GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Last Story

The Last Story marks the reunion of two luminaries that helped shape the RPG genre; legendary creator Hironobu Sakaguchi, and internationally-recognized composer Nobuo Uematsu. Gorgeous pre-rendered cut-scenes help convey the full emotions of key story sequences in an epic tale of survival against the odds. The genre is also advanced with an innovative real-time combat system involving strategic party-based commands that include taking cover from enemy fire, destroying environments to gain a tactical advantage, and drawing fire away from your allies to give them time to cast powerful support spells. Once the battle system is mastered, players can test their skills online where co-op and versus mode for up to 6 players can net special rare items.
Average Customer Rating:
9.267
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
13
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3097%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Story
Review 1 for The Last Story
This game is a perfect game for all gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
LordAxel
Location: Hampton, Va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is good for people who like to play Gears of war Final Fantasy and The Legend of Zelda. It combines all these games in one to make a game that get you on the edge of your seat every step of the way.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for The Last Story
This game will amaze you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/13
Mythril323
Location: Lake Geneva, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game, can not put it down. The story isn't as corny as some RPG's, the music is incredible and the gameplay is (although different) immensely enjoyable. It takes some getting used to for sure, but a few hours in and you will get the hang of it. The only downfall this game has, and I believe the only reason why it isn't a huge game amongst RPG gamers, is the lack of spectacular graphics. If you can put that aside, this is the greatest RPG I've played since Tales of Symphonia. If you like any of these games, you will enjoy this game: Assassins Creed, Kingdom Hearts, Any Tales of game, Any Final Fantasy title.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for The Last Story
One of the best rpg's I've played in a long time
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
Bigalaz11
It's been quite a while since I enjoyed an rpg all the way through like I did this one. For the Wii the graphics are pretty good and it's just a blast in my opinion. It's not a perfect rpg, but it is very well done. Here are some thoughts:
Pro's:
- While not extremely deep or complex, the storyline is enjoyable
- Fantastic cast of characters around the main protagonist
- Very amusing with funny banter frequently
- Some adult themes occasionally which were pretty amusing
- Lots of little side things to do throughout town that continue to pop up throughout the game over time
- Battle system is original and fun
- Weapon upgrade system is fun and not too complex
- Quite a few optional story missions and dungeons
- New game +
Cons:
- Very linear game
- Not open world, you are pretty much stuck to the city the whole time.
- Other characters in the party, while fun and amusing, could use more back story
- Somewhat short for an rpg
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for The Last Story
Very Interesting and Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
GamingPrincess234
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game new and some say it's like final fantasy. I wouldn't know because I haven't played it but I do know that this game is great. I am a female hardcore gamer and a casual gamer so I'd say it is great for everyone all around. It gets you to actually talk to the game and the best part is after beating it you can play it online with other players
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for The Last Story
Addicting and attention grabbing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/13
Brinna202
Location: Crestview, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game on Friday after having been looking for it for months. I was so happy when it came to my local Game Stop. If you're a Final Fantasy or Kingdom Hearts fan, then you'll love the Last Story. Since I bought it, I've been playing it every chance I get; it's truly addicting.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for The Last Story
A beautiful piece
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/13
NeonWick
Location: California
This game is very beautiful. The landscapes and the details put into the scenery is captivating. The storyline is very amazing as well. Its a bit predictable but the story is very interesting. Another thing I liked was the customization. The player has the oppurtunity to change the style of the armor, as well as the color, to suit your fashion needs. You have to collect dye materials by defeating enemies. It was really fun collecting all the dye! The only thing I would say isn't that realistic, is the movements of some of the characters. Some of the characters don't move well. Another thing I saw was that there is a substantial lag between the free moving part of the game and the cut scene. Usually, the cut scene would start about 3 seconds after reaching the area or finishing a battle.
Overall, a 9. The graphics are good. The story is good, just the lag and the difficulty got me.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for The Last Story
Among the best games of this generation
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
Joostin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Even if you aren't an RPG fan, this game is amazing. The gamestyle is a mix between a classic RPG and Legend of Zelda. You control your character freely in real time (so it's not turn-based), but you can also tell the other characters to use certain attacks. If that's not your thing, then you can just let them fight on their own.
The story is amazing as well, perhaps one of the best I've come across. There is a love story (not completely original, but that doesn't diminish it), fighting, betrayal, political corruption, adventure, and a desire to uncover a deep secret hidden through time. There are a number of "SAY WHAT?!?!?!" moments in the game too.
I absolutely recommend this game to anyone who likes action and a good plot.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Story
great game, but very short
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
kushano
Location: Fontana CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great music, amazing game play, pretty decent story, the only that sucks? the length of this game. you feel thirsty after beating it and just wished they could have made it at least longer. aside from this its a great game and a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for The Last Story
Uniquely Brilliant
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/13
Goosestaphor
Location: lexington, sc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was hesitant when walking into gamestop to buy this game, but thought, "what the heck," and purchased my copy of The Last Story. I have been very grateful for my rash decision making ever since. This game offers a very involved story and aesthetically pleasing gameplay and fight sequences. The main character is granted abilities that allow you to think tactfully and help promote different fighting tactics. Even though the Wii's graphic capability is lacking when compared to other consoles, the producers of The Last Story were able to get past that stumbling block and deliver a beautiful game to us as a result. From the creators of Final Fantasy, The Last Story is a brilliant RPG you don't want to miss!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for The Last Story
Outstanding game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
AToMicZz
Location: Hyrule, Castle Town
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have both xenoblade chronicles and the last story (waiting for pandora's tower) and in my opinion i like the last story better. you dont have to wait long for the action to start and the story is one of the best in any video game, not being corny but the story is amazing especially the zael and calista scenes, you can really feel their emotions for each other(Stargazers Tower scene) you can customize their clothes and armor. the soundtrack is AWESOME! it really fits well with whatever part your in the game.. Hironobu Sakaguchi has done it again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for The Last Story
Great game, for some
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/13
victinifan
After about 4 hours I put the game down and... Never picked it up again.
Don't get me wrong, the graphics are beautiful, the gameplay gorgeous, the characters are well-designed.
Why then?
I think the problem is, if you're an RPG nut like myself, the game just doesn't feel unique enough... It was just kind of a been there done that feeling.
What's the difference, then, between a game like The Last Story and, say, Pokemon or Final fantasy where the core game mechanics change very little over time?
I think it's the aspect of a "hook", Pokemon has a collecting sort of "Gotta catch 'em all hook" and, in more recent titles, very unique plotline that serves to draw in older players very well. Final Fantasy, on the same note, has a beautiful plotline with relatable characters, and a unique storyline. The Last Story has a very RPG-esque plot that reminiscent to the style of stoyline that seems constant throughout the RPG genre.
I think the main difference between those games and The Last Story, however, is innovation. Pokemon, Final Fantasy, they all draw upon unique game mechanics that just work. The Last Story, while beautiful, felt like it has drawn on other RPGs for its influence rather than innovating the genre.
Graphically, The Last Story may be the Wii's best title: pushing the hardware to its limit. However, the overall playability of the game will leave many RPG dissatisfied.
Will I ever pick up the game again? Time will tell. But for now, unfortunately, it collects dust.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for The Last Story
One of the BEST games yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
LastOutsider
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off this and "Xenoblade chronicles" are amazing games that are defiantly the best WII games, and also one of the best games ever made. This game has a short story (not talking about quests). But it has an excellent one, filled with so many realistic, lovable yet funny but not cheesy characters. Even the villains, some of the villains you'll feel sorry for killing them during the fight or after when you understand their story. I hated one of the villains until when i fought him he turned mental and talked about stuff during the fight, i really feel bad for them. Also their are many plot twists. The music is amazing especially during 1v1 fights. The Graphics are great! especially for the WII. The Gameplay is something i haven't played before, the gameplay is the really special things in this games. Every mission you'll find yourself using different tactics some which help make the mission easier using stealh, intelligence, or just not having a tactic at all (my favorite). Long Story short BUY THIS GAME, you won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Story
If you see this game buy it don't think twice just
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/12
coolranch
Location: apopka,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is one you don't want to miss beacuse if you do you'll regret it this game is amazing and personally better than eny nintendo game on the wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Last Story
An Amazing RPG, the perfect swan song for the Wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/12
BlackSunInferno
Okay, before I get heavy into things, I just want to point out why my gameplay and graphics scores are 9s. For me, these would have both been 10s if not for one factor. This game pushes the Wii so hard that, during heavy combat sequences and a few of the CG videos during the game, there would be a frame rate drop. The game is still very much playable and this is not a game-breaking problem, but it does happen enough be a bit cumbersome. However, that may simply be due to the fact that my Wii is 6 years old and it's too worn out to keep up with the game. That being said, this game is fantastic. The bulk of this game, what you're really buying it for, is the story. The story is great. Avoiding as many spoilers as I can, you have romance, a dark history, a dream, and a long battle to achieve that dream. Some of the story elements may play into gaming cliches, but they do a fantastic job at it and the story comes through almost if not flawlessly. The battles are fun too. There are auto-attack and manual attack options, depending on preference. The initial setting is auto-attacking. As you play you will gain new combat abilities for yourself as well as your allies, as well as a function to direct commands to your team to tell each of the characters what to do next. As well, you have access to most of your own techniques without needing to access them through the command function, though at a cost of the command energy build-up. This plays a vital role in keeping you from simply spamming your move along with other commands, and also allows you to be able to use the technique when you most need it, balancing the battles quite well. Aside from this, there is also upgrade-able equipment, that not only gets improved with each upgrade, but visually changes with each upgrade as well. An example of this would be a new piece of armor attached to your arm when you upgrade your suit. You also are able to change the colors of your equipment, there are an assortment of dyes and options for that. On to graphics. This game is visually stunning. Taking the time to just look at the detail in the game and the beauty in the world that was created is well worth it. It truly is one of the best looking games on the Wii, and arguably the best, given art-style preference. The world really comes to life. Especially during the CG animated sequences, you can really see the emotion in the characters faces and it does a fabulous job of taking you into the world. The music in this game is beautiful and generally quite fitting the mood. Getting caught up in the gameplay so much that the music sometimes may seem to go by unnoticed due to all of the visual and gameplay candy you're receiving is not to say that the music isn't fantastic. The game would simply not be the same without it. The music really brings this amazing game to the next level, so I highly recommend you do a better job than me at taking notice of this, cause it really is just that good. The voice acting is good. I'm not gonna lie, I mainly play handheld games or Zelda, so I don't have too many things to compare it to, but the voices synced up with the mouth motions well and the characters are all assortments of british accents, and seem to fit with the game very well. This game has a varied amount of time to play through the story mode, depending on how you play. Going around to explore the world and taking the time to face the arena over and over again to make money will probably bring you closer to 30 hours, though 20 seems to be a good estimate. This isn't to say that this is all the game has, though. After the initial play through, the arena is still open for business and a second play through with additional weapon and armor upgrades, as well as tougher bosses and large enemies (though sadly not the smaller troops), make for a lasting game, enabling you to get every weapon upgrade and seeing the characters in their ultimate gear, set to your liking, as well as getting to enjoy the story all over again. Beyond this, the game has an online multiplayer mode for basically deathmatches or co-op boss battles. With all this in a single package, this makes The Last Story the perfect game for the Wii to go out on. Now I will say this, this is a game for RPG fans, who like real-time strategy battles. If you don't like RPGs or the real-time battles then this is not the game for you. But if this sounds remotely interesting, I highly recommend this. This is my favorite game of this generation. If you're interested in this, I recommend you pick it up. Or even gamefly it and then pick it up if you like it. And if you really want to support this genre, I recommend picking up a new copy, because this game has not had chart topping sales, despite how good it is and it really deserves them. Every purchase also improves our chances of seeing another game like this. Well I hope you guys liked my review and game on!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for The Last Story
This game is a must buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/12
007dogsmail
I just finish the game and it has a great story, graphs, music, etc. After I finish Xenoblade. I needed to get a game to help past the day when I got home from school and this was the game to get. This game is easy to understand but hard to master. This is a must buy!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Monster Hunter Tri
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Last Story
Worth Buying
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
Goron1978
Location: San Diego, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After playing Xenoblade and passing it, I needed a new game to play. So when I heard The Last Story was coming to the US I told myself "this is it" and I don't reget it at all. The game play, graphics and story line is awesome. I also loved how easy the control were done. The music was a huge factor of the game and was happy I got the CD for the games music. All I have to say is that if your into RPG games you need to get this game and play it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Last Story
A Beautiful and Breathtaking RPG from Mistwalker
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
StokedRider
The Last Story has finally hit the United States and I couldn't be happier. From people who worked on most notably Final Fantasy and Lost Odyssey, The Last Story is their next JRPG and first exclusive on the Wii. Regardless of the Wii's technical prowess, The Last Story does a lot more to advance JRPGs than the competition on HD platforms. It's a beautiful and stunning JRPG with some western design influences that brings the genre into 2012. Personally, I feel it's a better game than Xenoblade Chronicles, which I felt went on for way too long and the quests weren't unique or interesting enough. In addition to getting this magnificent game, you also receive an outer cardboard box that houses the game, an art book, and early buyers also receive a soundtrack. It's a gorgeous package.
Graphics - This is a Wii game, so you'd assume it won't quite match games on the HD systems, which you'd be right about in some cases, but this is a gorgeous game. Characters look great and their faces animate with emotion. The environments are meticulously detailed with good looking water, beautiful architecture, etc.
Story - The story of The Last Story is beautifully crafted. Unlike many other JRPGs with voice acting and character designs that can be somewhat grating on the nerves, The Last Story feels more mature in both areas. The voice acting is fantastic and very British, while the characters all look unique and are wonderfully designed. For example, Syrenne, who likes to drink and has pretty much no manners, is a nice change of pace for a JRPG.
Soundtrack - It's so finely crafted. As you'd expect from Noduo Uematsu, The Last Story soundtrack is lovely.
Gameplay - Maintaining most elements that make a JRPG, The Last Story adds in western influence, which benefits the game and makes it feel like an evolution for the genre. Combining a cover system with combat that you're accustomed to, The Last Story is a real treat to play. Using the cover system, you go into cover and you can pop out from cover to use ranged attacks, then you can leap over cover and use sword-focused melee combat. It all feels very seamless and fluid. While were on the topic of this game's combat, make sure you go to the options menu and change the combat style to 'Manual'.
Online Deathmatch & Co-op - Somewhat strange for a game of its kind, The Last Story features network play via a 'Deathmatch' mode that has you fighting up to 6 people online, while the 'Co-op' mode allows you to join with them to defeat a boss. While the single player portion is the meat & potatoes of The Last Story, it's a nice little addition to have some online play thrown into the mix. From my experience, the online parts ran fine for me and lag-free.
The Last Story is a beautiful title that defines a new era of JRPGs. Bringing together gameplay mechanics from the East and West, this game can appeal to just about anyone who likes a good RPG. Let's hope this truly isn't the last story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Last Story
The last story
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
Snowburnt
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Awsome game. The battle system takes time to get use to, but it grows on you. Loved the story line. The sound rocked, as did the graghics. I am hopeing my wife gives 'The last story" a play though. I am sure she will get hooked like I did.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for The Last Story
Renewed Interest In Japanese RPG's
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/12
Buswaxer4LIFE
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I left another review earlier but after I beat it I would say I have a deeper understanding and appreciation for this amazing title. So everyone, ignore my other review. The graphics are amazing for the Wii although some of the textures are a little grainy. The story, although very cliche at times was enveloping and engaging. The characters are very likable and well developed. The gameplay shines in this game. The combat is very satisfying and avoids button mashing by eliminating the need for an attack button! The the strategy and the action mix well together in order to form some amazing and bizarre STRACTION game or something. The music in the game of course is phenomenal being composed by Nobuo Uematsu. The voice acting is surprisingly strong for a JRPG which usually have the worst voice acting possible. Over all this was an amazing game that I would highly recommend. And even though the multiplayer seems like it would just be a cheap gimmick attached on, it is actually very fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for The Last Story
Not just One Story
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/12
Kyhunsheo
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has its flaws obviously but what I feel that the game excels in is building an adventure for the mercenaries. The battle system is okay, I was hoping for it to be more like Crisis Core or Kingdom Hearts but it's just not up to where I was hoping for it to be. I'd definitely recommend using a Classic Controller (Pro). The sidequests are amazing! There is so much to do in the city itself that I've spent at least 2 hours doing random quests for the citizens and there are still more to go. The music by Nobuo Uematsu is amazing and I always look forward to games with his contribution. I'll say this, the concepts in the game are great and innovative but I was hoping for these ideas to be made a little better. The battle system is probably the most important "fun" factor for gamers but I enjoy games that focus a lot on characters and the story. The story does seem a little clichè. I love how the characters are always arguing with each other during fights because it lightens the mood when fighting. I think this game pushes the love story a little too fast for my taste. The game can really make a person feel like the player is with the group and you just want to join their adventures. If you get my drift here then what I am mainly trying to say is that for what the game lacks in gameplay it makes up for having a nice group adventure.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>