GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection

From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection for Playstation®Vita includes two of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD. Featuring both Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty and Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, the HD Collection offers gamers a chance to experience the epic gameplay, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise with all-new features including optimized controls designed to take full advantage of the Vita's touch-screen capabilities, a rebalanced user interface, along with trophies and game-saves that can be shared via TRANSFARRING (save data sharing) with the PS3 version of MGS HD Collection.
Average Customer Rating:
9
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 1694%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
METAL GEAR!!!!!! ON THE GO!!!!!!!!!!! :D
Posted on:5/3/12
BIGBoss1972
Location: Cartersville, GA
I Cant wait, I dont even have a vita and i am already planing to preorder this game. This is going to be the reason i Pick up the PlayStation Vita For My Birthday. XXXXDDDDD
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheSacredFox
Goshen, New York
 
Please wait while more information about TheSacredFox is loaded.
Additional information about TheSacredFox could not be loaded.
How is this HD...
Posted 5/25/12
if the Vita's resolution is too small to even display high definition which is 720p?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Metal Gear Fanz Here We Go.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
BIGBoss1972
Location: Cartersville, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is okay for all gamers and perfect for metal gear mercaniers, if you have not played this game and own the vita now is the perfect time to purchase this, and if you have this for ps3 or 360 i think you dont need to purchase this. The game is more or less the same as the ps3/360 versions,with minimum changes that are not for the better. But it is still and excellent edition to the metal gear solid history. Peace Walker would put the icing on the cake in this game but unfortunetly for us it was not included. Not to worry Peace Walker is Backwards Compatable from psn Store. Though it is not perfect this is one great game that is why i give this game a rating of 8.5 have fun.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
BlackNIndian
 
Please wait while more information about BlackNIndian is loaded.
Additional information about BlackNIndian could not be loaded.
I like The HD collection but....
Posted 3/17/13
I kinda wish that they threw in MGS Twin Snakes into the collection and probably later on put MGS 4 on the PS Vita but other than that the game is good is worth the 40 bucks i highly recomend this game for people who wants to play this game on the go
Customer Avatar
LADYGRIMM
 
Please wait while more information about LADYGRIMM is loaded.
Additional information about LADYGRIMM could not be loaded.
MGS on the go!
Posted 1/14/13
Awesome! One of my favorite games remastered on a portable system, I can finally replay some of the previous games before finally attacking MGS 4 (I know I'm behind. Don't judge me....) The only true complaint that I have is that they didn't include the 'first' Metal gear solid. I would have loved to have that as well. But eh, its not a big enough gripe to ruin my excitement over this.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
A Near Perfect Game for All Vita Owners & MG fans.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
VIDEOGAMER8
Location: Illinois, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was very exited that Metal Gear would get a HD collection, but i do not own a Playstation 3 or XBox 360. When I heard it was coming to vita i anticipated the release date. BUt anyway the game includes Metal Gear Solid 2 Substance and Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistance with Metal Gear and MG2 Solid Snake ports from the MSX, the Demo Theater, and Boss Survival with 3 and VR Missions, Snake tales, casting theater, alternate missions and boss rush. Sadly Peace Walker is not included which was in console versions ; ( . nor is there duel mode, secret theatre, or Snake vs monkey in 3 or mgs skateboarding in 2. And the console graphics are slightly better than the vita ver. the games are very fun to play with up to 100 hours of gameplay. other than the exclusion of peace walker and several mini games this is a great collection especially that its portable and has transferring with ps3 . so whether you are new to the series or played these games years ago you should buy this game NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
The Somewhat Complete Edition
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/14
TaticalDUD
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metal Gear Solid has been one of my favorite franchises, since I picked up Metal Gear Solid 4 nearly 6 years ago on the PlayStation 3, but since then I've never had the original masterpieces on the go.
Sure there was Portable Ops ( which is missing in this collection ) and Peace Walker, ( also missing ) but I wanted the full story, I wanted The orgins and the prequal to MGS4.
Thankfully Metal Gear Solid The HD edition for PS VIta has arrived, and to my supprise holds up well as it includes: Metal Gear Solid 3 substinance with MG 1, 2, MGS 2. But with Peace Walker missing from the collection, I had to buy the game elsewhere for 15 dollars. And Portable ops was missing. It was not even on PSN! Controlls are good, and the sound quality is amazing A guaranteed pick up.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
OMG!!!
Posted on:3/24/12
marioluigi
Location: phila, PA
OMG this is the best game ever. I have played an beaten all MGS games. An now they are releasing it for the vita EVEN BETTER!! This is a must have game for the vita. This is the game you will never get tired of or bored.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Konami could probably do better,but this is fine..
Posted on:6/1/12
TehRickster
Location: pensacola,Florida
not trying to troll, i like metal gear, but i`d probably recommend this to people who want metal gear on the go, or that are new to the series. the good is that this brings 2 games instead of one,like the 3DS MGS. and it also has transferring, so if you want to finish your game faster, you can get the save file from your PS3. other than that konami could probably have an edition that brings a download voucher for Peace Walker. overall, its your choice, you could get the PS3 version for the same price and get 3 games, or this(with updated touch controls).
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Neffy
Jersey City
 
Please wait while more information about Neffy is loaded.
Additional information about Neffy could not be loaded.
Most Definitely Getting It!!!!
Posted 6/6/12
It's gonna be a must have for all Vita owners. I mean I've always wanted to take snake on the road with me and this system is jus perfect for it with its dual analog sticks.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Very Excited!
Posted on:4/14/12
CMasta
Location: Utah
I know that these games have come out for almost every system now. The reason that I am excited is because the thought of being able to take 2 of my favorite games of all time with me wherever I go is just amazing to think about. Throw in some updated hd graphics and this is a release day buy for me. Can't wait!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SheerMadness
Buffalo Grove IL
 
Please wait while more information about SheerMadness is loaded.
Additional information about SheerMadness could not be loaded.
lame
Posted 4/20/12
no it isnt the best HD collection ever.....its missing peacewalker....probably the biggest mistake konami as ever made. I have MGS3D on the 3DS im quite happy ill stick with my PS3 version thanks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Nice Addition
Posted on:3/20/12
BlakeW
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
To my knowledge, Metal Gear is freakin amazing. I've been playing since I was 5; now almost 18. This is one of my most favorite series now to be on my now favorite gaming system. Epic. I will purchase immediately. Thank god I didn't buy the HD collections for my xbox360 or PS3. I'll get to enjoy it amazingly on the OLED screen. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Can't wait
Posted on:5/2/12
FullForce
Location: Shadowman
I am looking forward to this game. Especially now that it is coming with the very first two metal gear games. The ones from the nintendo days. i just wander if the vita is going to come the 3g or just the wifi? Either way I can't wait. hopefully the release date stays in june.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EdgeheadY2J
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about EdgeheadY2J is loaded.
Additional information about EdgeheadY2J could not be loaded.
Posted 5/8/12
LOL #2 and #3 were both on the PS2
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
KameHA
Location: Fairytale, LD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is awesome. there are a bunch of plot twist and suprises. its Very good for vita because they have added some more things on it than the console. if you havent played this before ypur in for a treat.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
I am so getting this!
Posted on:3/24/12
Nadawild
Location: Jackson, MS
I love the Metal Gear Solid series and now I can enjoy them on my favorite portable system. Why get Snake Eater on the 3ds for $40 bucks when you can get this for $40 bucks and get Sons of Liberty too? I still can't figure out how to transfer Peace Walker to my PS Vita, so I hope that Kojima will make an HD version of it. The only things that are missing is is Guns of the Patriots and MGS 1, but I'm still getting this. I do have one question though: Will there be an over the shoulder view and crouch walking like in Snake Eater 3D and in Peace Walker?
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Better than the 3ds version
Posted on:3/24/12
Kulit7
Location: NJ
I recently bought metal gear 3ds and although it is a decent port, this vita version will blow that one out of the water! I love metal gear and I'm so glad thy are releasing 2 and 3 for this version (although including part 1 would have been epic) not to mention its HD. I'm just really praying this comes out sooner rather than later
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Awesome but..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
KameHA
Location: Fairytale, LD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ilove this game i would recommend this to anyone without a home console because they completely forgot about peace walker.hopefully it will be an add-on in the near future. other than that this is the best game out by far for the vita
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
TASTY!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/12
jordancheese
Location: ohio
I never would have imagined playing the two greatest mgs games of all time on the go and in HD! however it's a shame there's no ape escape in snake eater, i was really looking forward to that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
EXCITED!!!!!
Posted on:4/22/12
XBOXGAMERGIRL
Location: Stalkerville
ok can someone tell me when it will be out? and i have a feeling that this will be AWSOME!!! i am a BIG..BIG fan of metal gear solid.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlakeW
Cincinnati, Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about BlakeW is loaded.
Additional information about BlakeW could not be loaded.
Crushed but LOVED
Posted 4/26/12
When I was younger, I beat metal gear solid 2, 72 times. most on hard or normal. I loved that game. I have 3 metal gear 2's for ps2, 3 metal gear's (1 for ps1, 1 for ps2 (collection) and one downloaded through psn), 3 metal gear solid 3's and i owned metal gear solid 4 for 2 years. my ps3 broke so I sold it. I beat all the other metal gears 6+ times each. each on the hardest difficulty (except for MGS2 because it's hardest difficulty was very hard for some reason). I love the MGS series and will buy any metal gear that comes out <3 -anyone who doesn't like MGS never gave it a chance or got to play it-
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
#1 PS Vita game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
Staples201
Location: Nashville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is a remastered version of the ps2 games: MGS2 Substance and MGS3 Subsistance which includes Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2. The Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is packed with content, and it’s a joy to play. Whether you're returning to Snake's adventures or experiencing them for the first time, these two games feel at home on the Vita, look great and will keep you busy for quite some time.
These are a couple of the greatest games ever, and for $40, you can play them anywhere with all the bonus content. MGS2 and MGS3 had stuff then, and they still do.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Classic MGS HD Collection
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
GCXBU
Location: Arnold, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First of all, this game is a serious badass epic game for the PS Vita! However, why did I give this game a 9 out of 10? Well, basically these two games are the actual gameplay from the PlayStation 2. But there are some changes to them, and that's the touch screen feature for the front and back. And also, the trophies that are added towards this game. That's what makes this game more enjoyable to have. It will keep you busy playing this game on the holidays. I highly recommend this game to all Rated M gamers out there! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
Metal Gear on the go!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
AwesomeNintendoGuy
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game right here was one of the reasons I picked up the Vita! To have two classic Metal Gear Solid games on the go is just amazing! I'm a big fan of the MGS series and I'm very very happy I picked this up. Looks exactly like the MGS hd collection on the PS3! I couldn't be more happy to play MGS on the go! Pick it up if your a vita owner, or get it for ps3 or xbox 360 if you don't have a Vita. JUST GET MGS!!!! You won't be disappointed!! =D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
It's great but not the comback I expected
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
ReconRangers
Location: Brooklyn,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One thing that I saw that I noticed in the game that really bothered me that Konami should of put as a option to disable was the rear touch screen because every time Snakes got his Knife you accidentally touch the rear screen you alert the enemy....not good on Konami part....just a quick fix there.....Other than that I havent seen any other problems hope to see another Solid Snake game for the PS Vita
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection
I don't get it...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
DesmondKilometers
Location: ft. wayne, in
This game is TERRIBLE. I was kicking myself within minutes of making the purchase. A waste of $40. Controls: SUCK, Views: SUCK. I don't see why so many people like this game. I don't want to watch a movie, I want to play a game. Get ready for LONG and annoying dialogs. Horrible!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 48 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
mitchinator
Portland,Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about mitchinator is loaded.
Additional information about mitchinator could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
I See Why You Think That Way.
Posted 9/25/12
Hello, this is mitchinator. I just wanted to tell you that I understand your opinion. The first time I played this game I hated it. However, I then put more time into it, began using google, watched various reviews and walkthroughs, and now I love the game. If you put more time into it, I believe that you will have a better time. This is a story and character driven ride, and I hope you understand that. It does not rely on gameplay as much as Call of Duty. It relies on story as much as Mass Effect. Also, these games are old, so you can expect poor camera angles. Imagine these games as if it is 3D. It takes a while to get used to, but once you do, you will love it. :)
Customer Avatar
dogs1234
New Mexico,NM
 
Please wait while more information about dogs1234 is loaded.
Additional information about dogs1234 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Amazing !!!
Posted 8/23/12
what ever this guy is saying is wrong, this game has a amzing story & very good gameplay, yes the controlls you have to get used to. but after that its a fine game that takes you on an increduable journey.
Customer Avatar
dood
 
Please wait while more information about dood is loaded.
Additional information about dood could not be loaded.
Posted 7/28/12
He is right you know, this is one the greatest game series EVER. Its old so its expected to be slightly clunky but cant you appreciate it for what it is? It doesn't show its age nearly as much as a lot of games
Customer Avatar
N64Crazy
 
Please wait while more information about N64Crazy is loaded.
Additional information about N64Crazy could not be loaded.
Posted 7/25/12
You could have just said "I AM A CALL OF DUTY FANBOY AND I CANNOT APPRECIATE A GOOD GAME IF IT DOESN'T INCLUDE SHOOTING EVERY 5 SECONDS"
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
1 2 next>>