GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D

The next installment of the hit RollerCoaster Tycoon franchise is here...and this time, it's in 3D! Meet the Rocket Coaster Company, an energetic and small group of coaster fanatics. Run by your father, a world-renowned roller coaster genius, the RCC is poised to change the world with its incredible designs and style. Unfortunately your father is a bit of a scatterbrain and is far too busy dreaming up new rides and roller coasters to get the company off the ground. This is where you, the player comes in as your father has decided that spending your time helping him out is more important than your summer vacation! Aided by a friend of the family and an old retired theme park industry veteran, the player is tasked to take the reins to get a foothold in the theme park world. Take on jobs, help design coasters, and even manage your own theme parks as you push the RCC to the top!
Average Customer Rating:
3.5
3.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 475%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
Review 1 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
What Happened?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/12
Philly610
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
What is this! i bought the game today, and it is not what i expected. the game is decent. Building roller coasters is a pain, and the "story mode" is stupid. There are limited options you can do in this game, and im not happy with my purchase. The producers should of took their time. This is that what i expected.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
fix the release date.
Posted on:5/21/12
Seaking177
in my last post i said the release date is 5/22. it is 5/21 10:50 AM (GMT -7) at the time or writing this and the release date is STILL not fixed. the image i have attached shows the release date is 5/22.
I WANT THIS GAME TOMORROW, YOU BETTER FIX IT.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
Don't believe the reviews, totally worth it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
redmeansgo82
Location: St. Louis, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'll cut to the chase, the reviewers are telling the truth; Roller Coaster Tycoon 3d is a stripped down version of the PC versions. My reaction when I read that (before even playing mind you) was "duh".
The 2004 RCT3 still bogs down high-end rigs; it's a complex game. So while a bunch of features have been cut out like terrain change and making underground coasters, it's all been done to bring the most efficient handheld RCT game they can. Yes, your park will reach a limit to how many attractions you can bring before reaching the space limit, but it's all been done because of the limited cartridge space for the 3ds.
Once you get over this, you'll find a compact version of the same, addictive gameplay RCT has always been known for; complete with deep, albeit quick paced coaster design and financial management. If there is one complaint, it would be the save features, though. You can only save one Sandbox at a time, and Coaster Story only saves after you've completed a scenario. But they made this perfect for micro-gaming. You won't find 5-10 hour scenarios; most can be completed in under 30 minutes. And it's still a blast to play.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
12 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SyFyTy1
Lakeland, Fl
 
Please wait while more information about SyFyTy1 is loaded.
Additional information about SyFyTy1 could not be loaded.
I agree
Posted 10/27/12
I just bought it and I agree with the '8' rating. If you (reader/potential buyer) understand they remade it (NOT a port) for the 3ds , with the save size limitations in mind, they hit thier mark and RCT fans will not be disappointed in the results. I've been waiting for a good portable version and I just bought it today. I am both critical of SIM type games AND happy with THIS buy. (breathes sigh of relief, money NOT wasted...) Again, it IS worth the price. It was NOT slappped together for cash cow treatment No I don't work for them but I am really happy we finally got a portable version that lives up to it's namesake. The 3d is used well and not a tack-on sales point here. It rivals the best SIM games of the DSi with room to spare.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
Reviews Already?
Posted on:8/14/12
FFXIVLover
Location: Lansing, MI
Some people are saying that there are reviews of the game already? If there are, then those magazines and sources shouldn't be trusted. A true reviewer should wait until the final product is released. With that being said, the game isn't released yet and people are complaining about it. Maybe, they realized that there are flaws in the game and pushed back the release date to add more content and make the game better. Yes it is frustrating to have to wait longer for a game. But as a seasoned gamer, I would rather be patient if it meant that the extra time would make the product better. If anyone has reviewed the game yet, don't believe that review until it is being sold on the shelves.
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
?
Posted on:8/29/12
Ninfan123
Location: Doylestown,PA
The magazine that had the review was the official nintendo magazine. The person who wrote the review was a worker at nintendo of america inc. so we cant trust nintendo on a review about a game for a nintendo system? btw they played the final version. the final version is already made they just are waiting to release it.
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
RTC 3DS
Posted on:6/29/12
SuperHeroMike
Location: Belleville, MI.
Why have they pushed back the release date ...then back some more....I can find around 3 dinffernt release dates online...My bet, They decided to wait for Nintendo 3DS XL to come out. I think this game would dinffently be better on the bigger screens. Yes screen shots make the game look a bit kidish and might fail like Sims 3D. But Still gotta give this game a chance. Hoping you can get a first person P.O.V. on rides, itd be sick to ride the rides in 3D. Do have to say tho a bit more (any) advertising would help....unless its not worth advertising, Untill then I dont think I'd preorder. Gonna have to wait and find out if this is a gem or pure rust.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SyFyTy1
Lakeland, Fl
 
Please wait while more information about SyFyTy1 is loaded.
Additional information about SyFyTy1 could not be loaded.
1st Person View on Rides
Posted 10/27/12
It is now out and you DO get that first person view on rides and YES it works great. Also uses camera like Stafox 64 3d does,which is also a very good game worth your time.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
it better not be like RCT3
Posted on:3/14/12
clevelandfan93
i loved the 1st, 2nd, and the expansions but i hated the 3rd one because the style was totally different from the others so if its anything like the 3rd one i dont want to even try it.
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
Nintedo Land! :)
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Hay :) Nice game.
Posted 6/2/12
I liked the 3rd RollorCoster Tycoon but I Agree the styile and Amosfere and Charmfull Personality of the 2ed one was Better. The 3rd one add new thangs to the gameplay. I Thank this one will be the Best one Ever! This will have streetpass and Miis and looks cherming and FUN. I Love All Of the RollorCoster Tycoon games thay are my 2ed favert simaltion games. Animal Crossing is my Favert. :) :D :) Can,t what to play in Glasses free 3D. :) :D :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
$.$
Posted on:3/17/12
Tatertot422
Location: Charleston, WV
Yes this is going to be great I can't wait for it it is going to pretty dang awesome yeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
Here's hoping
Posted on:6/21/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
I've played Roller Coaster Tycoon, probably almost all of them, in fact, and all I can say is this better be awesome. I have loved RCT, and I don't want to see this game go down in flames. The fact that I just now figured out they are even making this game makes me worried. Hopefully things get rolling.. pun intended.. soon and this game becomes a hit! RCT FTW!
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
animalcrossing3D
Lake Stevens, WA
 
Please wait while more information about animalcrossing3D is loaded.
Additional information about animalcrossing3D could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Worried? Don't Be!
Posted 7/11/12
Atari's had this game announced for months.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
0.0 OMG
Posted on:3/5/12
Malta
Location: Oviedo, FL
YES, JUST....YES! I have loved this game since i have been a little kid, and the fact its being made for a handheld...just yes.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
DON'T GET THIS GAME!!
Posted on:8/2/12
Ninfan123
Location: Doylestown,PA
I was hoping to get this game when it was supposed to come out, in march for my birthday, in april. Then the release date was moved and I hoped to get it for christmas. Now i cant get it for christmas. I dont even want the game anymore. Partly the date, and also because in Nintendo Power Magazine, there was a review of this game. It was rated 3 out of 10. They said there were limited rides, sandbox mode was horrible, and the game was short. DON'T GET THIS GAME!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FFXIVLover
Lansing, MI
 
Please wait while more information about FFXIVLover is loaded.
Additional information about FFXIVLover could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Review already?
Posted 8/14/12
Nintendo Power reviewed it and gave it a score already? To get a PROPER review, you should wait until it is actually released. Maybe the reason why it is getting pushed back is because they realize it needs more content and editing before release? I would personally rather have them take their time if it means a better product.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
can't wait, but the release date is WRONG.
Posted on:5/13/12
Seaking177
having never played a RCT game before, but loved playing Sim Theme Park, i am pretty sure i will like this game.
but, one thing i have noticed, IT DOES NOT RELEASE ON 6/19/2012 it releases on 5/22/2012. can someone fix this :/?
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
Goober54631
Location: GA
I loved the origanol Roller Coaster Tycoons for PC so this game was a must buy and this game stunk. It limits everything you build in csandbox mode so you can only build like 4 coasters per park and my least favorite part, they limit the number of pathways, I always started with lots of paths and built rides from there and then I ran out? I had to quit or delete. The scenarios and lackluster and boring and this game just was very disappointing, I would not buy this game new, and probaly not used either.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 14 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
I have mixed feelings about this one...
Posted on:6/11/12
cheesygoodness95
Location: Awesomeville, U.S.A.
Well, judging by some of the screens I've seen, this might be somewhat decent for a portable RCT title, but Atari is not doing much of anything in terms of advertising. I mean, the game is coming out in a few months (or whenever they set in stone a release date), and the website doesn't have anything more than a "teaser" with no gameplay. So, is this gonna set the standard for portable "tycoon" titles, or will this just be a splattered bug on the windshield of the gaming industry?
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:1/29/12
Ninfan123
Location: Doylestown,PA
I love roller coaster tycoon. It is one of my favorite game series. I am asking for this game on my birthday. I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!!
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PattheBlueCat
 
Please wait while more information about PattheBlueCat is loaded.
Additional information about PattheBlueCat could not be loaded.
Finally!!!!
Posted 2/23/12
I've been waiting for RCT for a handheld system since they made a Zoo Tycoon and Zoo Tycoon 2 for the DS!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D
ignored some reviews and took the trial myself
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/12
lilsuggs
Location: gonzales,la
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
first off the reviews of the screen randomly getting dark are sadly true.second off rollercoasters may not work or connect all the way and it doesnt tell you.third the people are invisible so you have no idea whats going on most of the time.fourth placing some buildings come out invisible so you do not know sometimes when you have placed something.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10