GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

Myst

It's more than a game. It's a journey. And now the journey is enhanced with all-new artwork for even greater immersion into the fantastic adventure of MYST. You will embark on a wondrous voyage as The Stranger, and explore an island of intrigue as you uncover clues about your surroundings and the quest you must take. Now the most well-known adventure game in the world comes alive in a new version of this classic story! With a multitude of puzzles, problems, and mazes to solve, and a brand new Age added to enhance the MYST experience, you'll find MYST 3DS even more entertaining than the original.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333
3.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
2 out of 633%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Myst
Review 1 for Myst
Don't fall for it, it's a trap!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/12
Jabbathehurt
Location: Knoxville, TN
Seriously, I like many others probably saw this game and remembered how great it was on pc. I was looking through the 3D section on the e-shop and found this game listed among the other 3D games. I assumed like any other person would that it would be in 3D. I saw the low rating (it was around a 3*), and i thought some kids wouldn't have liked it because it's hard. Boy was I wrong. First of all the game IS NOT IN 3D, even though it was in the 3D section on e-shop, second the controls are extremely difficult as you use the circle pad to move the cursor on the top screen to select things. It can be very difficult to press the many tiny buttons involved in this game. The graphics don't really look any different than I remember other than it's on a tiny screen. Worst of all, there's no way I can get my money back after paying $30 for it. Hopefully this will save some people some money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Myst
YAY!
Posted on:2/28/12
Maere
Location: Riverside, CA
So I am not going to lie, I totally sucked at this game when we had it for PC (we still do, and I can get further now.....) but it being on 3DS excites me enough to get it and try and beat it again (lord willing). yay!!!! I hope other people will nerd out with me as well!
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Myst
Wow, I cant believe they are ripping people off.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/12
16bitsofkev
I have nothing against Gamestop. I have a problem with the people who released this ds game with a 3ds sticker on it. THIS GAME IS NOT IN 3D. I REPEAT, THIS GAME IS NOT IN 3D. Graphics look worse than they did on my pc in 1995. Since I opened it, I can't get my money back . NOBODYY SHOULD BUY THIS GAME. RIP OFF.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
10 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Myst
Do not bother with the 3DS version
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
AJQuick
Location: Denver, CO
What an absolutely horrible port. This version is basically the old DS version that was released a few years ago. There is absolutely nothing 3D about this version, and the quality is actually very poor. If they had just copied the graphics from the 90's version, it would have been much better. The books are illegible (even with the magnifying glass), and some of the buttons are so small that they are hard to click on. The joystick makes playing this game nearly impossible at times. When I got to the end, it was not possible to even finish the game due to a possible glitch. This game also does not auto save, so you lose your place if you don't save. If you absolutely need this game... get the DS version to save you some money. If you don't need to play it on your 3DS/DS then get it for your computer. The graphics will be much nicer, and easier to play.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Myst
Really
Posted on:4/14/12
mobit80
Location: dickinson tx
I can't believe they're making this again. If they go through with this, please make riven as well, because riven and even exile was better.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Myst
Hope Its not as bad as the DS version
Posted on:5/7/12
TheSpoonyBard
I am a BIG fan of the Point-And-Click Games, and I loved playing Myst on the Pc (I played it late, Im only 17) When We (My mother and I, as My dad is not that big of a gamer) heard it was being remade for the regular Ds, we flipped. however, when I finaly got my chance to play it- it wasa flop. they did not change how big the game was, they only shrank it to fit into the ds screen. the result was horrid. you could hardly see anything! I pray the 3DS fixes this. if not, I will officaly never play Myst again.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Myst
Awesome Classic Remake
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
DrCam
Location: Trumansburg, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have always loved the Myst games. The puzzles and quests are very unique and flavorful. I wish they would do all the Myst games on the 3ds, I would certainly buy them. Thank you Maximum Games for re-making this one - I definitely appreciate it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Myst
Looking forward to it
Posted on:2/28/12
Houshkendoogleougle
Location: Willow Grove, PA
The stylus should work great for the point and click game-style, and it'll be great to add a mystery game to my 3DS, especially a classic like Myst.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
Nintedo Land! :)
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Rad! :) :D :)
Posted 6/2/12
Your Right! Porfessor Lation is rocks! I Thank this game will Look alwsome in 3D And I Love porfessor Lation the Good porfessor!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Myst
My dreams were shattered.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
Dera
Location: Louisville, KY
I got ridiculously excited when I saw this sitting on the shelf at Game Stop. I LOVED the game as a kid and keep getting the urge to play it. Unfortunately neither Masterpiece Edition nor the copy they have available on Steam run too well - even utilizing compatibility mode. And when you think about it, a game like Myst seems like it would be perfect for the DS/3DS touch screen. It really would have, had they executed it properly. Unfortunately, its all too clear the the effort put into making this version of Myst was pretty much non-existent. When I put the game in and started to play I found myself quickly disappointed. The picture was disgustingly pixelated - to the point that when I tried to read one of the books, it was hard to read even with the magnifying glass tool. I couldn't play for more than 10 minutes. Even that was pushing it. In fact, it is easier to deal with the game occasionally crashing on my PC than it is trying to read through the disgusting pixelation on the screen. Upon looking online, I found screenshots of a nice clear version, the picture displayed on the lower touchscreen, with a tool bar at the bottom. For a moment, I thought perhaps there was another mode. Sadly, there was not. I'm going to see about taking it back tomorrow, maybe for an exchange if possible. If not, I may try to sell it back used. Either way, this game was a huge waste of my time, money and eagerness. I would not recommend it to a single person.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Myst
pc game goes mainstream
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/13
loremaster12
Location: lincoln ne
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love myst, at the time I had gametap played for about 40 minite possibly a classic to gamers age 30 40
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Myst
Myst 3DS
Posted on:3/23/12
chimmychawnga
Location: Bristol, CT
Why again? This is out for the DS and the game isn't gonna look all that much better in 3D. Why not put out Riven. Riven was the superior game.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Myst
Myst again??
Posted on:3/28/12
NiteDrgn81
Location: MD
They have released Msyt for almost every console now, and yet, no Riven, why? Riven was such a better game than Myst, and with the lack of adventure games out there, i can't believe that Myst is as far as anyone is willing to go! I would even settle for them releasing Myst IV on something besides original xbox!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.