GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Persona 4 Golden

Following in the footsteps of Persona 3 Portable, the second highest rated PSP game of all time, and based on Persona 4, one of the most beloved ATLUS titles ever, P4G delivers an enhanced and expanded portable roleplaying experience. Visuals have been beautifully remastered to take advantage of the vibrant 5" OLED display. The game's aural presentation is better than ever, with 1.5 times the voiced dialogue of the original release. A new online dungeon rescue feature allows users to call on other players for assistance when they are about to die in the TV world. P4G is also overflowing with new content: new Personas to collect; new story events along with an allnew character; stunning new anime cutscenes, which include a new opening animation with a new song from master composer Shoji Meguro; a host of fan suggested tweaks and changes, and much, much more! Persona 4 Golden is far more than just a handheld version of an alltime classic: it's the best way to experience it yet!
Average Customer Rating:
9.62
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
10 stars
40
9 stars
8
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 out of 5094%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Persona 4 Golden
Review 1 for Persona 4 Golden
great vita game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
hotrod1855
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have never played a anime game ever so i thought i would try this game out and tobe honest i didint think i would like this game but boy was i wrong this game is amazing the graphic are utterly amazing the sound is great and the story very intrigueing. THIS GAMES AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Persona 4 Golden
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
kaimonster
Location: Memphis,TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is very good.. the very best rpg for Psvita so far. when i got this game i thought it would be all buggish like injustice ,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Persona 4 Golden
One word: Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/14
BigPapaJoe
Location: Houston, Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Everything about this game is amazing. The story, the graphics, the sounds! All of it left me breathless. If you buy this you'll be in for a long ride of a heart twisting mind blowing story. My first playthrough alone took me 67 hours! Persona 4 Golden is truly a godly game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Persona 4 Golden
This game is a must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
NaotoFanatic
Location: Inaba
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played this game 7 times and still counting. I bet that tells you how much I love this game. This game has a beautiful sound track. The voice actors are awesome (woot, go Laura Bailey!). The story plot really grabs you (where are my persona players at?) and the game is just super fun. If you love JRPG's as much as I do, you''ll be playing this game for a LONG time, and I'm not exaggerating.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Persona 4 Golden
PERFECTION IN MY EYES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/13
MarkoPolo7
Location: Redding, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
PREQUEL....I regretfully passed on this game when it first came out on the PS2 despite it receiving nothing but praise. I was at my local Gamestop and i held Persona 4 and Final Fantasy X in my hands, and after what seemed like an hour reading and admiring the games from the covers, i chose Final Fantasy X (being a Final Fantasy fan). I didnt buy both because 1) i was broke highschool student and 2) both would prove to be very long games. Now, at the time, i beat Final Fantasy X and titled it my favorite game of all time. During this period, I was fortunate enough to receive an Xbox for Christmas and i had forgotten about Persona...That is until the PsVita was released a few years later. ive waited months until the Vita's price would drop but then Persona 4 was announced for the Vita. My hype in Persona was revitalized and one release day, i decided to gamble my hard earned money on a Vita, so i can try out the new and improved Persona 4. And boy, was it worth it. This game is perfect in my eyes. The storyline was very unique. Maybe i haven't played enough games to be qualified to say this but the game isn't cliche like most RPGs these days other than the fact that the heroes save the world (or not). The storyline is engaging; i found myself on an emotional roller coaster throughout the game and often thought about what was happening currently and what will happen later. In my opinion, the characters make or break a game. In this case, the characters make the game enjoyable. They are my favorite cast of characters in any game. You seem to connect with all major and minor characters, good or bad. In fact, one of the mechanics of the game is to have relations with these characters, not only to get to know them but to make your character stronger. (the main character is nameless but in the anime, it's Yu Narukami or Souji Seta). But back on point. Every character has a distinct personality and whether they compliment each other or not, it makes for some hilarious dialogue. The gameplay is turnbased style and a cross between pokemon and Final Fantasy. Battles are for whtever reason, addicting to me. i find myself grinding levels when i dont need to for fun. I hate grinding levels lol. anyways, the game is a balance of school life (building relationships, working for money, studying to become smarter, etc) and the TV world (dungeons to level and progress the story). Of course, you can't talk about Persona without actually talking about the personas in the game.(although your party possesses one persona each, the main character can hold up to 12?). When you think Persona, think pokemon. When in battle, you use these personas to fight. you level them up and they learn new abilities etc. you can fuse them together to create more powerful personas. This creates replayability, since you can test and experiment with all personas. GOTTA "CATCH" EM ALL. There's not much i can say about the music except that i loved it. the Jpop music seemed to fit every situation i was in. Im not much of a Jpop fan but the music here is great. To wrap this up, I made a great decision buying Final Fantasy X. I made a better decision buying Persona 4. it's funny that a few years back when i was at Gamestop, i was holding what is now my 2 favorite games of all time. Persona 4 is #1 and it's gonna be real difficult to top this game. I am writing this 2 weeks before Atlus' new teaser trailer for an upcoming game and hopefully, it is persona 5. although, i am looking forward to persona 5, i am hoping the cast 4 to come back.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Persona 4 Golden
more than a port
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/13
Silencio
Location: San Jose, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Persona 4 was already fantastic, but this version is even better. The game looks great on the vita, and there are various additions. Some are gameplay oriented (skillcards to use on personas) and others are more for fun (costumes). There are additional scenes and social links too. This game prevented me from selling my vita
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Persona 4 Golden
Hardcore JRPG Love
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/13
Kaoss
Location: Spanaway Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I Got This Game Not Knowing If I Would Like It As I Am A Fan Of The First Persona On PS And I Loved Persona 2 and 3 and 3 FES I Was Not Sure That Atlus Could Pull Off A Port Of A PS2 Game On The Vita But I Had Hopes that they Could Holy Cow I Was Blown Away By How Awesome This game Is I never Got Bored While playing It as It Had Lots Of Funny Parts To The Game And The anime Cut scenes where Right On The Money The story Was Great And It Made Me Want To Keep Playing Just To See What Happened The Game Sucked Me in And I Could Not Put It Down Only A Few Times Has a Game been Able to Get me So Invested In The Story And game play that i Not only Lose sleep But also track Of Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Persona 4 Golden
If not for Journey, this would be my favorite game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/13
Juxtapyrr
Location: Yuba City, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I didn't know what to expect. A JRPG with good reviews, anime cutscenes, and on the vita was what I thought before I got this. I have never been blown away by a handheld game in my entire life until now.
One of the best things about this game is how memorable the characters are. I watch anime and for the most part, characters generally feel the same as others in other anime, not in this game. The characters are original in many ways. Problems in the game that they have are equivalent to problems in real life. A character questions their sexuality, another struggles as a step-parent, another copes with the death of a loved one, and so many others. The story is also original and definitely has the feel of an anime (heck a Persona 4 anime was made in response to the game's success in 2008) and it's the source of some of the game's greatest triumphs and weaknesses.
You are a Japanese high school transfer student who is sent to the small town of Inaba to hang out with your uncle and little cousin for a year. After somewhat making friends with some schoolmembers, dead bodies start turning up and you and your friends must stop the threat by jumping into TV's (seriously). The problem where the story suffers is that it can get TOO weird and off track at some points. The cliché of fanservice is in the game for 2 scenes and the second and third dungeons have such an uncomfortable feel. Other than that cutscenes are gorgeous and the HD graphics definitely help.
The gameplay is a mix of Pokémon and early Final Fantasy titles. there are randomized dungeons throughout the game that you unlock by advancing through the story. You get your options of attack, defend, use item, or flee, but 3 other options not yet seen in games other than other Persona games (mostly Persona 3 portable). One option is Tactics, where you can change your AI controlled teammates move sets by having them heal, go all out, or just get controlled by you. The other is the Persona ability, where you can call out your elemental personas to win battles by attacking enemy weaknesses. You can carry over 12 by endgame. One other battle option is when you press L1 you scan the enemy for weaknesses. You can do this over and over too with no penalties.
Instead of capturing personas some way as one might think, instead you can obtain them two ways. One way is after a battle and have one as one of your potential prizes. The other way is to fuse them. You can see what personas you can fuse which is really nice and you store any created or won personas in a compendium. If you want a persona you created early on for one fusion, go to the compendium, select the persona, pay a fee for it and you have it. You can create various personas too like Thor, Asura, Odin, and even the Devil (no joke, the Devil is in the game as well as Lucifer O_O). Also by solving problems that certain characters have in the game, persona fusing can be very easy.
Other things I must add are the extras in the game. The new character Marie has a very interesting story arc that people SHOULD get into for the sake of new story elements. You have the entire game"s soundtrack, animations, trailers etc. on the "TV Listings" options in the menu. There are also live concert performances and a quiz show option too for those hardcore fans.
All in all, Persona is a very great game. It gives a sense of morality choices that can reflect who you are towards the characters. Though some parts of the game are unnecessary, you will feel connected with the characters, enjoy going through the town of Inaba, and enjoy a very original and fun story with a bunch of side activities. I give this a 9.6 but I round it to 10 cause I'm nice like that =).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Persona 4 Golden
This game is fantastic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/13
OctopusSpectrum
In my opinion the thing about this game that I keep coming back for is the characters. They are incredibly memorable, very well written, and the voice acting is top notch. The Persona combat system is flawless and will keep anyone entertained. I didn't think I was going to like having to chose how to spend my days when I wasn't following the main story but I actually enjoy it. As someone who has a very hard time making decisions this has proven difficult at times, though ultimately enjoyable. Trying to build each of the Social Links evenly is a challenge, but a challenge that is worth the effort. At a few points in the game the player is given an ultimatum. They have to save someone before a certain date. If that date comes around and the person hasn't been saved, the game ends. When I found out about this I thought I would be screwed and I would hate this concept. It turns out that it gives players the right amount of stress and actual worry. I failed one of these on my very first try and when the day came I felt real feelings that 85% of games have never given me. I was very skeptical about buying this game but everything that I didn't think I would like such as the social decisions, the speed of the game (I thought it would be slow), etc., turned out to be add ons to a near perfect game. Persona 4 Golden gets a 10 out of 10 for me as I have been playing this nonstop for 3 days and haven't even started to grow tired of it. BUY PERSONA 4 GOLDEN. You won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Persona 4 Golden
Best game on the vita period!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/13
Rrepublic
Location: Brentwood,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the perfect JRPG. It has a great story, very good voice actors and awesome gameplay. It also has some of the best anime style cutscenes in any video game i have seen. This is definitely the vitas must have game its just to bad that its a Ps2 port and not an original game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Persona 4 Golden
One of the best games I never knew existed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
Psycho11edge
Location: NE
My original reason to buy a Vita was for Gravity Rush, a game I had played the demo for on a local display Vita. I love the game and when I had the money I bought it and the Vita. However, after buying the Vita and talking to a bunch of my friends about it, there was one game that was recommended by nearly every single one of them. Persona 4 Golden. I had never before heard of the Persona series, so I was a bit lost on what it was about. Still, two months after I purchased my Vita, I went out and bought P4G. I was instantly pleased by the voice acting and character design. The simple stationary pictures that showed up when characters were talking looked very well done, and had plenty of variations for a wide range of emotions and expressions, and not having to worry about lip syncing gave the voice actors more freedom, making the voice acting sound more natural. The music in the game is nice as well, but sometimes the music can get a little annoying at times such as when battle music starts up, but you win the fight two seconds later, and then it goes back to the dungeon music until the next fight, which is also won quickly, so you end up hearing only the first couple seconds of a song every minute or so. The story starts out very confusing, but it becomes clearer as you progress, and it's fun to piece it together as you play. It looks very nice, save for maybe a few of the Persona animations during battle. The multitude of Personas, Skills, Social links, and many other things to do can easily give you 100+ hours of game play over the course of the game, especially if you start a New Game + afterwards, which I highly recommend. In my opinion, it's a great game with a lot of time and entertainment under it's belt, and is great for most any gamer interested in a good story or just a fun game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Persona 4 Golden
200 Hours Gone and Growing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/13
Nick52w
Location: Harmony,PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Already, I have spent more than 200 hours playing Persona 4 Golden and I am nowhere near close to getting my fill. Golden is a revamped version of the PS2 masterpiece by Atlus. Atlus is known for creating RPGs with lovable characters and simple yet enjoyable gameplay, especially with the Persona series. Persona 4 Golden includes all the content from the original game and it adds an entirely new charachter, two new social links, and a lengthier storyline. Even if you've completed multiple playthroughs of the original, it is worth picking this up and reliving a masterpiece.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Persona 4 Golden
Fun, excellent gameplay. But can get boring.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/13
Atlantica
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game was simply amazing when I first started playing it. The actual role-playing and action was all I could ask for. But as I got further into the game I realize it has lost my attention. That was because of the repetitive gameplay. Someone is having problems, and you go and save them. If the bosses are to hard, it is easy to simply grind your characters up. I find this very boring, but I musts admit it is a 9/10 over all.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Persona 4 Golden
Persona's Greatest Work
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/13
kombapig
Location: Georgia, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Overall, this game is THE RPG of rpg's. It is almost like having a second life once you hit the start button. Truly, this game is unlike any other that i have ever played, no.......... Experienced.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Persona 4 Golden
This is a game that anybody could love.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
TheHeyMan
Location: Brentwood, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game took me 94 hours and 1 minute to beat in my first playthrough. It has great replay value, with even more content in New Game+. In the 94 hours it took me to beat, I didn't even do the new dungeon to Persona 4 Golden. It is an amazing game, and of the hundreds of games I have played, it is my favorite. You spend a year living in the rural town of Inaba with your Uncle and your cousin, and soon you discover that you can go inside TV's and explore a new world. It's about fighting in another world, social simulation, and solving a murder mystery.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Persona 4 Golden
Just WOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
zengetsu
Location: Albuquerque, NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the best games the VITA will have for a long time. I would recommend this game to anyone that loves JRpg's.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Persona 4 Golden
A Solid & Unique JRPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
Roberttitus
Location: Kentucky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The mechanics of this game (as for its prequel, Persona 3) are extraordinary unique. Instead of your typical "Fantasy Warrior must save the princess & the world" story... well... you do get that story in a manner of speaking, but it is told in such a unique way & in such a unique setting. Get this... it takes place in the REAL world. Crazy... I know. The real world isn't the game's only setting however, it is just the setting that you will be seeing the most in your time with the game. Persona 4 also features a secret world that you can only access via entering a TV (see, I told you it was unique). This TV world is the area where you will do all of the games dungeon crawling, that thankfully, is rarely forced upon you. All of the dungeons within the TV are randomly generated but at the same time feature a theme surrounding the character that you are going there to rescue/capture. A few of the themes that stick out immediately in my mind are Heaven, A Strip Show, A Love Castle (just play it to understand) & my personal favorite... the classic RPG dungeon.
The battle system is amazing (evidenced by the fact that I actually beat the game) & keeps things interesting until the very end (unlike most turn-based JRPGs in my experience). Instead of the annoying random battles of several games, you can see all of your enemies on screen. If you can sneak up behind your enemies & attack them before they are able to react, that gives you initiative & allows you one whole turn of free attacks. When it comes to the actual battles you can either attack directly with your character or use your Personas. You Personas all have specific abilities that are useful in certain fights. See, every enemy in the game has strengths & weaknesses to specific types of attacks & your various Personas make defeating those enemies a bit easier to defeat (in fact there are even enemies that you literally can't defeat without the use of personas as they are immune to physical attacks). You may be wondering how to get these personas... well the answer is also through battle (& fusion... which I'll get to in a minute). After a battle is complete you will sometimes get the ability to do Shuffle Time, which is a process in which you pick cards to decide what rewards (or lack thereof) that you get for winning the battle. Unlike Persona 3 (if I remember correctly) this isn't random. You can see every card available & choose freely... certain cards offer permanent stat boosts to the equipped persona, others offer health restoration, skill cards, Personas & the ability to sacrifice varying degrees of something from the battle (exp, money, items, etc) in exchange for the ability to pick more cards. You may ask why you'd want to do this.... well if you are able to get every card on screen, this will result in sweep bonus (which not only results in the ability to keep all of the cards you selected during the current Shuffle Time, but a guaranteed shuffle time in the next battle as well as starting out with the ability to pick 3 cards instead of one (which also GREATLY helps you continue getting sweep bonuses & therefore continuing the process).
Social links return from its prequel & are just as big of a part of Persona 4. For those that don't know, social links are the points you get for hanging out with the friends that you make throughout the course of the game. You may be asking what is the point in doing the Social Links? They are just side quests right? Well.... yes & no. Technically you don't have to do the social links (the game would be kind of boring if you didn't though), but they have actual effects on the combat portion of the game as well. See, by doing the social links you rise up in rank with the Arcana that the friend in question represents. This effectively allows you to to create more powerful personas through the fusion system (& by that I mean that the personas you create get automatic stat boosts), create the ultimate persona of said Arcana once you reach Max friendship level with them & in the case of your party members make them much more effective in battle by giving them new skills & allowing them to evolve their persona into a stronger one at max friendship (as well as allowing them to obtain their ultimate persona & skill if you hang out with them AGAIN afterwards).
The only flaws that I really can point out are the optional dungeon (which basically sucks all of the fun out of the battle system) & the story. Its not so much that the story is bad, as there is just too much of it at a time. Most of the time, you won't encounter the main story for anywhere from a couple of weeks to a whole month at a time (which can be very good or very bad depending on your preferences) but when it comes time for another main story segment, instead of spreading the story out over the course of say a week, they just throw it at you in a gigantic block of text over the course of a day or two. The worst part of this is that in the majority of those situations, the scenes are nothing but (to steal a phrase from the Nostalgia Critic) Big Lipped Alligator moments.... they are mostly random, serve no point to the overall story & are rarely (if at all) mentioned again. One such scene that instantly sticks out in my mind, just from the sheer absurdity, is the scene where the group are on school break & visit Yukiko's family's inn to spend the night. While there, the girls in the party decide to use the bath. Seems pointless & random enough right? Well...
MINOR SPOILERS ABOUT A PARTY MEMBER
then Naoto walks in... after which all of the other girls proceed to basically R*** (since apparently Gamestop doesn't like the word) her. They comment on her breast size (which I call BS on. No way could any human being hide those things that effectively) & on how smooth her skin is.... then use it as a way to proceed to touch her. This on its own is a bit creepy, but when Naoto proceeds to say the next line... things get WAY too creepy for my taste... "Where are you touching me!?". The look on my face through this entire scene (which I am sure was priceless) was nothing compared to it when she uttered that line. Then to top it off, the boys come into the bath (which we later learn is because it was actually there turn to use the bath... riveting stuff... I know) which causes the girls to respond by calling the boys perverts & attacking them. What is wrong with this, you may ask? I dunno... maybe because those hypocrites were bad touching Naoto just seconds before in the exact same scene.
END SPOILERS.
Was that scene random? Incredibly. Does the scene serve any point whatsoever? No. Is it ever mentioned again? THANKFULLY NO.
Two last things I feel I should mention is the way to get the game's ultimate weapons & what my personal recommended party is (not only for this fight, but for the game in general). As for the ultimate weapons... dear god is it random. Basically you open 20 chests (which will be signaled by the sound of the chains rattling) & then, without moving to the next floor of the dungeon, open another. If you are lucky (or really unlucky depending on your party & level) you may face the reaper. I would not recommend even attempting this fight before you reach level 70 with the weakest member of the party you will be using. If you do manage to defeat him you get a member of your party's ultimate weapon as a reward. I only managed to get two, due to the random nature of this, but when I did manage to fight (& beat him) he was a pushover. Why? My party is why....
IF YOU DON'T WANT TO BE SPOILED ON YOUR PARTY MEMBERS DO NOT READ THIS PARAGRAPH
That party was Yu (the main character) using the Trumpeter persona (which may have been mostly as effective as it was due to the skills passed in fusion. He basically had immunity to certain kinds of attacks & a strong spell from most of the elements), Yukiko (for her strong recovery & fire abilities), Naoto (because she is basically unstoppable... if you aren't using her once you get her, you are playing the game wrong) & Teddie (for his strong healing, buffing & Ice abilities). All my party members had reached Max Social Link status at the time of doing this & therefore had there 2nd best persona & 2nd best ability.
END SPOILERS
Overall I would still say the game is well worth playing, especially to the game starved Vita gamers such as myself, & I do still highly recommend it despite what I personally see as flaws.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Nice! :D
Posted 5/27/13
I love JRPGs as well! I can't wait for X to come out on the Wii U it looks amazing and emotional. In fact they are a lot of wonderful upcoming Wii U games! Any way very deep review, Happy gaming and enjoy! :):):)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Persona 4 Golden
GREAT JRPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/13
UrRomeo310
Location: Los Angeles,CA
i got this game a week ago and i have already logged in 14hrs! i would have done ALOT more but i do have to work, study, etc LOL it does have a lot of dialogue but for the most part it is interesting! the story will captivate you and the gameplay is great! good turn based action and the grinding you will do in the dungeons are fun! =] trust me if you are looking for that 1 game to play on the Vita that will keep you wanting more its gonna be this game! P4G is great go get it now!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Persona 4 Golden
Everything I was hoping for and more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
VulpineEsteem
Location: Columbus, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was the entire reason i purchased my Vita. It was well worth it, too! The story is so captivating, the graphics are superb, and the overall experience is so addicting, I had a hard time putting it down just to go to sleep. If you have ever liked an RPG, ever, you need to own this game. The only disappointment was that I couldn't choose a female character like in P3P. This was only a blip on my radar as I got so immersed into the story. I've put a solid 60 hours into the game, and I'm not finished with the story yet. Take it from me, this game is worth every penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Persona 4 Golden
REASON WHY YOU EVEN GOT A PS VITA
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/13
MGSH
Location: Davie FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pick this game up already. For starters, if your a huge fan of Japanese Role Playing Games, then Persona 4 Golden is definitely for you. If you missed the chance to play the original Persona 4 on the PS2, no worries Golden has got you covered. Persona 4 Golden is just incredible. The gameplay is just like those you would find in the past Shin Megami Games or Pokemon (takes on the whole turn-based system gameplay). The story is brilliant, the second you start Golden, you aren't going to want to put it down. As for the Graphics, they aren't new generation realistic material but that's okay, the graphics are cleverly designed in this art form that still looks wonderful. Sound is amazing, great music in the background at the right time also at a great quality. I can write a lot more about this game, but that doesn't make any sense cause there's no stopping of expressing just how amazing this game is. If you own a Vita and your an RPG fan, then this is a must buy. For those who played the PS2 version and own a Vita, I still highly recommend you get this game. The game is packed with so much more content that it makes the original and this remix feel like two entirely different game. (JUST GET THIS GAME)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>