GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

From the award-winning creators of Civilization comes an action-strategy game about civilization's last stand. Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form an elite paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team in a battle against a terrifying alien invasion by creating a fully operational base, researching alien technologies, planning combat missions, and controlling soldier movement in battle.
Average Customer Rating:
8.79
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 1989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Review 1 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
About time.....
Posted on:1/22/12
Thanth
Location: RS, WY
its been nearly over 15 years since this game made its original debut, have played it off and on since then. I have been hoping that someone would pick up the title and do a re-make of the title, I hope they stay as close to the original as possible while bringing it into the new era of games. I mean think about it, this game was made before high end console systems, and 3D tv. I can only hope that the dynamics of the battlescapes still hold the breath holding tension of when you end your turn and find out if you men survive just one more round. Or the aliens are just as cool showing up out of the fog. Things I due hope for, is a more in depth report system on monthly budgets, as well as a more detailed globe, and more options for areal combat. I hope the weapons and research into them are more in depth as well, I wan't more details, I want to see more complexity to dissecting aliens, maybe a fail ratio on it. don't want it to be just a matter of one alien body and your good to go, want to see you having to do several to get a better understanding, like a progression level for it.
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Beyonder
las vegas
 
Please wait while more information about Beyonder is loaded.
Additional information about Beyonder could not be loaded.
X-com
Posted 2/5/12
unfortunatly already unimpressed and dont even have to play it seriously turning a strategy based rpg into a shooter that's going to make a great game garbage i hope 2k really rethinks that idea because shadowrun did the samething and the game bombed because it wasn't suppose to be a shooter strictly it should have had an rpg base feel to it.Game designer's please quit half thinking the games threw because it's not working.
Customer Avatar
Undead1Hero
 
Please wait while more information about Undead1Hero is loaded.
Additional information about Undead1Hero could not be loaded.
THANK YOU GOD!!!!!!
Posted 2/2/12
its a bout time they do this awsome game justice!! it was one the best RTS ever and you know its gonna be a awsome remake cause the ppl who created Civi's are makeing this game i personally cant wait for it!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Fantastic Strategy Game! Faithfully Remade.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/12
OmegaShred
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is incredibly addicting and very well executed by Firaxis. If you're a fan of strategy games of any kind, I highly recommend picking up a copy of this. Great for gamers into science fiction books or movies like Aliens or Men in Black. It's also totally faithful to the original X-Com games with the exception that it's more accessible and not as ruthlessly difficult (though it has variable difficulty levels, it certainly can be made as hard as the old games if you're an X-Com aficionado). I loved the original X-Com games and this remake is everything I had hoped for and more. The overall design of the game is incredibly well executed and the many elements of complexity are perfect for the hardcore strategy gamer. Throw in a bit of nostalgia and some really cool high-tech modernized elements and you have what I think is a nearly perfect game. I can't stop playing it and neither will you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SaixFo
 
Please wait while more information about SaixFo is loaded.
Additional information about SaixFo could not be loaded.
Posted 12/4/12
Terrible game. Freezes on you every second. During the game, before the game starts, after the match. Too many save datas. everything will freeze. Called and asked. All they asked for was PROOF. Too many threads on this stupid .
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
It's 11 PM already? I am skipping work tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/12
Curmudgeon
Location: Galesburg, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
X-Com: Enemy Unknown is a great and worthy heir to the X-Com title. Real-time strategy game fans rejoice: a fantastic console RTS is now available for your consumption. Happily, I was able to purchase this gem for a measly $40 at a time when the standard price of a "new" game (which is likely just a warmed-over sequel) is $60. RTS games of this caliber are not new. X-Com was a PC RTS many moons ago. I came into contact with it by way of the "Jagged Alliance" series which borrowed its game engine from X-Com. I must admit, that I would have preferred this game to have been wrapped in Jagged Alliance clothing as I appreciate the mercenary story line better than the alien invasion premise of X-Com, but the game play for this $40 title is superb. The sound was surprisingly impressive as well. Very creepy and appropriate. Time slips away amazingly fast when one is engrossed in this game. I have been having trouble getting up in the morning since X-Com has pushed back my bedtime by an average of 3 hours. Not a fast paced game but if you like games that require planning and thought, this one is for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LordGamer
Gaming Capital Of The World
 
Please wait while more information about LordGamer is loaded.
Additional information about LordGamer could not be loaded.
.....
Posted 3/17/13
OMG!!! IT IS 11:00!!! Well I guess I will skip what ever I have to do today.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
A Faithful Remake
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
Rangeraragorn
Location: PA, USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I heard this game was coming out, I was not sure the game was going to be good. I remember the original series (I owned a version made for the PS1), and the thought of having the series in the hands of a new developer had me a little worried this game would be a bust. I am happy to say Xcom Enemy Unkown is a very faithful remake. The graphics are outstanding for a turn-based strategy, the sound is reminiscent of the eerily haunting soundtrack of the original series, and though I am still in the tutorial (which lasts several missions), the gameplay is great. The movement is fluid, not clunky like older hex style mapping systems. Difficulty is forgiving - if you have trouble with the game difficulty, you can adjust it via the pause menu at any time (as long as you are not playing impossible setting). Additionaly, I have restarted the game already, and the characters and missions were different in each game, so with that kind of randomness combined with your decisions throughout the game (and their outcomes), there is definitely replay value. Really I am pleasantly surprised of the overall game. Though it may not appeal to everyone (being turned based), if you are into strategy games and/or the original Xcom series, you will enjoy this game. My recommendation - turn the lights off and turn the sound up when you play Xcom Enemy Unkown. Yeah, it's that cool of a game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
mesa az
AWSOME
Posted 6/13/13
A decent soldier stradegy game simple technics the best stradegy soldier ive played in a while there needs to be more like this but without aliens.
and maybe zombies.
a easy pick up control an use for first time users.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Could Be Better......
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/13
LordGamer
Location: Gaming Capital Of The World
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First, I like this game but I found flaws while playing. I should get this out of the way that it has nothing to do with the game-play, I believe it is good and hope more games with this kind of game-play come out. However I found flaws with the graphics such as glitches, it could be that I had high expectations graphic wise, but characters appear that their guns, arms, legs, etc. were going through their cover. I dislike when they sprint because the camera will get stuck behind a wall or something and I feel that messes with the experience of the game. I feel that is the only flaws but I rated the game low-ish because it happened very often. It could just be me and I notice these things more then the average gamer but I feel that this game glitches a lot but I hope they make another one like this, hopefully with less glitches in it. Thank You For Reading And Have A Nice Day!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Good, Challenging Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/13
DingoDave
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a pretty challenging game and a must for fans of strategy games but this game won't be for everyone. It's really hard to lose one of your squadmates after you've built them up a couple of levels and know that one simple error or mis-step on your part can get them killed. I had a sniper with 4 missions and 7 kills under her belt and she bled out because I failed to bring an extra medikit and because she was only in half-cover. Half-cover is pointless because the aliens will hit you anyway and have amazing line of sight aiming. I like the variety of thing you are able to do at the base. You really have to manage your finances and realize that no matter what the decisions you make as far as what countries to help always has consequences.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/12
Gruntman11
Location: Huston
If you are new at it the tutorial will help you by getting you use to the controls and help you what you do affects the entire game play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
For Earth!
Posted on:4/25/12
LordGamer
This game looks cool. Although, people that like science fiction and turn base games should buy it. Also if you do not know what this game is about, it is about aliens trying to takeover earth and you are in charge of a elite group that is trying to stop the alien invaders. If you do not like turn based games then this game may not be the game for you. But! This one is different, the other turn based games are not as cool as this one.
6 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LordGamer
 
Please wait while more information about LordGamer is loaded.
Additional information about LordGamer could not be loaded.
Come Back Of Strategy Games
Posted 5/14/12
It is sad but strategy games are injured. Many gamers hope that this game will begin the process that could heal strategy games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
RTS and more!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/12
twizteddiablo
Location: Glendale, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoyed the demo and scooped this game up for $25 on Black Friday. I do not think the game values at $59.99 but still a good game to pick up if you can find it discounted or got the funds to kick around. If your a fan of turn-based RPGs and/or RTS games, than this game is for you. This gameplay reminds me of Valkyria Chronicles for the PS3, which I loved. The graphics can be a bit cartooney but I vow on gameplay over graphics anyday of the week. The game can be played very casually at the gamer's pace and not at the game's pace. Choices will be made in the game by you that will change the concept of the game so choose wisely. Again I highly recommend this game for turn-based RPG and/or RTS gamer fans. My PSN ID is: twizted_diablo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
A fresh game idea for consoles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
TheLoneWolf
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Excellent game for the PlayStation 3 library, it gives gamers, who weren't familiar with the original XCOM, a great chance to experience it. While graphics and sound may not be this game's selling point, the core of this game is its gameplay. This game has excellent gameplay, you will find yourself playing the game over and over. The game also does a great job in keeping you in your toes, thinking of new strategies and squad decisions; not to mention that the game continuously put you situations in which you have to make choices without a clear answer that carry various consequences for your actions. I will like to see more of this type of games in the PlayStation. Hopefully there is a polished sequel in the horizon. GREAT GAME 2K FIRAXIS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
21 Gun Salute!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
BarGod1219
Location: Tuscaloosa,AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As you know, this game is an update of and old classic. It is also very, VERY, addictive. I played for 8 hrs in my first session. An RTS with consequences. Manage a base, no problem. Do research, build stuff, buy things, keep panic down, sure. Almost forgot, now go battle aliens, while trying to keep your squad alive in turn based battles. Enough! If you have some free time on your hands feel free to play this one. If not, I personally suggest you leave it alone. You'd never know losing a low rank squad member would kind of hurt. Just wait until you get your top ranked, maxed out sniper killed, due to poor choices on your part. (I can still hear her scream.) It'll keep you up nights.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Could Have be A LOT better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/13
TheColonel
Location: Upstate, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played a lot of games like this before, including the original XCOM and it's successors. I was very disappointed in all limitations this game imposes on the players. Apparently the game designers never heard of an advanced technology called "pockets". I've heard a lot of little "justifications" for this but it just doesn't add up. A lot of things were very good but nothing was "perfect". This game is about a 7.5, MAX, when compared to any other games with a similar format. It does some things well enough to grab out of the bargain bin. Good Luck and Happy Hunting.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
This is my GOTY!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
JoshBoy513
Location: cincinnati,ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When i first saw this game i thought it was complete garbage untill i got it free on playstation plus. So since it was a free game i thought i'd give it a shot and it turns out i'm playing this game nonstop!! It is so addicting and fun. Now i'm hooked into the series! Except for the Bureau. I recomend this game to anyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Great strategy game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/12
ThreeBlocksSouth
Location: Highland, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Before I even begin, let it be known that I have never played any of the original XCOM games. To be honest, it was before my time. I grew up with games like Tactics Ogre and Final Fantasy Tactics. This game does it for me. Managing my base, equipping my squad, keeping different countries/continents happy, making tough decisions, it's all great. The only complaint I have (that doesn't factor into my overall rating of the game at all) is that the voice acting of the main characters are really loud. That's just me being picky, though. If you like managing every aspect of your games, this is for you. I haven't put it down since I picked it up 4 days ago.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Totally worth it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/13
Lesadcloud
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
At first i thought this game was lame, i was in a huge mistake, this games is not easy at all, it requires a lot of thinking you cant just run and shoot, is a must buy !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
WORST GAME EVER!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
hatmandew
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If you like 1980's games where it is all RPG games with no actual action, then this is the game for you. If you like a game where you actually shoot enemies in a first / third person shooter mode then THIS IS NOT THE GAME FOR YOU! THIS IS THE WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!! Basically you move your team through a cartoon like movement. Half the time you cant even tell where to move your team. Then once you are finally in place, you take turns who will fire. Your team or the enemies team. WHAT A JOKE!!! SAVE YOUR MONEY!! Buy a used version of Pac Man!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 294 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
JoeinOkc
Oklahoma City
 
Please wait while more information about JoeinOkc is loaded.
Additional information about JoeinOkc could not be loaded.
really
Posted 12/31/12
Did you read up on this game at all? It has never hyped itself as a 1st or 3rd person shooter. It has always stated it was a strategy games and pretty much pulled of the orginal game. I quick search for it would have told you this. Same with asking a store rep. Your review is invalid just based on that. This game appeals to a lot of people just because it is not your type of game does not mean it is the worst game ever.
Customer Avatar
Kaemin
 
Please wait while more information about Kaemin is loaded.
Additional information about Kaemin could not be loaded.
This may come as a surprise but.....
Posted 10/27/12
This actually is a lot like how elite forces work in the military every movement is calculated every shot verified. A lot more true to life from a mechanical standpoint anyways than your call of duty.
Customer Avatar
Noxide
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Noxide is loaded.
Additional information about Noxide could not be loaded.
Maybe you didnt play the original?
Posted 10/18/12
This game was an awesome continuation from the 90's XCOM which I loved and with this and the updated graphics and tweaks here and there its amazing, though there are ome bugs, itll be smoothed out and even with the bugs its still amazing.
Customer Avatar
iamthebatman
 
Please wait while more information about iamthebatman is loaded.
Additional information about iamthebatman could not be loaded.
Not the worst game ever
Posted 10/17/12
If you don't like these types of games then don't play them and don't give it a score cause your score don't matter it cause you bring down and it may turn a person away that likes these games and won't buy it cause it has a low i don't even like strategy games that much and i played the demo for this game and i actually liked how the game works and considering buying it, Like my dad bought a game called end of war he thought it was a FPS and i played it and hated it played halo wars didn't like it that much played this game and loved guess it was the way the fighting looke like when it zooms in for the kill which the other games i listed didn't do
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 17 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Great Game Minus the Bugs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
ThePagan
Location: Eagan MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am very satisfied with this game. It is a perfect collection of the things that I think make a game excellent. The only issue I have had with the game is that it has a lot of weird bugs. I've found lots of graphics glitches as well as lock-ups and freeze-ups at the end of missions etc. Makes it hard to complete when you can't save in the middle of certain missions and every time you try and complete it, the game locks up. Other than those things I'm super happy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Past to Present
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/12
Erebus427
Location: Milwaukee
If you have played the older versions of this game and are scared they have taken away, don't worry they didn't. Finally years after playing the last game made for PC they do this. They totally redeem the name. It follows the very same concept as the orignialls. You seek, capture, research, build, equip and destroy. Game is well worth it, ecspecially if you played the originals, you will like it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Fun RTS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
AcridNextEight
Location: Portsmouth,VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you like stuff like Halo Wars/Supreme commander this is something you should check out.............................
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Excellent Strategy Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
Turb0cc
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was a fan of the original X-Com and when I found out this game was coming out, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. They have done a great job sticking to the original concept and the improvements to the graphics, gameplay, "Geoscape", and base map are exciting and easy to manage. At first, I was unsure if I was going to like the game automatically picking a soldier's class (sniper, assault, heavy weapons, support role), but it's actually made gameplay easier, and then getting to choose special perks as the soldier gets promoted more than made up for that. The research tree seems to be a bit more limited than the original game, so it's easy to run out of things to research. There does seem to be a lot more to manufacture, and I like that as long as you have engineers, most weapons and components were made instantly to equip your soldiers. The only negative thing I have to say is that I wish you could sell your manufactured items at will to help create income; however, with most things being built instantly, i guess that would take the fun out of the game if you didn't have to balance your monthly budget...it's a tradeoff that I don't mind. Also, I wish that enemy weapons didn’t fragment when an alien was killed. It would be nice if the weapons could just be picked off the bodies on the go, and if they were already researched, you could equip your soldiers without having to manufacture them. Actually, it would be nice if you could pick up anything left by the fallen (alien or human) such as medic packs, weapons, etc. All-in-all, I was glad they brought the old X-Com into the 21st century. This game has a lot of replay potential and a must buy if you like strategy games. It's like chess on steroids...but cooler. It’s a very addictive game and I often find that when I’m not playing, I’m thinking about my next move!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>