GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Risen 2: Dark Waters

Several years after the end of Risen, humanity is pushed to the brink ofexistence and one of the only safe havens is Caldera, a city located on thepeninsula of the Lost Realm. However, even this sanctuary is threatenedby the world at chaos, as monstrous sea monsters cause shipments of vitalsupplies to come to a grinding halt. The hero, upon discovering a rumorthat the pirates of the Southern islands know of a way to banish thecreatures of the deep, journeys to infiltrate their ranks and attemptto acquire this knowledge in time to save Caldera from imminent peril.
Average Customer Rating:
7.067
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
2
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
11 out of 1573%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Review 1 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Classic difficulty in a modern gaming world
Posted on:5/5/12
MosquitoLemon
Location: Tampa, Florida
Risen 2. Upon its release, I think will suprise the skeptics as well as please the folks anticipating this game. Anyone who played the first Risen game will know a lot of kinks (not bugs) have been worked out such as combat features being more seamless. What people dont understand about Risen is that its a different style of RPG with a classic component added. In todays gaming society most RPG games mark each quest of the precise location hence creating a brainless gaming experience of arrows and follow tags. No, Risen and Risen 2 refuses to be part of the mindless questing. Each quest is indeed providing instructions but there are no map markers. You have to listen to the quest givers and people talk and really embrace the role of your character. Hence an A+ RPG experience. To the people who cant wait to play, Me either!! and to the skeptics, try it out when you can get a used copy I guess and if your too lazy to accually pull out the map to find the quest then keep playing Skyrim and World of Warcraft.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Not Bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
tombud
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first saw this game I thought that it would be great. However now that I have played it I think that is still good but not great. It does have its flaws by being very bright and very dark but it makes it more realistic. At first it lagged a bit and it kept having to load the screen, but I fixed that by installing it on my hard drive. The fighting is on land and not at sea. The movement is more like the first assasins creed but not as fast. The game does require you to pay attention and listen to conversations. you can't skip over the conversations unless you like to not know what your suppose to be doing next. Overall it is not a bad game. I recommend this game for someone that will actually take the time to play and get emmersed in the game. It is more of and rpg than a fighting game. This isn't a game for people that just like to do whatever they want like in skyrim.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Not worth $60 but still a good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/12
OpsDarth
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First, I have had no problems with sound or graphics. The load times are a little long. The graphics are about like Morrowind ( a little dated). There wasn't a whole lot to do it the first part, so unless you give these a few hours gameplay, your not going to know if it is good or bad. The story line is top notch, it makes me feel like I am Jack Sparrow. There are tons of stuff to do, find weapons, CREATE weapons, potions, voodoo, you can even take over people with voodoo dolls. YOu get a crew and search for items you need to kill a god. I have play many hours and I am about 1/2 done. This is for the gamers who can think for themselves and don't need help. When you get a quest if you have enough clues you will see were to go, otherwise you are on your own. No were near as good as Skyrim, but what is?.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
LOVE IT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
rispeed
Location: rhode island
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
risen 1 was one of my favorite games it is what got me into RPGS, i never really liked them before i played risen 1, and once i started i played it right through til the end getting all the achievements and everything it was one of the funnest games ive ever played, so i couldnt wait for risen 2 to come out, and was happy to see it was a direct continuation of risen 1, so it made it really cool to play 2 after beating 1, anyways i dunno why people hate on this series so much the games are super fun, intriguing keep you entertained for many hours.
I like how the achievments dont matter between dying and reloading so its easy to get the achievements for different things. the graphics are good the open world is awesome.... the only problem i see is like what others have said, the early on combat was surprisingly hard, i had it on the hard difficulty but thats how i play all my games.. even your first battle in the game against that fool for thje bandanna took me like 20 trys, its very tough to fight when you just started and are so weak, but once you get stronger and get more skills the game is alot of fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Starts slow but really grows on you. Great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
jchevy
Location: Maine
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game starts off a little slow but after getting farther into it there's more to do and the fighting becomes smoother. There's a lot of land to explore and many secret treasures to be found. If you played and enjoyed risen 1 or divinity 2 I guarantee you'll like Risen 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
A Shockingly Solid Pirate RPG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
StokedRider
I really, really like this game. The graphics are much better than the first Risen, the story's more interesting, the pirate theme is nice, the environments are great to explore, etc. However, it has one big drawback, which is the combat, and sometimes the difficulty will make you want to pull your hair out. So let's go a little more in-depth on Risen 2.
Risen 2, much like the first Risen, is a new RPG built with a budget and team well below that of a big Bethesda RPG or something. People who say this game's "bad" aren't the most trustworthy. If you've played and enjoyed games like Risen, Divinity 2, or any of the other RPGs like those, you'll certainly get your money's worth out of Risen 2.
First, let's address the graphics. Some will say that the skybox looks like pixelated blobs, and you know, they're not wrong, but clouds do typically look like blobs, though just not so pixelated. However, unlike some higher budget games that forgo this graphical feature, the clouds do move, so at least you're not stuck in this static world that feels a lot like a game world and thus kills immersion. Otherwise, Risen 2 is a pretty big step up from the first Risen in the graphics department. Characters are more detailed, environments look more lush and impressive, etc. Yeah, the animations aren't cutting edge, but neither are the animations in Bethesda's Fallout and Elder Scrolls, so I don't think slamming the animations is entirely fair. This is a massive game built on a smaller budget with a smaller team, yet their animations are mostly on par with Bethesda's work.
In regards to story, it's handled a lot better in Risen 2 than it was in the first game. I find a lot of characters really fun and interesting to interact with. This game seems a lot more cinematic than the first game. It's definitely an interesting and slightly different tale for an RPG.
Now, for the part that'll frustrate many people, which is the combat. Not only does this version lack the enhancements that they made to the PC version to make the combat flow better, but you start off this game very weak, which seems standard for an RPG, but there are battles early in the game that feel like pure luck, so get ready to reload you save and wait through a lengthy loading screen to try it all over again, and you'll likely do this many times over before getting lucky. It's really a shame that the combat is so stilted and frustrating early on, because I feel the rest of the game is a sheer joy to wander around in. But perhaps, if all you look for in a game is combat, maybe you should just buy a hack & slash game instead.
It's odd, then, that Risen 2 is still really neat despite the core gameplay bit being so frustrating. This isn't a bad game, I promise, but the combat needs some serious work. I really like everything else in Risen 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Could be decent
Posted on:2/10/12
Celtic1962
Location: Deltona, FL
A couple of years ago I played the original Risen on the 360 and it was an RPG I kept playing all the way through despite some major technical flaws. Basically the quests and the NPC's were all very interesting and it kept me intrigued in seeing what was going to happen next. This was despite the fact that the graphics and the combat controls were very poor when they were ported from the PC. I kept thinking about what a high score the game would have received if they had corrected these issues. So, assuming this will be an improvement from the first game I'll definitely keep an eye on this. Hopefully there will be a demo out soon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Not what I expected, but I like this!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
Swordsmasterguy
Location: Lancaster, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
From the moment I picked up this game, I was a little skeptical on how this would top a lot of the RPGs I have played. The game gives me kind of a Fable feel in terms of how the graphics are. It is something I needed to get my mind off of what was to come later in the week I first bought it. I know there are some bugs in it, but for an RPG based more around Pirates, I really like it. The music in the game is also pretty relaxing when outside of a fight as I would probably just sit there with the game paused to listen to it. The story is also well told, as I usually pick up RPGs for the story element and more for open ended gameplay like this. Overall, if you like Pirates, RPGs and a lot of hours of gameplay, at least give this one a try.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
AWESOME GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
SetYourGoals1
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game. You can do so much stuff in it. I love the combat and the story line. you should get this game if you haven't yet.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Acceptable RPG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/12
mayowan16
Location: Seattle
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
While the graphics in this game are totally last gen, the game play and story are quite interesting. I've been playing for over 12 hours and am plenty invested in the story and characters. Just like Risen 1, I feel that this game is highly underrated. Studio probably should have priced it lower to encourage more casual RPG gamers. Although I am enjoying it, I would suggest that others wait until the price drops to about $40.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Read!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
Deron
Location: Fortworth Texas
Ok so I tries so hard to like this game, and hated everything about it, then I stareted to love it, I can't say go get it full price, but if u love rpg, this is for u, graphics can be muddy, gameplay is brutal if u mess up, and sound is incredibl, however, the story was very bad, but all in all the world reminded me of dead island
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Cool Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
GamerDude456
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was a lot funner than i expected, it has great gameplay and a great story. The weapons in the game are pretty awesome too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
risen 2 looks insane cant wait!
Posted on:3/7/12
Bigexile
Location: Danbury, CT
Definetly looks like one of the top 10 games of the year and definetly makes the original look like quest for glory or kings quest.with that being said i cant wait to play this game and add it to my collection.Oh and by the way ... KOA reckoning is one of the best games ive played next to skyrim .. so you need to stop judging books by their covers and learn a thing or two. Bigx
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Garbage.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
Lexx6
Location: Arlington VA
i'll give any game a chance... but i couldnt stand this game longer than 5 minutes. IT IS VERY BAD. i'm very surprised the game studio had to balls to release it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Not that bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/12
kungfumonkey
Location: New York
This game isn't as bad as everyone says, it's not the best, does have some issues but overall not bad. I have over 20 hours into it and have had fun, you can zoom in to a point, you need the map for the area you are exploring, if you don't it won't zoom, maps are easy to find or buy. I think the game is good.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Terrible game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/12
Jdool
I was excited to get this age. Unfortunately the graphics are terrible. Every time you move, blurred lines appear across the screen. The game is either too bright or really dark; you can change the brightness but it Is futile. When you get quests there is no way find the destination on the map. It does not zoom in. It just stays fixed on an overview shot of the island. I would advise against buying this game, or even renting it. Save your money for something else. Very disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/12
Deron
Location: Fortworth Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
interesting game for hardcore people. enjoyed it, played through it 5 times. i loved it a lot, even tho it has obvious problems
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Waste of Money Should've Rented This FIRST
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
YoJoe
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
I must have ran into a wall, knocked myself out and woke up in 2002. That's what I would expect in that year for the $60 packaging I paid for. I pre-ordered the game based on the PC pictures version (never played the first one) and as with another reviewer - I hoped for a quality pirate-ship-rpg type of game. DISAPPOINTED. I have played this for less than an hour, the loading sequence is accompanied by great music, but that's about it. I am trading it in.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
LOOKS PRETTY GOOD
Posted on:2/11/12
GGDUSYGDKBVHDBGVUDYGVBUFD
I MIGHT HAVE TO GIVE THIS GAME A TRY IT LOOKS PRETTY GOOD BUT I WILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE REVIEWS BUT THIS LOOKS LIKE A GOOD GAME
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lit3rkity
california
 
Please wait while more information about lit3rkity is loaded.
Additional information about lit3rkity could not be loaded.
Commentary
Posted 2/19/12
Well The first Risen was a good rpg regiment for players with the power of factions in their mind and i hope they make this 2nd risen even better then before\
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Risen 2: Dark Waters
Meh...
Posted on:7/9/12
ITSTHATKID
Location: Seattle, WA
I didn't really like the PC Version that much. Risen's console port was horrible enough cause it was an Xbox 360 port. I played the PC Version of Risen which was better than Risen on Xbox 360 but that's not saying much. It's basically +2 better. Risen 2 is not gonna be the game you are looking for. Play the PC Version or better yet don't.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>