting arenas are limited. the visuals are not up to par, it seems as if college students made the visuals but Bandai included the controls.This isnt one of my favorite. sorry Shinobido :(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Liked it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
Felix36
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i think it is alot like tenchu Z. that said there are less silent kill graphics/animations. but over all i think this game has good plots, is full of unlockable items, and is an awesome game. ^.^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
If you are a Tenchu fan you will like this game!
Posted on:2/19/12
DeadlySynz
Location: Shreveport, LA
I agree with ShinRain. The game reminds me of Tenchu and it is a solid and fun game. I really enjoy the mission, good story line. Its really a MUST pick up if you are a fan Tenchu.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Definitely a pleasing Tenchu like game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
MementoMori
Location: Kasas City, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I been a die-hard Tenchu fan since it first came out. This is an amazing likeness of the Tenchu series with some great addition and eye pleasing sights. Very cool game rent/buy up to you. I personally bought it and it will be played daily.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
best psvita assasin game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
Ryuugin
Location: cleveland heights
this game is very fun the combat is smooth and the upgrading system is cool as well i would recommend this for a person who has played the tenchu series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
Good - but took a while to get into...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/12
PPPPPPPPPPPPPP
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first I didn't really like the game. First, the graphics are a bit worse than expected, and look only slightly better than a PSP game. Graphics are something I can overlook. My main issue initially was with the combat. I felt like I was flailing about with little control over my attacks. Once I got used to it and figured out how to zero in and lock onto the enemies this game became a lot more fun. The missions and setting can get a bit repetitive, but so far I keep going back for more.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shinobido 2: The Revenge of Zen
best combo games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
howlingwolfjoey
Location: Queens Village, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it is a combo betwin ninja gaiden.batman arkham series,assassin creed.andmetal gear solid this game is the best well played namco banbi well played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.