GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Black Ops II

Pushing the boundaries of what fans have come to expect from the record-setting entertainment franchise, Call of Duty®: Black Ops II propels players into a near future, 21st Century Cold War, where technology and weapons have converged to create a new generation of warfare.
Average Customer Rating:
7.096
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,182 reviews)
10 stars
225
9 stars
94
8 stars
58
7 stars
25
6 stars
28
5 stars
27
4 stars
23
3 stars
20
2 stars
41
1 star
71
384 out of 61263%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Black Ops 2
Posted on:5/2/12
ReAlPh33r
Location: Batesville, MS
Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 is a direct sequel which will take place in part during the fictional second Cold War in the year 2025. You will play as David Mason, the son of Alex Mason, the previous game's protagonist. Alex will return as a playable character in flashbacks to the late 1980s. As a de facto enforcer of the Reagan doctrine, he will be in charge of igniting and arming proxy wars with Russia in locations like Nicaragua and Afghanistan.
Black Ops 2's story spans generations, Lamia tells us. The father and son have a mutual enemy: Raul Menendez. Menendez is a mysterious figure. We know he's somehow tied to the Reagan-era conflict in Nicaragua. I ask Lamia if Menendez might harbor ill-will towards the United States, considering the government was reluctant to provide additional funds to the country's rebels at that period. Lamia won't provide a definitive answer just yet. Screenwriter David Goyer (The Dark Knight, Superman: Man of Steel) returned to help Treyarch develop the time-bending tale, and create what both parties believe will be an unforgettable villain in Menendez. Lamia can't help but remind me that Goyer was responsible for Heath Ledger's Joker.
Both Masons will receive help from Frank Woods who somehow did not die in the original Black Ops. In that game's campaign he tackled villainous Victor Kravchenko, who was wearing a belt of live grenades, out a window. Hidden intel in Black Ops hinted at the possibility of Woods being alive at a POW camp in Hanoi.
A very old Woods is still alive in 2025 and a narrator of sorts in Black Ops 2. He explains what happened in the 80s while on assignment with Alex Mason and why it matters in the game's present.
Woods has an ongoing story of his own, and though it's unclear, the Treyarch team hinted at a major third-act reveal imagined by Goyer. Maybe I'm way off, but could Woods have been brainwashed in Hanoi like Alex Mason was in Vorkuta in the original Black Ops?
Anyhow, in the late 1980s, which will be roughly a third of the game, you will see how Menendez becomes a monster of a man, and in 2025, you will see what he's capable of. It's rather unsettling.
What's most important, though, Lamia tells me, is believability. "We gotta be grounded," he repeats time and again, like a holy mantra. Lamia tells us future war won't be about oil, but rare earth elements.
Rare earth elements are about as grounded as it gets. The minerals are essential to many of today's most important products, from smartphones to renewable energy devices like wind turbines and hybrid car batteries. Rare earth elements also play an important role in the creation of most modern military technology.
So what's the rub? In the real world, rare earth elements are almost entirely controlled by China's market, which provides 95% of all REEs. By comparison, Iran controls only 10% of the Earth's oil. Pick a path and the new single-player mode, Strike Force
Dave Anthony, game director on Black Ops 2, says he used to love choose your own adventures, and that, for years, he's wanted to bring something similar to Call of Duty.
"For the first time," he says, "player decisions will impact the story."
He explains that this will work in two ways:
Key decisions will have significance from a narrative point of view, but so will skill. How well you do will influence the narrative's outcome. Main squad members and villains' henchmen will live or die depending on what you do and how you do it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Yessssssss
Posted on:6/28/12
freeze988
Location: San Antonio,Texas
this is going to be the bomb. i loved black ops and also loved mw3 and its really cool that they made in 2025. the main cool part i think is the multiplayer and the zombies. i am only 12 years old and my highest round on kino is 22. the multiplayer was great in black ops and even better in mw3. so i am really excited about the multiplayer
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Call of Duty: Black Ops Rezurrection - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.8 out of 10(110)
 
 
 
Call of Duty: Black Ops Escalation Map Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.1 out of 10(129)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
(Awesome)
Posted on:5/5/12
hintonj2
Location: Raleigh, NC
The game does look sweet and i really wanna check out the zombies but i wonder if i can keep playing this game without getting bored of it, and to tell you the truth its kind like tom clancy ghost recon because its taking place in the near future, but i really dont care about the story i just wanna check out new maps and like i had said the zombies.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
IM VERY UN-SURE!
Posted on:9/27/12
PlayingModernwarfare
Location: New York, NY
I was gonna get black ops 2 but then i watched the preview carefully and I noticed it didnt look that good like it looked like bore lands and i hate that game but i love black ops im so good at it i will get black ops 2 any way im just not sure if it will be what we expected.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
How to do silent shots
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
blackops2fan
 
Please wait while more information about blackops2fan is loaded.
Additional information about blackops2fan could not be loaded.
you have no idea!
Posted 10/2/12
you guys have no idea how much i was suprised when they made the seconed game i literly fliped out! its gonna be the best call of duty so far.........................
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Trailer
Posted on:9/26/12
monbon57
Location: IL
Today i saw a trailer in youtube of zombies and it looked epic so i'm going to buy black ops 2 for good and play zombie mode!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
91 of 111 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FREESTYLEGAMERFTW
 
Please wait while more information about FREESTYLEGAMERFTW is loaded.
Additional information about FREESTYLEGAMERFTW could not be loaded.
NICE GAME!
Posted 7/22/14
if your thinking maybe i should not get this game because ghosts is out? think again! the multiplayer just feels more smoother for me than ghosts and the maps are less gloomier! over all black ops 2 might be the best call of duty title of all time!
Customer Avatar
ImmaMurkYou
 
Please wait while more information about ImmaMurkYou is loaded.
Additional information about ImmaMurkYou could not be loaded.
sucks
Posted 11/21/12
game sucks!! all it is is mw3 but more updated, luckly i got to play before buying it, ill stick to the first black ops only good thing is the zombies
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Epic!
Posted on:7/26/12
legodude7979
Location: USA
This Is Going To Be The Best Game Ever! Reason You Should Get Black Ops II 1. Zombies! 2. 8 Player Zombies! 3. Multiplayer! 4. New Guns! 5. Zombie Campain! And A Bunch of Other Reasons!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Facts
Posted on:5/14/12
CottonMouth66
Location: Livingston,Ca
The truth about this game is that its spot on to where the direction of the U.S military is going. first of all the game looks awsome, the zombie modes too, but the weapons, the robots, the electronics in this game is what the U.S is working on, Russia too. I hope though that they don't make it too futuristic like halo or something cause hey, its a call of duty game and we want action. I pre ordered it the first day, my first pre order ever, that's how much i really think this game is going to improve the COD franchise. Thank you.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
looks awsome but................
Posted on:9/17/12
nerdknifer2303
Location: ga
this game looks amazing but, i think that i should have waited until the care packege edition was avaitable for pre-order
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Activision's attempt at a "Terminator" Game
Posted on:5/24/12
CODISBAD
Location: Bellingham, WA
What is wrong with Call of Duty, they are just making a Terminator video game pretty much. Come you can't look at the trailer and not tell yourself that it sounds and looks like a Terminator game. I wonder who's the protagonist, John Carter. LOL
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
COD, more like Terminator
5 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
PA
Hopefully Better Than MW3
Posted 5/29/12
I really do think this game is going to be amazing. So far, I really liked WAW and black ops 1 so I think treyarch will do really good with this game and i'm pretty sure you cant do any worse than MW3.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
COD is dead now
Posted on:8/14/12
skullkruncher007
Location: north carolina, nc
mw3 was good although black ops was better, look at the sniper it looks just like the sniper from the halo games but with a different scope. terrible job treyarch im w8in for mw4 all day. this looks to be the lamest call of duty ever i prefer call of duty classic over this.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
multiplayer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MiyagiSensei
Okinawa
 
Please wait while more information about MiyagiSensei is loaded.
Additional information about MiyagiSensei could not be loaded.
cant wait
Posted 8/16/12
cant wait to see how well this game plays. they have re built the multiplayer from ground up; from all new guns, layout systems (10 points to making a class), making attatchments change characteristics to the actual guns, new multiplayer game modes, the new "league play" system, also COD-cast! Im very excited for this game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Best Call of Duty I've played so far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
DannyGZ2866
Location: Las Vegas,Nevada
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Wish I has it again but it broke.the best game I've ever played Call of Duty Ghost is just slow pace. If you Gamestop read my response I would really honestly appreciate it if you guys would give me a copy for Christmas
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Very good for gamers who youtube or play for fun!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
Jacobmz007
very good game! its very popular and is really fun. it replayable also! the zombies i would give an 8, multiplayer i would give an 7 and camapain i would give an 10! its fun and if your a youtuber then the Theater Mode is good for you and the game. The theater mode allows game recording to be uploaded straight to youtube.( if you have an Elite account with a linked Youtube account) here look below for an example of gameplay and this video was taken with theater mode!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
An Tutorial!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
cant wait for online and ZOMBIES
Posted on:7/22/12
ekgamegodonyoutube
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaamazing cant wait so siced and also doing updates on youtube so subb to me for more!!! already preordered
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
My review is about why you should buy black ops 2.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
EternalGamer1000
Location: Florida,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
You should buy black ops 2 because they actually fixed some stuff that players hated. They fixed most lag problems, the campaign is good, and new game modes that are fun. If you don't have Xbox Gold there is always the campaign and it's gotten better. Or if you don't want to play campaign you can always play with the bots and test out some guns that you might like on them, or play with your friend (if he has a second controller) in offline multiplayer.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
best cod game ever!!!
Posted on:5/2/12
megapokedude
Location: ohio
there is no doubt that this will be the best call of duty game ever made!!! i just pre ordered it and i love the kind of pre order bonuses that you get for pre ordering the game! talk about awesome! this game is kind of a mix of halo and battlefield if you have seen the reveal trailer! but im sure its campaign, zombies, and multiplayer will be a blast!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
This is the best game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
Menendez
Location: Los Angeles, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best COD ever! It has an awesome campaign. Don't listen to anyone that says that this game is bad. It has amazing multiplayer. The zombies is great also. The ONLY thing that I do't like about the game is that the zombie mode has no sense of humor like COD: Black Ops. Other than that, it is the best game ever.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
a new hope
Posted on:5/3/12
scpd
Location: non yah bessiness
this is one of the best cod games is back and in the future. this the first cod game in the future. there is going to be as lot more futuristic cods. cant wait to see whats going to happen after black ops 2
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
It rocks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
TF141987
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think that every gamer should get this cause the graphics of sound is good and activision did an excalent job on zombies and campaing
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Raising the bar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
PapaBear187
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This cod tops all before it. Campaign is insane, zombies is 3 times better, and multiplayer well... What else the BEST!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Looks good!
Posted on:5/6/12
codfan999
Location: Philedelphia, Pennsylvania
it looks really cool but doesn't look like it relates to Black ops 1. Cool poster too! I also am looking forward to zombies and multiplayer. Totally gonna get it!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 60 next>>