GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!

Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!! is the first video game based on the radical, Emmy nominated Cartoon Network show about two close friends - Jake, a wise old dog with a big kind heart, and Finn, a silly kid who wants more than anything else to become a great hero. Players will explore the Land of Ooo and set out on heroic quests, as their favorite characters Finn and Jake, in a unique action adventure experience. Adventure Time show creator Pendleton Ward is also heavily involved with the game creation, including the design of a brand new storyline, concept, and quests.
Average Customer Rating:
7.667
7.7
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Review 1 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Holy cow!
Posted on:11/19/12
Location: Acworth, GA
I'll admit Adventure Time can be dumb at times, but it IS an awesome show. The show itself makes me think of a video game, so a game is naturally fitting, and now it's only one day away! Of course, I don't want to get my hope to high, but i'm seriously looking forward to playing this. If you have a 3DS you can check out more info in the e-shop, that's what had me sold. Even if the game itself isn't mind blowing- I'm still gonna get to smile at some of my favorite characters and badguys, and it's hard to screw up a platforming adventure game like this, thank glob, so i don't think it can't suck that much if it does at all. XD
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
minoshiya
fl.
 
Please wait while more information about minoshiya is loaded.
Additional information about minoshiya could not be loaded.
Even for grown ups !
Posted 12/17/12
I am a 41yr old father of 2 girls and I could'nt stop playing this game. I love the show and this plays just like the cool games from my past. Look good and is fun to play!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Never Judge A Book By It's Cover
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
Location: San Jose,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First of all, this game is sadly short. I wish it was longer but in the 5-8 hours of playing this, it was incredible. If every show related game was like this it would be great! Someone I know has a Jonas Brothers game for the DS and it is horrible(I would give that game a 3 or 4). Of course I wouldn't get that game but it is kind of a waste of time for the producers because not many people will buy it. But with Adventure Time Hey Ice King Why'd You Steal Our Garbage?!!, It changes that. Maybe it is because I like Adventure Time but this is a great game. Besides it being short I love this game! I hope there will be another game and it better be longer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Great story
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/16
Location: Staten Island, Queens, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's wonderful story with many challenges that only add to the overall experience. As you play you have not only the storyline but a massive explorable environment that allows you to make the story in your own way.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
it's in good hands
Posted on:6/25/12
Location: Ohio
way forward has game some great games especially with license games. Not sure if this will be a 2d side stroller like most of their games/on-line games or maybe a top down game like legend of zelda.. Way forwards games are known for being colorful an action packed fun so this game shows a lot of promise adding in series creator penn is writing for the story. 3DS will probably just be the DS version with sharper resolution and converted 3d. Both are the same price so good theres no extra cost.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
I cant believe this is real
Posted on:7/14/12
Location: Miami
I was on google looking at adventure time pictures thinking it was fake then i saw this and then i thought I MUST BUY THIS
 
My Product Recommendations
Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?! Collector's Edition
9.2 out of 10(20)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
zigy9696962
video game world
 
Please wait while more information about zigy9696962 is loaded.
Additional information about zigy9696962 could not be loaded.
D3 publisher and wayfoward
Posted 1/6/13
these two game companys make suprisingly good game like the ben 10 games there suuprisingly good they make some of the only good tv/movie based video games(also on the title screen press up,down,up,down,left,right,left,right,B,A for a funny secret screen
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Oh my glob adventure time game....
Posted on:7/8/12
Location: Dallas, TX
O my gosh i cannot wait for this to come out. I'm just hoping it is good, but im still going to buy it since im like a huge adventure time fan, and im looking forward to play it in 3D hope its a good game!
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Hope its good...
Posted on:6/19/12
I love the show, its really funny, so i'm expecting big things from this game. I'm expecting humor, good fights, and as the title states, ADVENTURE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
how is this worse than ds version
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Location: cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i think the game is better on 3ds i'v e played the demo and it was great! I love the tv show and the game is much like it
 
My Product Recommendations
Nintendo Wii U 32GB Deluxe Set
9 out of 10(236)
 
 
 
Nintendo 3DS - Cosmo Black
8.6 out of 10(676)
 
 
 
Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?! Collector's Edition
9.2 out of 10(20)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Good fan title-
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/13
Location: WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off, I love adventure time the show. When I saw this game with my recently purchased 3ds xl I knew it was a must-have. Unfortunately, the game does not surpass "average". It has the basic mechanics right, but the map structure and quests are poor. I liked the combat in the game, it was spot on. I did not like how the game quests were structured. Basically you are wandering in the Grasslands until you come to a forest or run into an adventure time NPC. It's frustrating having no one tell you where to go or what to do. I like it, but I don't love it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
IT'S ADVENTURE TIME!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/12
Location: ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
"Adventure time!!!! Hey Ice King why'd you steal our garbage?!?!" is a game very reminiscent of "Zelda 2 the adventure of Link" and "Banjo Kazooie". The game is presented as a "Zelda 2" type of game, but the wackiness and gameplay feel like "Banjo kazooie". The game is roughly 5 hours with an additional quest totaling another 5 hours, not to mention the side-quests and missions, which makes the total play time 17hours, which isn't bad for a $30 price tag. I definitely reccoment checking this game out, Thank you for reading, and have a nice day.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
It's Alright
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/15
Location: Danville, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I consider myself a pretty big Adventure Time fan. Considering this, it's no surprise that I've purchased most of the video games associated with the series. For the most part, these games have been pretty hit or miss, and this game is no exception.
Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!! was an overall enjoyable experience. It took me five hours to beat, and I did it all in one sitting. The difficulty is extremely easy (that is, until the extremely difficult final boss), which makes this an easy recommendation for parents that want to gift this to their child. Unfortunately, it will feel a little boring for experienced players. The good news is that I don't have any major complaints after playing. Looking at the big picture, it's a pretty good game. However, there were three minor complaints I had that took away from an otherwise great game.
1. The combat system: Don't get me wrong, the controls in this game were actually pretty great. I never found myself blaming the controls for any of my mistakes. However, the way that the combat in the game is structured annoyed me. Here's why:
In most games of this genre (Platformer/ARPG), you encounter various enemies roaming throughout each level. In platformers, the enemies will usually drop useful items, currency, or otherwise help you amass some sort of valuable material in the game, even if it just contributes to your overall high score. On the other hand, RPG games tend to have enemies that give you XP points upon their defeat. In other words, you level up in most RPGs by defeating monsters, otherwise known as "grinding." The problem with AT:HIKWYSOG?!! is that while it appears that it's a hybrid of the two genres, it uses neither of these mechanics. Occasionally the enemies will drop food (in my experience, very rarely) that will give you a trivial health boost. However, all of the useful items can be found in various parts of the level, and often don't even "drop" from any sort of enemy at all. Additionally, the way in which you level up has nothing to do with enemies at all. Instead, you just need to find chests to open that boost one of your stats. Therefore, the game incentivizes a reckless style of game play, in which you can just "parkour" your way through the levels, finding the fastest way to jump over each enemy, or ignore them entirely. Looking back, I could have easily beaten the game again while attacking little to no enemies at all. It simply feels like developers put enemies into the levels because they felt like they had to.
The developers attempted to fix this by adding semi-random encounters to the over world, and upon encountering one of these monsters, you are thrust into a subworld in which you fight enemies for a random item. While this does have more purpose than the standard enemies, I found this more of an unnecessary nuisance more than anything, and tried to avoid them at all cost when possible.
2. At times, the game felt tedious: It could just be a problem that comes with the fact that I marathon'ed this game, but there were a few things in AT:HIKWYSOG?!! that made the game feel sluggish, and very tedious. The biggest problem was the over world. Throughout the entire game, Finn/Jake must walk through the over world to get to various regions. This mechanic is fine, and brings some ARPG elements to the game, but the problem is that they walk at a snail's pace, and (as far as I know) you can't do anything to speed up the process. This wouldn't be a big deal if it were brief moments in which you use the over world, but it felt like over half of the game was spent waiting for Finn/Jake to crawl over to where I wanted to go. The game rewards exploration, but you never feel compelled to explore unless you know where you need to go, otherwise you could lose an hour of your time! Other factors also contributed to a tedious feeling throughout the game as well. For example, the ambiguity of the game had me stuck two or three times. Considering that a running gag throughout the game was how straightforward the Ice King's riddles are, I find it ironic that one of the game's flaws was that I couldn't figure out what it wanted me to do a few times. I ended up relying on the internet, only to find that I probably could have figured it out if it weren't for the game's ambiguous naming conventions.
3. The lack of overall polish: Although the game is designed much better than Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW! for the 3DS (I'm still trying to forget about that game, but that's a whole other can of worms), it feels lackluster at times. Whether it's the low quality audio, the occasional visual bug (often times a sort of flicker effect), or the repetitive (although catchy) sound track, the game lacked the polish of other 3DS titles. It's a shame, because at first glance the game looks very nice, and I have to admit that the pixel art is very well done. Even though I feel like this shouldn't be an issue, it kept coming back into my head as I was playing, and it takes away from the immersive qualities of a game.
With those complaints aside, I still feel that this game has its redeeming qualities. The story was pretty good, it had humor, it had a pretty good selection of weapons, the boss levels were actually pretty creative at times (I really enjoyed the 100 penguin rush), and the level design wasn't all that bad.
But this brings me to the overarching problem of the game, and my final thoughts:
Anything enjoyable about this game can be described as "pretty good." All in all, this game is typical for its genre: lots of backtracking, repetitive game play, and an emphasis on items with small puzzles in the dungeons. I'd definitely recommend this to a fellow Adventure Time fan who would appreciate the myriad of references scattered throughout the game as much as I, or the parent that wants to buy this game for their kid. On the other hand, while the elements that make the game are pretty good, it just doesn't feel groundbreaking, innovative, or refreshing in any way whatsoever. But let's be honest, I bought this game for ten dollars. Did I enjoy it? Heck yes, but let's just say that I won't be tackling the New Game+ mode any time soon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 12 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Is this for kids?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/13
Location: Austin, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I remember watching Adventure TIme and having to stop and ask "Is this for kids?" The cartoon itself sneaks some pretty deep lessons and subplot that it feels more like entertainment for those in their late teens and early 20's. It's not surprise in the boom of viewers in the demographic. In the same sense, I feel this game takes a page from that book.
It isn't really the themes that I mean, though. Yes, there are things from the show that are either direct quotes or pay homage to the show. Fans will not miss the little things that appear in both game and show. However, the controls feel a little advanced for children. With the 2D animation, it's hard at some points to know when you're attacks will hit and when they'll just put your fist close enough to the enemy's sprite to LOOK like it's touching but not really do damage. In that sense. Judging when you'll be hit is a bit harder, too. It's something that takes a bit of getting used to and it does come at you fast as you have a limited amount of health in the beginning.
The 3D portion of the game isn't as impressive as other games. It feels more like reading a 3D comic book, which still has some charm in it, but there isn't much to it after that. Other than that, there is a large retro appeal to the game as it mashes old school RPG elements with a side scrolling platform combat system. Older gamers will definitely feel nostalgic and remember the random battles of the past and alternating jump and attacking.
The sound was pretty decent, getting soundbites from the show or possibly the original voice actors to chime in on some phrases. However, it's just blurbs and you'll be doing more reading than listening to the characters. The music has that retro feel and does feel like something you'd hear in the show.
Unfortunately, I play it long enough to really be surprised by it. Fans of the franchise might want to pick it up, especially older fans who want to get the retro feel back again. However, for younger fans, I don't think this would be the exact game for them. Then again we grew up with these kinds of games and we turned out alright, right?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
WAY TO SHORT ! :c
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
Location: jacksonville Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game kicks math ! haha, i loved every second of gameplay, it was just to short i know they couldof added way more to the story. If you remember The Legend Of Zeld 2, its just like it but adventure time which is pretty sweet if you ask me. Your basic quests and awsome items, always fun. Great game, but seriously make another one because this one was very short. Good Buy !
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Stupid
Posted on:10/4/12
Location: NY
This game looks amazingly stupid like one of the worst games of all time, I like the show but this game seems stupid because why would ice king steal their garbage, and why would they care? Don't buy this it will be a waste of your money
3 of 78 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Berthon
America
 
Please wait while more information about Berthon is loaded.
Additional information about Berthon could not be loaded.
You fail
Posted 11/29/12
It's actually funny, because the game is out, and it is really good.
Customer Avatar
iNINJA
Acworth, GA
 
Please wait while more information about iNINJA is loaded.
Additional information about iNINJA could not be loaded.
Dude... WAIT.
Posted 11/19/12
If you'd waited you would have found out that the Ice King is making a Garbage Princess (Sure It's low but it's Ice King,,,) and that's only one part of the story we know so far. I thought the same at first but I waited and watched... And this game looks friggen' awesome now. So next time WAIT before ya HATE, lol, and people won't dislike your comment. Just some friendly advice. :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Ummm....
Posted on:10/14/12
Location: CA
Hey I know let's make a long game about a dude taking our garbage and us having to waste almost our entire time having to get it back -3-
1 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Adventure Time: Hey Ice King! Why'd you steal our garbage?!!
Another License Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If this didn't have the Adventure Time TV show game it wouldn't have been made. Only fans of the show should buy it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 35 found this review helpful.