GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Tennis Open

The Mario Tennis Open game brings fast-paced tennis action to you and your friends, online and off. Play online with your Friends in exciting singles or doubles matches, as you trade lobs, drop shots and smashes loaded with topspin (wireless Internet access required). Performing aces will be second nature, with the intuitive Touch Screen and motion controls. Hone your tennis skills in Special Games that give tennis a Mario twist. Then take on Open Match mode, which will match you in singles matches with players online, and award you with Victory Medals and a place on the leaderboards.
Average Customer Rating:
7.76
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
7
8 stars
7
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 out of 2584%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Tennis Open
Review 1 for Mario Tennis Open
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/14
0123456
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
GG peeps! This game is very good! I was not surprised (half Mario games are good). This game is totally worth it!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario Tennis Open
Nintendo Is Really Going Great With Their Games!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
RotomPokedude
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Wow! Every Nintendo sports game i have i play it for 5 min. and i say: lets give this back. This 1 is TOTALLY different. U Get 2 customize ur mii, play fun bonus stages, and buy cool stuff! Yesterday i played it, i played it for 3 hours straight! 5 Stars People!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario Tennis Open
ONLINE SUCKS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
OJ7GYM
This game sucks! The online is worse than brawl was cuz thers so much lag and u can't even hit the ball cuz it freezes so much! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Tennis Open
Well It Was Fun
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
Raetara
Location: East Cleveland, Oh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It Was Fun When I First Bought It But Now I Dont Play It That Much Anymore I Wish It Still Had Power Shots Like Gamecube/Wii Did Over All Not Bad
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun but not memorable
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
lissymonster0
Location: Avoca New York
If you are looking for a game that will take up all your time on a rainy day then this is the game. It is addicting for about a week then you forget you even own it. The controls are kind of clunky and the 3d is weak but dispite all that you play i till your thumbs are raw. I am dissapointed in nintendo for not doing more with a game that obviously has so much potential.but All that aside it IS a fun game and you WOULD recommend it to your friends but whoops you forgot about it. :( as I said it is fun but not memorable
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario Tennis Open
GREAT TENNIS GAME MARIO STYLE
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/12
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Hello gamers and welcome to my next review which is mario tennis open for the 3DS. the game starts with you creating a profile and then it's off to the tennis court.a short tutorial follows the creation of your profile. all the modes are fun and i'm going to talk about them all. first off the meat of the game is tournament mode. after completing the tutorial you recieve an invitation to the mushroom cup. you pick a character and then battle people to get the trophy. the locations are all great from mushroom courts and deserts to peaches castle and even rosalinas observatory. the diffrentr court does diffrent thing to the ball. for example the desert court has the slowest bounce. and peaches court has the fastest. also as you complete tournaments new ones open up. single match is where you pick you pick your character and the location and do a single match. speaking of characters there are so many awesome characters. from the default mario,luigi,peach,diddy kong,donkey kong,daisy,bowser and bowser jr. plus secret characters like luma and dry bowser. special games include ring shot, galaxy rally super mario tennis and ink showdown. in ring shot you hit the ball ito diffrent rings to meet the target score. galaxy rally has you going against a luma and getting star pieces to makea launch star to collect coins. super mario tennis has you playing the original super mario bros game. mushrooms make the ball bigger everytime you score points you get more time added to the time limit. and fianlly ink showdown has you hitting tennis balls spat out by piranna plants who constantly spit ink all over your screen. nintendo wi fi lets you play people online all over the world.and the cluhouse lets you change miis and customize thier gear. overall this game is good for the 3DS amd i recommend it for 3DS users
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 10/8/12
This game is very addictive at first but after you've had it for a while it gets sort of boring
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun and Addicting, but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
Moonhead
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had never played any of the other mario tennis games, so this was my first one. I was a little skeptical about buying it because of mixed reviews, but I finally decided to get it a few days ago. The matches are extremely addicting and fun to play. It is kind of like tennis from wii sports, but with a mario twist on the 3DS. One thing I was disappointed in though was the way the game used the 3DS's features. Depending on how you hold the system, it will either give you a view of the court from above or behind your player. It seemed cool, but it was limited. While looking at the court from above you could see the beutiful 3D graphics, which were soe of the best I've seen so far. However, if you look behind your player you can use the gyroscope to look around, but unfortunatley the 3D graphics turn themself off for some reason. Its a shame you can only use one feature or the other. I would defenetly recomend this but the 3D's features are limited.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mario Tennis Open
Really fun and addicting game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
mike24
Location: Riverside, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I waited a while to get this game and I didn't expect it to be that good, but after coming home and playing it for hours, i really liked it. The 3d is not that great but the game play is fun and really easy to get use to. This game easily became one of my favorites on the first day I got it. This game even passed kid icarus uprising as my favorite game for a while. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys mario sport games and who loves tennis.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Tennis Open
Great Tennis With A Mario Twist
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
TJTaylor
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game for people who like to play tennis on the screen or off! The mini-games are fun and the overall story is fabulous I just wished they added a little more. 3D graphics are excellent and so is the sound. This game is perfect for casual and or party gamers!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun but not without flaws
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
MLBChris
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Being a Mario game, this game started out with high expectations, so i will rate it as so. The single player mode was fun and addicting, and it was fun trying to unlock some new costumes and characters. the controls were easy to learn and fun once you got it down. the graphics were good as well, and the courts and surrounding area were well designed. there were some downfalls, however. The first four cups were pretty easy, but the last 4, the last one especially, were rather difficult. Online play was fun. however, i did experience some SEVERE lag in about half of the online matches. other than that though, it was a pretty fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Tennis Open
Great Game, but gets Frustrating and Boring
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
TheRyFry
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great. I picked it up one of the first days it came out. The graphics are good but the lasting appeal isn't enough for me. It was fun for awhile, but it kind of got boring after a few weeks. There's no story, but they have the tournaments, which I think are fun. The sound was alright, the music was a little babyish for me at some courts but hey, I think they have some babyish music in a lot of Mario games. It was very easy to beat.
So, I'd suggest that you'd pick up this game if you're going on vacation so you can play. Just remember that this game won't be that fun after awhile.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Tennis Open
Championship Point!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/12
646464
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Join Mario and co. in an all new tennis game on the 3DS. This game is the perfect tennis title. You are able to customize your Mii character and face off against other people online. You can also join the Yoshi hunt and unlock colored Yoshi's with the QR codes scattered across the internet. This game is a great addition to any 3DS collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario Tennis Open
Needs something else
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
JohnnyBoy9
Location: Somewhere
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's ok but needs just something else because it's appeal doesn't last very long so it needs something
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario Tennis Open
Added Strategy element
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
Crossfighter123
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
In this game there is and added strategy element by picking what shot to use on your oponents beacause chance shhots arent always the right shots over all this game is a fun relaxing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RoyBoy43
Pennslyvania,penn
 
Please wait while more information about RoyBoy43 is loaded.
Additional information about RoyBoy43 could not be loaded.
To much sports mix turn it of!
Posted 5/29/12
good gamestop you created Mario tennis oh wait its 3d!!! you got to be kidding me rely? you cant see but Im cracking up ha ha ha !
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun Arcade Action
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
andrewpbeast
Mario Tennis Open may come off as a bit of a disappoint when you start playing for your first time. There is no RPG mode and the chance shots really change the game compared to previous Mario Tennis games. but if you adjust to the chance shots and learn to master them, then what awaits is a seriously awesome arcade experience with a ton of content. The characters and courses are great, and the tournaments are fun to play through. The mini-games are very interesting as well, especially Super Mario Tennis and Galaxy Rally. But the best part of the game is the online. You are rated and you can view your standings, and quickly go in and out of matches. It's nonstop fun and will keep you glued to your 3DS for a long time. Plus, dressing your Mii character up in a Wiggler costume and playing someone online with him is awesome. So you may not love it at first, but adjust to it and you will have an addicting arcade tennis game in your hands.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mario Tennis Open
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/12
mattttttttttttt
Location: minneapolis
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been looking at reviews about this game and i thought it was going to be good and i was right. get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario Tennis Open
Excellent!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
aprosey1
Location: USA, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game I love the online mode and special games are great and the tournaments are challenging it's just over all a great game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Tennis Open
Great Game But Missing Something
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
marchingbandt7
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have already previously owned three different Mario Tennis Games, so buying this game was a no-brainer. When you start playing you immediately get sucked in. The gameplay is familiar, but innovative, replacing the star smash spots with color-coded smash spots for particular shots. There are many new characters to choose from and the option to customize your mii; however, when adding new items to your mii, you are not given individual stats for each item, but a cumulative average for all of them, which is annoying when I want to look at just one item. The part that really draws me away from this game is the lack of the RPG feature (those of you who played Mario Tennis on gameboy color or gameboy advanced know what I am talking about). I was really hoping to see them incorporate the RPG mode with the 3D graphics and really blow me away, but they didn't include it at all. Not only does it disappoint me, but it also takes away a good 40 hours of extra gameplay that would give the game a much greater lasting appeal. Overall, it's a fantastic game that you should definitely buy, but be prepared to run into some monotony after you beat all the tournaments.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Tennis Open
The open is fast and fun, especially with others!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
Pilar
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been a huge the Mario Tennis series and this game so far happens to be no different. It's obvious this game is trying to be huge on multiplayer/online play from the start and this is truly where the game shines the best. If you know three other people with a 3ds or if you're a fan of playing with other people via the online play you'll be sure to have a really great time playing this game, way more so than playing by yourself in single player! I would recommend this game to any Mario Tennis fan or for someone who likes fast paced action games with others.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamegamegamer
sacromento
 
Please wait while more information about gamegamegamer is loaded.
Additional information about gamegamegamer could not be loaded.
tennis plus mario
Posted 6/29/12
i have a lot of gear for my mii.i won the championship cup so i just need 4 more cups.i like the minigames and local and online.this tennis game is awsome!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Mario Tennis Open
Not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
Kayrahh
Location: IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
While the game is still fun, it's more like the previous console versions of Mario Tennis rather than the previous handheld versions. There's no RPG element as there has been in the GBC and GBA versions. If you're expecting to rise your way through the junior, senior, and varsity classes like I was, you'll be sorely disappointed. That said, the controls are easy to grasp, and there is a somewhat more advanced way to play by aiming the 3DS in the area you wish for the ball to go. The graphics are outstanding, and I love playing Mario Tennis in full 3D.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>