GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Elder Scrolls Online

Experience one connected world and stay up-to-date with everything your friends are doing in one of the most socially enabled games ever. Whether you play with your friends or adventure alone, the game's innovative mouse-driven combat system allows you to focus on action and tactics, not the user interface. Use any weapon or armor at any time and customize your abilities to play the way you want as you uncover the mysteries of Tamriel and seek heroic quests on your own terms. Explore the far reaches of Skyrim, the mysterious lands of Morrowind, the sprawling metropolis of Daggerfall and beyond. The choices you make, from the alliance you join to the battles you fight, will shape your destiny and the world of Tamriel.
Average Customer Rating:
6
6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
9 out of 1560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls Online
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Not What I Expected
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/14
LordAntonius
Location: Roseville, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The level "recommendation" for quests does not fit the Elder Scrolls build. I struggle to even level to the appropriate level for the areas past level 20, and I have cleared dungeons, questing areas,. and exploration. I am currently level 24 or 25 and the quests I'm on are for people closer to 30. I get bored quickly when questing and I even cancelled my subscription because there is nothing fluid about this game in any way whatsoever. I feel like I'm a chicken with its head cut off trying to figure out what to do and it hasn't even been a month since the early access started. This game will work for people willing to put the effort in, but I can't handle it anymore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Worst MMO
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/14
blood819
Location: Loveland,CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been waiting for ESO for a long time. I got to be a beta tester for this game. I was very sad to see its another WOW clone. I rather play Star Wars the Old Republic or Forsaken World.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Makes a plop...like most pieces of cr@p
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
Crawford77
ESO missed the mark by a long shot. I'm not one to complain about a subscription based game, but I don't think it's right to charge a subscription for what is honestly more of a single player game. Higher level players are discouraged from playing with lower level players because the lower level mobs wont even drop loot to help with the repair bills. The game is very linear and even at that, the game is very buggy. The skill trees and character skill customization are nothing special. The UI isn't intrusive but at a huge sacrifice of functionality. Their customer service is lacking and very slow to respond. I would have given this a one star but the story line is decent and the graphics are ok (not great but ok). If you want to play, but are worried about a subscription, I would wait it out. I'm guessing this will be free to play or buy to play in less than a year and maybe as soon as six months.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Next best MMO. PvP and PvE players should sign up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/14
NYJN
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There's been a lot of reviewers saying how this game doesn't make the cut. To be candid, they're all wrong. First, how can a reviewer make a full content review for this game not playing it to the end-game (capping each class, going to each dungeon, pvp'ing). Second, has the reviewer ever played an MMO where you're handed the full experience of the game in the first 8 hours you've played it? (ESO like most MMOs follows the same route, where game-play and time invested equals progression). And third, this game is aesthetically pleasing. To argue otherwise is a joke as it is up to par and if not better than the next most popular game out there. All in all, give this game a try and play it to the fullest. Don't dismiss any shortcomings until you've fully accessed the content that was meant to make this game famous and you won't be disappointed, trust me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls Online
No Motive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
Biffy
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There is absolutely no reason to buy this. I played the latest beta and it still stinks. The game is nothing special. Just because it has the name "Elder Scrolls" in it, doesn't mean it is good like the original Elder Scrolls. that was a beautiful game! This is nothing like it. I was hoping for something where I could get deeply enriched in the story and the design. But this ruined that hope. I say go play "star wars the old republic" Now that is amazing. I loved that! The design is annoying in this game. It makes you feel as if there were no progression because everything re-spawns for other players to see. It feels too unoriginal. Who knows, maybe I'm being too hard on this. But what I do know is that the price is overkill. Who the heck should pay $70-$80 and only get a 30 day "free" subscriber membership. Then after the 30 days, if you want to continue with the cruddy stuff you get, you have to pay more. Look and listen fellow people, wait till this becomes just another free to play but pay to subscribe online game. It really is. They just want you to think it is this huge thing because of it's huge price. "star wars the old republic" did the same thing and I waited. Well worth it! I could go on, but I would get the people more who actually like this thing even more. So that's my review. I almost never do reviews unless it is worth it. And this game was so worth the bad review.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls Online
dissapointed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
gdragon117
Location: gretna nebraska
zenimax really needs to put a label on this that says: warning this game is the most boreing thing you will ever waste your time and money on we will be going free to play very soon just to attempt to keep our dumb game alive, like seriously ive never been more bored playing a video game this review comes from a long time elder scrolls player played a few mmo's you'd think a combination of the two would be good right RIGHT well your wrong i would recomend this to a friend mabey just mabey if i had a few friends who would play i might not regret this purchase....as much
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Fun exploration game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/14
katkall
Location: Menominee, mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not much for pvp but i do enjoy the ES games. There are tons of things to loot and quests abound as your wander the lands. Whether this holds my interest for more than 60 days is yet to be seen.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Incredible!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/14
Anthony30
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The best MMO out there. The Elder Scrolls Online has a very unique leveling experience. Amazing voice acting, and graphics are also some of its strong points.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls Online
A Question
Posted on:3/28/14
okUSA
Location: Houston, TX
About to buy this download from GameStop. I googled Elder Scrolls Online for Mac. It showed me several results for PC/Mac Hybrid for sale including GameStop. When I bring up this item on this site it says PC and has only the Windows system requirements. Am I missing something?
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Great Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/14
Arkaim
Location: NY.NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is great, it needs few tweaks and i believe Zinemax will fix the problems at release. This is an MMO, not a solo "beat and trow away" game and of course certain measures have to be take to accommodate the multiplayer. Not every thing is lootable, which is good else economy would be unstable. Not every NPC is killable, which is also good, people can't abuse the killing of Quest NPCs and vendors blocking others from using either. The game offers just as much of ES as any previous one, only with MMO element (making sure that people can't abuse one or the other thing which otherwise wont affect the gameplay in solo games). The game has lots of character customization, better than wow or any other up to date, also has a very nice combat mechanics and graphics are also great. Well worth the monthly fee, considering that it will only get better. Don't cry about not being able destroy every thing and loot every thing, this chaos is only for solo gaming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls Online
ESO
Posted on:3/17/14
ESO4life
Location: st.Robert, MO
i played the last beta for this game and it was amazing! its a little strange at first considering i was use to wow but i promise once i got use to it, it brought bag all the good memories from the elder scrolls game. i can remember playing morrow wind, obvilian, and then skyrim and just thinking why they haven't made an online version. this it. this is the next great MMORPG!!!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Addicting, Fun, Immersive, Amazing Combat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
Sykotik
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There's only a few things to say about this game so far, but even in beta it has been amazing from day 1, even with the bugs you get in a beta i've loved every second. The combat is exciting and makes you think and react to every single individual situation. The world is extremely immersive and makes you love exploring, from leveling by exploring for quests and places or just finding skyshards and treasures its amazingly fun. The Alliance Wars are epic and I have truly never seen battles as intense and massive and just downright epic fights than in this game. The dungeons are very fun and don't have dumb cutscenes to make it boring randomly, it's constantly evolving and making everyone work. Being a Elder Scrolls game also gives the great ability for players to play any role they want and any weapon choice they want, you don't get cornered into 1 single type of role. The customization of characters is essentially endless and last of all the dedication by the team is 1 of the most unmatched experiences I have ever seen. They truly do listen to feedback, constantly are trying to improve the game, and I truly think have the best interest in the game. As for the monthly fee, its a very small fee to make the game so much better, it allows the developers to know how much they have to work with and can work with that to improve the game, weeds out a lot of obnoxious players who don't belong because of their behavior, and gives people a reason to play which ups the population. It will help the game tremendously so don't get hung up on that so much.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls Online
The ESO Beta was phenomenal.
Posted on:2/19/14
Lucario08
Location: Oregon
Please note that in my short review of the ESO beta I am not judging this game as an Elder Scrolls game but rather as an MMO. The MMO's I have spent significant time in are World of Warcraft (end game patches 4.1-4.3), and Runescape (2005-2013 on and off). So I download the beta. When I saw that this thing was a 24 GB download I knew that I was in for a truly MASSIVE MMO, or that the game had some really good graphics. In the game I played as a Wood Elf (Aldmeri Dominion) Nightblade. When I got into the game I landed in some time warp in this huge elemental rift. Not being an accomplished gamer I did not know the controls well even for PC, so that left me under the impression that I had no abilities, like I did in World of Warcraft. I felt like the guidance in the beginning of the game was very low, and it wasn't until about level 6 that I got an ability--it was just hack and slash for the first few levels. Also unfortunately the story was pretty boring at the beginning. Some giant-woman (a high elf?) came with me to rescue a guy from eternal imprisonment who apparently was vital to my success in Tamriel. We teleported out, and I found myself somewhat stranded. At this point I had already spent about two hours on the game. Maybe I'm just inept, but that can't be the entire cause of the slow pace. The story kicked up a few notches, with murders that you witnessed and couldn't stop, guild quest lines and their ability lines, and a cool main plot. Another thing I found cool--THERE IS NO ARMOUR SPECIALIZATION! Hooray! You could be a Nightblade with heavy armour or even a Templar with heavy armour. There was no defined playing style of a class. I fought how I wanted, whether with a bow or a sword. The player interaction wasn't great--there was a Zone chat that everyone clogged up, and there was no way to know how to filter the chat. I found it a lot harder to save for big purchases like mounts, mostly due to the MMORPG-ness of the game--nothing should be TOO easy to obtain. This review is getting too long so I'll summarize it... Here is what was good: 1. Character Customization. Enough said, this IS an Elder Scrolls game. You could spend hours on making a character. 2. I liked combat but I wish that you would start with at least a few options. Also it would be better if you didn't have to click for every single regular attack. 3. The graphics were great if you put them on the top setting. 4. NPC DEVELOPMENT! ASTOUNDING! 5. Plot development was great. 6. Races are divided into alliances! 7. The little bit of lore I got about how some guy's cult came around was really cool! 8. Scenery was diverse and interesting. Here were the bad things: 1. Some of you will hate me, but in my opinion $45+$15/mo. is just too much. If you are willing to invest all of the required time to keep up with the community you will love it and feel like it's a bargain. But if you want to play an MMO but play other games too then you had better pick a cheaper one. 2. Not very much instruction in the beginning of the game. 3. Few combat options in the Elemental Plane. 4. Plot doesn't make sense (at the very beginning) unless you are an avid ES fan. Overall I think that even with the price tag this game is worthwhile. I didn't encounter PvP or the Dungeon System yet I was so intrigued by the main story line that I'm not sure I would have even been queued for either of those at level 10. This game is only going to get better. If you want bigger community, pass on the game! That is the only thing that this game is lacking! Tell other people about it! And if you get a beta invite then milk the time as much as you can.
 
My Product Recommendations
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls Online
This game is missing a lot
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
Psijic
Location: Houston
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Full of bugs. Has almost no GUI options. No underwater exploration. You can not go underwater at all. No dueling. No /afk. No /autofollow. No regional auction house, just very small guild store that have a horrid GUI. Can't find inventory by level, type, race, or rarity. Very bad descriptions of powers and items. Some character stats are not explained at all. No clue what resists really do in the game. Very hard to impossible to make a informed description about your characters growth it items used. There is no guild bank options. Anyone can take every item in the bank. Personal banks are share among all characters and is very small, like a free to play game. Cyrodiil has been changed into a diamond shape instead of it actual land mass for pvp balance. Can not mail to self. Can not tell who the leader is in party. No floating name option, even in PvE. No minimap option. Descriptions are horrible in quest logs, so you are forced to follow the arrows that lead you right to the quests, instead of having the option to explore freely. In many parts of the world, you are forced to finish quests before you can move away from that section of the map. you can not go where you want at all in ESO. Everything is a closed off zone, one after the other. There are very few small dungeons to explore, unlike Skyrim that have them all over. There are even less large dungeons. There is no crime system. There is no pve raid system in the game atm. No housing. This is all a shame, because it has a nice combat system, and is a pretty game. It feels so frustrating to play with little to no options on so many features that are common in other MMOs and in TES.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Different, Not Bad
Posted on:2/15/14
Crisin
Location: New Jersey
Most people are expecting way too much and those people I assume aren't used to MMORPGs. In order for it to be multi-player, It can't be the same as Skyrim which is what most people are hoping. With thousands of people playing on the same server, graphics won't be as good, and the world can't be catering to one specific character. I played in the last beta and enjoyed it. It was pretty slow at the beginning, but after you level up a bit the game comes together. Some changes are hard to get used from Elder Scrolls games such as not being able to take everything, not being able to kill everything, and not having the same freedoms of speech with everyone as there was before. The game is for MMORPG fans and the adventurous Elder Scrolls fan who is willing to try something new so for all the people expecting an Elder Scrolls VI you will be dissappointed. For an MMORPG, I think its great. For an Elder Scrolls game, it's similar, but dialed down a lot.
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls Online
4/10 I Played the Beta
Posted on:2/11/14
idontknowhahahahaha
Location: CO
The game does not feel like an elder scrolls game. You can't kill any npcs, you can't steal at all, and what you can loot from fallen enemies is extremely minimal and not helpful in any way. The graphics and combat feel like a toned down and worse version of Skyrim, and the story line is not that intriguing, I do not recommend as of beta at all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls Online
you will be disappointed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
theBREH
Location: louisville ky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is first a MMORPG, and a elder scrolls game second. that being said. it can be fun. and if you like MMO RPG's you will like this game. but if you love only elder scroll and not MMO RPG's you will be disappointed. I am not saying you are not going to like it. but still.
if you love Skyrim. then you will give this a 6. if you love MMO RPG's you will give this an 8.5. I do not believe at its current state. it will ever be a 10 or a 9.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
reyrey5797
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Played the beta, barley had any bugs great gameplay and just overall one of the only games i have really enjoyed in a while. The monthly subscription is gonna suck but imma still play this game like crazy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls Online
not what i expected
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
Desalator
Location: kentucky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i played the beta and i have to say i am extremely disappointed in it it isn't any way like their games they tried to get it to flow like an mmo but i could never get into it it felt like Wow and Age of Conan put together and the graphics are beneath what the game should have it doesn't feel like elder scrolls as a mmo it just feels like a another poorly assemble game destined to hit free to play
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls Online
Not good
Posted on:1/21/14
jarjar123412345
Location: nyc
We all expect alot from a name as big as elder scrolls. We expect freedom, immersion......sadly these are things a overhyped generic mmo can not provide. What it can provide is piles of grindy meaningless quests that feel like work. This game is not a bethesda rpg it is a zenimax mmo. do not expect it to be anything like skyrim. The look of the game is good in the vids, however not in the same style as skyrim, its more colorful, more kiddish. Elder scrolls is one of the best series of games ever made, but it was never meant to be an mmo.
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>