GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

From the award-winning creators of Civilization comes an action-strategy game about civilization's last stand. Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form an elite paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team in a battle against a terrifying alien invasion by creating a fully operational base, researching alien technologies, planning combat missions, and controlling soldier movement in battle.
Average Customer Rating:
7.956
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
10
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
35 out of 4578%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Review 1 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
The most terrifying experience of 2012
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/12
TehRickster
Location: pensacola,Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ignore the MW3 newbs and no lifes, Xcom Enemy unknown is one of the most terrifying experience`s of 2012. Firaxis has resurected one of the defining strategy games. it was the game that made RTS games. the game can get terrifying, literally, the game will make you feel like a bug fighting against a shoe. but with the right tactics, you can make it out alive. playing this game, i knew firaxis treated this with devotion to the original. there is no right or wrong in xcom, you just have to find the way to get through the hardships of the forked road you take. here it is in a summary: Gameplay: 10/10 Firaxis made sure this game was exciting for every gamer. except those mw3 newbs that i mentioned Graphics: 8.5/10 wont win any awards, but the presentation is gorgoues. Sound: 9/10 voice acting and tense music make the game even more terrifying. Writing:10/10 Its like Hideo Kojima wrote it. Overall:10/10 every gamer has to play this game. do that as a favor for you, and for all of us.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
budl173
chicago
 
Please wait while more information about budl173 is loaded.
Additional information about budl173 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/7/13
This could have a perfect game. The only bad thing about it is aiming. You are foot from the enemy and you miss. Very frustrating.buddy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Excellent Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/12
Hellfiya
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It has been a long time since a decent turn-based tactical game that was developed by a big name studio hit the market....actually, when was the last time that actually happened? I'm not gonna say the game is groundbreaking, Firaxis has been into turn based games for a long time so you have to remember that playing a tactical turn based feels quite similar to strategy turn based. In any case, this game kept me occupied for three days straight, and I gotta tell you, I loved every minute of it. They keep ramping up the challenge factor of each level and making it interesting for you to keep developing new weapons (which rock btw). There isn't much in the way of character development, which is OK for me because sometimes you gotta let an imaginary video game character die for the cause. There are a few glitches here and there, but they don't often detract from the game. Overall I say buy this game, shoot down some aliens and then shoot them in the face with a shotgun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
I've been waiting for this for a long, long time
Posted on:1/20/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
The old XCOM games were a pretty simple formula. Build base. Find UFOs. Shoot down UFOs. Send soldiers to crash. Kill Aliens. Bring back Crazy Laser-Death Rays. Research Crazy Laser-Death Rays. Mount crazy Alien Death-Rays on Jets. Shoot down bigger UFO. Repeat as necessary.
Managing money, keeping countries safe so they'd keep paying you, paying researchers and engineers to keep you knee-deep in crazy plasma weapons, the tactical combat against aliens that can vaporize you in one hit..... the game was essentially PERFECT for those of us that enjoy critical thinking yet the formula wasn't repeated that much. Nowadays if an outside-the-box game does well 20 companies are all pushing out clones of that game within 2 years. I've been waiting a LONG time for a true XCOM sequel. The previews I saw for that First-Person-Shooter "XCOM" game (ironically also by 2K Games.....) made me slightly happy that XCOM was being revived but also sad that they were straying so far from the mark. We didn't like the game because we got to blast aliens. We can pick up one of a hundred games and do that. We liked it because of it exceeded the sum of it's parts.... you could have been fighting off an invasion of Intergalactic Space Chimps and as long as everything stayed the same it would still rank as one of my top 5-10 games.
********
The most important thing I can possibly say here: People who want strategy games for the 360/PS3/Wii need to buy this game in huge amounts. There is a tendency to think that PC People are all about nerdy strategy games and Console People just want to mash buttons and hit people with large sticks. Oftentimes when a strategy game IS released for consoles it is "dumbed down", made easier for us idiot Console Users to understand. If this game turns out to be like the old XCOMs, isn't dumbed down from the PC version, and is as good as it appears it will be, then lets show game designers with our wallets that some of us that own consoles did it because we can't afford to dish out 2 grand every couple of years to have a high-end gaming machine and we miss playing all those good strategy games. I ALWAYS buy used games and usually wait until they get relatively cheap (only exceptions being Mass Effect 3, Fallout 3 and New Vegas.... perhaps another one or two in there) but I'm going to pick up this new XCOM right when it comes out (pending reviews... need to make sure it actually can be qualified as a strategy game and not some eye-candy-button-mashing nonsense) and I hope those of you that want more RTS and turn-based strategy games will, too.
****
(that is all... I'm off my soapbox. figured that since nobody else had posted a preview that I'd throw this out there figuring it'd probably get read a few times.)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
34 of 36 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
KKrive
Altoona,PA
 
Please wait while more information about KKrive is loaded.
Additional information about KKrive could not be loaded.
Posted 10/1/12
When you say dumbed down for console, the only games I think of that are "dumbed" down are RTS games like Supreme commander and LOTR BFME2. This in my complete opinion is Turn base > RTS. The ONLY thing that might be dumbed down is graphics and other settings.
Customer Avatar
CHUDSREVENGE
Wisconsin
 
Please wait while more information about CHUDSREVENGE is loaded.
Additional information about CHUDSREVENGE could not be loaded.
WOOT!! It's about time...
Posted 3/6/12
I was never a PC gamer and I bought X-Com with my original Playstation. I was hooked! I am glad they are finally bringing it back for a console. I mistakenly sold the X-Com game when I upgraded to newer consoles and still slap myself for doing so. I am totally psyched for this game and even though there will be some tweaks I am sure, if it stays true to the original PC and Playstation port the game will rock!!! I hope they offer some cool pre-order stuff!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Too good to be true
Posted on:8/7/12
AzazeltheGoat
Location: Denver, CO
An updated, TURN-BASED update on the stratey classic, released by FIRAXIS? Someone must be lying to me, the world is not this good.
20 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Easily my GOTY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
busterbluth
Location: NY
I never have played many Tactical shooters before, now i see what i have been missing. This is a game made for gamers, it is difficult at times, there are points where i needed to stop and just take a step back and examine what was going on. This game is simply amazing, if you pick up only a few games a year then make sure you pick this up!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Worth the wait!
Posted on:6/15/12
skot1420
Location: fla usa
This new take on an epic classic looks amazing! They have changed up some of the gameplay but so far all of the changes look like a better play experience overall. This isnt for the button mashing zombies out there. This game requires base management,(research and development, etc.) and real squad based skills.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Looks goofy but impressive
Posted on:9/14/12
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
If you don't remember (or never played) the original XCOM games, this game probably doesn't appear too exciting. Sample videos of gameplay don't look as realistic as I had hoped they would, and there is a somewhat cartoonish quality to the animations. BUT the gameplay is just the same as I know and love. The aliens are identical (although buffed up), the strategies are the same, and the situations are classic ones (terror missions, civilian kidnapping, etc.). It appears extra "perks" have been incorporated into the game, and the 3D transition, although goofy looking, actually translates pretty well and retains some of the historical authenticity of the old games. Destructible environments - just like of old - give you lots of options in hunting and killing aliens. But even with all this, I wonder if the time for this kind of game has already passed; can this game capture a new audience that may not be used to this type of real-time strategy? Where will multiplayer fit in? I hope it can ... at the least so I am not the only one playing it!
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Gateway drug to Turn-based Strategy Games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/12
SeabassXXX
Location: Delaware, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've never given turn-based strategy games (or most turn-based games in general) a chance because, frankly, I considered them slow, boring, cheesy, and visually not my thing. However, I read the review in GameInformer which gave it a 9.5 and downloaded the demo because I'd seen articles here and there over the past years talking about XCOM, so my curiosity was peaked. I have to say this has shattered my stereotype for these types of strategic games and I am hooked. The gameplay is amazing, the maps are beautiful and the story behind it is intriguing. I just can't get enough now. Renaming and customizing your squad is a blast, especially when you use all of your friends names. :-)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Xcom is back!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/12
KitchenAssassin
Location: Portland, oregon
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the original and I have to say that this true to original. If you like turn based strategy games then this is for you!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Cant wait to continue the fight!
Posted on:2/8/12
FranticFanatic
Location: Bangor Me
As a huge fan of the original X-com, I can not WAIT to get back into it on the xbox 360! I'm kinda disappointed that they changed up the turn
based strategy so you don't have to count your steps anymore. I think that really turned up the strategy of the game, but I suppose I will adjust :(.
STILL CANT WAIT!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
You Will Know Pain.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/13
DJwasHere66
Location: St. Louis, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Captain Leroy Jenkins. He was taken out by a Thin Man. A Thin Man for crying out loud. He may have fallen, but because of his brave sacrifice the squad could complete it's objective of murder all of the things. This is Xcom. It's the heart behind the game. Getting attached to your soldiers as you prance them around Plasma Fire and Cyberdiscs. You could always send out a Shiv, but you can personally name those. The gameplay itself rewarding. You are the Commander of a secret army that is defending the world against an alien invasion. You have battle and then you have the base. Both are well done and fun to play. Both can get intense. India needs a new satellite or they are gone from the Council bringing their money and support with them. You also need new weapons for your soldiers because Beserkers are NO JOKE. Also we need to replace Jenkins. I do wish that every soldier didn't sound the same and that my sniper didn't miss 2 shots at 94% with Double Tap, but hey, that's XCOM baby. Fluid from start to finish, you will learn to love this game as I have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Great Game, minor bugs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/12
lynchy
Location: Oneonta, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As an employee at Gamestop I heard all the hype for this game yet still wasnt sure if it was worth a purchase. However, I am very glad i decided to buy it. The way the game is setup no play through will be the same or even similar. The story is great and the action is just as good. Only complaint is the line of sight issues. Kind of frustrating when your squadmate gets shot through a car and a wall. Overall i give this game a 9 and will recommend to every customer who likes a challenge
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Well worth your time and money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
OhHaiCarlo
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is meant for people who enjoy playing Strategy games. I'm new to the XCOM franchise but in this installation, every decision you make in XCOM:EU matters to your soldiers and to the future of the world. It is a bit confusing at first but after a couple of hours of gameplay, you start to pick up on what things you should be doing, ie. buying satellites, researching armor/weapons, etc. The game even offers an Ironman mode which allows the game to save after every critical decision. This makes it a lot more challenging and surprisingly more enjoyable. If you are still reading this and are still hesitant in getting this game, be sure to give it a try, as odds are you most likely will enjoy it just as much as I have! P.S. If you want to value the lives of your soldiers even more, name them after your friends and family!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/14
lostaviatot85
Location: SD, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Once you get around the interface it's a great strategy game. Increasing difficulty, very linear or you can do side missions to boost squad experience.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Absolutely engrossing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Having played the previous PC incarnations of XCOM for several years, I worried if this console approach would be "dumbed down" or would shear the uniqueness and depth from the game; XCOM Enemy Unknown, however, excels at bringing the old game into fresh new territory and reviving it for a newer generation. It is, simply, the best strategy game for console ever produced. The simplified gameplay makes it much friendlier to operate, and the cutscenes - although not as sharp as most AAA titles - fill in important information in a non-technical way. The controllers are mapped in somewhat awkward ways, but with repeated play the controls become second nature. Being able to deeply personalize your soldiers makes them truly memorable and helps develop attachment to both them and their skills (if you don't like permadeath you best save early and often!) like no other game. The depth the game offers is far and away more than any mere FPS does, and replayability is endless. If you are on the fence about XCOM, don't be. Buy it and discover how much fun using your brain can be.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
As good as the original
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/12
CaptainAJS
Location: Tampa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was worried that a remake of this game would be its undoing, but thankfully I was wrong. This game as everything the original had, the combat mechanics, good strategy, and keeps you on your toes the entire time. Everything has been polished a great deal but keeps the feel of X-COM UFO Defense. The interactive research and engineering is second to none, and the soldier customization is just the cherry on the top and gives you a real connection to the soldiers ingame. If you loved any of the old X-COM games I highly suggest this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
My first gamestop review on a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
PrimeTime88
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Man, let me start out by saying that I knew absolutely nothing about this game till I happen to look on gamestop.com a few months back for games that were releasing around this time of the year... I'm so happy I did because once I checked out XCOM I was hooked! This game is awesome! It's a must buy for those that love strategy games, and for those on the fence, just give it a shot in the end you'll be happy you did. This game won't disappoint.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Any review under 9 is a travesty!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
IAMSAM
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played the demo, and fell in love. When I got the full game, I was amazed by the sheer depth of the gameplay. Also, it forces you to evolve your strategy as the game progresses. This game is well worth the money! When you buy it in store, tell the worker, "Shut up and take my money!"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Party like it's 1994
Posted on:1/25/12
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
I skimmed the X-COM section on Game Informer when they featured it. I regret this now. I did however watch the Yogscast livestream it on Twitch TV. As soon as I saw gameplay I wished they would come out with a new game so that I could make my own "Chuck Boris" and "Hans Olo". Needless to say if you have heard of or played this game you should be excited. I'm new, but the cover story in Game Informer this month has me excited to play this series! One more thing. HAVE FUN D8
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo Wars Platinum Hits
8.9 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
low score reviews? what!?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/12
Matrona
Location: Gladstone, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is not a mindless shooter. It is an amazing strategic experience, with a visual and emotional impact. And in no way is it a failure! It is far and away the best attempt to emulate the unforgetable experience of the original Xcom UFO Defense; the best strategy game concept ever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>