GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

God of War: Ascension

Vengeance is born in the fires of betrayal in this prequel to the best-selling God of War franchise. Six months have passed since Kratos stood over the bodies of his wife and child, his hands stained with their blood - tricked by Ares into murdering the only people he ever loved. Swearing to avenge them, Kratos broke the blood oath that bound him to Ares, but oaths to Olympus are not so easily broken...Sentenced to an eternity chained within a prison for the living damned, Kratos battles insanity at the hands of the Furies. He will be tested as he seeks freedom, redemption for his sins, and the clarity to avenge his family.
Average Customer Rating:
8.429
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
10 stars
40
9 stars
14
8 stars
10
7 stars
6
6 stars
5
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
70 out of 8483%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God of War: Ascension
Review 1 for God of War: Ascension
Wheres the collector's edition gamestop??
Posted on:6/12/12
WweRyan
Location: Owensboro, KY
this game looks amazing and it even has multiplayer. FINALLY! Gamestop there is one thing your missing, the collectors edition. Amazon already has it up for pre ordering right now, but i am waiting to pre order it from gamestop. Guys BTW if you dont know much about it, this is what comes with it:
•Exclusive 8" Kratos Statue
• Premium Steelbook case
• Official Game Soundtrack (digital version)
• PS3 Dynamic Theme
• PSN Avatar Pack
• Multiplayer Double XP Unlock
• Pass for future DLC content
This collectors edition is pretty cheap for what comes with it! (cant give price because helpful tips says to not reference prices) Anyone else getting this over the standard??
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sy85
Mississippi
 
Please wait while more information about Sy85 is loaded.
Additional information about Sy85 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/25/12
God of war was rated #60 on the 100 greatest games of all time, what a joke, GOW is by far the best trilogy ever!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for God of War: Ascension
HE DID IT AGAIN!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/13
Prazkir
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really really amazing. specially the tethering mode..and new brutal concept... God of War never stop exceeding my expectations... Hands Down to STA. MONICA!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for God of War: Ascension
Reviewers are never satisfied.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
Darksider911
Location: Nevada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The first thing I did before buying the game was watch reviews, bad idea. Every reviewer just kept on moaning about stupid stuff, and lowering the score of a great game like this. Multiplayer is great, there are some moments in which you will be a little frustrated, sure, but all you need is just more practice and once you get the grasp of it you should be fine. Single player is just epic, people say it's short but honestly i didn't think so, if you rush through it obviously it will be short, but if you just take your time the game is pretty long. In other words, if you are tired of having to deal with the horrible games that keep coming out then God of War: Ascension is what you are looking for, though it's another god of war game, and it's always kratos, the game feels fresh and new, a must buy for hardcore fans, and still a must buy for newcomers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for God of War: Ascension
For fans of the series.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/13
AmosThatBook
Location: Lafayette, LA
This is a game for GOW fans. It has everything we've come to expect from the series, but little more. Beautiful graphics, brutal combat and stunning environments are all included, however, if you are expecting anything new or groundbreaking, you will be disappointed. While fun, the combat becomes a bit repetitive and the puzzles seem to have been dumbed down from previous entrys. Add in the relatively short single-player campaign, and what you get is a game that isn't going to win over any new fans. Now that isn't to say this is a complete GOW rehash. The addition of environmental weapon powers was a solid inclusion, but does little to make the combat stand out from previous GOW titles. There was also the addition of online multiplayer that, while fun, isn't going to hold your attention for very long. Overall, GOW:A is a solid game and a definite buy for long-time series fans, however the repetitive combat and lackluster multiplayer isn't going to buy over any GOW newbies.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for God of War: Ascension
Zeus, your son has returned!
Posted on:6/15/12
GhostOfSparta77
Location: Media, PA
I have been a god of war fan for a very long time,ever since god of war was on PS2. After god of war 2 was made they held on to announce god of war 3 for a little bit so I sold my PS2 to get and Xbox 360...wrong choice,because right after I did that then god of war 3 came out. I sold all my games and Xbox right back to get a PS3 just for god of war 3. It is undoubtedly the best video game series of all time. Kratos has had the best story line in a video game than any other video game ever made. Its undeniable. God of war Ascension looks amazing as well. I have pre-ordered the collectors edition on amazon and cant wait till it comes(in one year). I cannot wait to see how the studios took his more mortal side into play. This game will be AMAZING.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GhostOfSparta77
Media, PA
 
Please wait while more information about GhostOfSparta77 is loaded.
Additional information about GhostOfSparta77 could not be loaded.
In reply to mrblackkratos
Posted 9/3/12
Well, the mythological hero pack is available if you pre-order the game. Which is a bargain because it would usually cost up to $10-20. The hero pack comes with Achilles, Orion, Perseus, and Odysseus. You will get to play as them in multiplayer if you'd like. Which sounds pretty awesome, doesn't it?
Customer Avatar
mrblackkratos
 
Please wait while more information about mrblackkratos is loaded.
Additional information about mrblackkratos could not be loaded.
cant wait...seriously!!!
Posted 9/1/12
i cant wait til this game comes out! im going to go get the god of war saga just to prepare. i have a question though-whats the mythological heroes pack?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for God of War: Ascension
Surprised Me Within the First 30 Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
rooman75
Location: Southern California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first played the game I immediatley noticed the graphics. They are completely realistic and amazing. You sadly don't get to enjoy them as much because you're almost always zoomed out, but they are still amazing in cutscenes. The gameplay feels pretty smooth but I always feel like I never took damage. I played on all modes and never really died or felt the pressure of low health. It should be noted though, that within the first 30 minutes there is a very dirty scene. It shows a room full of women all without shirts on kissing each other and posing. I thought this would be a 25-45 second cutscene but the game makes sure to zoom in on all the women. This surprised me by how early on it was, where in games like Far Cry 3 scenes like this are much further in. The soundtrack is pretty good, but the sound effects are nothing too amazing. The multiplayer was pretty good but it depends if you like the gameplay. In the end, I think this game is a rental, at very minimum. God of War:Ascension is a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for God of War: Ascension
I have a good feeling
Posted on:6/17/12
muchoman99
Location: Miami,Florida
God of War is one of the best games ever. I would play it non-stop. This game is beast, and the campain is awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for God of War: Ascension
Over Hyped.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/13
GarrettJCPL04
Location: Boulder City, Nevada
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My personal opinion about God Of War: Ascension was that it was WAY to over hyped. It was exciting to finally have a new God Of War game, and the description sounded great! but it honestly left you hanging. Basically it gives you the same old, same old except with a slight twist. The game itself is really short, the end of the game would be halfway through in the other GOW's. As for the story, it's very forgettable, any God Of War veteran would be disappointed in this game. It basically left an impression on me that they are running out of ideas, and honestly it's true. Where else could they go after the third one? As for the multiplayer it's basically a bunch of kids button mashing. It's fun for an hour or so, but nothing you would want to come back to like other multiplayers. I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy this game, you could probably rent it or borrow it from a friend and beat it that night. NOT WORTH THE MONEY.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for God of War: Ascension
God Of War: Ascension(Collectors edition)Announced
Posted on:6/6/12
R3DRAIN89
Location: CALI
todd papy just announced their will be a collectors edition with a 8'' tall kratos action figure,steel book case,digital soundtrack, XMB dynamic theme, PSN avatar pack, double XP unlock in multiplayer and pass for future DLC. Those who pre-order either the regular or collector’s edition will also get the Mythological Heroes Multiplayer Pack, which features armor from Achilles, Perseus, Orion and Odysseus. WOW! cant wait to see if gamestop steps up a notch to make customers have a reason to pre order from here huh.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
godofwar4life
PA
 
Please wait while more information about godofwar4life is loaded.
Additional information about godofwar4life could not be loaded.
Pre-Ordered collector's edition on Amazon's site
Posted 6/12/12
I would really hope Gamestop gets this edition, but seeing that they havent announced it yet I pre-ordered there. I am most excited for the statue. I have every collectors edition of the God of War series, so its for sure I would pick this up. Overall this game looks awesome. Graphics look better than God of War III. I cannot wait until its release
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for God of War: Ascension
For Fans of God of War
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
MatXIII
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Is it God of War...Yes. Does it provide the same stunning graphics and tight gameplay that is well deserved of the God of War franchise? Yes...and yet there is something missing. The story was simply not fleshed out, period. It's more of a side story fit to be alongside the likes of PSP's chains of Olympus rather than to stand among the epic re-imaginings of Greek mythology in God of War 1, 2 & 3. Those stories were so good, so well thought out, that they could have truly been part of the Greek Classics that so heavily influenced David Jaffe in 2005. The story in Ascension however, while it provides a reason to keep on slashing your way through hordes of dead Spartans and mythological beings, just did not provide what I hoped to be a more comprehensive telling of Kratos' past, as not only the Ghost of Sparta but as a General and more interestingly a father in Sparta.
But I digress, some smooth and brutal combat as well as interesting puzzles make this more than an average hack n' slash, this much is true. But it is the commitment to sheer excellence in the genre that has made God of War one of THE games to beat in a fading category that I and so many others so love. Adding multiplayer to the mix was an admirable attempt to make the franchise more mainstream for a growing fan base of social gamers. But I can't help but feel that while developing this, they missed the point of what made God of War great, and the single player campaign seemed to suffer for it. Repetitive insect enemy encounters and sliding sequences as well as some somewhat lackluster sub-weapons made it feel a bit a bit stale by the end of the 7-8 hour campaign. As well as some glitches in the sound design that took me out of experience more than a few times. With that said the last half hour of the game was excellent! Providing those adrenaline fueled moments of sheer visceral excitment rarely found in modern day titles but so often found in the in the other games in this series.
In summary, there is no denying that hard work was put in to Ascension. Fantastic production values, spot-on combo and platforming gameplay, a new twist on some puzzles, and of course multiplayer. I just can't help but feel that perhaps Todd Pappy and the crew worked a little too hard and when it was all said and done, the passion and creativity to make Kratos a more fleshed out character was lost. It is an unfortunate turn that Kratos' last adventure on the PS3 felt more like a cliff note than a new chapter, but it is one that fans of action/adventure and more importantly fans of God of War should give a chance.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for God of War: Ascension
BEST GAME EVER!!!
Posted on:6/9/12
DIKTAF97
Location: San Leandro, CA
I'm so freakin' excited for this game to come out! I'll surely pre-order! And now there's already a pre-order bonus?! AWESOME!!! Sucks for XBOX 360 people :D!
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for God of War: Ascension
Good game but nothing new and many errors
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
CasualGamer06103
Location: Hartford, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a fan of GOW 1-3, this one was a disappointment. Without spoiling anything, it really feels like they rushed this one to market to cash in on the success of the last ones (basically, it is to the GOW series what Major League 2 is to Major League 1). It was not as well written, there were substantial glitches that you would expect in lesser quality games, it was pretty repetitive and predictable in parts, and the error they made with how the difficulty of the Trial of Archimedes level spikes so much that only hardcore gamers would enjoy it is a perfect example of how this one doesn't have the same magic as the others. I got so ticked off on that level that I have stopped playing until the patch comes out.
That being said, it had big shoes to fill and it is still good to see another GOW game out. I hope they learn from their mistakes and put out a GOW 5 on the Playstation 4 that is the best ever.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for God of War: Ascension
Come to papa
Posted on:5/5/12
Jd04
Location: Jersey
Cant wait for this to drop. I saw an interview with the developer a few days ago and it got me more pumped for this. GofW is probably my favorite franchise and really the main reason why I got my PS3 a few years ago, so I'll be on edge until this bad boy is here.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for God of War: Ascension
Amazing Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
TwoMinTy
Location: Richmond, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As a hardcore fan of God of War, I was absolutely amazed with this game. The only thing keeping Ascension from being the best installment to the franchis is its location on the timeline. While i love that they went back to this part of Kratos's story, it puts certain limitations on the storyline of the game (you can't fight any gods, etc.). That is the only negative of this game in my opinion. The story does have its ups; Kratos is much more emotionally engaged, and there are awesome characters that we meet for the first time. While every game in the franchise has had a good amount of replay value, this game tops them all with the addition of multiplayer. I beat the single player, played online for days, then went back to beat the single player story again. and then it was back to the multiplayer for god knows how long. Everything is great about this game, from graphics to gameplay to lasting appeal, God of War: Ascension has it all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for God of War: Ascension
Awesome
Posted on:6/26/12
ColdTurkey
Location: Lexington, TN
I also would like for god of war to continue it's story, but I do not believe it breaks it's story line.?.? It prolly goes back in time inbetween the killing of his family and god of war 1... so we get to see all the juicy details :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for God of War: Ascension
Seriously!
Posted on:4/20/12
JBro5000
Location: Michigan, The Level Pebble
The God of War series is arguably the best PS exclusive series that we have seen (Uncharted and Sly are the others). The teaser trailer shows us almost nothing except that it seems the game is taking place before any of the others (yet another prequel) but I don't care, I will buy the game on the release day, and if they have a great collectors edition I will be picking it up. THe release day is 12/31/2013 is this a typo Gamestop that is like a year and a half, people will forget they preordered, and who knows the bonus content. Still can't wait, please come out sooner that the end of 2013, the end of the world is this year, I don't want to die before I can play this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for God of War: Ascension
A Must Own For PS3 Owners
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
Sinner503
Location: Winlock, Washington
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Graphics on this game have never looked better. One of the best looking ps3 titles thus far. Sound is superb. Gameplay is fun as ever. The campaign might not be as jaw breaking as the previous titles but it is worth playing. Even though many reviewers are hating on the multiplayer aspect of the game in my honest opinion it is gruesomely fun. It's something new and refreshing. The only thing bad with the game thus far that I have played is bad camera angles now and than. Some levels might feel impossible to beat due to the difficulty variation which varies from easy to dying over and over, but it is beatable. Nonetheless the overall experience is brutally fun in both campaign and multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
vanquish1
Orlando, Fl.
 
Please wait while more information about vanquish1 is loaded.
Additional information about vanquish1 could not be loaded.
I agree with you Bro !
Posted 6/9/13
Yeah, the camera angles , with the occasional zoom in and out , makes it difficult to see your surrounding and enemies as well. Also the one thing that should have not been in the story game mode... the Trial of Archemedes. It's the Challenge of the Gods or Challenge of the Titans or Challenge of Olympus. It totally disrupts the flow of the story. I've struggled that part repeatedly and even sought Youtube, Gamfacs, and IGN to get through even on normal level.
Customer Avatar
Jones082
Chicago, Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about Jones082 is loaded.
Additional information about Jones082 could not be loaded.
The best game franchise still remains on top
Posted 3/14/13
This game is amazing definitely worth it I bought on the release day. God of War has never failed the graphics the gameplay is on point. The sound is better than ever what's not so great is it has bad camera views every now and then the camepaign so far is not all that great not like as good as the past titles. Other than that you will not be disapointed. It has fast gameplay good action, im only like 4 hours into the game at this point it seems they took the gameplay a little in a different direction. Some elements within the game were like "Castlevania: lords of shadow" I only wish sony would have waited to release this game on the Playstation 4.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for God of War: Ascension
Very Legit
Posted on:5/3/12
VidGameRuler97
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
When I heard about this and saw the preview for it, I thought to myself, I MUST HAVE THIS GAME! So, for all you GoW fans out there, pre-order this game. I myself can't do it, but you can. GoW forever, man.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for God of War: Ascension
it looks awsome!!!
Posted on:5/28/12
gowa
Location: san antonio,tx
the video looks cool but i wonder what powers kratos is going to have, but i'm excited about multiplayer though. if you get gowA add me my id is kingof_kings122
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for God of War: Ascension
Another Great God of War
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
PS3game222
Location: St. John, IN
God of War Ascension is a very good game that I think any gamer should play. Though it is not the best in the saga it is still a phenomenal game and is a must buy if you are a fan of the series. The thing that keeps this game from perfection is the gameplay. The gameplay is still great but it is sub-par compared to the rest of the God of War games. If you pay attention all of the console versions have made some improvements on the gameplay over time. But after the triumph of God of War 3 they had difficulty upping the gameplay. But as i said the game has still very good gameplay. But i think what makes this game is the impressive storytelling. you can't help but be drawn into the story of Kratos being imprisoned for betraying Lord Ares and the Furies punishing him for his actions. You are emotionally tied to Kratos and with every enemy you kill and every boss you vanquish you can't help but feel satisfaction. Up until you finally defeat the final boss you will be hanging onto the edge of your seat. This is for sure a must buy for any gamer and you will enjoy what you get.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>