GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

From the award-winning creators of Civilization comes an action-strategy game about civilization's last stand. Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form an elite paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team in a battle against a terrifying alien invasion by creating a fully operational base, researching alien technologies, planning combat missions, and controlling soldier movement in battle.
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Review 1 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
A must own!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/13
PoonHerder
Location: MS,MS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay this game does NOT deserve that 1 rating at the bottom. Battleship, sonic free riders, and Mindjack deserve that garbage rating. This game is very fun, really holds your attention, and gets your heart racing as you do your best to out wit the aliens AND save every one of your precious squad members. A must own for strategy lovers and at this price its practically a steal compared to the prices of todays game. Pick it up and enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
True to the Original
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/12
Berserk1170
Location: Denver, Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game, but I also loved the original game and its sequels. Enemy unknown is true to that, in spirit and gameplay. It was a challenge on normal difficulty, even with experience on the original. Don't get this game if you are looking for an easy, blowoff game. Battles are tense and very fun, and the progression of your soldiers, both in abilities and equipment, is very satisfying. You definitely get attached to them. There are a few glitches with movement and saves, but all-in-all, it's a terrific game. I'm not sure about replayability -- it was hard enough the 1st time and I'm not sure I want to go make it harder...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Old XCOM player is happy new XCOM player
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/12
Fyury
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I normally do not write reviews, perhaps i'm just lazy, but after reading another player's less-than-favorable review of XCOM EU here, I thought there needed to be some balance ... because I LOVE THE GAME! To the points made by a previous reviewer, are there some flakey camera angle issues and those 'oops' moments when you hit a button and committed a move but didn't mean to ... yeah. But having to make hard decisions (like which of multiple events to respond to) or having to cope with a move or action on the battlefield you wish you could reconsider, and dealing with the 'realities' (as far as game reality is concerned) of finances and use of resources is part of the core of XCOM. ...as is the sometimes painful random factor of incoming fire versus your own lucky or not-so-lucky shots, but you'll find that you are less upset by seemingly bad rolls when you are thinking through things and not putting yourself in bad situations. If you want an easy, brain-dead, shooter, then this is not the game for you. If you've never played XCOM before (the 'old' version) or are new to this type of game, I HIGHLY recommend watching some of the youtube videos of gameplay which you can find linked right here on GameStop. After you watch Jake with Firaxis help some newbie game commentators thru their first few battles, you'll find yourself avoiding a lot of mistakes. Here's a freebie hint ... Dashing is dangerous (don't over-extend yourself) and Overwatch is your friend. As I continue to play the missions get more difficult, the funding and strategic side gets more challenging but that's the point. ...and unless you are playing in ironman mode, just be sure to save your game at the start of each mission so you have a place to go back to if everythign goes wrong and you want another shot at it (I save my game a lot but have fortunately only gone back to a previously save game once). Love the game, it was worth the money and definitely worth the time I've put into playing it :-)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Cool!!
Posted on:2/21/12
Devonsputant
Location: Columbus, OH
Awesome! A remake of the original and going back to their gameplay roots! Can't wait to get my hands on this one. :)
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DrBman
unknown
 
Please wait while more information about DrBman is loaded.
Additional information about DrBman could not be loaded.
?????
Posted 6/15/12
What should I get a xbox 360 or this?????
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
About time!
Posted on:9/24/12
BeWary
Location: Ohio
I am so excited that they are finally coming out with what appears to be a good remake of the original XCOM game! I remember playing the original back when it was released and it remains the only PC game (other than MOO2) that I have consistently played over the years. That it is being put out by Firaxis (the Microprose successor) makes me feel hopeful it will have all of the important elements that made the original addictive. If you are thinking about buying this game and want to know what it is like, go to Youtube and look up any gameplay preview done within the last month to get a really good idea! After watching that, I am feeling confident that this is the game I've been waiting for for the last 18 years to come back out!
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
valcon
calif
 
Please wait while more information about valcon is loaded.
Additional information about valcon could not be loaded.
pvp or player cooperitive ?
Posted 9/27/12
do u play with others online ?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Looks like fun!
Posted on:6/17/12
fizzlefist
I just discovered it this week, and all the previews look great. Firaxis is well respected for their turn-based games and I think they'll do justice to by original UFO Enemy Unknown. Personally, I really hope the PC Retail version comes with a Steam activation like Civ V did.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Guardedly optimistic
Posted on:3/21/12
zbadger13
Location: Idaho
I HOPE they stay true to the original TBS game. Firaxis ruined the Civ series with Civ V I feel. For goodness sake don't put X-COM on the piece of s*^t steam network.
4 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Natai
 
Please wait while more information about Natai is loaded.
Additional information about Natai could not be loaded.
Posted 5/24/12
While I don't think Civ was ruined, I absolutely agree that they should avoid Steam. Any time I have to run a third party app, or am forced to download updates, there is a problem. Impulse (formerly Stardock, now Gamestop) is a reasonable alternative if they have to use some sort of online system.
Customer Avatar
OrionDarkwood
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about OrionDarkwood is loaded.
Additional information about OrionDarkwood could not be loaded.
Posted 5/22/12
I agree with you on that one. I still play the original XCom via DOSBox on my Win7 system. I really like if they had a fantasy based game that used the XCOM tactical system.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Looks good
Posted on:4/3/12
Dragon45
Location: Greene, Maine
I like the looks of the game, i just hope that it doesn't require a steam activation, that would suck so much.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Natai
 
Please wait while more information about Natai is loaded.
Additional information about Natai could not be loaded.
Special Edition?
Posted 5/24/12
Is this the PC Special Edition that's been announced? I don't see any details on that, nor the pre-order bonuses.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
looks good
Posted on:8/21/12
wookie912
Location: portland, OR
looking forward to this. loved the original. Hope its steamcloud compatable.. I like the convenience of going from my laptop to my desktop and having my saved games automatically sync up.
Review 10 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
X-com should be excommunicated.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/12
TheKindlyOnes
Location: Washington State
This game is rubbish.
Combat is broken, there is the standard difficulty of the original x-com, but mixed in are allot of stupid bugs. Cover is ignored for your troopers most the time, while the aliens occasionally get random cover bonuses, even when out in the open.
Chance to hit means nothing as your going to miss most every time, even when you have a 90 percent chance to hit, and aliens can hit you from extreme ranges with pin point accuracy, when using the same guns as you.
Aliens will randomly get extra turns and moves for no real reason, on top of being allowed to scatter for cover as soon as they are spotted while your troops are little move then statues to soak up bullets when an alien wanders upon them.
The controls are horrible as one wrong click can send your troop running off wildly into the open with no chance to cancel the action leaving them as a bullet magnet. Throwing grenades or launching rockets is a battle as the map will constantly move as if trying to center on your aimer, but keep the soldier in sight so your struggling to actually place the rocket where you want.
Character customization is a joke, with only a few worthless options for how they look, and equipment wise is even worse with the addition of classes. Each character is given a class at random, and they all suck. You can no longer really choose what your characters carry as it is all restricted by their class, and most things beyond the rifle class are rubbish.
You cant load up your character as you want, only getting to choose their armor, choose their gun, choose their sidearm, choose their special. Specials are your grenades, extra armor, stunguns, med-kits, and what not else. which sucks as it means you only get one grenade, one med kit, one whatever. And they can only be used once unless your in a class that gives you the optiont o maybe use them twice. You oly get about 10 shots, 5 from your first clip, 5 from your second clip. After that your screwwed. This includes the laser weapons which are suppose to be unlimited in ammo.
The nature of everything makes it feel so random there is no accomplishment when you do manage to beat everything, its as if the game just stopped caring enough to actually do anything, but then the next turn/combat it doesnt care enough to give you a fair chance before dropping you in the middle of a gas station with pumps as the only cover and surrounded by aliens with grenades. I've had that happen. On 4 different missions.
Trying to keep the council is happy is badly done as well. Come missions you have a choice between 3 locations and can only choose one. Each gives you a pointlessly small reward, and reduces that places panic by one or two points. While the places you dont go to gain several points of panic making it hard to keep any sort of balance while trying to build up what you need, cash, scientists, eigineers, or vet soldiers. Because why would you want multipule bases and teams to protect the entire planet when you can send 4 to 6 under-equipped and trained morons. Its not like they can attack 4 different places at once..
The game is a wash. it had potential, but i think they blew it. If you want a hard tactical game where its you fighting a horde of aliens.. Try the original x-com. its cheap, its proper hard, and each mission feels like a struggle but leaves you feeling satisfied as you triumph rather then a let down.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 39 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
callmekrautboy
 
Please wait while more information about callmekrautboy is loaded.
Additional information about callmekrautboy could not be loaded.
Let's be clear...
Posted 10/22/12
So you are interesting in this game and you are wondering after reading this review what you can glean from it that is useful for you to decide if this will be a game you enjoy, let me help.
First let's be clear there are basically three camps of people with opinions on XCom:
- Those new to the series
- Those who played the OG and understand that this is a re-imagining and not a remake.
- Those who played the OG and think this was supposed to be a skinning of the original game and can't get over the fact that it doesn't play exactly like the original game and are too stubborn to move into the 21st century and learn some new mechanics.
I'll let you guess where I think 'TheKindlyOnes' falls into. :)
First let's address what good points that have been brought up (yes there are a few):
- 'Controls are horrible': Yes the PC controls certainly leave much to be desired. Selecting cells can be a challenge at times, grenades / rockets are similarly a challenge and then there is the moving command shortcuts (sometimes overwatch is on 2 sometimes on 3.. depending on the soldier). These are valid complaints that I hope they will patch up at some point. Two things to note, I've played through 3 full campaigns so far and had 2 mis-clicks total and none as dramatic as the reviewer made out to be. I also have a 360 controller and I used that for a mission just to get a feel. It certainly fixes 99% of the issues but the stubbornness in me has me going back to the mouse and keyboard despite its obvious flaws.
- 'Character customization is a joke': I pre-ordered the game and you get additional color options for your armor which helps but I agree I felt as though they could have done more here help you individualize your soldiers. I smell some DLC in the future, I'd like to think at least this part would be free as a gesture to fans but you know.
The rest of this 'review' is as the reviewer put it 'rubbish'.
Although there are bugs (yes the original had bugs too) there is nothing to substantiate any of the other claims.
'Combat is broken', 'random cover bonuses', 'chance to hit means nothing'.. hold up.. let's stop here.
What does 90% mean? To most gamers these days means sure fire hit.. what does it really mean 1 out of 10 will miss. That's right you can be standing right next to a guy and miss a 90% shot. You can also fire a long range 20% shot and hit because that is 2 in 10 success rate. You never forget crucial missses, yet gloss over your unlikely success. Same as the original game and will always be an XCom staple.
'You cant load up your character as you want', 'Only get 10 shots'..
Limited loadout is a design choice to challenge you tactically and give your character a more specialized battlefield identity. Giving everything to everyone is great for making the game easier but boring tactically.
Only getting 10 shots.. flat out wrong. Rockets / grenades etc.. limited to one shot. All other weapons are unlimited.
"The nature of everything makes it feel so random there is no accomplishment"...
Tactically this game is built on a basis that combat is dynamic, things can happen that you don't expect and you have to prepare as best as you can and adapt to a changing environment. If you are looking for a touristy cake walk where everything is exactly like it is 'supposed' to be and you never have to think... then yes you will have a problem. Overcoming adversity and challenging yourself are both prevalent and satisfyingly played out in this game.
"Trying to keep the council happy is badly done as well"..
Quite the contrary, the aspect that you have to choose between 3 choices is showing that no matter how you scope it in an alien invasion of an entire planet you simply can't be everywhere at once. If we were being truthful there would be hundreds of thousands of attacks all around the world but rather than attempting to simulate that, they boil it down to three choices and you can't have it all. You have to make difficult choices and learn to balance and think ahead and plan a bit.
There you have it.. I hope this helps people out when deciding if this game is for them.
If you are looking for a 'hard tactical game where its you fighting a horde of aliens' you've come to the right place. Just don't expect to get a game designed in the mid 90's.
Long Live Kitkat Chunky! :-D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)