GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SimCity

SimCity is a dynamic, living, visually engaging world unlike anything you've ever seen before! Build the city of your dreams and watch as the choices you make shape your city and change the lives of the Sims within it. As a true city simulator, you will see that very decision, big or small, right or wrong, has real consequences for your Sims. Invest in heavy industry and your economy will soar - but at the expense of your Sims' health as pollution spreads. Implement green technology and improve your Sims' lives but risk higher taxes and unemployment. In SimCity, you're the Mayor, and you can do what you want! For the first time, SimCity will feature Multicity where you can go solo, invite friends or join with neighbors to build multiple cities in your region! Collaborate or complete with friends to grow the fastest population, create the most jobs, educate the most Sims and much more! Access SimCity World to connect to global markets and participate in regional challenges!
Average Customer Rating:
4.221
4.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
8
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 star
38
32 out of 8637%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SimCity
Review 1 for SimCity
My Deepest thoughts
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
GamestopReview
Location: St.louis Mo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great Graphics for a beefy computer, Splendid Music and sounds.Smooth graphics. I love started my cities from dust roads to High density from Trailers to Skyscraper. From Not-so green to green.
I find this game fun for the family at ANY Age. So sit back and enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for SimCity
Sim City DRM edtion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok. Guys. I have always enjoyed PC gaming & Simaltion. I was looking forward to this game. This game has nice graphics and simaltion. It is buggy but not as bad as when it first come out. I like the birds flying buy and seeing your Sims run around your city also the game play can be fun. But u can't change the land scape like in past games. The online play is hit or miss deapending on if ur playing with some one cool or some one who just don't care. and your towns are much smaller now. I Love Sim City 2000 and Sim City for the SuperNintendo but this always on DRM and other things make this game feel dishonorible and like a low to the serise its a real shame cuz the game had lots of protencal. And it's even very impressive in some ways but in it curent sate I can't recomended. # DRM Must STOP!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for SimCity
A great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
THEREALSHADDY
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When the game initially launched, everyone including me were mad about the servers always being full, and how the A.I.'s have been acting pretty stupid. The cities were small, the creators made way too many dlc's and made the game look bad. However, the creators did manage to fix many of their mistakes such as increasing server capacity and creating new servers, fixing the A.I.'s as much as they could, and start pushing to make the game better. A lot of people still ask for bigger maps, and I hope Maxis will be able to actually listen to us, and make the maps bigger, so that the game is much more fun. Now I'm very interested in the new "Cities of Tomorrow" expansion pack and looking forward to playing it. If the creators are reading this, we are begging for bigger maps and a little more tweaking with the online mode. Other then that, I would recommend anyone who is reading this, to buy this game now, and start building your dream city!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for SimCity
Please Dont Buy This game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/13
Evo13
Location: NEW YORK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
MAP TOO SMALL..ALOT ALOT ALOT BUG UNTIL NOW STILL NOT FIX YET.JUST DONT BUT THIS GAME,PLEASE PLEASE DONT BUY THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SimCity
No Thanks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/13
SteveO1313
Location: VA
Never EVER EVER EVER EVER will I buy a game that requires online access to enjoy... Ive been a Sim City fan forever n while I enjoy the OPTION of online play, being forced to find a connection wherever I am on my laptop is unacceptable... I do like to occasionally play games on my PC or PS3 with people online or sitting in the same room, but usually i prefer playing these kinds of games solo... great time killer... so I guess im stickin with my Sim City 4... better luck next time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for SimCity
the best simcity yet.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/13
xboxdude24
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A good game that's very fun, I don't know why so many people hate it. If you like strategy, then get this game. its a little hard though.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for SimCity
BEAT GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/13
gavinisawesomecom
Location: prattville al
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is the best game you will ever play. my daughter played this game and she loved it. then I played it and recommended this to my friend and he loved it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SimCity
Okay
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/13
RingWraith75
Location: Monee, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great! The only problems that I experienced was that you need to always be connected to the internet, even if you are playing single player. If your internet signal gets weak, the game crashes, and you need to wait until the internet signal is stronger. Other than that, the game was one of my favorite games that I've ever played. The graphics are just incredible! Maxis and EA sacrificed their time and money to bring us this great game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for SimCity
A game with lots of potential ruined by EA
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/13
SpaceGamer
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first played it, I noticed we were given a very small space (2 km x 2km plots). I built roads, and zoned residential and industrial. At first it was fun as I can zoom into the people level and see real agents of pedestrians and cars move around. Then I zoned commercial. I filled the map very quickly (in about 3 hours). Then the game went down hill. The game says I need workers and I am losing money. In order to get workers and to get more money, I need to zone more residential, commercial, and industrial zones for tax money. BUT I CAN'T DO THAT BECAUSE OF THE DUMB SMALL CITY PLOTS YOU ARE FORCED TO BUILD IN! The game constantly tells you "you need workers" or "you need shoppers" and I build more on other cities in the region but the region trade DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY as promised. The simulation itself is pretty disappointing too. The game got pretty boring and I stopped playing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SimCity
Lacking detail
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
TuttieFrutie
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Big step back for the Sim City franchise. Game lacks the depth and detail that previous versions had. This is a very dumbed down version to appeal to casual gamers. Like a lot of others have said this is a glorified facebook style game. Ton's of bugs still and they are on patch 4.0 already with little progress. There is a reason for the 33% price drop in the first 3 weeks of the game being released. Wait for this one to hit the bargain bin if your going to pick it up.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SimCity
Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/13
KMcC
Location: Lexington, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game as soon as it came to PC, and haven't been REALLY disappointed with it...it doesn't exactly take very long to wear out its welcome, as the gameplay is quite cyclical, unlike that of The Sims 3 where there are enough events to keep gameplay interesting for awhile. With Sim City, you can cycle through two different regions within a hour of gameplay because everyone inevitably messes up their first region with too little energy or too many sick, uneducated folk. The sounds and music are quite nice, and very soothing. The graphics are somewhat hilarious at times with the tiniest of details being covered by EA, including the names of businesses which are downright funny most of the time. Overall, I would recommend this game for the casual gamer as a way to pass the time entertainingly...but simulation games are already repetitive, and this one is no outcast.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 12 for SimCity
The rEApers are at it again
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/13
Jls12
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
To start off, the biggest problem was EA deciding to make this online required, even though THIS IS SINGLE PLAYER PRIMARILY. The game launched with an astronomical amount of bugs. Don't believe the good reviews. Besides the bugs and always online, the city sizes are small, arguably smaller than Sim City 4, which I have. Do yourself a favor and just get Sim City 4, which is dirt cheap and better. Avoid this like cancer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SimCity
Yet another online only fail, RIP Sim City
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/13
miffedsimcityfan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game at midnight at launch, and decided to wait a while to review the game considering the game was not playable at launch. Big picture is this: I think this game does a disservice to every loyal Sim City fan. I will never buy another game that uses the online only model until I have read the reviews first, and I'd suggest any Sim City fan that was excited about this to get out Sim City 3000 or Sim City 4 and play it again for a while. You'll have more fun, trust me. Pros: Updated graphics and night day is nice, the concept of sharing city resources with other cities is cool, loading sequences still have random things such as, "reticulating spines" and "counting llamas" and stuff like that. Cons: Lots of crashes. no terraforming the land. if you don't like your layout- tough. If you could move just one little piece of land to fit in an airport- tough. No saves due to online nature of the game. Finding people to play with- it's cool to be able to talk to people and share stuff until they all quit and you have one ghost region after another. I was actually moderately fine with the fact that areas become ghost regions, because usually I'd mess something up in my town anyway and not want to play it anymore. The financial display is overly simplified and money management is not fun. There are lots of glitches with traffic management and AI paths, and sewage does not always flow logically. It's really hard to figure out what the problem is sometimes. The cities are really tiny, but the graphics still slow down occasionally on my machine, which is well above spec. Things that could save this game: Add an offline mode with the ability to save the game. They could call this mode sandbox or something. Make the maps 10 times bigger without slowing the graphics to a crawl, add the ability to terraform regions. Bottom line- Don't get this game, even if you're a Sim City fan. You will always be thinking about all the fun you wish you were having if it wasn't for [insert design flaw] and likely be irritated that they messed up the franchise. Maybe in a few months they will fix the problems. There have been multiple patches so far, so that's a good sign.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Evo13
NEW YORK
 
Please wait while more information about Evo13 is loaded.
Additional information about Evo13 could not be loaded.
VERY BAD GAME
Posted 5/29/13
HAVE ALOT BUG......DONT BUY THIS GAME
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for SimCity
DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/13
SimCitySucks
They just released a big update yesterday and it turns out it broke the game even more! People can't get passed the loading screen. Do not waste your money on this game!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SimCity
Don't listen to other reports!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
EpicNinja1099
Location: Apple Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me get one thing straight: Don't listen to the other reports! When the game was released, too many people logged on causing the servers to go down. That problem is over! Everything is running smooth. It is the 2nd best game I have ever played in my whole gaming career! It is a loyal game that always is ready for you to play. Sure, the city sizes are sorta small, but it is still such a amazing game! Graphic quality is perfect, gameplay is perfect, everything is perfect! You will never get bored of this Simcity!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Need for Speed Most Wanted Ultimate Speed Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
EA!!!
Posted 4/28/13
But this is not as good as SimCity on the Super Nintendo. And it has aways on DRM! ;/ Give it atlest a 8 it not a 10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for SimCity
EA
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/13
COOCKGOOBLIN
Location: Bakersfield,Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't get this game. A game that doesn't need to be online has forced online. What a joke. EA, nothing more is needed to say.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SimCity
Must have internet to play, so...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/13
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
when away from internet. And all cities are on a small plot with no room for expansion, except building a new small city.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SimCity
Great Game Buy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/13
bobthebilly
Location: Florida,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was awesome and i enjoyed it but with all the bad review that's just sad so i think the game is great and all the crashing errors were from back then when the servers were buggy so buy the game its is SO GREAT!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SimCity
The worst game of SimCity
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/13
Scrouby
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
We were playing for a few days and then you will not want to know anything about this game ... buy it and try it yourself
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 20 for SimCity
It is a great game. Very fun to build.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
TriggaHappy
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing. It may have a few bugs but nothing will stop it. Building your city is very fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>