GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Secret World

The Secret World is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game. Hidden within our own modern-day world is a secret world. A world where every myth, legend, and conspiracy is true. Dark days are coming. Everything is true.
Average Customer Rating:
8.1
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Secret World
Review 1 for The Secret World
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/12
Alej
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had been waiting for this game for quite some time. Basically to know what it would be like. The secret society appealed to me and I've liked Funcom games for the most part. I played the 3 day trial and I immediately had to buy it. It was awesome. The limitations on character building seem to not exist due to the incredible flexibility of ability and skill points. The graphics and stories are great. I had read a review that your character didn't participate in the cinematics of missions, I thought it would bother me at first but doesn't seem that way. The mission types are varied and interesting, some require to just go kill a number of this and that but others, require you to do some research, which can lead you to actual websites. Overall I would totally recommend this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Secret World
Outstanding!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
Arashikage
Location: Crestview, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Please IGNORE any review of a "1" as the user has obviously never played the game. Purposefully deflating the score of an otherwise innovative game is shameful at best and childish at worst. Funcom/EA has HATERS from the Console and PvP communities who will pan a game just because it is made by Funcom and not released on PS3 or XBOX 360. The game is definitely NOT for kids. As is typical for a FUNCOM game, the Graphics and Music/Sound Effects are AWESOME! I went ahead and bought the Soundtracks for AoC, RoTG, and TSW, because the Music is Perfect for the respective games. It is rated Mature for Violence, Gore, and some topless demons and monsters. We are now two months after the launch of the game, and there are two new content releases. There have been servers added to the core release, and there are NO signs of any reductions forthcoming. Gameplay and Controls are solid and intuitive with no bot harrassment. The Storyline was written by one of the masters in the industry and follows themes that would make H.P. Lovecraft and Stephen King proud. This is a game of Modern Horror that assumes that ALL of the Urban Legends are TRUE. There are SEVEN Mission-types, with the Story, Investigation, Dungeon, and Sabotage mission-types really shining. The others are Action, Item, and PvP. It is more enticing for a PvE player in the MMORPG community, and does have weaknesses on the PvP side that are being improved upon. With that being said, I have played through the largest three faction PvP zone (Fusang Projects), and it was ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE gameplay. More would be better, but I see it coming. I have spoken to others about the other two small PvP zones (Stonehenge and El Dorado), and though beautiful, something could be done to draw in more players. The first PvP RAIDs are due out in a couple weeks, and word has it that New York (Illuminati) will never be the same. I played in the Beta and have a Lifetime Membership, and I can vouch for the quality of this game. It was a solid launch, and a huge improvement over the launch of Age of Conan (which is also now greatly improved).
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Awesome Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Secret World
Amazingly different in so many ways...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
BloodSpawn
Location: U.S.A
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
NO levels,classes, or standard copy+paste mmo 'quests'. Ability to send reports to mission qivers from a cell phone instead of walking all the way back to them. Awesome art style and equisite graphics, complemented by near perfect sound effects and music. Must-buy for mmo player looking for something fresh and intuitive.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Secret World
Obvious Room for Improvement but it does deliver.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
Burgh
Location: Pittsburgh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The early reviews of this game made me almost not buy it. To be honest, I wasn't there at launch so I can't confirm or deny the bugs that were there and are not now. However, there's some glitchiness in the game that can get a little frustrating at times, but from what I've experienced, it's easy to overlook once you're immersed into the environment that FunCom has created. I've always been a big follower of the lore of the Illuminati, Knights Templar, and the hundreds of other secret societies... so perhaps its a bit biased, but imo, anyone can find themselves enthralled in the storyline of this game. Unlike WoW and other MMO's this game really pulls you into the story and history. Rather than grabbing 25 quests and grinding them out, you listen to stories of characters, do research on the net, and interact with hundreds of other things. This makes the questing in this game really colorful and enjoyable. It doesnt feel like a grind at all, it feels like discovery. In the first few hours of this game, you'll find yourself scared out of your mind in some dark (i mean pitch black) abandoned parking garage filled with creatures. The ominous feeling is greatly increased by the game's excellent music and SFX. The horror factor of this game really leaves you stunned. That is the good part. The not so good (not bad but could be better) is the floaty character movement, and the combat features. Overall, a 1 on 1 or 1 on many is pretty intense as far as animations, and strategy, but there's a strange feel to it. Almost like its a little too much movement. The controls can be a little glitchy from time to time, if you find yourself a little punchy with the keys you can end up doing all sorts of things you dont want to do, but this to me isn't a big deal. I haven't delved too much into PvP, but from what I hear there's a lot of mixed opinion about it, its unfortunate to not see any sort of open world PvP, but I imagine with a lot of characters in places and 3 different factions, questing would be pretty chaotic. Overall I think this is an excellent foundation to something lasting for people that want to get away from the old and overused concept of killing a dragon to get a sword that kills a different dragon that drops another sword and so on. Its not polished up to 100 percent yet, but with frequent patches and hotfixes, this game could really be a diamond in the rough. I honestly hope it sticks.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Secret World
Typical mmo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
Persona
Location: Mesa AZ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
There is nothing lasting about this game. Factions which they make a big deal about don't matter at all. Chacter creation is horrible. And so called great combat is very bland. It is a typical mmo with no lasting features, constant grinding and no real feel like your doing anything important.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Secret World
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
ebook
Location: Grim
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game, I played beta and the game have improved alot since then .
Think the lore and storys is what I feel is best with the secret world.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Secret World
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
legend12
Location: omega 4 relay
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is so much fun. There are 3 factions to choose from: The Illuminati, the Templars or the Dragons. The character custimization is great and best of there are no classes so you can be whatever you want
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Secret World
Awesomeness!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
thereviewmann
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is something new. It is finally making strides and taking the mmo world from fantasy to real life. The gameplay is crisp and this game is very fun to play with others. One thing though, I can see it going to a free to play soon, so you may want to wait a bit.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Secret World
Unique.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
sklurb
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I hate PvE but I LOVE it in this game.
Theme is very "HP Lovecraft / Stephen King"
Very, very well designed skill system with compelling story by the renowned Ragnar Tornquist from the Longest Journey.
I have been playing MMO's since 1998's Ultima Online including WoW, SWG, SWToR, DAoC, AC, EQ, AO, Neocron, Aion, Warhammer Online, and TSW is a seriously refreshing change from the fantasy theme that MMO's can't seem to get out of. TSW takes placed in basically an altered earth during modern times.
Skill system is very 'sandboxy' and gameplay is extremely fun. Graphics may tax your system, but plenty of video options to tweak for your machine.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Secret World
Another rinse and repeat mmo! BUYER BEWARE
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Badlarry
Location: Lakewood, Washington
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Basically the game has a great combat system, decent graphics good sound FX. But in reality there is NO competitive pvp at all.... you dont earn much from pvp except gear... nothing like arenas.... they really screwed up pvp in this one. Even AOC had much better pvp I dont know why they didnt take pvp from aoc and implement it into this game... and all of the zones are DUCT TAPED to each other by a major "city" called agartha and its really lame hard to find your way around it to get to the next zone. I have already obtained some of the best items in game by playing pvp casually. but its all the same act every day... only buy this game if your going to RP LOL. I dont do that stuff im 23 and have a life. You basically have to play some pretendo masters if you want to enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 38 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
eXcursion
alabama
 
Please wait while more information about eXcursion is loaded.
Additional information about eXcursion could not be loaded.
Less QQ more Pew PEw
Posted 7/9/12
people are complaining over bugs and lack of features to a game not even a month old. if you think you can do better in the same time frame then show me what you can do . other wise give the game time to mature and see what it can do down the road.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for The Secret World
Turned out great
Posted on:6/24/12
WiseCrusader
Location: Pittsburgh. PA
I just recently played the beta this weekend and honestly cant say I was expecting much going into it. My main focus has been Guild wars 2. But wow this game is just fantastic it's not gonna wow anyone in the first 60 minutes of play but does it build up very nicely. It's not so much the graphics that impress me as much as the actual level designs. The quests are actually really fun to play which is a huge plus since most quests in mmo's are boring and feel very repetitive. The dialogue is excellent and has a lot of humor added into it to be honest this game is very interesting from a story point of view.
Also combat is pretty good kinda reminds me of guild wars 2 a little bit to give you a example. However you don't switch weapons to bring up that weapons skills to use in secret world you just put the skills you wanna use on the bar and when you use it that weapon will automatically be used. So it's very seamless in it's transition between weapons. Keep in mind you can only slot 2 weapons at once though.
Pvp is a lot of fun too very nice warzones that never end and I can enter instantly in. Battlegrounds are larger battle that you need to sign up for but I never got around to trying those but I'm sure their fun too.
All and all a sleeper mmorpg on the market that is very good and fun to play check it out! I know I'm sold and its paid for in full.
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Secret World
Amazing game in Beta can't wait for release
Posted on:6/23/12
Maxk
Location: DC
I am glad this is going to be a non subscription based MMO :D the beta is amazing fully voice acted with a good narrative to it really enjoyable
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dizzie
Cali
 
Please wait while more information about Dizzie is loaded.
Additional information about Dizzie could not be loaded.
It is subscription based...
Posted 6/29/12
It is subscription Pay to play game. Monthly payments of 14.99 unless you buy the 200 dollar pack off their site, if you do that its free for life.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for The Secret World
THIS GAME IS AWESOME!
Posted on:6/22/12
InfamousD
Location: las vegas, nv
I have only played the Beta so far and it is awesome. Evolving system for growth instead of just getting skills at certain levels. You can completely customize how your character looks, and plays. You don't have tot stick to a standard tank, healer, dps "class" because there are no "classes" in this game. You can pick from about 9 different fighting styles and weapons, and then you can choose from evolutions from those weapons and skills. This game truly breaks the mold for MMO's . I would highly suggest this game to anyone interested in MMO's at all. ALso the game has great graphics, environments look outstanding, great voice acting, and music. I give it a 10/10 and its still in Beta!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Secret World
Awesome idea!!
Posted on:6/2/12
Neofox
Location: Brownsburg,IN
This game looks really cool and has a great concept but just to say it is not a good idea to release it right after Guild Wars 2!!! This mmo will die if it is released then. It will not launch good at all. Please for the sake of this game the makers need to push back the release date!!!
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Agamenmon
 
Please wait while more information about Agamenmon is loaded.
Additional information about Agamenmon could not be loaded.
Posted 6/6/12
Guildwars 2 will not be released until atleast sept. gamestop just has a date so people can pre-order
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for The Secret World
People forget the game they played is "BETA"
Posted on:5/30/12
Soulless27
Location: Florida
I love how all the people reviewing are saying the game is terrible when it is not out and only beta. In my opinion the game is good, yes it has bugs but it is after all beta. I have preordered and I will be keeping the preorder and will definitely be playing it at launch. I am by no means a fan boy but I have beta tested plenty of mmos to know that what you test is not the finished product nor is it the latest build that the devs are working on.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Secret World
Not your normal MMO
Posted on:5/23/12
LadyCelestine
If I were forced to summarize TSW succinctly it would be “this is not what you are used to in an MMO”. Do you kill things? Yes. Are you gifted with special powers? Sorta. Does spiffy gear drop off mobs? Yeppers. Do you grind out levels to see end game? Not even close. Are you locked into specific classes/builds? Definitely not.
There are no levels. You get points to buy abilities with, but you can change out skills at any time, or work on improving your skills with everything at once if you want! It's entirely up to you as the player. You get to choose 7 active and 7 passive skills out of hundreds of possible skills, in any combination you choose. Tank/heals/DPS no more! Wanna be a tank/healer? Then go for it!
For those talking about the bugs/glitches/graphics in beta.... well it's BETA. Not everything is enabled or released yet. And for those that think the questing is confusing.... IT'S SUPPOSED TO BE THAT WAY! You have to actually THINK to play this game, unlike WoW or Diablo. If you just want to kill things, go play Diablo. If you want a game that will challenge you to use your brain, then you want TSW!
TSW requires you to really pay attention to the clues in quests. Sometimes you have to search around for things, other times you have to actually use the internet for research. A lot of times it really helps to bounce things off other players, since different people figure out different pieces. You also don’t have the usual jam-packed quest log. There are 4 specific types of quests, indicated by icon and color-coding. You can have one of each of the main types of quest (action, sabotage and investigation) and up to 3 of the side quests at any point in time. Quests are chained (tiered) but if you need to drop a chain mid-quest you don’t cancel it, you pause it. You can pick it back up where you left off later. While it takes some getting used to, I found this style of questing really helped me follow the story better than having 30+ quests at once. (But again, you have to actually pay attention.) It’s also easier to piece together the clues because you’re not trying to follow multiple quest lines at once with tons of different clues.
The point is, TSW is all about solving puzzles. So I definitely don't recommend it for people that hate to think and just want to mindlessly smash buttons. I DO recommend it for anyone looking for something other than "more of the same old stuff".
 
My Product Recommendations
 
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RCognato
 
Please wait while more information about RCognato is loaded.
Additional information about RCognato could not be loaded.
Posted 6/25/12
I also liked how you have the ability to put "markers" or "Notes" on the main map to help you remember where you might have left a quest paused or to pick it up later, or even if you think something is interesting and want to go back and investigate it again.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for The Secret World
Worth a try
Posted on:5/21/12
TheSadPanda
Location: Charlotte, NC
The setting of this game is great, like nothing else ever created. The graphics and art style go well with the setting. They are far better than the Anime/Cartoonish graphics we've seen from MMOs of late. I'm not sure why anyone would compare this to Diablo 3, or even mention going back to Diablo 3 from the beta. They totally different types of games. Also, if you didn't see the story line then you clearly were not progressing through the main mission. I was upset that the beta didn't let you past the 8th mission, because now I won't know what happens for another month. This game is for adults with probably a higher than average IQ. If you find yourself unable to understand how to play, then a point and click like Diablo 3 is probably better suited for you anyway.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Secret World
"Don't Waste Your Time."
Posted on:5/19/12
SgtSmoke
Location: Raleigh, NC
Was looking forward to this game so I pre-ordered and played the beta. The game is terrible. I told myself, "Let me play it for one or two hours to see if maybe it'll grow on me." I was so disappointed. The game puts you in this weird world where nothing seems to make sense. The missions are glitchy and very random. They don't lead you to any kind of storyline. For example I had one mission where I talked to some lady with a crystal ball who was having nightmares about ravens. So I had to follow these ravens that spawned in various locations throughout a park. When they would land they would spawn an NPC that would pop out of a cloud of smoke and I would have to beat him to collect a feather. Then I had to place the feathers I collected, on the floor of a round fountain so that each one would be at the point of a 5 pointed star. Then the same NPC materialized and I took him out for the 6th time. Mission over and I collected my XP. By this time all I could think about was I cant wait until I get back to playing Diablo III. The controls of the game are similar to WOW or SWTOR, which isn't a bad thing. The graphics are terrible for a pc game. The story line is weird and meaningless. The abilities interface is confusing and difficult to understand. Hey I know it's a beta and I only played the game for about two hours but it was enough for me to loose interest. Overall I give it a 1 out of 5 stars. "Don't waste your time."
3 of 81 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
moe89
katy tx
 
Please wait while more information about moe89 is loaded.
Additional information about moe89 could not be loaded.
the secret world
Posted 5/23/12
the game looks great cant wait for it so all those people who complain that why they have things called updates makes the game better and also cant judge it when its in beta still.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for The Secret World
played the beta
Posted on:5/18/12
Vampevil
Location: San Antonio
I have played the beta and it is similar to the old republic combat wise..graphics were really good i have an hd7970 so everything was in ultra. few glitches in the beta but will get worked out in full release as when i did this one mission i got zapped and my guy disappeared. couldnt see him for the rest of the game would have to log out and log back in.But it was really fun and the solo instances were not filled with mjust kill these guys and your done it was more puzzles and thinking. it was pretty coll def going tobuy it.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Secret World
Look at their history
Posted on:4/19/12
Rynalan
Location: Dallas, TX
The best preview for this MMO is to look at the spectacular, overwhelming, successes of FunCom's previous MMO offerings:
Anarchy Online had the smoothest beta and launch ever. They were able to parley their successes to start the whole free-to-play MMO model years before anyone else ever dreamed of it.
Age of Conan was another masterful stroke of genius. The graphics were years ahead of their time, in terms of hardware required to run them. Additionally only FunCom had the foresight to imagine that their users would want to schedule pvp raids in limited time windows on a calendar days in advance, rather than group up and sack their enemies' towns on an impromptu basis.
Once again, it looks like FunCom is blazing a trail when it comes to MMO design, integrating features no one would ever have thought to ask for into a whole new MMO genre that nobody imagined they wanted.
5 of 38 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>