GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition

The ultimate version of the best-selling Gran Turismo® 5, with the full original version of the game, improved features and functionality from all downloadable game updates through Spec 2.0 included on the disc, as well as a voucher for more than $20 of bonus downloadable content including new cars and tracks.
Average Customer Rating:
7.654
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 2673%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Review 1 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Well designed game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
Leo1Dude
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you are a hardcore fan of racing cars. I suggest this game for you to play. It has different game race modes, 2 player race mode, and an online multiplayer race game mode. The game is challenging, so hardcore gamers would like it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
kggkfftf877
its fun when you play with friends at parties and stuff but its not so great alone the races are sort of complicated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Incredibly Underhwelmed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
FearNoEvo413
Location: Denver, CO
I had some pretty high expectations for Gran Turismo 5. I remember playing GT3 on my PS2 back when I was a kid, and it was one of my favorite games to play. Since then, I had fallen in love with the Forza series on Xbox, and just recently came back to Gran Turismo, expecting at least the same quality as GT3, but honestly I have to say I am quite disappointed in GT5.
The Good:
- The graphics
- The sound
The Meh:
- Overall gameplay
The Bad:
- Driving (which should be a lot better for being a simulation style racing game)
- A menu system that babys you through every little thing, taking way to long to get to the point
- Unbelievably long load times (even with the game installed to the hard drive)
Long Story Short:
For me at least, it was disappointing. I was hoping for the great game I enjoyed when I was younger. Needless to say, my pre-order will be going towards Forza 5, and definitely not Gran Turismo 6, and it pains me to say so.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Gran Turismo 5
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/13
xBSxDanELITE
Location: Port Orange, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the graphics are not that good yes I have HDMI at 1080p. and no clutch settings for the controller. the only thing that's cool it the skid makes on the track.
 
My Product Recommendations
Forza Motorsport 5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Great Game, sucky Voucher
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/13
TDawg641
Location: MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This review is for the XL edition, I am very mad because the voucher expired March 31, so i wasted over 10 dollars getting the xl edition over the used regular edition. otherwise this is a great game but does not say anywhere that the dlc is expired until you open the game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
SO BORING
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/13
ThatReviewerGuy
NO "elbow room" whatsoever. The only thing separating this from a PS2 (or even PS1 game for that matter) is the graphics. You can't pan around the car, there are no tire marks, the damage doesn't work half the time, it's just a really bad game and I have no idea how it does so well. If you're a Need for Speed fan, you will not like this. You have to be a real car fanatic to find this fun. I'm just not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 7 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
It is what it is...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
ThatReviewerGuy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
...A SIMULATOR. That's it. This game's graphics are surprisingly poor. I figured such a recent game made by these developers would look and sound much better. It's great for people who REALLY love cars and just want to drive around various amounts of tracks and drift past everybody. Haven't customized my cars much (at all), but it seems like a cool feature. This game is great for what it was made for, but if you like NFS (or any other racer really) this might not be for you. Just flat out BORING to me. Not the worst 20 bucks I've spent on a game, but I'd rather have put it towards something else.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 8 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
Scareclown
Location: vallejo,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i loved gran turismo since the 2nd one on playystation 1 and ive never gott bored with this series. graphics are so realistic and there are so many cars and tracks to race on. i just wish they made interiors of all the cars, and not just a few. still the best racing franchise in my opinion.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
DON'T BUY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/13
BLACKOPS1234567890
Location: U.S.A.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this racing game because I wanted a racing game and for the price this was the one. I was disappointed when first it takes a hour to install. Then when it was finally ready it doesn't show you how to play. With the weird Chinese music and slippery tracks it's a dumb game.
GET NEED FOR SPEED; MOST WANTED, SO MUCH BETTER.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Scary realistic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
hammerofjustice93
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is such an awesome racing game. It is the most realistic racing game i've ever played. If you are looking for a street racing game with a bunch of stupid thugs this is not it. This is a classy racing game that is as authentic as it gets. Plus the DLC it comes with is fantastic.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Bad steering
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/13
Copytech100
Location: Iorton ohio
This game would be perfect except the steering is horrible it keeps hugging the wall when I want to turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/12
LazarusWall
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game takes a bit to get into, but the quality and speed of the graphics is amazing. The testing process is a bit rigid but should be expected for fans of the series. The options for customizing one's cars are incredible, down to changing the color of the paint for many of the cars you will win and purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
The realistic and best game for PS3...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/12
AndreePRO34
Location: Calexico, California
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I like this game because is an experience of real racing and i liked so much. Like you can put your own music from the PS3 menu, and i really recommend to racing gamers. And if you are bored for the same cars and tracks you can buy DLC packs.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
PS3 Driving Force GT Racing Wheel
8.5 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
gt5xl
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/12
smallvile
Location: hesston pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
all i can say is it is just great if ur like me then ull love it to i been hooked since the frist gt
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
It doesn't get more real than this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
xHeavyX
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gran Turismo 5 is a great game, amazing graphics and music, super realistic, anything you can think of, this game has it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/12
Jah24car
Location: West Virginia
For those who think Forza 4 is better or Forza in general, this isn't for you, the car handling is more realish, some slide depending on tires, and its just that good in grip. More cars than Forza, and Tracks. The DLC could been better but the cars in the DLC are still good except Nissan Leaf. Greatest racing game on the PS3, NFS Shift sucks, Forza is ok, but GT5 being the only decent sim on PS3 its amazing. But Forza is an ok game but they need better tracks than repeating the ones they have over and over it feels to repetive.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
What the game does
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/12
jmil19891
Location: philadelphia,PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game watch what u have to do before u start the and or match for racing . If u need a instruction booklet the game has a few pages if u want to read more the game has it and tells u about updates. On my opinion the game is very helpful and easy and hard matches and customize all cars.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
great driving looks realistic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/12
r3dd3mon343
Location: alabama
Feels like your actually in the car forza has no match for this game no matter how hard they try gran turismo will be at the top
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
A great game could have been better...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
Mathison029
Location: Butler, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've always loved Gran Turismo ever since I first played GT2. I did like the graphics and sounds and I did like having the Top Gear Teat Track and the 260 preminum cars. But there was a few things I didn't like about it was lack of career events, not all cars are preminum they were just ported from GT4, once you get past LV32 it takes forever to reach LV40, handleing for cars when there fully upgraded. Its still a great game but not as good as GT1,GT2,GT4. I'd stiil prefer Forza 3-4, Shift 1-2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
Great fun game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
chucknorris1993
Location: Illinois
The game is great. Graphics are amazing. The only issue is that B-Spec is a little annoying at times.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>