GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points

One year after a worldwide cataclysmic event has wiped out most of human civilization, a man struggles for survival. Faced with an insecure, decaying, and hazardous world, he scours a desolated city, searching for his long lost wife and daughter. Survive the suffocating, murky streets covered in dust. Climb the teetering remains of the last standing skyscrapers to reach breathable air and find untouched resources. Explore the crumbling ruins of a once-thriving metropolis. And discover a changed human condition, punctuated by distrustful survivors, dangerous armed gangs, and victims in need.
Average Customer Rating:
8.6
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
Review 1 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
Better than I expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
Hugh
Location: Roseville Mi.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is like a poor mans uncharted (in a way) the atmosphere
is very dreary and all the rubble you have to climb over , most to all
in B/W , the controls take about 3 minutes or so to get the hang of it ,
and the map to me is not quite clear , but I have not played a whole lot of the game yet , I started with the demo and in bout 5 minutes I said this is a keeper for $14.99 you can't go wrong ! it's quite an experience now
i'll have to figure out the supply source because you'll meet some shady characters along the way some just keeping to themselves and others looking to put the hurt on you ! to me it's just plain fun and unique and I really think the designers did purty darn good , buy it and enjoy , i'm sure you will if you just try the demo ...
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
Fun, Exciting, Feels like your the player
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
Peco
Location: West Seneca, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoyed the game soo far. It has a "I am Legend" feel with a mix of Uncharted as far as the climbing. I personally think the controls aren't that difficult if your an casual/hardcore gamer then the controls are a breeze. I love the fact that its a cheaper game but for only playing for like a good 90 mins, you definitely feel like u got ur money's worth. The BEST part so far is when facing enemies!!!! its like a real life situation....you have to decide quickly or they will decide ur fate for u. Be aware thou BULLETS ARE RARE!!! so use them wisely . Its a 3rd person game but when u use the gun it goes to 1st person. If your a gamer who only like 1st person then don't get this game bc if you play the game and face the elements of the land youll understand why its important to be in 3rd. I heard the game is a lil short thou but i'm still playing it and i really like it ALOT. I recommend it to anyone who like survival games and adventure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MrTriMurda
All Up in Your Gut U.S.A! ;)
 
Please wait while more information about MrTriMurda is loaded.
Additional information about MrTriMurda could not be loaded.
2nd Chance Worthy
Posted 3/13/12
I Have to admit when I 1st played the demo I was o.k with it,Got frustrated because I used my stamina running just learning the controls til I noticed my stamina went down and stood down,Moving forward I didn't care til I started climbing, sometimes a bit frustrating because when you climb your character can swing left when you need him to go right or climb and with stamina declining it put me at odds end. I fell twice and got frustrated,I put the remote down and said man this game sucks,they made it too ridiculous, After a moment I said I'm no quitter and I have one chance left so let me just do it with patience and then boom I climbed,before I reached the top I decided to press right and it went right, when I went to jump I did so right before I hit the gap and boom he jumped up,and I just made it to the top minus some stamina, but that was the 1st part before the sewer, moving forward I died twice with the old man with the gun til I actually paid attention and didn't try to rush through like other games and saw I couldn't beat him,I had to swallow my pride and keep it moving even after the old guy smack talked me,and then went further to see the actual game style of fighting and why it's best not to stay on 1st person shooter though you move slightly faster,cause I got shot by a old lady,later I killed her on my retry because I had a grudge to pay but was wounded and stood wounded til I got health,but the way I took out the other guys,one I snuck a machete passed his defense as he held a gun to my head and cut his throat,the next guy I smacked in the back of the head with the machete, how I got the machete was I held a gun to a guy who tried to rob me though I had no bullets he didn't know that and was scared,I commanded him to move back until he was at the edge of a hole and I kicked him down,which was pretty interesting,and a while later I held to guys at gun point and made them walk to that same hole and kicked one down,the 2nd guy wasn't so easy to drop and we struggled until I won and put the machete through his heart which was also pretty awesome. Now if that didn't do nothing for you,even spark your curiosity then your insane,top if off with great world graphics with a grayish appeal to add to the misery of what goes on and the fact you can help people and your looking for your wife and daughter which makes it have a meaning instead of meaningless wandering around and choices you can make on how to approach a situation it made me have a more sense of control and victory when I made my choice,I had to replay it and didn't die but my rating went up further and the fact that though short it seems worth the 15.00 bucks,I mean you can lose that money in the street and not care as much as losing 70.00 on a wack game or on something chancy. I feel it's worth a 2nd try if you didn't give it the proper chance,it testes your brain and smarts and survival as well as task handling so I understand why many would get aggravated,because many want easy games you can cheat code or god mode your way through which provides little brain thought,so when you actually have to think many get frustrated(hey,many are thinking it,I just have the Gaul to say what you feel) so it's worth a 2nd try or 1st and see how that takes you,sucks it's not for ps3 but I can live with the 360 version. check it out and review based on your experience not what the next person thinks and you might actually be eager to buy it like me now,just for the challenge. So get it if you can. ~T.R.I~
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
Scary, heartbreaking AND fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
ZombieMonkey
There are quite a few things that contribute to the success of this game (I'm talking about success as a great game, not success in the commercial sense. I have no idea if the game is selling well or not). For me the most important thing is the story telling. This well written tale is told very well. From the opening scene it will suck you in and hold your rapt attention until the credits roll. The game will wrestle the full gamut of emotions out of you. At times I experienced sadness, fear, rage, elation, dread, horror, loss, all of it. The game is atmospheric, I really like the design choices made. The controls took me some getting used to, but after about half an hour it clicked into place. I had no control issues once I got past the learning curve, so it pays to stick it out until you are used to the controls. I can't think of a reason not to highly recommend this game. It’s not perfect but it’s real close.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
The world has ended again!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
Surviver
Location: asheville, nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have only played the demo but I am definitely going to buy this game. An "event" has happened, I don't know where my family is and i must find them! There's not as much freedom as Ubi's other creation Assassins Creed, but it is labeled as an arcade game for only $14.99, so I think it is worth it. The gameplay is fun, and the stamina bar keeps you on your tose. You can't run and climb for hours without end which made the game a little more real life-like. try it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
All-around good game AND worth the $15 download!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
100Gunz
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When you combine graphics,gameplay,sound & story, this is a good game for only $15. I like the fact that you have to play skillfully on 'survivor' mode, with limited resources and retries. Makes you get your money's worth out the game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
'Shadow of the Colossus' meets 'The Road'
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/12
CharNobyl
Location: Princeton, NJ
There's no other game that delivers an experience like 'I Am Alive.' The closest would probably be 'Shadow of the Colossus,' because both feature lots of climbing while making use of a stamina bar and, more importantly, put players in control of a character in a world filled with things much bigger than they are.
I don't consider it a spoiler to say that you won't affect the world at large over the course of 'I Am Alive.' There was some sort of ecological apocalypse that covered most of the Earth in dust storms, and your experiences take place exclusively in a New York analogue called Haventon. The protagonist is an unnamed man searching for his wife and daughter. He begins his journey with a can of food, a bottle of water, some rope, and a pistol with no bullets. You will never have more than five bullets, and the vast majority of enemies you encounter only need one. The gun, in fact, will often be used to bluff enemies into surrendering or backing into environment hazards (cliffs, fires, etc). You acquire a machete fairly early on, making your combat options slightly more diverse. I'll describe a standard combat scenario by around midgame to illustrate the 'combat' of 'I Am Alive.'
If approached by, say five guys, and two of them have guns, they are your primary targets because they will *not* surrender, and you will die after anything more than a single bullet. As they approach, the protagonist naturally adopts a 'I'm not armed' stance, and usually one of the gunmen will be at the forefront. When he gets close enough, you can perform a quick-kill by clashing his throat with your machete, then draw your pistol and kill the other gunman.
From there, you keep your gun drawn and pointed at the remaining three. Ammo conservation is key, so even if you have three bullets, you don't want to just shoot them. Instead, you listen, switching your aim between the three to keep them scared as they try to talk you down. One of them is a bit more confident than the others. He has his hands up, sure, but he's trying to convince his cohorts that you probably don't have any more bullets.
If you have one bullet left, kill him with it. His death will prompt the other two to surrender (getting on their knees and dropping their weapons), and you won't need to kill two of them before that surrender is even on the table.
Bullets have other uses, too. Occasionally you'll find gates padlocked shut, and the contents of the room beyond it being a mystery. These rooms are entirely optional, mind you, but from a meta-game perspective, if you have a spare bullet, you should ALWAYS shoot the lock and loot the interior. Sometimes you'll even find a gun inside, meaning you're getting the other stuff there for free.
But frankly, the climbing is more combat-like than anything else. The environment is your biggest enemy in this setting. There are no zombies or monsters as a result of this apocalypse: just a suffocating cloud of dust that drains your stamina quickly as you walk through it (though you get a gas-mask later that helps a ton). To navigate around it, you'll need to climb. Climbing drains your stamina, just like in SotC, but you have items that can restore small amounts of stamina in your pack, as well as climbing spikes you can deploy once to provide a point that you can hang onto and regain stamina.
The only really annoying part of climbing is the music. When you get low on stamina, the music starts to get more tense, and after a while, it gets really annoying. Most story-related buildings and such that you need to climb will trigger this music multiple times no matter what route you take, and it gets rather grating.
I compared 'I Am Alive' to 'The Road' for a reason. The atmosphere of this game is...well, it's just amazing. Your journey takes you from repurposed malls and metro stations to subway tunnels and hotels. And like 'The Road,' your journey isn't about solving the problems of the apocalypse: it's about a hero who isn't in any place to do anything heroic. Anything you do to help the NPCs you run across (providing food/water/medicine or helping them out of rubble) is by your own volition. They're small acts of kindness that won't reward you (usually) with anything more than some additional information about the apocalypse itself. You won't find some military bastion hoarding supplies for the societal elite. You won't find a shadowy government conspiracy behind the disaster. You won't even find some sort of bandit-kingdom to topple and free the land, devastated though it is, from tyranny.
You'll find a man who wants nothing more than to find the two people who mean the most to him. The storyline might feature him helping another small group, but the emphasis is on the small kindnesses in a harsh world making a difference.
And for a game that has such strong ties to 'The Road,' that's enough.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
hardest game ever
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
xxchrisxx909
Location: californa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is the hardest game i ever played because you have to climb alot of buildings and other courses its very hard but the action of killing the ai is pretty fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
Very Surprising
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
dl740
Location: Ohio
When I first downloaded I am Alive, I was skeptical. It was an independent game, and had a very low price. It blew me away, with just the first few minutes of gameplay. The graphics were incredible, the gameplay was realistic, and the concept was genius. The literal cliffhanging, and confrontations with dangerous thugs will alone give you chills. At certain points, It felt as though I was playing Silent Hill, because of the dusty environment, and walking the deserted streets. not knowing who or what is waiting for you. This game will blow your mind. If you want a taste, just download the free trial from Xbox's Game Marketplace.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
I just love it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
kongking48071
Location: Warren, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i like the realism, like how you can point your gun at someone with no ammo and they act like you do. But, the graphics are just a little off. Last, you should make it either 1st or 3rd person, not both, I would prefer 1st person.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for I Am Alive - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
Addicting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
falloutpro6
I loved this game! It was tough! at times i felt like i just couldnt do it, but it was soooo gripping that i couldnt stop playing it!!!!!!!!! i would definetly recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10