GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 13

Featuring the biggest innovation for the franchise in six years, NHL®13 accurately captures the speed, creativity, and strategy of today's NHL with revolutionary True Performance Skating. Plus, all-new social experiences like GM Connected and NHL Moments Live connect you with your friends and the real world of hockey, making NHL 13 the definitive hockey experience.
Average Customer Rating:
7.143
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
6
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
14 out of 2167%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 13
Review 1 for NHL 13
Irritated
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
Logster
Location: D-Town
The game can be stupid because the puck will go right through your goalie. And the guy sometimes won't even pick up the puck. Passes tend to be bad too. This can be really frustrating.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for NHL 13
PU!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/13
manbaby
Location: spokane wa
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I don't like the gameplay @ all every time I go for a fore-check I would get a pleatly! I got ticked!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 13
THE CONTROLS ARE TERRIBLE!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/13
Danovic
Location: Anaheim, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
My review summary basically sums up this game. Sure the graphics looks great and the sounds is nice and everything but what's the most important thing in a game? THE GAMEPLAY, and how is the gameplay in this game you asked? IT'S TERRIBLE!! Well, not really terrible if you're playing as a goalie, but if you're a player, oh man, that's when the TERRIBLE controls comes into play. I mean, sure it sounds good on paper, "true performance skate lets you becomes blah blah realistic", but did it actually plays out well? NO!!!! Throughout the whole entire experience with the game, I felt like I was controlling an 18 wheeler instead of a human skater!! It's so clunky and bad that's its laughable. Don't get this game, or just go rent it. And wait for NHL 14 when they might actually fix the controls.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 13
LETS GO ISLANDERS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
videogamedude123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this has to be the best nhl 13 so far...............................................................
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for NHL 13
Beast game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/13
Laxbroftw
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great Game Guys if your an NHL Fan I have 08 and the graphics were amazing so when I saw this I knew I had to get it. Can't Wait for 14 to come out!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for NHL 13
Glitchiest game ever.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/13
Bobb12345
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is great: its really fun to play and its a great game to play with friends. However, I've been playing EA Sports games since 2005 and this is by far the glitchiest game I've ever played. Skaters get stuck offside, the puck freezes in mid air, music keeps playing during the game etc. Another annoying thing about this game is that the difference between two difficulty levels is so huge that I can't even decide if I should play against the CPU. The CPU can score really unrealistically in any situation to win the game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 7 for NHL 13
haha NJ!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
dambra661
20+ years and i finally get to see my kings win...THE only thing that would have made this game better is that Kopitar should have been on the cover but as a king fan i understand. but seeing as how we won the cup now everyone seems to be jumping on the bandwagon
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for NHL 13
Perfect for the Sports Fan or Gamer!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
KingsFan
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a HUGE NHL KINGS FAN!!!I love this game so much!It's really cool how they have some vintage gear that your be a pro skater can use!The only thing for the vintage gear is that they should put more vintage gear for the regular player!!!!!!They have a bunch of vintage gear for the goalie but for the skater they only have 1 vintage stick,and a Jofa helmet.That's pretty cool I guess but I would like to see some more vintage gear.For example,vintage skates,like the really old ones and vintage gloves like they used on Team USA in 1980.I would also like to see something so when I create my team or I am in Be A GM Mode,that I could create or design a stadium for the team.Also,for Be A GM Mode,they should put a setting or something so that you can change your teams jersey designs whenever you want.Overall it is AN AMAZING GAME!!!The sound and graphics are just fantastic!The sound is even better if you have a surround sound or built in surround sound on your TV because when you hit the board,it sounds so cool.(BTW I tried this game on two different TV's because my living room TV does NOT have surround sound but my new TV in my room DOES have built in surround sound and the sound effects sounded A LOT cooler on my new TV)The sound effects go from the grinding of your skates on the ice,to the sound of you hitting the boards and the puck on your stick!It is absolutely amazing!Oh and they should put the All Star Skills Competitions in Be a Pro Mode.That would have been cool.Hopefully on the next version! Last thing GO KINGS GO!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 13
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/13
JIOHN
Location: sweet home alabama
When I was reading the reviews I was a little hesitant to buy this game, and that is why I thought is was important to write a review. It is very similar to NHL 12 in game modes and game set up, but the gameplay and graphics is probably the biggest improvement between two games that I have seen. Many people complain about the gameplay. It is much harder, but gives the game a much more realistic feel. If you watch hockey you should know that NHL 12 was nothing even close to how the game was played. In NHL 13 the defenders are a huge challenge and players move and feel realistic. My one complaint would be the checks, you see them but don't feel them there is no vibration and is a flaw. Overall much more of a challenge (which I like) and graphics and gameplay greatly improved other than that not much difference to 12, but the gameplay and graphics are so greatly improved well worth the price. I recommend get it pre-owned and if you don't like it you can just take it back.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for NHL 13
one of the best if not the best hockey game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/13
dman56
Location: Deptford, NJ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
One of the greatest hockey games ive ever played it so much fun. I cant get enough of the gameplay and the graphics are to die for. One of the best game ever made in my opinion!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for NHL 13
Disappointment
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
philmnn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NHL 12 was a fantastic game, and after hearing they were adding more realism with skating techniques, i became very excited for this game. However, this game has been one headache in every aspect. First off, before even approaching the ice, you're dealt with HORRIFIC menu lag/loading/saving times on PS3 (which apparently isn't a problem on the xbox) Starting the game up becomes more of a chore than a fun experience. Good luck simming your season, as it takes around 4-6 minutes to sim one single week. Gameplay-wise, this game angers me. I play 10 minute periods and in the last 150 minutes (5 games) the AI has not produced one single penalty, even with the penalty setting at its highest. Defenders are pokecheck gods. Not only do they have about a 90% pokecheck effectiveness rate when youre anywhere in their perimeter, but they gain possession as if they are some kind of puck magnets. The passing is inconsistent. I could aim for my pass to go to a left wing and instead it goes to the right wing, or even my goalie. The player changer isn't as smooth, Last year if you changed players your player would keep doing what they were doing before changing to them, this year its like they start the whole process over, sometimes completely skating over free pucks. Lastly, setting up plays on offense is sometimes impossible because all the defense does is charge the guy with the puck in attempts to hit him instead of actually defending. Last year I had my settings down pact so that I could have the most realistic games possible, this year this game leaves me with nothing but headaches. Sorry for the sloppy review but I had too much to write in such a small box.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 13
Very impressive
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
Chopper807
Location: Hudson Valley, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The gameplay is awesome, you have a great balance of being the player and the coach, which all sports games thrive for... The commentators are great the sounds are functional and crisp. I play it everyday (learning a new control everytime). I wouldn't say I'm dissapointed with the gameplay graphics but they lack just a little bit. Other than that I'd say I am more than happy with NHL 13.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for NHL 13
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
kharris1792
Location: Salem, NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game, my friend brought it over and we couldn't shut off the ps3 we had to keep playing it was so fun. I would strongly recommend buying this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 13
ROCKS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
nyjsd
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best nhl game! The best thing about this game is NHL MOMENTS LIVE! If u do it on superstar u can brag to ur friends. Another good thing is GM Connected. Get this game is ROCKS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 13
Too many glitches
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/12
devsman69
As an avid hockey fan and player, I thought NHL 13 would be an improvement, but it is the same old story. The load times are glacially slow and the load screens get glitchy. But the breaking point for me was in goalie BAP mode where the offsides face-off is in the wrong spot half of the time! How can EA let that go. Coupled with the stats are not consistent though out the game and that the simulation of my off days did not stop, which sim-ed my start and caused me to get demoted to the minors. The graphics are great, but it covers all the flaws to the common fan. Too many flaws for my money...trade it in now while you can get $30 back!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NHL 13
A good step forward for the series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
Miragemage
I am a big fan of NHL 11 and 12 and i can honestly say that 13 has impressed me. The new skating physics take some getting use to but it is a closer representation to the real thing compared to the arcade feel the last few titles had. My only complaint thus far is the much longer load times and the slight lag when navigateing the menus. GM mode which i mostly play is vastly improved seeing more trades offered by the cpu and more willingness to make deals. I recommend NHL 13 if your looking for a more authentic hockey experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NHL 13
Terrible!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/12
Njtod10
Location: Sewell, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Be a GM mode just keeps getting worse. EA needs to get out of sports games if they continue to dole out the same junk year after year, sadly it just keeps getting worse. Would play NBA2K12 any day over this slop. Gameplay isn't bad but the computer is ridiculous in its trade demands. You have no ability to make moves during the season if you need to. It can take it's TRADE BLOCK and shove it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 13
Get new announcers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
fjjfjldsf
Location: Compton!
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game overall is great! Especially the skating! But beware you can turn on a dime anymore! And the poke check could be toned down a little. If you are playing the CPU will snipe you whenever they need a goal in the last few minuted of the 3rd. Franchise is great now that they added draft picks that actually develop into star players as well as giving you the ability to trade multiple draft picks 2016, 2017, etc. The only problem with this game is the announcers! I wish they would get a deal to have NBC Sports do the announcing considering the announcers in the game now no longer do play by play for hockey. If they did this it would be an automatic 10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 13
Just boring and bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/12
namedul
Location: detroit michigan
totally dislike this game movement blows to many glitches poke check is just to over powering.... hitting someone when they are going full speed and they jsut keep going idk how that is even possible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NHL 13
HUT Packs Pre-Order PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/12
awesome87
Location: Harrison City, Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It didn't work when i entered the code!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Z1man
Pittsburgh Pa
 
Please wait while more information about Z1man is loaded.
Additional information about Z1man could not be loaded.
Sir,,,
Posted 12/26/12
Sir,
This is not a review,this is a comment.If you say "it didn't work when I entered the code!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is saying bad things about the game.You gave the game a 10!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>