GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention

The awardwinning fan favorite Disgaea 3 is set to join the HD handheld revolution with Absence of Detention, an expanded, enhanced special release for PS Vita, slated to land this spring. With all of the console release's DLC, plus new characters, story chapters, quests, bosses, touch controls, and more, Absence of Detention promises to be one of the biggest Disgaea games yet - and you can carry it in the palm of your hand!
Average Customer Rating:
9.917
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Review 1 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Perfect port
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
Kurikuri
Location: Honolulu, Hi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
They did really well bringing this over to handhelds, and even included much of the bonus content people bought for the PS3. Overall a fantastic grindfest of epic proportions. Good for casuals who want a good/entertaining story and great for the hardcore gamer who wants to defeat and find all the secrets to the game as they create perfect characters and equipment. Be prepared to waste hundreds of hours!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
DISGAEA NEVER DIES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
howlingwolfjoey
Location: Queens Village, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i've played disgaea 3 3 years ago and then the hd re release of it is more awesome disgaea 4 is still my favorite RPG game including final fantasy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Do yourself a favor and get this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/12
Bighen1989
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Every now and again, you come across a game that absolutely takes you over and keeps you playing for hours and hours due to it's addictive gameplay; Disgaea 3 is one of those games. Right from the start, you can tell that it's an extremely deep RPG that requires a lot of thought and attention, and its worth it. The game is a turn - based strategy game which is flawlessly executed. Another nice touch to the game is it's funny storyline and characters which help add a little bit more pleasure to the player which helps get the player even more involved and attached to the characters and story. The graphics in the game are that of a colorful anime cartoon and look great on the Vita's 5" OLED screen. The sound has a pretty good soundtrack along with great sound effects. Even with all of the awesome things mentioned so far the best aspect of Disgaea 3 is hands down the lasting replay. I am not making the slightest exaggeration when I say that this game provides MILLIONS and MILLIONS hours of playtime. This is due to the level system of characters which all have a maximum level of 9999 (This is not easy to achieve), and the fact that EVERY SINGLE item in the game has a random dungeon within it. With everything I've mentioned in this review you should have absolutley no reason not to pick up Disgaea 3 if your looking for a great game with an incredible amount of replay value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
PerfecT!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
This is the greatest ps vita game out so far! It is literally the perfect game! Great voice acting, story, and graphics! It's a strategy Rpg and it works magic. You level up your characters and use their special abilities to either heal attack or synch to strategically defeat your enemy. Not only all of this, but for the price, and it comes with all the dlc, it's a steal! You will never beat this game it has so much playability!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Worth the cash :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
ujelly92
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing and has a great storyline. with all the content and DlC on it the game has an insane amount of content and if you ever get done theres so much replayablity, Just finished the game and I'm going to take a break due to there being ANOTHER storyline afterwards :D I got some other vita games I wanna play but when i decide to play again it's like a have another game left to play!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
what a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
xMegatron81x
Location: toledo oh
this was my first disgaea ever. wow what a great game. this is a must if you own a vita. the lv system is great. good skills. great music. funny story line. if you are even thinking about getting this, even if its just alittle just go out and get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Greatest Disgaea Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/12
blackenedeath
Location: Caguas, PR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
im a huge fan of the series and i must say that Disgaea games are better when it comes to handhelds.. why? because you can play anytime anywhere!! i played the PS3 version a lot but this version its like a total new and awesome extreme experience with a lot more content and hours to play!! if you have never play a Disgaea game before you dont know what you are missing Disgaea its the best jrpg ever made!! and you can start now with this one!! you dont have to play the first two games to understand it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
BEST VITA GAME EVER A MUST BUY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/12
Amati100
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pleas do yourself a favor and buy this game! its by-far the best vita game up too date. I got it this past friday (4/20/12) and ive played this game for over 22 hours and im still no where near finished. please do your self a favor and go buy this game. The best for anime and rpg lovers. The colors are just amazing and the game play is SUPER smooth. I'll never sell or trade this vita game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
ujelly92
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm not the biggest fan of the Disgaea series, even still the games never let me down :) Disgaea 3 is a lot of fun and has a ton of replay value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
SOOOO RAW!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
Criizzy
Location: Orlando,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is too much . Its Funny, Fun, Crazy and is just a plain old GREAT Game. Just got my copy today and haven't been able to put it down since!!!!!!! I should have started from the first game on ps2. Happy I gave this game a chance Great CHOICE! Best PS Vita game out hands down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Best PSV game in my opinion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
CodFan1717
Location: long beach
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is a flawless port of the Ps3 version, it offer tons of hours of gaming, what i don't like was that its nearly the same game its more like an ultimate edition but since its a PORTABLE and the first RPG on PS Vita it was a must have so if you have Disgaea 3 on Ps3 well the main reason to get this is if you don't have the DLC for the Ps3 version (costs 50$ seperately) since this has everything and a bit more or just to play it everywhere!.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
This is DISGAEA 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/12
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
While it may seem like Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention is a re-release of a great game, I must say that it’s worth revisiting it all over again, especially for fans who didn’t have a chance to play the DLC. At only $39.99, you will not only get the main game, but all the DLC and various improvements that make it feel like an all-new experience. From all re-release Disgaea titles on a portable device, Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention is the grandest SRPG game you can ask for on the PlayStation Vita, which replicates the feeling of playing its console counterpart.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
A good game for newcomers and fans.
Posted on:4/16/12
Soul137
The original Disgaea 3 for the PS3 was my very first Disgaea game that i played and i must say that it is a perfect start for those who haven't played the series yet. In my opinion this game is well worth its price. For starters, all the dlc is worth over $50 and the game originally was $50 making this game a steal considering it is $40 new. But the game includes much more such as more stories, updated cutscenes, and the interesting addition of being able to change the looks of your weapons, or so I have heard. All in all this port is well worth getting even if you have or haven't bought the original, i know i will be getting it day 1.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
The reason i spent 350$!
Posted on:4/15/12
Geetkundo
Location: New Britain,CT
Been a long time fan of the series and beat 1,2 and infinite on the psp sooooo needless to say when I heard this was coming to handheld on the vita ....I needed to get one....been waiting ever since the week before release of the vita to give GS my 40 bucks on this baby!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
The anticipation is mind-boggling, dood!
Posted on:4/8/12
NISfan95
Location: VA
Sure there are games that are highly anticipated, but for me, no other series has me waiting as much as Disgaea (or NIS games in general). Being a fan of NIS since Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure (2000), I can easily say that no other game from this company has had me this excited for one of their releases. This game (along with a few others) is the reason I intend to get a Vita very soon. I even plan on buying D3: AoD on release whether or not I've bought my Vita yet. Nippon Ichi Software, in my personal opinion, makes the most quality games. They certainly have near perfect relations with the customers; they listen to what the customer wants.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
HoorayNis
Posted on:3/14/12
konrad
Location: San Diego
been looking forward to an rpg type game for my Vita. Glad that NIS is putting out a Disgea stat. Prinnys' for the win!
Review 17 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
AMAZING
Posted on:3/10/12
Mvelezx
Location: Bridgeport, CT
I loved the series for the PSP. I can't wait for this to come out for the vita. This game is going to be awesome dood!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ujelly92
Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about ujelly92 is loaded.
Additional information about ujelly92 could not be loaded.
can't wait :O
Posted 4/9/12
had been meaning to play Disgaea 3 and getting it for the vita is perfect, after all it promises 1000000 hours of fun! :O
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Pre-order now
Posted on:2/20/12
G04T
Disgaea 3 was an amazing entry to the series, and now that they remade it for the playstation vita I am very pleased.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Addicting
Posted on:2/14/12
Fatboi
Location: Lockport, NY
I would highly recommend disgaea to anyone that enjoys strategy games, RPG's or just colorful / funny / anime games. For a long time I have had a severe dislike to the type of game disgaea is (what I refer to as turn based strategy games), but the funny trailer got me to look into it, dropped by gamestop and picked up the first ones remake for the PSP. I've been playing it a lot recently and I really enjoy the witty humor, along with the level of customization, creating your own characters, naming them, choosing which stats to increase, there are tones of items to increase around 15 or more stats, a way to level up those items and make them better...there's so much fun to be had it's worth at least a check out, and although I don't know for sure, I hear the games added a lot more content each release, so this one is undoubtedly going to be even MORE customizable and fun, check em out, even if you don't think you'd like it, you just might. (All 3 of the first games, the original and the DS and PSP re-makes are in my recommended titles)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
Looking forward to more portable RPGs
Posted on:2/10/12
GrowlanserFan
Location: Philadelphia
Disgaea is a solid tactical RPG series, with great artwork and humor. In these days of bland "action RPGs" it is nice to see some developers still releasing true RPGs that require strategy rather than button mashing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>