GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time

Never before released outside of Japan and widelyconsidered the best entry in the longrunning franchise,this PSP system iteration of the fourth chapter inthe Growlanser saga delivers visuals remastered for PSPsystem's 16:9 widescreen, a vastly expanded script withtons of new characters to meet and quests to complete,a wealth of new ending possibilities, and much more,making it the first and only version of the game NorthAmerican fans will ever want!
Average Customer Rating:
7.333
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
Review 1 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
Strategy RPGs at their best!
Posted on:1/28/12
Zeonsilt
Location: New York, NY
The Growlanser series is known for their unique gameplay, unused in any other game. No more grid based system. It's a mix between real time and turn based where you can pause the game to think out your strategy, and once your finished, you watch the action unfold all at once. Things not going how you planned? Interrupt your characters at ANY time and create a new strategy. There are a wide array of mission goals that vary from the normal "defeat all enemies" such as: escape the battle without killing anyone, protect the NPCs, search out areas where enemies are trying to ambush you, don't let the enemy escape, set fire to different points on the enemy camp, and more. Instead of failing a mission and making it a Game Over, you can also get Mission Failed, Mission Clear, and Mission Complete. All of which let you continue the game and may even give you an alternate story branch. For those of you who would like a taste, you can get a used copy of Growlanser Generations on PS2 for cheap, which includes 2 games. However, Wayfarer of Time is regarded as best in the series and doesn't require any previous knowledge of Growlanser (gameplay or story) to be played.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
A great game that you Must play
Posted on:2/3/12
Kratoscar2008
Location: tegucigalpa Honduras
A great game that you Must play
Posted 1/31/12
The Growlanser series are back with one of the best entries (I prefer the first but this one is much better for newcomers) in the series. You play as Crevaniel (Wich you can rename and he is a silent protagonist) a Mercenary that learn that he is the key to stop a menace to the World in the form of a Celestial Angel that for some reason attack the human cities costing the life of many people. I will stop there since the story is very good and i dont want to spoil anything. The battle system is unique and very good is nothing like most srpg where the characters move in squares like areas they move like in a rts and the objectives varies from battle to battle (They can be as simple as defeating all enemies or as complex as protecting npcs from dying while destroying all enemies). The game also contain the ability to form bonds with characters of your party and based on how well you interact with them you can obtain one of the 40+ endings that this game offer. Give it a Chance you wont regret it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
Highly Underrated SRPG series
Posted on:1/23/12
GrowlanserFan
Location: Philadelphia
I cannot wait for this one! Growlanser Generations ( II & III) were easily two of the best RPGs I have ever played. Growlanser's battle system is unique. It is sort of a blend of turn-based and real-time strategy; you control what each character in your party does, but their actions play out in real-time; with each action taking a certain amount of time. The other thing I love about the battles is that killing all of the enemies is often not your only objective. in this way. For example, during some battles there are civilians that will be killed unless your party can rescue them in time. I think anyone who loves classic SRPGs like the Shining Force series will love this game.
Also, this is 4th game in the series, but it is standalone so if your new to series you won't be missing back story. It is considered the best Growlanser by many fans, having 40+ hours of gameplay and multiple endings.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
Excited
Posted on:5/29/12
lobothesacred3
The Growlanser series seems like a rather unknown set of SRPGs in North America. Though this may be because only three of the games ever saw a U.S. release and Growlanser Generations was the last game released by Working Designs a company that brought over several quality RPGs from Japan but ended up going under do to issues with the release or the Arc the Lad series and higher then expected costs for translating and importing Growlanser 2 and 3. If you are interested in this game and haven't play Growlanser Generations yet I'd give it a try.
Though, I can't tell from the images or the wikipedia article if the combat system in this game is the same as 2 and 3 or is similar to Growlanser Heritage of War the last of the three games that saw a U.S. release.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
Growlanser Say What?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/13
Caelum
Location: Cumberland, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I haven't even heard of this title until this game was released last year and from a respective company. So my options weren't limited I was definetly going get this game and so I did. Now in my honest opinion I did like this game although the cover did sell it for me, the story the music, kind of made it nostalgic for some reason like the gold old days,I know this sounds silly but it reminds me of living in a cabin in the woods, how soothing it sounds, the scenery ,bleh..forget what i was trying to say the point is,silent protagnist that holds the key to sustaining the world.On his adventure he goes through rough times. If you like suikoden like I did this is a fair game,dating sims? yeah it has that feature as well....though you're limited to one girl so it's kind of a let down
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
Excited!
Posted on:1/18/12
Anonymous
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I'm really excited for this actually! I've played a few of the other Growlanser games and loved them and watched play throughs of the ones that haven't been released in North America. All of the Growlanser games have captivated me, with an older, but detailed, style of art and amazing plot line I'm defiantly looking forward to this game! ^_^
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Geetkundo
New Britain,CT
 
Please wait while more information about Geetkundo is loaded.
Additional information about Geetkundo could not be loaded.
Posted 7/10/12
Awesome input! But could you describe the battle system a bit....for a strategy/TB It looks like a TB/action rpg
Customer Avatar
Kratoscar2008
tegucigalpa Honduras
 
Please wait while more information about Kratoscar2008 is loaded.
Additional information about Kratoscar2008 could not be loaded.
A great game that you Must play
Posted 1/31/12
The Growlanser series are back with one of the best entries (I prefer the first but this one is much better for newcomers) in the series. You play as Crevaniel (Wich you can rename and he is a silent protagonist) a Mercenary that learn that he is the key to stop a menace to the World in the form of a Celestial Angel that for some reason attack the human cities costing the life of many people. I will stop there since the story is very good and i dont want to spoil anything. The battle system is unique and very good is nothing like most srpg where the characters move in squares like areas they move like in a rts and the objectives varies from battle to battle (They can be as simple as defeating all enemies or as complex as protecting npcs from dying while destroying all enemies). The game also contain the ability to form bonds with characters of your party and based on how well you interact with them you can obtain one of the 40+ endings that this game offer. Give it a Chance you wont regret it.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
AWESOME!
Posted on:6/18/12
Alestair83
Location: Memphis tn
Ever since Heritage of war I've loved this series its amazing! I even bought generations after playing Heritage so to hear this is coming and is supposed to be better than heritage and generations I can die a happy happy man once I get and beat this.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
NOT FOR ME
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/13
dan6696
Location: mountain home
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i never have been into games like these anyway I bought it to test it out and I was not into it at all and I gave it a chance to I didn't stop at the first level the story line was okay but the game itself was poor in my taste
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time
This game is amazing...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
FangKurogane
Location: Cornwall, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. It has an amazing story and I was hooked on it from the beginning. I recommend this game to all the people who own a psp.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.