GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Last Story

The Last Story marks the reunion of two luminaries that helped shape the RPG genre; legendary creator Hironobu Sakaguchi, and internationally-recognized composer Nobuo Uematsu. Gorgeous pre-rendered cut-scenes help convey the full emotions of key story sequences in an epic tale of survival against the odds. The genre is also advanced with an innovative real-time combat system involving strategic party-based commands that include taking cover from enemy fire, destroying environments to gain a tactical advantage, and drawing fire away from your allies to give them time to cast powerful support spells. Once the battle system is mastered, players can test their skills online where co-op and versus mode for up to 6 players can net special rare items.
Average Customer Rating:
9.29
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
13
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3197%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Story
Review 1 for The Last Story
From Final Fantasy creator!
Posted on:2/28/12
Koohii2wii
Location: Canada
So excited for The Last Story!
Thank you to Operation Rainfall and XSeed games!
If you have not yet go preorder Xenoblade Chronicles!
One more game Pandora's Tower!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
The Last Story
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Story
Among the best games of this generation
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
Joostin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Even if you aren't an RPG fan, this game is amazing. The gamestyle is a mix between a classic RPG and Legend of Zelda. You control your character freely in real time (so it's not turn-based), but you can also tell the other characters to use certain attacks. If that's not your thing, then you can just let them fight on their own.
The story is amazing as well, perhaps one of the best I've come across. There is a love story (not completely original, but that doesn't diminish it), fighting, betrayal, political corruption, adventure, and a desire to uncover a deep secret hidden through time. There are a number of "SAY WHAT?!?!?!" moments in the game too.
I absolutely recommend this game to anyone who likes action and a good plot.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Story
The Last Story Wii
Posted on:3/22/12
Koohii2wii
Location: Canada
A trailer made by Hironobu Sakaguchi himself!
Preorder now!
The Last Story comes out in Jun, 2012
If you havent yet you should also preorder Xenoblade!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
The Last Story
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Story
Great game
Posted on:3/22/12
Ryudo
I imported both Xenoblade & The Last Story. Amazing games. Plan to support the US version as well.
I hope we get a LE similar to Pal.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
I'm an idiot
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Story
This game is a perfect game for all gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
LordAxel
Location: Hampton, Va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is good for people who like to play Gears of war Final Fantasy and The Legend of Zelda. It combines all these games in one to make a game that get you on the edge of your seat every step of the way.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for The Last Story
The Wii is really going out with a bang.
Posted on:7/27/12
Dougasm
Location: Melbourne, FL
This game has had it's release date pushed back more times than I care to admit but that's making me want it that much more. However, XSeed has officially announced the release date on their main website so I doubt it will be pushed back any further. The last release date before pushing it to August was set on the same day as Kingdom Hearts 3D. Kingdom Hearts is one of my all time favorite series and even dropped the extra cash for the Mark of Mastery edition and yet I was still holding more anticipation for The Last Story than Kingdom Hearts. However, I did notice something that Game Stop forgot to mention about this game on their webpage. Aside from the soundtrack you get from pre-ordering, XSeed is distributing all first print copies of The Last Story in a special box bundled with a 40 page soft cover art book. It's basically meant to reward everyone who bought the game at launch. I'm not sure why Game Stop didn't mention that considering it would help push up pre-order sales. So by pre-ordering it, you're getting a special edition of the game for no extra cost.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sharkbyte
Tyler,Tx
 
Please wait while more information about Sharkbyte is loaded.
Additional information about Sharkbyte could not be loaded.
sorry kelth they were wrong
Posted 8/9/12
You may have contacted gamestop but the person you talked to had no idea what they are talking about. ALL first edition copies come with the art book regardless of retailer as said on the XSEED website, and believe me they know more about the game than the people who work at gamestop.
Customer Avatar
Kelth
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Kelth is loaded.
Additional information about Kelth could not be loaded.
The Last Story Preorder
Posted 8/6/12
Just got done contacting GameStop the only preorder bonus they are offering is the CD. NOT THE ART BOOK! If you have a preorder or are thinking about preordering realize that the art book is not included and make different arrangements if necessary. The game looks fantastic and my body is ready to play.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for The Last Story
Just Finished - All Time Favorite RPG
Posted on:7/13/12
Vaporkat
Location: Denver, CO
I got my hands on a copy of the European release a few weeks ago and I've been playing it nonstop since.. After being a tiny bit let down with some features of Xenoblade, I wasn't totally sure if I would enjoy this game as much as I wanted to. Boy was I WRONG! This is absolutely, positively the greatest RPG I've ever played. I have to rank it above all the Final Fantasy games even, which I am a huge fan of as well. The characters are perfect, the battle system is perfect (using the classic controller at least, I didn't try the nunchuk controls) and the graphics are simply stunning, especially for the Wii. The multiplayer mode is really fun too, and there are lots of "auras" you can get from battling online that will enhance your characters. :D I'm about to begin my second playthrough (it lets you keep your stats and playtime for this) and I cannot wait for the newly announced soundtrack along with the artbook for when I get my U.S. copy. I was blown away by The Last Story, hope you lot are too! We've got an instant classic here =] ps.. be sure to get the invisible dye in your sidequests xD
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Story
I Go Where Hironobu Sakaguchi Goes
Posted on:7/14/12
WiseCrusader
Location: Pittsburgh. PA
This preview goes out to all my brothers who love a great Japanese rpg and Sakaguichi is the best their ever was and the best their ever will be. I supported his work on the older Final Fantasy's, the best Final Fantasy games I might add. Square Enix lost their star quarter back and it shows more and more anymore. But this post isn't about them this is about the greatest developer that ever lived.
I played and loved Lost Odyssey it was so refreshing to play a game that felt so original Final Fantasy to me. And I expect no less from the last story the man just breathes quality games. I ask everyone to support him and Mistwalker this game almost didn't make it too us in North America. Lets make sure such a idea never crosses their minds again...Lets make sure the father of Final Fantasy keeps making us awesome games with great stories.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Story
Renewed Interest In Japanese RPG's
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/12
Buswaxer4LIFE
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I left another review earlier but after I beat it I would say I have a deeper understanding and appreciation for this amazing title. So everyone, ignore my other review. The graphics are amazing for the Wii although some of the textures are a little grainy. The story, although very cliche at times was enveloping and engaging. The characters are very likable and well developed. The gameplay shines in this game. The combat is very satisfying and avoids button mashing by eliminating the need for an attack button! The the strategy and the action mix well together in order to form some amazing and bizarre STRACTION game or something. The music in the game of course is phenomenal being composed by Nobuo Uematsu. The voice acting is surprisingly strong for a JRPG which usually have the worst voice acting possible. Over all this was an amazing game that I would highly recommend. And even though the multiplayer seems like it would just be a cheap gimmick attached on, it is actually very fun!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
9.3 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for The Last Story
One More Day to Wait?
Posted on:8/13/12
Dashadow22
Location: Nebraska
I just called a few of my local Gamestop stores and they all told me that this game ships 8-14 (Tuesday) but wont be available for pickup til 8-15 (Wednesday). I was excited because they are having a midnight event for Darksiders 2 and was hoping to pick up both, guess not. Hopefully this will save some of you a trip.Thanks!
34 of 36 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
WiseCrusader
Pittsburgh. PA
 
Please wait while more information about WiseCrusader is loaded.
Additional information about WiseCrusader could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 8/15/12
They just told me today it wont be till Friday it sucks but oh well.
Customer Avatar
cursexmark
 
Please wait while more information about cursexmark is loaded.
Additional information about cursexmark could not be loaded.
Same here..
Posted 8/15/12
Was super psyched for a possible midnight push but alas, nothing. Hopefully they get their shipment in (somewhere between 10am-1pm) because I'm not wasting a second :)
Customer Avatar
rpgz
 
Please wait while more information about rpgz is loaded.
Additional information about rpgz could not be loaded.
Posted 8/14/12
I was wondering..because I ordered mine online and it still has not shipped O.o
Customer Avatar
ChiChiRocket
Iowa
 
Please wait while more information about ChiChiRocket is loaded.
Additional information about ChiChiRocket could not be loaded.
Posted 8/14/12
I wish I'd seen this before heading over today. Who ever heard of a Wednesday release?
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 11 for The Last Story
Operation Rainfall Wins
Posted on:4/5/12
Glitchy000
Location: Woodland, CA
I was long convinced that Operation Rainfall (a movement to get Xenoblade, Last Story, and Pandora's Tower localized) was going to turn out to be a failure. I sent NOA letter after letter with not anything more than, "Thanks, but we can't say anything".
So when I heard Xenoblade Chronicles was going to be localized in the UK, I snatched it up from there. AMAZING GAME. Of the best games ever, definitely better than anything PS3, 360, or even other Wii games (and I play everything!)
Anyway, I digress, this is Phase 2 of Operation Rainfall's success and I will whole-heartedly give Nintendo the money they deserve for these great titles. Perhaps making them JP-only for a while was just a great sales ploy to drive up demand... In any case, I want this game. You do too.
(PS Sorry, Gamestop. I already preordered Pandora's Tower CE from England because it comes with a steel case, art book, and the snazzy black box that "mature" Wii games get in Japan, but I promise to get Last Story [and Xenoblade again] in the proper NTSC format.)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Last Story
Some more details for this great game.
Posted on:8/14/12
FreeRPGer
Location: Troy, NY
ONE: A pre-order detail wasn't mentioned. When you pre-order this, you not only get a soundtrack, but XSeed is distributing all first print copies of The Last Story in a special box bundled with a 40 page soft cover art book. It's basically a reward for everyone who bought the game at launch. I'm not sure why this wasn't mentioned. So, by pre-ordering it, you're getting a special Limited Edition of the game for no extra cost. TWO: The game is shipping from XSEED 8/14/12, not being released. Three : Published by XSEED, & developed by Sakaguchi's Mistwalker.
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Story
One of the BEST games yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
LastOutsider
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off this and "Xenoblade chronicles" are amazing games that are defiantly the best WII games, and also one of the best games ever made. This game has a short story (not talking about quests). But it has an excellent one, filled with so many realistic, lovable yet funny but not cheesy characters. Even the villains, some of the villains you'll feel sorry for killing them during the fight or after when you understand their story. I hated one of the villains until when i fought him he turned mental and talked about stuff during the fight, i really feel bad for them. Also their are many plot twists. The music is amazing especially during 1v1 fights. The Graphics are great! especially for the WII. The Gameplay is something i haven't played before, the gameplay is the really special things in this games. Every mission you'll find yourself using different tactics some which help make the mission easier using stealh, intelligence, or just not having a tactic at all (my favorite). Long Story short BUY THIS GAME, you won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Last Story
One of the best rpg's I've played in a long time
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
Bigalaz11
It's been quite a while since I enjoyed an rpg all the way through like I did this one. For the Wii the graphics are pretty good and it's just a blast in my opinion. It's not a perfect rpg, but it is very well done. Here are some thoughts:
Pro's:
- While not extremely deep or complex, the storyline is enjoyable
- Fantastic cast of characters around the main protagonist
- Very amusing with funny banter frequently
- Some adult themes occasionally which were pretty amusing
- Lots of little side things to do throughout town that continue to pop up throughout the game over time
- Battle system is original and fun
- Weapon upgrade system is fun and not too complex
- Quite a few optional story missions and dungeons
- New game +
Cons:
- Very linear game
- Not open world, you are pretty much stuck to the city the whole time.
- Other characters in the party, while fun and amusing, could use more back story
- Somewhat short for an rpg
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for The Last Story
Thank-You Operation Rainfall!
Posted on:2/25/12
Flarez
Location: Wisconsin
I am sure that if it weren't for the efforts through Operation Rainfall, this game would never be releasing here in America! I am so psyched to get this game as well as Xenoblade Chronicles. Still hoping we can get Pandora's Tower over here as well!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Last Story
A Beautiful and Breathtaking RPG from Mistwalker
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
StokedRider
The Last Story has finally hit the United States and I couldn't be happier. From people who worked on most notably Final Fantasy and Lost Odyssey, The Last Story is their next JRPG and first exclusive on the Wii. Regardless of the Wii's technical prowess, The Last Story does a lot more to advance JRPGs than the competition on HD platforms. It's a beautiful and stunning JRPG with some western design influences that brings the genre into 2012. Personally, I feel it's a better game than Xenoblade Chronicles, which I felt went on for way too long and the quests weren't unique or interesting enough. In addition to getting this magnificent game, you also receive an outer cardboard box that houses the game, an art book, and early buyers also receive a soundtrack. It's a gorgeous package.
Graphics - This is a Wii game, so you'd assume it won't quite match games on the HD systems, which you'd be right about in some cases, but this is a gorgeous game. Characters look great and their faces animate with emotion. The environments are meticulously detailed with good looking water, beautiful architecture, etc.
Story - The story of The Last Story is beautifully crafted. Unlike many other JRPGs with voice acting and character designs that can be somewhat grating on the nerves, The Last Story feels more mature in both areas. The voice acting is fantastic and very British, while the characters all look unique and are wonderfully designed. For example, Syrenne, who likes to drink and has pretty much no manners, is a nice change of pace for a JRPG.
Soundtrack - It's so finely crafted. As you'd expect from Noduo Uematsu, The Last Story soundtrack is lovely.
Gameplay - Maintaining most elements that make a JRPG, The Last Story adds in western influence, which benefits the game and makes it feel like an evolution for the genre. Combining a cover system with combat that you're accustomed to, The Last Story is a real treat to play. Using the cover system, you go into cover and you can pop out from cover to use ranged attacks, then you can leap over cover and use sword-focused melee combat. It all feels very seamless and fluid. While were on the topic of this game's combat, make sure you go to the options menu and change the combat style to 'Manual'.
Online Deathmatch & Co-op - Somewhat strange for a game of its kind, The Last Story features network play via a 'Deathmatch' mode that has you fighting up to 6 people online, while the 'Co-op' mode allows you to join with them to defeat a boss. While the single player portion is the meat & potatoes of The Last Story, it's a nice little addition to have some online play thrown into the mix. From my experience, the online parts ran fine for me and lag-free.
The Last Story is a beautiful title that defines a new era of JRPGs. Bringing together gameplay mechanics from the East and West, this game can appeal to just about anyone who likes a good RPG. Let's hope this truly isn't the last story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Last Story
I think....
Posted on:7/2/12
Skalentoman7
Location: puerto rico
I'm really hype for this game and i,m hoping that the reason for the delay is that there gonna give the US version something special for now i found a post on facebook official page. That said if you picked up the game on the first day ov release you get a art book.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 Official Strategy Guide
5 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Last Story
Going to be amazing
Posted on:7/4/12
skywardsword96
I can't wait for this game to come out any longer,I hope the release date they have is final because they have been changing it a lot.It will certainly be worth the wait though and I think,from what I have heard,pandora's tower might be out for pre-order after this hits selves.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Last Story
One of the few good Wii games out there.
Posted on:2/25/12
Dragoon
Location: TX
So many reasons to get this game:
-It will be some sort of limited edition. Like Xenoblade Chronicles (Also for the Wii), it will only be sold at Gamestop. If you don't preorder it, your chances of finding one at any story in the nearby future, and in good condition, will be slim.
Gameplay wise:
-It was made by the creator of the original Final Fantasy games.
-Music. It's epic. Trust me. Also by the same composer of most FF games out there (Nobou Uematsu)
-It's an RPG. How many good RPGs are out there for the Wii?
-Awesome characters. Noe of that kiddy hero stuff.
-You can play online. And you can have multiplayer matches.
Also, if there was a collector's edition coming out like the one that came out for Europe, I'd buy that. I'd buy that immediately.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JRPGfan
 
Please wait while more information about JRPGfan is loaded.
Additional information about JRPGfan could not be loaded.
Posted 2/28/12
Actually, its not a GameStop exclusive. XSEED is publishing it so it'll most likely be sold everywhere. Amazon is already taking pre-orders. Just getting the facts straight.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for The Last Story
More Rainfall
Posted on:2/24/12
CRMagic
Location: Missouri
The Last Story is the second of the two games pegged by Operation Rainfall; a trio of highly acclaimed RPGs that Nintendo (originally) never intended to bring to North America. While this game doesn't have as high of critical praise as Xenoblade, it DOES feature the legendary team of Sakaguchi and Uematsu, who worked together on another series of RPGs you may have heard about: Final Fantasy.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>