GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir

The Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir game invites players to experience supernatural thrills they won't soon forget, using the built-in camera functions and augmented-reality features of the Nintendo 3DS system. The game's mysterious storyline involves a girl named Maya who has been hiding in the darkness of an old house, cursed by a malevolent woman in black. To free Maya from the curse, players must use the "diary of faces" - a 16-page AR notebook included with the game - to view ghostly images and interact with the world Maya is trapped in. The Nintendo 3DS system becomes the Camera Obscura in players' hands and is capable of revealing the supernatural and dispelling evil spirits. The lines between reality and fiction blur in this chilling horror adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
6.133
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
10 out of 1567%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Review 1 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
kind of bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/13
ggddgtergrfd
Location: ghj
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The graphics are the real thing to be scared of .............................................................
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
I love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/13
suneshine
Location: bradenton,fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It was pretty scary and my review is five stars!Because i love the way they did the story and graphics.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Short but Sweet
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
ziddy6
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I haven't exactly made up my mind on my opinion. It was very short, completed in about 3-4 days for me. I didn't play it much. The graphics were nice. But the game-play was weak and repetitive. It was mainly talking to Maya, the other protagonist, fending off spirits/bosses with the 3DS camera, and finding the hidden secrets of the Diary of Faces. I'm not saying I didn't like it, I'm saying I didn't love it. The story was brilliant, I might add. In the beginning, where you are walking through the halls, well, I was hoping that was what the game mostly was. But no. It relied on cameras and talking. However, what went on in the Diary of Faces was phenomenal. I thought the page with the drawing was quite clever. I don't think much effort was put into it. There was some, but not much. I'd still recommend it a little bit, for the person who likes a quick and clever game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
i loved it but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
gamergirl4ever
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game was fun, great story line, graphics, are great for a 3ds. ages 12 and older can play this game . this game is not scary but twisted, at times its get a little intense. So walking in and scaring them, they just might jump :). I only have a few complaints. 1. the ar book has to be under a light if you play it in the dark, and even when it dark outside it picky about it light sources 2. The main character Maya will say one sentence out of a full paragraph.3. i wont really complain about this but i would recommend a chair that moves 360. two last thing i wish that the game had it own background then yours when your looking threw the camera on the 3ds, to switch it up a little. I wish it was longer gameplay, but they do have a couple fun stuff after you beat the game for the first time
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
The game is great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/12
Doom1998
Location: Philadelphia,PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game because of the ar mostly, but the storyline is also great.The game is creepy but not really that scary.This game is good for casual gamers.(This is my 1ST review ever)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/12
Olaniette
Location: SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Terrible game. You cannot be sitting to play this game, nor can you play it in public. You must spin around to 'fight;' the ghosts. The sounds are like Owls, nothing like ghosts. If you don't position yourself directly at the AR book or if you just shift it starts to flip out on you saying its not registered. Also you must play it in a room that is completely lit up or it will not recognize your room. Little gameplay maybe about 2 hours. Not worth the price. Horrible.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
good game but how short is too short?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
Mr0M0i0k0e
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
when i first pre-ordered this game from GS i was super syked !!! and several of my friend had done the same ! after we plugged it in though and found out it "only does so much" i was VERY disappointed! the diary is cool but should not be the redeeming part of the game.and the photos are only cool DURING THE DAY TIME~!~ im sorry but creepy things happen at night time in America and any game you cant play in the dark by your self for more then one night *should be DCL only and not cost 45$ (after taxes)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Unique for this handheld.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
hakman
Location: FL.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like this game after playing around 1.5 hours. First let me say this is not a game you can play stationary. Secondly, I can say if you ever liked FATAL FRAME then this is a game for you, unless you hate moving around with the 3DS. The audio and graphics are top notch. The booklet contains the AR pages [they are not cards for they are the entire booklet] and it works quite well once you position them correctly. Adequate lighting is imperative and the tutorial in this case helps a lot. I was a bit frustrated getting everything sorted out at the start. However, once I got it all together with the booklet and taking pictures it really was fun and unique for the 3DS. I suppose there is some lasting appeaI since there are mini games you can play after the story. I would play the story again though just to repeat the experience.I recommend this game for survival horror fans 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
AznKidJames
Location: Danville
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Despite the short hours in this game, it's really a great game. Look past the 2-3 hours. This gameplay has pretty good visuals and the AR book makes it amazing. This game is an example of a great AR game. This game brought me chills down my back. I played it in the dark, next to a lamp, which made it even creepier. This game has lots of very creepy noises that will make you get chills. Definitely check out this game! It's also another great horror game for the 3ds. 3ds doesn't have many of those besides RE. Check it out! You won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lag0morph
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about lag0morph is loaded.
Additional information about lag0morph could not be loaded.
Posted 4/18/12
I'd probably be able to look past the 2-3 hours if I didn't just pay $40 for it. If this had been an eShop game for $5, I'd probably be much more lenient on it. But it's not, it's a $40 retail game, and with that short of length and no real replayability, You're right about Resident Evil, though. Anyone who doesn't have that should get it instead of this one. If they happen to have a PSP or Vita, I'd suggest Corpse Party.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Awful Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
Award
Location: NY
I got this game because it looked fun and cool and different but in actuality it was a huge disappointment. It was just a let down and wasn't even scary.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
lag0morph
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the worst Fatal Frame game you will ever play. Now, it did have a pretty good concept: an augmented reality ghost game that plays like Fatal Frame. Unfortunately, one of the first things you realize is that this spooky ghost game requires you to play in a well lit room. So well lit, in fact, that having 2 lamps on in a 30 square foot space is not close to enough light for the game to sense the book.
When it does work, it's moderately cool, but even the effects aren't really that clever. Most of the "puzzles" using the book just require you to flip to the next page. There's a hide and seek sequence that's a little more clever, but I had problems getting the game to notice what I was looking at while playing that section, making it very frustrating. Once you can get optimal lighting and you can get the book to work, be prepared for an experience that has you hunched over and reading for most of the next hour.
There are only around 7 ghosts in the game, and while the Fatal Frame formula is at work here, it doesn't feel quite right... In fact, it feels slow and tedious. Each of the ghost sequences have very simple patterns that are easy to master, and most of the time, you'll only receive damage because you were too slow to snap the shutter, or took too long to find the ghost. The storyline is a pretty tired Japanese ghost story that might as well be an adaptation of Ju-On, complete with a creepy child character and vengeful spirit. And most of the game is talking to your ghostly companion instead of playing the game. The game has you seek her out (she's usually directly to your left) talk with her. And then after you're done talking her, the game will tell you that you need to talk to her again. I don't know why they didn't combine these sequences, because there's absolutely nothing to do in between them.
Maybe the worst part about this game is the fact that it's little more than an hour long. Sure there's a New Game+, but it just means longer, more tedious ghost fights, and a new costume for your ghostly companion. There are extra minigames to play as well, but none of them are particularly fun either.
Perhaps my expectations were too high with this game, as I really wanted to like it, but I was sadly disappointed. Beware of this game. The local GameStop told me they can't even buy my copy back because they can't buy games that require packed in accessories.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Good Game But It Has A Few Shortcommings
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
argamer
Location: Tracy CA
this game is good to a point. while the story mode was only about two hours long i enjoided it. this game has great ar capabilities. it should be a bit cheaper though. this is a good game and all but could have been so much better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
AznKidJames
Location: Danville
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I heard it was 2-3 hours, I did feel a little down. After that though, I didn't let it affect me. I said who cares if it's 2-3 hours? It's an amazing game. The story line is great. Lot's of creepy things in the game. It makes very good use of the AR on the 3ds. This is a perfect game for use of AR, if you'd like to try it. I loved looking around the room to hear the voices behind me. Made me get chills. Playing in the dark next to a lamp, made it even better. It's a great thriller/horror game! Check it out! Don't look past it because it is an amazing game overall! You won't be disappointed if you the length of the game doesn't bother you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Nice game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
Mosho
Location: San Jose
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
game play was what I was expecting just that the bonus headphones does not fit my 3ds :( thats my only disappointment why"...................o well what can we do there were free :) thanks I guess....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Must Buy for Fatal Frame fans and anyone else
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
animefan1980
Location: Bloomington, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is unlike anything made for 3ds. The story mode may be short but it's fun using the diary to play it. Anyway, the unlimited replay value comes from the other game features like turning the regular ds camera into a ghost camera where any pictures you take of places or people become haunted and different weird images appear on the pictures like ghosts including the girl from the ring and grudge films, blood splattered areas, and just scary images. I think more people will enjoy playing with all the extra features. It is a sequel to Fatal Frame 3 so it's like playing Fatal Frame for real with the cursed diary and real environments and people. You can turn your friends into ghosts too and fight them and see spirits that are hauntingthem.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
I was pretty exited...
Posted on:4/10/12
Pandagurl4life
Location: OH
I pre-ordered Spirit Camera and recently found out that the game is only about 2-3 hours long. Not including multiplayer. Now I'm having second thoughts....
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Can't wait any longer.
Posted on:3/29/12
Fataluvr
Location: Anderson, IN
I can't wait for this game to come out. I love the Fatal Frame series and I own them all except 1. When I play them in the dark they really scare me. My husband doesn't even like to be in the same room with me whenI play them. That is how scary they are. I love horror movies and it is like watching one. I am so excited.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Great!
Posted on:3/18/12
Cyphon
Location: lakewood, CO
The tingling down my spine, thinking someone is behind you, afraid to make a move... That is what I like in games. This game also makes it so you can't complete it without the AR book, so you have a chance to interact with the real world. I like horror movies, and the horror games are rated M, so this game seems like the perfect game, horror, T rated, I have my fingers crossed for this game, I hope I like horror games as much as horror movies. Nightmares...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Perfect!
Posted on:3/1/12
LastingFury
Location: Colorado
I would love to play Resident Evil Revelations, but it's rated M, and my parents would not hear of me buying an M rated game, but luckily this game came out, a horror game that is rated T! I can't wait until it comes out! I have high hopes for the game, I hope it doesn't let me down.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MLBChris
Fayetteville, NC
 
Please wait while more information about MLBChris is loaded.
Additional information about MLBChris could not be loaded.
Posted 3/17/12
Im sorry you cant play Resident evil, really good game when you can get it, but this game still does look really good; doesnt look as action packed but more horror than RE revelations
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir
Truly Ambitious!
Posted on:2/25/12
Duskdog
Location: Nashville, TN
If Nintendo can pull this off properly, this game has the potential to be an amazing display of the under-appreciated capabilities of the 3DS system. It comes with a book of AR cards which, by using the camera, allow you to interact with the game world and make the game world appear to interact with the real world. Imagine looking through your 3DS camera at the world around you and seeing ghosts in your living room! This is an amazing and ambitious game that isn't getting nearly enough hype, and I fully plan on picking this up on the day it's released. If it even reaches half of its potential, it will be more than worth the money!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>