GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill: Book of Memories

Book of Memories is an all-new game in the Silent Hill series, with a unique premise and storyline. The story begins with a strange book that is received, inside that book is your entire life story to this point,everything that's ever happened to you; all of your memories. You discover that by altering what's written... you can actually change the past. You can write your own ideal history.A departure for the series, with a focus on co-operative multiplayer action rather than traditional Psychological Horror. Players can work together as they explore several different Otherworlds, solving puzzles and defeating creatures to advance through the Nightmares and uncover the truth behind the Book of Memories. Scare rooms, limited resources, and dark atmosphere all return - but in a gameplay package specifically designed to take advantage of the PlayStation®Vita handheld entertainment system.Book of Memories is a macabre celebration of the best that Silent Hill has to offer. Players will encounter items and Creatures culled from over a decade of Silent Hill lore, including a special someone who walks softly and carries a gigantic knife.
Average Customer Rating:
7.4
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Review 1 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
HORRIBLE!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/12
RussOMatic
Location: Bristow, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All the processing power of the PS Vita and this is what they come up with, what a let down! The the very start this game was boring. Go to one generic room, kill some stuff, collect loot, and repeat. The story is totally stupid at best. What a waste of money. IGN did a review of this game and nailed it. Read that review BEFORE you buy. The scariest thing about this game is how mind numbingly dull it is!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Different...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
Gamedout
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It may be different from any other Silent Hill, but it's still great for what it is! SH fans, need to start looking past the name of the game, all this "it has no right to be named Silent Hill" stuff is really not helpful, it's a dungeon crawler more than anything else, and that's what people need to look at it as, a dungeon crawler. Overall, it's fun and it has kept my interest for now, I'm enjoying the story so far, but I haven't seen much, the graffics could be improved in a couple spots, like the little things lating around in the rooms, they are trivial, but it still bugs me a tad. Anyoe wanting to buy this should, unless you have a pet peeve about the SH thing, you'll probably enjoy the game and the puzzles you do throughout the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Better than i thought
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
Fallen1stborn
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is not what you will expect when you hear silent hill but that doesn't make it a bad game in fact it uses things from the series history to make it a great game IE the Needlers from SH homecoming have to be attacked from behind or countered and require tact to kill just like in homecoming. The sound is mostly devoid of soundtrack unless something is accomplished but the sound effects are believable and the game play is responsive and addicting. The touch screen was used effectively but without overuse. Its not a 10 but you'll be missing out if you don't at least try the demo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
not so good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
I like survival horror games and I like Silent hill games (most of them) but this one is horrible, don't like the "over the head" view, that is the first reason. I have no idea how the upgrading system worked. I played the game until I got to my first boss fight and since I had no health packs and no bullets in my hand gun I kept dying, and so I quit the game, and now it is going back to gamestop and the money i get for it is being put toward Dead Space 3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
a fun game that happens to be named silent hill.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/12
Daferfnafer
i consider myself to be a silent hill fan. i've only played 2, 3, and a little of 4 and downpour, but i think i understand what silent hill is all about. this game is not the silent hill you may be used to. this one's not a survival horror game, it's a dungeon crawler, and that's FINE. nothing bad to say about the graphics. the music and sound effects still resemble previous silent hill's, and arent obnoxious, or annoying. (and isn't that what really matters?) the combat is excellent. simple controls that feel natural, and the touch screen is used in all the good ways, without making you feel like you're just jabbing your finger against the screen. book of memories does focus a little on multiplayer, but it's not neccesary. and playing on you're own doesn't take away anything from the overall experience. just take the game for what it is and have fun.. it's not silent hill 2, but at the core this is still a silent hill game, and if people can appreciate that it breaks away from the path a little little from what we're used to, they won't regret playing it. mario kart isn't super mario bros., but they are both fun to play. and if you can't accept the fact that a non main series handheld game doesn't play exactly like the other silent hills, then don't play it. but i think you would be missing out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Pretty good.
Posted on:10/5/12
SilentHill326
Location: New york ny
I played the demo n i have to say its not that bad, sure its nothing like the old silent hill games but it was still pretty fun. Im definitely getting this game in fact i already payed for the full game. The soundtrack its amazing even though i like akira yamaoka's music better but the game play was fun. I think we should just stop talking bad about this game until we all get to play it my honest review so far 8/10 and yes i did liked it that much.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
A fun game
Posted on:10/4/12
PoYm
Location: Dover, DE
I just recently downloaded the demo for Book Of Memories and I can honestly say this game is fun. Many "diehard" Silent Hill fans may stray away from it and say that its not a true Silent Hill game. So what? This game was designed to be a portable multiplayer Silent Hill game and it still retains that whole Silent Hill vibe and contains the theme of Silent Hill. From what I can describe it sort of plays like a dungeon crawler. You start out with a map and go from room to room killing enemies and using your flashlight to find items hidden in rooms. You are tasked with finding puzzle pieces which are than used at the end of the level to solve that levels end puzzle. I haven't played with a friend yet and I doubt you can in the demo and I have only played the first level. I haven't even encountered any bosses but from the list of collectible items and weapons in the game I can tell there's going to be a lot to the game. I think we collectively as gamers tend to forget why we play games in the first place. It's because they're fun. Yes stories do make great games but I don't recall games like Galaga, Pac Man, or even Angry Birds to list something current to have any kind of story to make them fun and addictive. I wouldn't expect any stellar story from Book Of Memories but I will say that this is a fun game and worth the $40.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Let's Give It A Chance
Posted on:10/4/12
Caribou
Location: Indiana, PA
I just love when people say a game is going to be terrible whenever it hasn't even been released yet, esepcially when the series is trying something different. I have been playing games for over 25 years, and quite frankly, I look forward to established IPs trying new things. I don't want the same Siloebt Hill game over and over again. I bet if the series carried the name Halo or Call of Duty, these same people that criticize Konami for taking a new direction, would praise their developers. I think playing a Silent Hill dungeon crawl with my friends sounds terrific and has the possibilty of being something great. Unless you have a time machine and have gone into the future and saw this game fail and have actually played the game, keep your negative assumptions to yourself. You have no idea what this game will be like,
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SilentHill326
New york ny
 
Please wait while more information about SilentHill326 is loaded.
Additional information about SilentHill326 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/5/12
I agree with you 100%
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Selling a name, not a game.
Posted on:10/1/12
Windingalo
Location: Sanford, Fl
The series is suffering from a severe case of necrosis, but that won't stop developers from digging it up. The fact that they continues the series after the supposed end in the 3rd installment is proof of this. The game description goes out of it's way to say that it's a departure from the series storyline (Which is convoluted enough by the games after the 4th) and even the gameplay itself is different. Why make it a Silent Hill game then? Sure, the game might be intuitive enough to be playable, but it's not going to live up to hype based on the name and it will flop because of it. Tl;dr: The game departs from the series and will not live up to the hype of the name given. Game will flop, Konami will roll in the money, gamers everywhere will weep for a once good series that's being paraded around town. Buy a PS2 and get the originals guys.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BathtubZombie
Evansville, IN
 
Please wait while more information about BathtubZombie is loaded.
Additional information about BathtubZombie could not be loaded.
It's actually pretty fun!
Posted 10/2/12
This isn't your typical Silent Hill game. It has all of the same concepts and an interesting story packed into a "Diablo" format. I just received the demo today on the PSN Store and I was totally satisfied. Looking forward to the release!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Calm down guys, it's not so bad!
Posted on:9/10/12
Azikira
I know it may not be the story-driven experience everyone is pandering for, but seriously, don't knock it until you try it. It looks like it could be a lot of fun, and while not outright scary, looks like it could cause a fun panicky experience due to breaking weapons. I for one will get this game because it looks FUN.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Not bad...
Posted on:7/24/12
dorkgeniuz
Location: Ca
Sure this is a game that primarily be on a smart phone but I get what they were trying to do.Seems like they didn't want to take to much time to make a full engaging story and wanted to make something quick that could be utilized on the go.Dont get me wrong though I would love a 3rd person silent hill over a top down anyday.Being that the Vita is a new platform it might of been too complicated to learn everything they could do with a full game.However if I were them I wouldve rather got hd versions of the psp silent hills in addition to the new one.Or at the least a mini hd version of silent hill 4 the room....
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
This.. is not okay.
Posted on:7/14/12
MW3willkill
Location: Berkeley, CA
I mean *really...... its not taking advantage of the Vita's hardware. it could *easily be an over the shoulder game still rather than top down. This is what a gameboy game would play like.
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Not silent hill...
Posted on:6/19/12
fry123125
Location: st.louis, MO
what is this? this is not silent hill. Silent hill is a first or third person game, that is what makes it scary. If it is a over the shoulder type of game then its not going to be scary or will it even fun. This is not silent hill.
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hellfangwolf
 
Please wait while more information about Hellfangwolf is loaded.
Additional information about Hellfangwolf could not be loaded.
Posted 7/1/12
It's not an over the shoulder type game. That would be more toward RE 4, and 5, or Gears of War. That's called twinstick it's taken from a birds eye view.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
This game worries me...
Posted on:5/19/12
Jackie123
I've always loved (tried to on some) all of the silent hill games. there is something about them that's creepy and nerve racking with just how the world and gameplay is. This one worries me because of just how it looks. It's not looking like some scary single player horror game it looks more like some game that won't last long or be that well in the "Silent Hill" franchise. Multiplayer ruins it as well.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
No....
Posted on:5/16/12
Galeont
Location: NJ
This isn't a Silent Hill game. Silent Hill was made to be played in a way that you would actually feel as though you were going throughout the town itself. It's not possible to achieve that level of immersion when you're viewing everything from above. Not to mention that it's multiplayer. Silent Hill was never meant to be a multiplayer, it was meant to be played alone, in the dark, and be the scariest thing you've ever experienced. Combine the fact that this isn't in the usual format of an original Silent Hill game and that its scare factor is greatly reduced because of the fact that you don't get a sense of loneliness and desperation while playing leaves you with a game that only has Silent Hill's name. Not planning on buying this. P.S. Akira Yamaoka didn't even do the music, which is one of the scariest things about these games. Akira is able to create the perfect music to emulate the true level of fear that these games entail. Without Akira's music being heard throughout the gameplay, the gamer will never achieve the sense of fear that they are meant to experience while playing. This game is not a Silent Hill game and does not deserve to be titled as such.
16 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
Gonna Be An Awesome Game!!!!
Posted on:3/13/12
NRGabsorber
Location: Chicago, IL
I never really played the silent hill games but i did play silent hill homecoming. It was really cool cuz of the game perspective, shooting the undead, storyline, etc. Even though i only played one game i would recommend this game to lots of people that like shooter, and adventure type games. The ps vita is kind of like a handheld ps3. The games that are going to continue coming out are gonna be like ps3 type games exept that they're for ps vita.
4 of 44 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silent Hill: Book of Memories
I have hope...
Posted on:3/6/12
CMasta
Location: Utah
I love the silent hill games. Sadly, I haven't liked the games after #3 very much. Hopefully, I will get to play another silent hill I enjoy and have another reason to keep playing my vita.
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Slickbrad
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Slickbrad is loaded.
Additional information about Slickbrad could not be loaded.
I agree with CMasta
Posted 4/19/12
The game play has gotten stale with all the newer games. However I did enjoy Downpour much more than Homecoming. Nevertheless, Konami used to be an independent company who had unique game play and an amazing story line. However, they are starting to join the rest of the gaming world. Now they have third person fighting styles and a story that is only unique to the game and none others. Only small references and relations to other games. I also dislike how Pyramid Head had changed since the movie... The helmet didn't used to go down to a point in the front. But thanks to the movie, Konami has given in and made him worse to the Silent Hill 2 fans. They changed the Great Knife as well but i'm already irritating myself to the point that I can't go into details. Thanks Konami...
Customer Avatar
mtncguy
charlotte nc
 
Please wait while more information about mtncguy is loaded.
Additional information about mtncguy could not be loaded.
Looks interesting but is it fun?
Posted 3/14/12
I loved the first 3 games but as time passes and each new game is created I feel the gameplay getting pretty old and the story pretty worn out. Haven't played a good silent hill in a long while. The last one I played was on the psp and that was somewhat fun and I checked out the gameplay footages for this game and I gotta say. It could be fun. If the reviews turn out good I may pick one up.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)