GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 13

Featuring the biggest innovation for the franchise in six years, NHL®13 accurately captures the speed, creativity, and strategy of today's NHL with revolutionary True Performance Skating. Plus, all-new social experiences like GM Connected and NHL Moments Live connect you with your friends and the real world of hockey, making NHL 13 the definitive hockey experience.
Average Customer Rating:
6.889
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
9
8 stars
8
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
10
35 out of 5465%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 13
Review 1 for NHL 13
NHL 13 The GOOD and the BAD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
Scooley
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played NHL pretty heavily since NHL 10. I am comparing NHL 13 mostly to NHL 12... After playing NHL 13, I felt it was slow but I like the physics in the skating. I popped NHL 12 back in, and could not believe how much better NHL 13 was. At first you don't notice it, but being slower is better, more accurate and it really look the arcadiness out of the game. Skating backwards also lets you add your own style which looks really cool.... HUT is more simplifed in 13, making it easier to jump in. In 12 I struggled trying to get the lineups just right, but 13 has an auto feature that does it for you if you want... HUT made training cards only last for one game, which is extremely pointless. Overall HUT is better though. Other quick negatives are: Very similar commentary, no extra time after whisle to mess around, no game face, no live videos in NHL moments live (the demo has a live video but the actual game doesn't??). Audio still cuts out from time to time, but other than that, ITS EXTREMELY AWESOME. You can't go back to NHL 12 after playing NHL 13!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 13
NHL13 - REAL Hockey
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
SlushyKittens
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I purchased this game the day it came out, and only now (2 weeks later) have I finally taken a break from playing to write a review. Goals in this game are MUCH more realistic and the series has taken a great step forward as a result. No longer will EVERY cross crease one-timer go in for an easy goal. Games are much more likely to end 3-2 as opposed to the arcade scores of 10-8. Players with a knowledge of how real hockey works will have little trouble adapting, but those who only know how to score off cross-crease passes on the rush will be left to discover how hockey is played in real life. I have played the NHL series since NHL10 and this is BY FAR MY FAVORITE GAME IN THE SERIES. I strongly recommend you not listen to the bitter players who's "skills" didn't seamlessly transfer over from last years game. NHL13 is the real deal and you will absolutely fall in love with it if you give it the chance.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 13
Decent but Dissapointing for the Series
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/12
FlyersFan87
EA's NHL series hasn't been the same since the 2K series (their only competition) went away. Just like with Madden, what happens when you aren't pushed to get better is you become stagnant. This series has been just that for the last two years. NHL 12 was an average game at best, and NHL 13 isn't any better. The AI in this game is noticeably worse than previous entries. I'm not sure how that happens with a copy & paste game, but they did it. The presentation is still solid but with no real changes from one year to the next (in this case, from 4 years ago), there is just no reason to buy this game. Even if prices were the same, I'd recommend NHL 10 over this, especially if your primary concern is BAP or other single player modes. The only way I would recommend this game is if want to play online modes because this is really your only choice when it comes to hockey. EA already has or will shut down the servers for all their past NHL games and the 2K series was never any good, even if online play is still available.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 13
Great Game
Posted on:9/2/12
Elevation
Location: Cleveland, OH
Just based on playing the demo for a couple of days this game looks and feels really good and is definitely an improvement from the past 2-3 years worth of NHL titles. The new improved skating and new AI system is much better, the skating gives that realistic feel to your play and the physics engine plays out more realistically as well. The goalie work is another key component since goalies don't give up those typical fluke goals that you could get away with before so online play will definitely be improved through this. Always been a fan of the NHL series and this years game definitely fulfills my excitement with the many improvements, can't wait for it to release
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 13
Interesting Year for EA's NHL
Posted on:7/28/12
GoTMiLk
Location: Minnesota
With a new skating system, gm connected and other various things comning in this years edition of EA's NHL, NHL 13 should be great. 1000 new animations, goalies seeing every player on the ice, AI playing better than past years, nhl 13 should not only be fun and great for players of nhl 12 and older, but for new players as well. The skating system works on real based physics, so no more cutting on a dime at top-end speed, which will make the game; a game inside a game. GM connected will be huge for players who want to do only a few things, or just one thing. I have been told that there are Five ways to play, head to head, player v cpu, otp style, or coach. (There are many places to look at this years nhl 13, Youtube is a good place to start, or just go to ea.com.) I am a little worried about the glitchers this year, they might, and hope, will lose there glitch shot from the top of the circle. Sorry my friends, but I am sure, you guys will find another glitch in this years game. NHL 13 will be a buy for sure. With a new skating system, its going to be a interesting year for EA's NHL. Thanks for reading.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 13
Very close to real hockey
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
TomatoOne
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me first say I did not play NHL12 but i have played older fairly recent NHL games from EA. In past games the players would move unrealistically fast and top goal scorers could 1 time shots to the back of the net most of the time. In NHL 12 you have to pay attention to your player's abilities and get deep into team management to have an affective and successful team. I got this game for 1 reason....to play the Hershey Bears full AHL season. AWESOME! Even has the new Hershey jerseys. The player skating movements are very realistic tho sometimes a little glitchy, the hits could be better (almost a delay with players getting put down) and just following a goal there is a delay with player celebrations, which is weird because even NHL95 on Sega Genesis had more instant celebrations when goals were scored.......COMON DEVELOPERS! Patch maybe? Also the soundtrack is good, but not very long so it gets repetitive. These small things aside you will enjoy this game for the realism and although it may seem difficult to maneuver your players, once you get a little practice in you will be able to score goals and move your players like a pro.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 13
Most realistic NHL to date
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/12
MikeDub
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To all of you that are complaining about the "movement" and "style" of the game, yeah, that's the point. If you know anything about hockey you can see right away that this is a more sophisticated hockey sim than one's of recent years. NHL 12's arcadeish style of play WAS fun, but led to too many glitches and was, in my opinion, unrealistic after comparing it to this game. Although this game will have it's glitches too just give this game a shot and I'm sure you'll eventually realize what EA is trying to do here. Also, consider how many game modes there are. I'm not going to go through all of them but HUT, Be a Pro, GM connected and EASHL are going to give you countless hours of gameplay. Get this if you're a fan of the NHL series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 13
NHL13!
Posted on:3/1/12
nascarfan24
I'm so excited to finally here the release date for this game. EA has done a great job each and every NHL game. NHL12 was the best so far and I have no doubt that NHL13 will be even better. I would like to see Jeff Skinner on the front cover for this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lundqvist
 
Please wait while more information about Lundqvist is loaded.
Additional information about Lundqvist could not be loaded.
NHL 13 IMPROOVEMENTS!!!!!!!
Posted 5/26/12
I think that NHL 12 is awesome. I have NHL10, NHL 11, and 12. By far NHL 12 is the best but i really hope that EA really steps it up and makes NHL 13 totally better than 12.
I think it would be cool if there could be brawls, interviews, goal fights, maybe a mode where you can be the ref, no glitch goals more tricks, when you get in a fight make it last longer and more bruises and cuts, more injuries to make it more realistic like goalies if they get hit really hard, get into fights with the ref, customize your own stadium go into the locker room after periods, make an online playoff and Stanley cup mode, after periods we can decide if we can drive the zamboni and clean the ice, and there needs to be more penalties like after the whistle another player can just hit the goalie and other player without getting a penalty, make the players look more realistic like in real life because i notice that in nhl12 Garon from the lighting didn't look like him at all, more celebrations, season mode should be like real life and it already is with the schedule but I mean like if I played season mode and made it to the playoffs and in real life the team that I was in season mode made it to the playoffs it should be the same team, more 5 minute majors and double minors also game suspensions too, goalie mode more realistic like you actually get to control the catcher blocker stick and etc..., make the online where you can go up and down instead of going up all the time, when creating your own team we should be able to customize stick designs, skates, logos,and goalie customized helmets. Cant think of anything else that would make this game even more over the top than what i've described!!!! If anybody has anything else that I didn't mention to add to the list then comment on me.
Customer Avatar
lilsnake1301
oswego IL
 
Please wait while more information about lilsnake1301 is loaded.
Additional information about lilsnake1301 could not be loaded.
badass features
Posted 3/26/12
before the see the player in the locker room.also u should add warm ups.national anthem.make locker room tunnles realistic.and make goalie mask the same as real life.during the game suspension in be a pro mode.interview during period.more referee.game mode all stars skill competition.also u should be able to see the visitors locker room.realistic goal horns.last u should control your player in be a pro mode when they get dresed and when they are heading to the ice.also during iner mission u should pick whether to clean the ice in a zamboni or take interviews. take as long as u need to put these features because these would make some one not want to put the controler down.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for NHL 13
Am i the only one who loved NHL 13?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
seriously i have played all the nhl games and i can honestly say i liked them all, and now that nhl 13 is out, im stunned, its fast paced,graphics are amazing, the sound is amazing, just listening to all the skates slashing the ice is outstanding! all in all i am very proud of the fact that i have this in my collection, sure its hard to get used to the controls but thats ok, because once you get used to them, its SO easy to master and feel like a true nhl pro!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 13
Improvements
Posted on:5/12/12
RonPaul
Location: Earth
No idea what poke check/stick lift guy was talking about but any who... there should be more statistics (NHL) and can look at career totals and yearly statistics for every player (not hard, every other sports video game does it.) Show the NHL all time records for both career and season to see where you're achievements stack up against all time greats. Much more in depth 'GM mode' where you can advertise, hold special promotions for home games, set ticket prices, add new features to your team's stadium. Just make it much more realistic in the GM mode instead of just being so game oriented. Also, in the Classic button setup - put in the stick lift, when on defense there are buttons on Classic not used such as R2 and you can utilize stick lift there instead of having a wasted button. In my opinion, this is just head of FIFA for the best sports game in the world because of the variability of play, graphics, and similarity to real life but to see even more in depth behind the scenes features would take this game to waaay over the top and have me possibly fail school because I'd be playing so much.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KnightmareXII
 
Please wait while more information about KnightmareXII is loaded.
Additional information about KnightmareXII could not be loaded.
Posted 6/22/12
Should be a great hockey game. I just have one or two huge or minor complaints about the previous title that they should fix. When you do be a pro you should be able to request a trade and I cant remember how many times I tried to be so bad that I would get traded in NHL '12 and also you should be able to have a better look at NHL prospects and who they play like etc like nba 2k11's gm system.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for NHL 13
College Hockey
Posted on:6/1/12
Psyqed
Location: Lenexa,KS
this game seems cool but EA needs to make a college hockey game and make it like ncaa where you can become a professional sportsman or be the coach of a team in madden NFL. So if they could do that that would be cool.
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pensfan123
 
Please wait while more information about pensfan123 is loaded.
Additional information about pensfan123 could not be loaded.
Yeah but...
Posted 6/28/12
...most of the good players go into the USHL or similar leagues to get to the pros faster
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for NHL 13
Looks AMAZING
Posted on:6/8/12
NYG2
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
This game looks awesome. I have NHL 12 and it's really good so I bet it will be the same thing plus more. I'd give the graphics an 8 of 10. BUY IT
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 13
Very Realistic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/14
NavySubSandvich
Location: Redding, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After playing older NHL games, it was a nice change to have my shooting percentage float down to a reasonable level. Some games become tedious due to the insane skill of the goalies, but you will more often than not still get the win, because your goalie is amazing too. I win a lot on franchise mode, but almost never blow anyone out, usually 3-1 or 2-1 type of games making me work the the last minute to secure the win. Overall, I still play it and have not found much reason to upgrade yet since there are still many things for me to master in it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 13
Dont listen to bad reviews.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/12
Herp
Location: ny
This NHL is good. The skating backwards really makes for some fun gameplay. People giving this game bad reviews dont know what they are talking about.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NHL 13
Not the Best. But Worth it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/12
nascarfan24
There are lots of new additions to the new NHL13 game. Realistic skating and AI movements is what really stands out from the other NHL games. Goalies have been improved drastically in the way they make saves and look around traffic in front of the net. There is a wide variety of game modes to choose from. Some of the drawbacks I've seen; creation mode for players and teams have been left unchanged and are not worth the time to mess with. The new skating format takes time to get used to also. All in all this game is good but not the best from EA. If the NHL decides on a lockout this year; well at least I'll have the game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NHL 13
Additions and Improvements
Posted on:6/28/12
Anonymous
In NHL12, the online leagues were very boring, and I could not finish one of them since you have to wait for your friends to get online. When they did get online, they were always playing another game. I read in GameInformer, that the leagues for NHL13 will be similar to Be A GM Mode, where you go through a full season schedule and can play the CPU as well as your friends. Can someone confirm this for me? Also, it is almost mandatory that they need to put more skill in the goalies. Its crazy how many stupid goals i have seen go in, whether its a backhand from the blue line, or the glitch goals in the top corners. EA really needs to fix this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NHL 13
Can't Wait
Posted on:3/7/12
GuamSauce
Location: Brooklyn, NY
I can't wait till NHL 13 comes out I would want to see Kovalchuck or a goalie i love nhl 12 i have tons of goals on ea sports hockey league and love GM mode
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 13
Looks better than NHL 12.
Posted on:6/13/12
Khabibenguin
This game seems very good, I love NHL 12, but I think NHL 13 will deliver better gameplay, graphics, and realism. I can't wait for it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 13
Hope they fix this game
Posted on:4/16/12
vertskates
Location: Nashville, NCH
Hope that they fix these glitch goals on EASHL and wonder what pre order bonuses they are gonna have
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NHL 13
I want improvements.
Posted on:5/6/12
kissfan
Location: NY
NHL 12 is great but there are times where I literally have almost broke it in half and times where I love it. EASHL is great but glitch goals ruin it and its not fun when I actaully work for my goals and the other team scores on the same shot every time. Poke checking and stick lifting is rediculous on EASHL too. There is no way anybody can stick lift me once and take the puck or poke me once and take it while have to do it a minimun of 3 times. NOBODY CAN POSSIBLY BE BACK AT POKE CHECKS OR STICK LIFTS!!!! Its literally impossible. Anyways add in a warm up type of thing before games and make the fighting alot more realistic where people dont disappear off the ice, can have more than one fight at once, and you really shouldnt just punch four times and thats it. Then I'll be sold.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>