GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 13

Featuring the biggest innovation for the franchise in six years, NHL®13 accurately captures the speed, creativity, and strategy of today's NHL with revolutionary True Performance Skating. Plus, all-new social experiences like GM Connected and NHL Moments Live connect you with your friends and the real world of hockey, making NHL 13 the definitive hockey experience.
Average Customer Rating:
7.348
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
16 out of 2370%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 13
Review 1 for NHL 13
NHL 13
Posted on:6/24/12
KiserPerm
AI, will honestly blow you away I've heard that EA has put more time into AI this year than the last THREE GAMES COMBINED. In the past, everyone is familiar with how stupid the CPU's just stare at the puck blankly. But instead this year, just like in life defencemen stare at the player they're defending. With Hockey I.Q., every player on the ice is familiar with every other player resulting in more true to life decision-making. Also, for goalies it's the same thing, but as you see everyday goalies get the ability to save with all four of their limbs. True Performance Skating is also making it more 'life like' by instead of the player rushing up with two hands on the stick (hardly see at all in life) you can go faster than before by putting one hand on the stick, the balance actually matters, because if you make hard turns, before you'd make it look easy, but this year if you do the same you could end up losing an edge falling to your butt. This is about the most improved NHL game in the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
NHL 07
8.4 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 13
Best NHL Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/14
Sigwig
Location: Holland, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has great graphics and there just the same as NHL 14 and 15's graphics for ps3. Buy 13 because the gamplay and the graphics are just the same as the newer ones. It's only 10$ so it's a great deal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 13
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/13
JIOHN
Location: sweet home alabama
When I was reading the reviews I was a little hesitant to buy this game, and that is why I thought is was important to write a review. It is very similar to NHL 12 in game modes and game set up, but the gameplay and graphics is probably the biggest improvement between two games that I have seen. Many people complain about the gameplay. It is much harder, but gives the game a much more realistic feel. If you watch hockey you should know that NHL 12 was nothing even close to how the game was played. In NHL 13 the defenders are a huge challenge and players move and feel realistic. My one complaint would be the checks, you see them but don't feel them there is no vibration and is a flaw. Overall much more of a challenge (which I like) and graphics and gameplay greatly improved other than that not much difference to 12, but the gameplay and graphics are so greatly improved well worth the price. I recommend get it pre-owned and if you don't like it you can just take it back.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for NHL 13
Can't put down the demo!
Posted on:8/27/12
MrRags
Location: syracuse ny
The game is great. There is a very noticeable difference with the new physics engine, and it's much more realistic. What i noticed is it adds a great amount of unpredictability, which is something I always look for. The goalies make much more realistic saves, and things like breakaways are so much more rewarding, because you can earn breakaways by making a good defensive play, or catching a really fortunate pass. You really are forced to make good hockey decisions to play well on both sides. I've been playing the demo over and over again. You can actually FEEL the leverage you have when you skate. It's awesome. My opinion hands down, best NHL ever, and it seems as if the series has pulled through with groundbreaking stuff this year. (I've been playing NHL since NHL '92 on SEGA!!)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 13
Fun but need to work on game modes.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/14
13coolex
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NHL 13 is the best hockey game EA has made so far. It gives you fun and energetic game play with lots of game modes to pick from. GM mode and Expedition modes are the best but have a couple problems. Expedition is awesome the graphics are great, the skater moves fast and there are a lot of chances to score. Now GM mode is a newer mode that allows you to pick a team and manage them by trades, salaries and waivers. It is super fun until the simulation part. It takes at least 30 sec. to simulate through one day but there are 150 days. So it takes time but it is a fun mode if you have patients. Otherwise the game is awesome and you get to play with all your NHL HEROS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for NHL 13
Get new announcers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
fjjfjldsf
Location: Compton!
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game overall is great! Especially the skating! But beware you can turn on a dime anymore! And the poke check could be toned down a little. If you are playing the CPU will snipe you whenever they need a goal in the last few minuted of the 3rd. Franchise is great now that they added draft picks that actually develop into star players as well as giving you the ability to trade multiple draft picks 2016, 2017, etc. The only problem with this game is the announcers! I wish they would get a deal to have NBC Sports do the announcing considering the announcers in the game now no longer do play by play for hockey. If they did this it would be an automatic 10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 13
THE CONTROLS ARE TERRIBLE!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/13
Danovic
Location: Anaheim, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
My review summary basically sums up this game. Sure the graphics looks great and the sounds is nice and everything but what's the most important thing in a game? THE GAMEPLAY, and how is the gameplay in this game you asked? IT'S TERRIBLE!! Well, not really terrible if you're playing as a goalie, but if you're a player, oh man, that's when the TERRIBLE controls comes into play. I mean, sure it sounds good on paper, "true performance skate lets you becomes blah blah realistic", but did it actually plays out well? NO!!!! Throughout the whole entire experience with the game, I felt like I was controlling an 18 wheeler instead of a human skater!! It's so clunky and bad that's its laughable. Don't get this game, or just go rent it. And wait for NHL 14 when they might actually fix the controls.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 13
All New GM-Connected
Posted on:7/1/12
cferno
Location: Washington DC
I typically play all modes of NHL 12, and they were mostly good. The one thing I've been wanting the most was the ability to play NHL 13 mobily because as a college student, I'm forced to go without my 360 for the school year, having NHL 12 taking up most my vacation on make up. What looks promising the most is the app on mobile devices, meaning I can at least play offline modes, ie, Be a GM and or Be a Pro mode. If the app gets released on iOS devices, it'll be great because that means I could probably play from my iPad, because at least in the description it says mobile app release, and assuming iOS devices because that has a huge clinch in the mobile gaming department. I really hope EA was smart enough to release an app like the one they are describing for iOS users because I really want the ability to play on the only devices that I can bring to college.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 13
Perfect for the Sports Fan or Gamer!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
KingsFan
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a HUGE NHL KINGS FAN!!!I love this game so much!It's really cool how they have some vintage gear that your be a pro skater can use!The only thing for the vintage gear is that they should put more vintage gear for the regular player!!!!!!They have a bunch of vintage gear for the goalie but for the skater they only have 1 vintage stick,and a Jofa helmet.That's pretty cool I guess but I would like to see some more vintage gear.For example,vintage skates,like the really old ones and vintage gloves like they used on Team USA in 1980.I would also like to see something so when I create my team or I am in Be A GM Mode,that I could create or design a stadium for the team.Also,for Be A GM Mode,they should put a setting or something so that you can change your teams jersey designs whenever you want.Overall it is AN AMAZING GAME!!!The sound and graphics are just fantastic!The sound is even better if you have a surround sound or built in surround sound on your TV because when you hit the board,it sounds so cool.(BTW I tried this game on two different TV's because my living room TV does NOT have surround sound but my new TV in my room DOES have built in surround sound and the sound effects sounded A LOT cooler on my new TV)The sound effects go from the grinding of your skates on the ice,to the sound of you hitting the boards and the puck on your stick!It is absolutely amazing!Oh and they should put the All Star Skills Competitions in Be a Pro Mode.That would have been cool.Hopefully on the next version! Last thing GO KINGS GO!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 13
Really want this
Posted on:4/7/12
dasa
Location: san fransisco,CA
Nhl 12 was amazing. Just some minor glitches i really hope that EA will fix them. In my opinion this game is going to rock if they fix them!
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 13
CAN'T wait--congrats to G
Posted on:8/6/12
RouxTheWorld
Love that G got the cover this year. I'm shocked that he did, since most NHL fans dislike him either because he's good or simply because he's a Flyer, but he had such a monster year, so he really deserved it (I'm sure most people can agree that he deserved to be one of the finalists for the cover, even if not everyone wanted him to win). Awesome that he got it in a fan vote, though; I'm so stoked. Game looks awesome, based on reviews I've read and the trailers and everything. really hoping they fixed the glitches (especially the freezing, which has driven me insane all year), but nonetheless, just looking forward to a new NHL game. Hoping there are more options for Be a GM (including being able to draft your own created be a pro player). But we shall see...
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 13
really want
Posted on:6/9/12
SAMMYROCKS01
Location: New York, NY
this game looks awsome. but don't care who is on cover, wanted it to be lundqvist. lets go la kings.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
devilzfan9
 
Please wait while more information about devilzfan9 is loaded.
Additional information about devilzfan9 could not be loaded.
Best NHL game... but still has some glitches
Posted 12/31/12
It's a good game. The game looks more realistic with True Performance Skating. I like the brand new GM Connected because it has online games with online trading that would make you feel like a real GM. On NHL 12, it would make Be a GM boring with those offline games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for NHL 13
A good step forward for the series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
Miragemage
I am a big fan of NHL 11 and 12 and i can honestly say that 13 has impressed me. The new skating physics take some getting use to but it is a closer representation to the real thing compared to the arcade feel the last few titles had. My only complaint thus far is the much longer load times and the slight lag when navigateing the menus. GM mode which i mostly play is vastly improved seeing more trades offered by the cpu and more willingness to make deals. I recommend NHL 13 if your looking for a more authentic hockey experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NHL 13
Too many glitches
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/12
devsman69
As an avid hockey fan and player, I thought NHL 13 would be an improvement, but it is the same old story. The load times are glacially slow and the load screens get glitchy. But the breaking point for me was in goalie BAP mode where the offsides face-off is in the wrong spot half of the time! How can EA let that go. Coupled with the stats are not consistent though out the game and that the simulation of my off days did not stop, which sim-ed my start and caused me to get demoted to the minors. The graphics are great, but it covers all the flaws to the common fan. Too many flaws for my money...trade it in now while you can get $30 back!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NHL 13
Irritated
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
Logster
Location: D-Town
The game can be stupid because the puck will go right through your goalie. And the guy sometimes won't even pick up the puck. Passes tend to be bad too. This can be really frustrating.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 13
i hope they have franchise/
Posted on:9/2/12
gsxr
Location: ma
The demo was awesome,But i didn't find a season mode. It better not be like Madden 13. It went back because of no franchise mode. The new infinite engine is awesome, but no franchise. Come on. If NHL 13 doesnt have season mode, i'll repurchase nhl 12. Im starting to regret trading in NHL 12 for this one. NHL 13 please have season mode.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Blade84
smithfield PA
 
Please wait while more information about Blade84 is loaded.
Additional information about Blade84 could not be loaded.
NHL 13
Posted 9/10/12
First off madden 13 has a franchise mode if you would have kept it for 2 days or so a message came to everyone you just have to select coach in the connected carrers and its amazing everything is just that much better from graphics to gameplay and i just paid off nhl 13 its going to be amazing from what ive played on the demo it is better than nhl 12 already!!!!
Customer Avatar
NHLFAN
 
Please wait while more information about NHLFAN is loaded.
Additional information about NHLFAN could not be loaded.
Season Mode
Posted 9/10/12
For one why wouldnt they not have season mode if it isnt in the demo doesnt mean they wont have it on there it is there i saw it but its a demo you cant do a season mode on a demo if your blind you missed it in the menu
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for NHL 13
I Love the NHL
Posted on:4/22/12
QuickWorld
Hockey is fun to play on Video Games as it is fun to watch. I'll be looking forward to the release. One difference I'll hope to see is for the ultimate team have a player on that team not be a retired card.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 13
The game is going to rock
Posted on:3/16/12
kevtheknight
Location: pittsburgh PA
its going to be the best NHL they every made.I think this will look even better and have better controls i will get this game
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 13
Must Get
Posted on:5/19/12
TheCaptian
Loved the gameplay and graphics in NHL12. It is my favorite game and never leaves my PS3. NHL 13 is only gonna be better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NHL 13
Hockey is back in the video game sense anyway
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There may a lockout looming this year but the game will fill some holes. this game is very good. you have the Winter Classic in Pit. and in Philly. that is a great idea in my mind. great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>