GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island Riptide

They thought they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. Then their fate took a turn for the worse...The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the safety of a military ship, but when a furious storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides.
Average Customer Rating:
7.842
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1984%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island Riptide
Review 1 for Dead Island Riptide
Better then the first one
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
BudWype
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is way better then the first one and keeps you on your toes! does do some repeat monsters but it's all good!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Island Riptide
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/14
MikeShiznit
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game at the beginning of the 2014 year and have been loving it ever since. After 14 hours in I am about 58% of the way complete with the story so there is plenty of game content. I would best describe this game as a Skyrim battle system (first person hack and slash) with similar quest fetching on a zombie infested island. Each character has their own unique special that can be further upgraded as level increases in a sort of tree based system (think Borderlands). My only complaint is that you are unable to play offline co-op on the same system. But yea this game is hella fun and well worth the a measly $20.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Island Riptide
Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/14
Ngentile
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game. Not a big fan of how other people can join the game though. I think that this game is almost as good as the first 1.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dead Island Riptide
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
Bucksnort
Location: Wisconsin, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cool I love the gameplay I even got scared at some parts! The game is definitely recommended I love zombie games!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Island Riptide
Kind of Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/13
PS3game222
Location: St. John, IN
Okay i did what you all said and bought the game. I've got to say though i was disappointed with the outcome. When i first saw this in a Gameinformer I had mixed feelings on what it would be like. The game looked pretty sharp and I had heard good things about the first so i decided to try it out. But all I really got out of the game is an overly repetitive amount hacking up zombies and leveling up your skill tree when i felt that the skill tree didn't do all that much to help your character. But even when the gameplay was repetitive they found a way to make it somewhat fun. But, after a certain amount of time doing the same thing over and over again killing zombies gets kind of old really quick. The story really did nothing to get me hooked. I mean seriously ounce you got onto the island you first mission is to find boat parts. Isn't that exciting!! i didn't think so either. So you push your way through a poorly thought out first mission and finally you start finding different zombies classes to kill but again you pretty much just hack and slash through them or just die over an over again trying to kill a zombie that keeps standing right in front of you when you spawn. The game looks sharp though but with all these negatives the graphics are definitely not enough to do this game any justice. Its a game lacking in too many aspects to make it appealing for a long period of time. If you like mindlessly hacking through a zombie infested island and doing below par missions then this game is for you. But if you want a game that can produce sound combat and an intriguing story then this is not the game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for Dead Island Riptide
Not the Dead Island I Loved
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
TIMonkey45
Location: Wakeman, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead Island Riptide was horrible compared to the original Dead Island. Despite the new weapons including nail guns, flare guns, and stun guns and the addition of a new character; John Morgan, Dead Island Riptide only felt like a carbon copy of the original game many people came to love. The gameplay was essentially the same in terms of the hacking and slashing zombies but with a lower frame rate and the story of the game honestly felt rushed to the point where you really couldn't do many if any side quests. After finishing the game in a matter of about 10 hours of gameplay, I have not touched it since. Considering all of the ups and downs of the game, I would give it at most a solid 7.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Island Riptide
it was awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/13
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it is just awesome its not as intense as left for dead with its all the time zombie attacking this one gives you a breather and the 1st one is great also
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Island Riptide
Story is good, gameplay is not
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
Breanna2405
Location: Murrieta, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was an anticipated game for me, considering I played the first one. This was my birthday present, got it preordered. Played it right when I got it...I could tell it wasn't the best game. The graphics, they are down right bad..the combat is glitchy and there are many bugs in the game like you can't even save at an area, and the checkpoints are separated far. I was exploring one time, went into a room and I jumped from chapter 2 to chapter 11 and had to fight off 20+ zombies for a completely different mission. The sounds can get repetitive but are pretty cool. Overall, not recommending the game and I am returning it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 9 for Dead Island Riptide
Flawed but Fun Experience
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
BradB
Location: Brentwood, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Island Riptide is a mixed bag. If you enjoyed the first Dead Island, like me, then you will love this game. A few improvements are that the weapons degrade much slower now and there are new environments. But that's just it, there are hardly any new improvements. The graphics on the console versions are crummy and the frame rate is atrocious at best. Techland seemed to ignore everybody's criticism and just copy and pasted the first DI into a new world. I still really like this game though. Something about it keeps me coming back!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Island Riptide
The game is really good and a whole lotte fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/13
FeeMan
Location: Palmdale , CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game has good graphics i could play the game all day if i could haha i got three of mt friends to buy it they like it alot as well
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dead Island Riptide
havent seen the sun in a few days
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/13
thingsidotoyou
Location: georgia, newnan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
everythings perfect besides guns glitch and lag also when you swtich weapons it glitches but it never gets old when you run kick wth jhon
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AnarchChef
US
 
Please wait while more information about AnarchChef is loaded.
Additional information about AnarchChef could not be loaded.
Dead Island Riptide PS3
Posted 5/13/13
First among anything else, if ur not a fan of the game, you will HATE it. But if ur a fan like me, you'll LIKE it. Not much more than LIKE. The games strengths balance out its weaknesses. The PS3 version has even more lag than the first DI, its plot is a little straight forward, and for something that was in development for 2 years, they stole alot from the previous game. On the plus side, as u know DI is a beautiful environment no matter where u are. And this one is no different. Vehicles are pretty much limited to boats, however there is the occasional truck. Weapon mods are the same with just a few new additions. But....the difficulty level is through the roof!! So if u struggled in the beginning of the 1st one, ur really gonna have a time w/this. Truly just for the fans, I would say.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dead Island Riptide
Welcome Back To Zombie Killing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is good. I cant really complain about this game cause is pretty intense in different spots. it might take a little bit of time to get the hang of it but when you kill the first zombie you will want to keep playing.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Dead Island Riptide
Re-Spawn too quick
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
rdb40k
Location: San Leandro, CA
I bought the first Dead Island 'used' and it was awesome, then when I heard Riptide was coming out soon I couldn't wait 'til the release date. Now I wish they had play tested it more before releasing it. The zombies re-spawn much too quickly (2-5 min) so you're using up more weapons and ammo just trying to survive instead on concentrating on your quests. If the designers wanted to add something new, how about the ability to swim? With a game that has you navigating through waterways in a boat, I guess our heroes never learned how to swim. I expected the difficulty level to increase with a sequel, but this is over the top ridiculous. Its like choosing difficulty level 'INSANE' on any other games, and the movement is sluggish when moving forward or backwards. In my opinion this game needed much more work before its release date, they rushed it. Hopefully they will do a better job with Dead Island 3 - if there will be a part 3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DJG228
Philadelphia, PA
 
Please wait while more information about DJG228 is loaded.
Additional information about DJG228 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/29/13
They spawn every 10 minutes for me which doesn't matter to me cause then I get more loot from them instead an empty barren wasteland with no challenge. And it isn't that difficult if you have good a weapons and a team.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dead Island Riptide
Meh
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
Charfaguyamaka
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
SOOOO many bugs same weapons as dead island. Pretty much just dead island 1 except its on a different island
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Island Riptide
FISTs OF Fury
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
peachers
Location: henderson nevada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i waited twp years for this game and i countted down very day since the date announcement i got this the day it came out and i cant stop playing..sure it has its moments whereits buggy..but not as buggy as skyrim and people say its repetitive...well yeah thier zombies what did you expect...its a really good game for any zombie lover you could get into this really fast...if you like borderlands with bats instead of guns and zombies instead of bandits..oh yeah get this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Dead Island Riptide
Great fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
maverick4444
Location: Pine Grove, PA
This game has in abundance what many games have forgotten about over the years. In old magazines, one portion of the review would be the "Fun Factor" and this denoted the enjoyable nature of the game overall. This game is brimming with the Fun Factor. While it is very similar in gameplay elements to the first one, that is not a bad thing. This is a familiar run through a new location. There are new features, weapons, quests, and modes to keep someone interested but the overall Dead Island feel is the same. That being said, there are some glitches or hindrances that are still present from the main game but if you enjoyed the first game in spite of those hassles, then this is a surefire win for you. The sound was just ok in my opinion. Nothing really stood out but I do not have the $200 headphones either. Maybe a better setup would change that. Graphically, I enjoyed the island and I had fun walking from one area to the next. I thought that the cutscene animation could be better. The story is lacking but I was not playing for an in-depth tale. I wanted to make a gun that shoots electric bullets and put the hurt on some undead. In that respect, Dead Island Riptide accomplished what I wanted. Now I want more events, missions, and weapons. I also hope that they polish up some of the little things with patches. I must say that I am a fan of the franchise and I will be buying a 3rd installment if they decide to come out with one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Dead Island Riptide
ZOMBIE BAIT
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
HFBVHFBVUIBFEVIEFBNJHYUG
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok for those of u on the fence, this game is worth buying, if u played the first one and liked it then theres no reason y u wouldn't like this one, its really fun exploring the new locations killing new and old infected, now some quests like the first one can be frustrating or tedious but over all its not a bad experience, it picks up where the first left off, same characters and one extra joins the group very cool guy to, its really not a sequal its more a continuation same story same concept only infection is spreading beyong original island, so if u like Dead Island then get Riptide
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Dead Island Riptide
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/13
Welenti
This is a great game that is fun to play with friends and with other people online. It is fun to play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Dead Island Riptide
Great sequal. Great appeal
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/13
redsox7
Location: Orange,MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was doing awful as far as people's expectations go. But after playing, i must say this is a very good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Island Riptide
I think I'll wait
Posted on:4/20/13
mike
Location: Eunice, LA
At first I was stoked about buying it on the first day but now I think I'll wait. I bought the first Dead island just last summer with all of the bells and whistles that come with it (aka DLC). I've also heard of the glitches that came with the first one upon its initial release. I'm sure all the of bugs will get worked out and I loved the Dead Island version I eventually got but as I said, it'll be a great game but I'll wait until it's a bit cheaper and all of the content that I didn't have to buy.
1 2 3 next>>