GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Space 3

Dead Space 3 brings Isaac Clarke and merciless soldier John Carver on a journey across space to discover the source of the Necromorph outbreak. Crash-landed on the frozen planet of Tau Volantis, Isaac must comb the harsh environment for raw materials and scavenged parts. He will then put his engineering skills to the ultimate test to create and customize weapons and survival tools. The ice planet holds the key to ending the Necromorph plague forever, but first Isaac must overcome avalanches, treacherous ice-climbs, and the violent wilderness. Facing deadlier evolved enemies and the brutal elements, Isaac can choose to team up, not only for his own survival, but for that of mankind's. Play together with a friend or go it alone as Isaac Clarke using the seamless new drop in, drop out co-op functionality. Each mode offers unique story elements and gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
8.97
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
8
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 3385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Space 3
Review 1 for Dead Space 3
The Dev-Team edition!!!!
Posted on:1/14/13
beno377
Location: FL
I just preordered the ultra rare dev-team edition from visceral store. I just wanted to let you dead space fans know about this rare gem.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Space 3
Forget Resident Evil for now
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/13
MGSH
Location: Davie FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Survival horror has died from Resident Evil for the time being. So want something to pump back this sorta sense for that time being then get Dead Space 3 or the previous Dead Space games. Dead Space 3 is seriously one of a kind. It recreates the horror and the dark zombie atmosphere once again for fans of horror survival games. The graphics are great with dark, creepy and realistic environments and enemies. Gameplay is very challenging and enemies are no walk in the park. Better be smart or you will wet yourself when you get a gameover. Sound is great with the creepy and silent effects making every second of the game feel like a horror movie. Unlike previous Dead Space the story mode now enables online Co-op so you no longer have to face this nightmare by yourself. The only bad is that game heavily focuses on the story line and provides no extra content. Aside from that, if your interested in a good game and your a hardcore gamer then pick this game up definitely worth the buy especially on Sale.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Space 3
More Of The Same
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
Niggles
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After playing through DS3 I kind of expected them to shake it up after 2 installments of the same old stuff. Sadly there was very little new things to be seen in this third game. The Co-Op was alright but I actually would have preferred another Iteration of the Dead Space 2 MP as I found that to be much funner. The Campaign was alright but was really just more of the same. Wasn't very scary but maybe that's because I've grown used to seeing the same stupid Necromorph attacking me from behind. There wasn't really any fear to be had at all. It really felt like a chore getting through the whole game and when it starts to be become a chore the game is very mediocore. Personally I liked Dead Space 2 much more than this one. All in all not worth paying 60+ dollars for. I would recommend just waiting until it gets a price drop of like 30 bucks or so. I wouldn't be in any hurry to play it as it's really just more of the same stuff you already played in DS1 & DS2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Space 3
very nice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the Critics gave this game 5/10 and if you go to wikipedia there is a quote from that critic, and let me just say it is just a bunch of "mambo jambo" I think that guy just had a bad day or he just hates EA or something else personal, don't know !!! buy all I know is that this game does not get 5 out of 10. I understand, eneryone has a different opinion and different taste in games, and everyone has the right to say that they want and give opinions. My point is - there are certain type of games that I don't like playing, I tried once or twice, did't like it and will never play those type of games again, and I would not try to rate and write a review for a game like that because I would give it a 3/10. DS 3 is a great game, it is almost perfect, amazing graphics, sound is the best I ever experienced in any game, gameplay and replay value. I can go on and on about how great this game is. I give it 10/10, if you played DS before I'm 99 % positive you'll love it, even the new weapon crafting and all the other small changes are not changing the overall game experience. I personally enjoy all the new stuff and was NOT bored of the old stuff. If you are new to the series just go to youtube and look up someones actual gameplay and you decide for yourself.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
grkub
Kentucky
 
Please wait while more information about grkub is loaded.
Additional information about grkub could not be loaded.
Dead Space 3
Posted 3/24/13
I have really enjoyed the play of this game. The co-op side has great side missions and I highly recommend teaming up with someone in the co-op mode. I enjoy the fact that it is only a 2 player online that enables you to play at your own pace. I have run thru the game on the first setting and now heading back in at a higher setting. Graphics are nice and at first I was annoyed by the cut screen video but as the game progressed enjoyed the break in action they provided. In all, the game is well worth the play time.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dead Space 3
Interesting
Posted on:6/5/12
wafflesonfire797
Location: columbus, oh
I personally do not know why everyone thinks it is going to suck because of co-op, they are trying something new and I applaud that. Definitely a pre-order for me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nano07
 
Please wait while more information about Nano07 is loaded.
Additional information about Nano07 could not be loaded.
The most anticipated game of my life so far...
Posted 1/4/13
What can I say, I love to be scared out of my mind and these games have done it for me so far. Definitely a preorder for me, just give me a dark room and surround sound!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dead Space 3
Unbelievable how i didn't want to stop playing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/13
GingerGamer
Location: Butler, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was the biggest breath of fresh air I've had in awhile with video games. I never felt like I was being pushed through the game, it was me setting my pace. The graphics with an HDMI are gorgeous, the sound through a good pair of headsets scared me and really showed how good the sound can be, the controls are perfect too. And for those of you who think your going to hate this game because you're on a planet not in space, don't. You are in space for a really good while before you get to the Tau Volantis. And I've been a die hard Dead Space fan from the beginning on the USG Ishimora and Nicole, I was one of those sceptics about the whole not being in space thing and I think this is the best installment of the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Space 3
DS3 Collectors Edition
Posted on:8/24/12
RAZINNH
Can't wait for this game to be released. When is EA going to allow us to pre-order a Collectors Edition? I need one! Possibly with a statue of Issac Clarke or of the Marker. A art work book would be nice also. Bring it on EA!
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bangarangjoe
 
Please wait while more information about bangarangjoe is loaded.
Additional information about bangarangjoe could not be loaded.
One just got announced
Posted 1/17/13
only 5,000 are made. you can buy it with or without the game. its called the dev team edition. http://gear.ea.com/titles/dead-space/dead-space-3-dev-team-edition.html
Customer Avatar
trunk
Cincinnati,OH
 
Please wait while more information about trunk is loaded.
Additional information about trunk could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
I don't think there will be
Posted 1/4/13
I don't think there is going to be a DS3 collectors edition. I don't think the DS2 collectors edition did that well so they may not make one for DS3. But trust me I would really like an Isaac Clark statue too.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Dead Space 3
A Fan from the Beginning!
Posted on:6/7/12
Auron22
Location: Ohio
I cant wait for what they have in store for the third from what it sounds like it could be the final though. :( But atleast we know it wont be a draggy series then. I've pre-ordered the first because I knew from the start it was going to become an amazing horror franchise. I dont think they will screw up the third with adding co-op because if they really care about there franchise it will still atleast be just as fun maybe not as scary, but still fun! Even if it turns to more of an action, it's okay! as long as its entertaining and just as satisfying I guess I'm fine. But I would really love it to have all the same elements! Because I love horror!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JPF10
Modesto, CA
 
Please wait while more information about JPF10 is loaded.
Additional information about JPF10 could not be loaded.
The End Begins
Posted 10/2/12
So now another Insane adventure for Isaac Clarke and also his New partner John Carver together they make a cool team up because believe it or not they have gotten even bigger an Epic necromorph plague So Isaac is going to have to have a partner even though you can just play alone but whats the fun in that I would like to talk with my co op partner so we can face the terror together and Die together haha so there you have it another True Fan yes Me to :D like you a Dead Space fan ever since the 1st game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Dead Space 3
Beautiful! Work of Art!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
cammmm
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Finally the third and hopefully not the last iteration in the series has arrived, and there will be a year on the 5th of next month since its release. I personally really loved this game, but it felt different from the first two the world seemed more open and the gameplay seemed less uptight. I loved the fact that they incorporated the Markers as weapons to defeat the final boss the Necromorph Moon. I also enjoyed how instead of the bulk of the game in SPACE, it's now on an icy planet Tau Volantis where the mysteries unfold of the purpose of the Markers. Isaac not only has to face yet another Necromorph battle but also the Unitologists and their leader Jacob Danik in a battle to save mankind. I hope this is not the end of the series. I will say it did lack the some of the horror factor, but the art work made up for it through my eyes.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dead Space 3
Isaac’s return boasts a new brand of scary.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
kemeo1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You’d be mistaken to think Dead Space 3 has lost its edge due to a more action-packed approach. Dead Space 3 is not a survival horror anymore – at least not in the conventional sense. Carefully stepping down claustrophobic hallways with the unexpected lurking around each corner is still present. But Visceral Games has amplified the scope in plenty of ways to spice things up. The end result is a truly spectacular game that emphasizes an engineer’s will to survive.
Dead Space 3 is a blast to play from beginning to end. And it only gets better as you go. It is the winning recipe of how to effectively sell a survival game with a more open scope. The game is not shy from stepping outside of the survival-horror genre. But when it does, it does with class. Packed with gorgeous graphics, memorable moments, and stellar combat, Dead Space 3 is a valuable addition to the franchise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Dead Space 3
AMAZING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/13
GodofWarJuggalo
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
DS3 is absolutely awesome! The weapon modification addition is SWEET!!!! I have spent more time creating and tweaking weapons than I have played the actual game lol. Visceral did an outstanding job with the abilities they offer for modifying your weapons. The enemies are bad@$$ too...from old school enemies to the new ones like the Feeders. The only 2 things about DS3 that I didn't like was that it wasn't as scary as the 2 previous titles. I only jumped 2 or 3 times, compared to the NUMEROUS times I jumped while playing DS2. And finally, they took out the save stations. Now you must play until you see the "Progress Saving" icon appears. You can save your inventory whenever, but you may lose out on your progress if you save and quit before seeing that your progress actually saved. I agree with Game Informer's review of DS3..they reviewed it perfectly. 9.75/10!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Dead Space 3
OH-MY-GOSH
Posted on:8/20/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
I CANNOT WAIT. I am a huge fan of thriller, suspense, gross, nasty , grueling games and dead space does it better then the rest! Don't get me wrong, I am a HUGE resident evil fan but I feel dead space offers something a little different. I absolutely cannot wait for the amazing graphics, unique guns and story driven gameplay that will be dead space 3!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Space 3
Looks sweet to me.
Posted on:9/16/12
Auron22
Location: Ohio
I've been a fan sense the very first day the first dead space came out. And yes its something I'm proud of and had to put in here. Because this is my second most favorite survival horror game series. Silent hill being my first. Resident evil died to me after the fourth one and I frankly dont care about the sixth even though it looks awesome. But this game looks sweet and I'm anxious to try this2-plyr mode, explore the harsh environment and find out more of isaacs story. Most people dont know it but dead space 1 was close to being 2-plyr itself to badt the environment had lots of bugs when they tried it and went with single plyr. It may not be good as the other two but if it sint I know I'll still like it and thats all that matters.(It will probably be better than dead space 1. Not saying it was bad. It was good to me but the first was a little amatuer. not with the scares just with the placements of the levels and environments. That could just be me though. Probably because I'm spoiled with silent hill or something but it isnt silent hill so.... But yeah the first was still good sense I'm a giant fan I'm just picky.)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Dead Space 3
Space Mechanic 2000
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/13
DudeBrah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The two previous entries of the Dead Space series were both great games. The bar had been set pretty high for Dead Space 3 so it was apparent to everyone that we would all be seeing new things brought to the table. I was surprised to see so many negative reviews for a game that not only added new elements but still stayed true to the things people loved about Dead Space 1 and 2. Horror? Check. New gameplay elements? Check. Outstanding visuals and audio? Check. I've come to the conclusion that people are just going to complain about games changing. If this were just a DS2 clone, people would say that there is not anything new. Don't get this title confused with the Resident Evil series that has clearly fallen hard. Dead Space 3 is alive and full of content. As with any game, judge for yourself but don't let negativity steer you away from this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Space 3
UNANSERED QUESTIONS?
Posted on:6/8/12
commandercody
Location: Tucson, AZ
When i first read saw co-op, Tau Volantis, and cover it scared me more then the other Dead space games but then i thought about it a little co-op could be good if used currectly. iIn Dead space 2 Isaac constantly met up with Ellie and the insane Nolan Stross for a short lived reunion and then put back into the cold dark areas of the Sprawl so if they incorprate this into co-op by having you work together split up and meet back leter this could be the best thing to ever happen to dead space but this would be incredibly hard to do. I was extremely upset to hear about Tau Volantis until i heard Isaac will also need to travel into invested ships in space getting him back into the original dead space theme. Cover was another thing i wasnt certain about but is a neccessity in gun fights and will most likely be more then useless against a wave of necromorphs. The only thing i still dont like is the Universal ammunition which i believe to be the only thing that in no way could be a positive change to Dead space i liked having to use my plasma cutter as a last resort weapon and i feel it make the game a lot easier. but all and all I am very excited for Isaac Clarkes newest spine tingeling adventure...... Now you probably are wondering why i titled this unanswered questions well here it is. Did Ellies eye grow back or something?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Redbaron6661
Cincinnati Oh
 
Please wait while more information about Redbaron6661 is loaded.
Additional information about Redbaron6661 could not be loaded.
Gonna be epic...
Posted 1/30/13
Ellie probably got a glass eye since the last time we saw her. To me, it doesn't matter what environment Isaac is in. The game is going to be scary regardless. A lot of times in the previous 2 games, it was more about the pop-in scaring more than it was about the darkness. As far as the co-op goes, I think it will work out either with them together all the time or separated sometimes. We'll just have to wait and see. There's only one week left til we find out.
Customer Avatar
Overview
NewJersey
 
Please wait while more information about Overview is loaded.
Additional information about Overview could not be loaded.
Posted 7/30/12
Well from my research and hints from the Dead Space Facebook page I assume she took her leave. The new secondary main character is Carver. There is game play on their YouTube page go check it out. :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for Dead Space 3
Dead Space!
Posted on:6/5/12
Sammysal
Location: Stevens Point, WI
I came home from school yesterday and logged on to ign to watch E3 and this was the first thing I saw. I was so excited when I saw that they were making another Dead Space, and I was even more excited when I saw that it was going to be co-op. I am the biggest Dead Space fan so this is definately going to be awesome. My only concern with this new co-op design is that it will take some of the scariness from the game now that you have a friend playing with you. That said however, the game will still be amazing and it will be cool to see the story progress even more! I already can't wait for next February!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Space 3
Stick to the previous.
Posted on:1/4/13
hammerofjustice93
Location: Atlanta, GA
I am so excited for this game. I just pray they don't screw up this series like they did with Resident Evil 6. There was so much hype behind that game and boom, flop. It really irritates me that games are moving away from survival horror and just implementing stupid unrealistic action clips. Action is good, but don't take the survival horror out. Look at Resident Evil 4 and down, complete success along with Dead Space 1 & 2. DON'T SCREW THIS UP EA!
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Space 3
Epic - Best Dead Space Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/14
DingoDave
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game will blow you away. The graphics and sound are incredible. The gameplay is solid and the Necromorphs are as deadly as ever. There are moments in this game that are epic like in God of War 3 and Uncharted 2. There are some differences between this game and the other 2 like weapon crafting and 2 player co-op (which I haven't played yet). It still has those "jump out of your skin moments". I recommend playing this game with the lights off and the sound turned up. Gamestop has this game for cheap right now so if I were you I'd go out and get a copy. You won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Dead Space 3
Awesome trilogy conclusion
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
HondaRyder
Location: Belfair, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After playing Dead space 1 & 2, I was very excited to learn that a third one was being made. I will tell you now, EA games didn't dissapoint. Immediatley I was hooked into the story just like I was with the previous installments. Gameplay, graphics, storyline and sounds, all fantasic like before. Now that we all know what to expect with Dead space, it's not quite as thrilling as the other two but for what it lacks in horror it definatley mkes up for with action. Don't get me wrong, it's still creepy but it won't make you jump quite as much as the other two did. I still recommend any of the three games to anyone. Let's just hope that EA can come up with another installment for the franchise within the next few years. A prequel to the first one maybe?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Space 3
Not the Same Dead Space, unfortunately
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/13
Hogan
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
But that's not a bad thing. While the game itself is not a grounded, survival horror like the first game, it is still a great game that shouldn't be looked at for its less-than-scary atmosphere, but rather its emphasis on storytelling and its roots clearly taken from classic movies like "The Thing." While the new strong story approach is a nice touch, it has also added a lot of human interaction. This is my one true gripe for a game that is supposed to be in the action-horror category. It adds way too much of a secure feeling and while by now, the series is predictable, they used sound as a hint of the next jump scare, such as music or subtle noises before they come through a vent. Very disappointing from a horror game, considering its the best offering since Doom 3. The gameplay is still epic, and the new enemies are fun and offer new gameplay. The gun customization is really interesting and offers ENDLESS options for Gameplay style. My personal favorite is an ammo heavy assault rifle with a rocket launcher with a mod to protect from explosions. The atmosphere is just as creepy and while you are on a frozen planet for much of the game, you will also be in small corridor facilities and space ships. So don't worry about losing its fear element completely, it just isn't as scary as part 1 or 2. Overall it has the dead space feel with a great story, excluding an awkward and highly generic love triangle. Ignoring that, you will love the logs, the ending, and hopefully, if there's a Dead Space 4, they'll leave their innovative Co-op and expanded demographics ideas at the door. My opinion is that EA only did this in an effort to expand the already huge fan base, and may have damaged the IP's highly unique identity as a result.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>