GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Tennis Open

The Mario Tennis Open game brings fast-paced tennis action to you and your friends, online and off. Play online with your Friends in exciting singles or doubles matches, as you trade lobs, drop shots and smashes loaded with topspin (wireless Internet access required). Performing aces will be second nature, with the intuitive Touch Screen and motion controls. Hone your tennis skills in Special Games that give tennis a Mario twist. Then take on Open Match mode, which will match you in singles matches with players online, and award you with Victory Medals and a place on the leaderboards.
Average Customer Rating:
7.692
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
7
8 stars
7
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 out of 2681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Tennis Open
Review 1 for Mario Tennis Open
Cool... Cool
Posted on:3/21/12
nikkimel56
This looks cool. This to me looks exactly like mario power tennis but with easier controls and 3d animations in it . I honestly never played mario tennis, and I really wanna experience how to play with this game that's coming out. This is gonna be a OK game in my opinion, but It's still gonna be cool also. Can't wait!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mario Tennis Open
Nintendega's Preview for Mario Tennis Open
Posted on:4/14/12
nintendega
Location: Clock Town waiting for the moon to fall!
This game looks awesome. I have been playing Mario Tennis since the first, and I mean the very first no not Mario Tennis for the N64 Mario's Tennis for the Virtual Boy that game was awesome and so was the system. For those of you who don't know the Virtual Boy was a system released in between the SNES and the N64 in 1995. It's basically like the father to the 3DS because it was the first console to introduce 3D graphics. You looked into an eyeglass piece to see the game kind of like looking through binoculars. Anyway this game looks awesome I've played all of the games in the Mario Tennis series and this looks like it might be the best following close behind Mario Power Tennis for the GameCube. The Special Games mode looks fun and the use of the Miis looks really cool. I can't wait to customize my Mii's outfits. Everything looks great I can't wait! Oh and also, GameStop, NoA did NOT develop this game, Camelot did. Might wanna fix that.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun and Addicting, but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
Moonhead
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had never played any of the other mario tennis games, so this was my first one. I was a little skeptical about buying it because of mixed reviews, but I finally decided to get it a few days ago. The matches are extremely addicting and fun to play. It is kind of like tennis from wii sports, but with a mario twist on the 3DS. One thing I was disappointed in though was the way the game used the 3DS's features. Depending on how you hold the system, it will either give you a view of the court from above or behind your player. It seemed cool, but it was limited. While looking at the court from above you could see the beutiful 3D graphics, which were soe of the best I've seen so far. However, if you look behind your player you can use the gyroscope to look around, but unfortunatley the 3D graphics turn themself off for some reason. Its a shame you can only use one feature or the other. I would defenetly recomend this but the 3D's features are limited.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Tennis Open
Slow Online Play
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/14
charlesgerhart25
Location: Hatfield, Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think that this game for the 3DS deserves a 6 because of mostly my problem with its slow online play. If I had to change it, I would make it more regional, and I haven't been able to connect with anyone online, so I think it should gamers compete you within the region because of that. No to mention that a lot of the time, we ant connect o the internet, so I was hoping that they should have made regional local play, that sort of thing. But I have internet, so I have reason to complain.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario Tennis Open
Great Tennis With A Mario Twist
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
TJTaylor
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game for people who like to play tennis on the screen or off! The mini-games are fun and the overall story is fabulous I just wished they added a little more. 3D graphics are excellent and so is the sound. This game is perfect for casual and or party gamers!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun Arcade Action
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
andrewpbeast
Mario Tennis Open may come off as a bit of a disappoint when you start playing for your first time. There is no RPG mode and the chance shots really change the game compared to previous Mario Tennis games. but if you adjust to the chance shots and learn to master them, then what awaits is a seriously awesome arcade experience with a ton of content. The characters and courses are great, and the tournaments are fun to play through. The mini-games are very interesting as well, especially Super Mario Tennis and Galaxy Rally. But the best part of the game is the online. You are rated and you can view your standings, and quickly go in and out of matches. It's nonstop fun and will keep you glued to your 3DS for a long time. Plus, dressing your Mii character up in a Wiggler costume and playing someone online with him is awesome. So you may not love it at first, but adjust to it and you will have an addicting arcade tennis game in your hands.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario Tennis Open
Really fun and addicting game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
mike24
Location: Riverside, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I waited a while to get this game and I didn't expect it to be that good, but after coming home and playing it for hours, i really liked it. The 3d is not that great but the game play is fun and really easy to get use to. This game easily became one of my favorites on the first day I got it. This game even passed kid icarus uprising as my favorite game for a while. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys mario sport games and who loves tennis.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mario Tennis Open
excellent game its a must have
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
sasssygirl
Location: Cornelius nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Before I bought the game. I watched previews of the game. And I think they were right on with the descriptions of game, graphics, game play.. you can sweep the game system like playing tennis or push the buttons the game wants you to push. I really like, like thi game. My first sports game. But one of my favs .
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigP129
 
Please wait while more information about BigP129 is loaded.
Additional information about BigP129 could not be loaded.
It's Ok
Posted 5/29/12
The game is great but I think this game fails because it does not have a story line, online is a great experience
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mario Tennis Open
Needs something else
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
JohnnyBoy9
Location: Somewhere
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's ok but needs just something else because it's appeal doesn't last very long so it needs something
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Tennis Open
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
ryhuz99
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so much fun! Classic mario tennis action in 3d is awesome! 3d graphics could be a little better but overall it is such an addicting game! Would highly recommend this game to anybody with a 3ds!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Tennis Open
Championship Point!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/12
646464
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Join Mario and co. in an all new tennis game on the 3DS. This game is the perfect tennis title. You are able to customize your Mii character and face off against other people online. You can also join the Yoshi hunt and unlock colored Yoshi's with the QR codes scattered across the internet. This game is a great addition to any 3DS collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Tennis Open
PUMPED UP!!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/9/12
Redsoxkiller1918
Location: Loveland, OH
I loved the game boy advance mario tennis game and this game looks just as fun. I really hope this game will also be a blast.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
charlesgerhart25
Hatfield
 
Please wait while more information about charlesgerhart25 is loaded.
Additional information about charlesgerhart25 could not be loaded.
Mario Tennis Open by charles
Posted 11/6/14
I think the online play is slow. know that I know I cannot fix that, but ever since I go Mario Tennis Open, I think it had a more slow-moving process in gameplay online.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Mario Tennis Open
Great Game But Missing Something
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
marchingbandt7
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have already previously owned three different Mario Tennis Games, so buying this game was a no-brainer. When you start playing you immediately get sucked in. The gameplay is familiar, but innovative, replacing the star smash spots with color-coded smash spots for particular shots. There are many new characters to choose from and the option to customize your mii; however, when adding new items to your mii, you are not given individual stats for each item, but a cumulative average for all of them, which is annoying when I want to look at just one item. The part that really draws me away from this game is the lack of the RPG feature (those of you who played Mario Tennis on gameboy color or gameboy advanced know what I am talking about). I was really hoping to see them incorporate the RPG mode with the 3D graphics and really blow me away, but they didn't include it at all. Not only does it disappoint me, but it also takes away a good 40 hours of extra gameplay that would give the game a much greater lasting appeal. Overall, it's a fantastic game that you should definitely buy, but be prepared to run into some monotony after you beat all the tournaments.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario Tennis Open
Added Strategy element
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
Crossfighter123
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
In this game there is and added strategy element by picking what shot to use on your oponents beacause chance shhots arent always the right shots over all this game is a fun relaxing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RoyBoy43
Pennslyvania,penn
 
Please wait while more information about RoyBoy43 is loaded.
Additional information about RoyBoy43 could not be loaded.
To much sports mix turn it of!
Posted 5/29/12
good gamestop you created Mario tennis oh wait its 3d!!! you got to be kidding me rely? you cant see but Im cracking up ha ha ha !
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mario Tennis Open
can't wait
Posted on:4/14/12
byhardt
Location: germantown, WI
I'm so excited for this game! I have the gba version and I love it. Will be great on 3ds. Mario characters playing tennis may sound weird but it is actaully really cool.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun but not without flaws
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
MLBChris
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Being a Mario game, this game started out with high expectations, so i will rate it as so. The single player mode was fun and addicting, and it was fun trying to unlock some new costumes and characters. the controls were easy to learn and fun once you got it down. the graphics were good as well, and the courts and surrounding area were well designed. there were some downfalls, however. The first four cups were pretty easy, but the last 4, the last one especially, were rather difficult. Online play was fun. however, i did experience some SEVERE lag in about half of the online matches. other than that though, it was a pretty fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario Tennis Open
Fun Tennis game but nothing really new.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/12
hakman
Location: FL.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a sucker for everything Mario so buying this was a no brainer for me.I like this as a fun ,casual tennis game. There are tons of unlockables, if you play as your Mii. I really must say I like Mario 64 better because it just seems to have more personality than this game. I use the gyro control and I prefer this control method, in spite of what reviewers say. There is nothnig wrong with this game if you are a Mario fan but just don't expect to be blown away with any real new additions. My favorite aspect of the game is stepping on the items]star,mushroom,bomb,etc..] to alter your shot. I rate this overall an 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Tennis Open
Not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
Kayrahh
Location: IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
While the game is still fun, it's more like the previous console versions of Mario Tennis rather than the previous handheld versions. There's no RPG element as there has been in the GBC and GBA versions. If you're expecting to rise your way through the junior, senior, and varsity classes like I was, you'll be sorely disappointed. That said, the controls are easy to grasp, and there is a somewhat more advanced way to play by aiming the 3DS in the area you wish for the ball to go. The graphics are outstanding, and I love playing Mario Tennis in full 3D.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Tennis Open
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/12
mattttttttttttt
Location: minneapolis
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been looking at reviews about this game and i thought it was going to be good and i was right. get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mario Tennis Open
Listen to Nintendo and keep up with the game!
Posted on:4/6/12
CoDKid3
Location: Nutley, NJ
This game is supposed to be 100x better than the usual Mario Tennis. This has WiFi and a battle mode where you can do different missions and play through different sceneries from past Nintendo games. Also with the huge character variety I think this will be the best Mario Tennis yet.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>