GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

In Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, the origin of Dracula and his legendary connection with the Belmonts was revealed. In Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2, fans can expect thrilling new twists and challenges. In this shocking conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga, Dracula returns once again, weakened and yearning for release from his immortal bonds. Facing a new and powerful threat, the vampire lord must reacquire his old powers - and only his castle holds the key. However, the famed Belmont clan also seek his ultimate destruction.
Average Customer Rating:
7.375
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Review 1 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
EPIC!!! ASTOUNISHING!!! CANT WAIT FOR THIS...
Posted on:6/8/12
Anonymous
Location: Baja, MX
I CANT WAIT TO BUY THIS GAME!!!!
I had goosebumps when I saw the trailer...
I really hope that Gabriel Belmont is the playable character, that way everyone could play as DRACULA.
BECAUSE THAT HAS NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE (unless youre thinking in playing that Wii Fighting game)
Anyway...
Castlevania may have taken some of the gameplays from METROID, DEVIL MAY CRY, GOD OF WAR and SHADOWS OF THE COLOSSUS... But I was so happy with the result of LORDS OF SHADOW in 2010 and I hope this game surpasses the expectations of the last game!!!
First of all: Change is Good for some franchises. As a die hard fan of the series since the NES days, Lords of Shadow became my favorite game. This game may not be good or acceptable for some of the 2D/old hardcore fans or some fans from the G of W, Shadows, DMC series because they think its a "rip off".
Second: I think the story will be once again very promising, the sound is epic, mercury steam really does a great work with graphics and of course: the gameplay: IF AINT BROKE, DON'T CHANGE IT!!!!
And finally: I think the resurrection of the franchise has work perfectly! It appears that the New Castlevania Timeline its fitting very well and I hope it keep that momentum for future games... Mercury Steam and Kojima Productions (giving it a touch of that Metal gear feeling of nostalgia) have really nailed it!!!
I hope LOS2 will be awesome and better than LOS1. Lets hope for the best...
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cromismygod
the void
 
Please wait while more information about cromismygod is loaded.
Additional information about cromismygod could not be loaded.
WHAT HAPPENED???????
Posted 9/5/13
THIS SERIES WAS ORIGINALLY SLATED AS A TRILOGY AND NOW THE DESCRIPTION SAYS THIS WILL BE THE CONCLUSION. Let me guess, Kojima-san ran out of ideas, right? Here's hoping this one will go back to the original musical style and open world concept. One of the greatest feelings of accomplishment in Castlevania is unlocking the world map 100% by exploring aalllll the hidden areas. Also on a side note, I loved the idea of a crafting system in Curse of Darkness.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Could have been better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
GameWhisperer
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was looking forward to this game for quite some time. Playing it just seemed like a re-cap of the same abilities the protagonist had in LOS1. Dracula's main weapon was a whip. I know he is Gabriel, but I was really hoping for a different main power. I was looking forward to tapping into some more vamparic type powers. As you play as dracula, you pretty much start out very weak, after the first act. This is dissapointing, because any Castlevania fan has a true admiration of Dracula, as he was always challenging to defeat.
Although I was thankful for simular controls, the moves were all the same, and this made it feel like the same experience as LOS1. The ending was very bland and borning.
There were several bugs and lock-ups when I tried the "New Game +" feature. I was also hoping for an Alucard character skin to play with, just for fun.
To sum this up: worth a few days rent, but not to buy. The replay is way too low. The story was good with such a let down of an ending.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/14
Bungus
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really liked this game. It had a great conclusion to this excellent series. My favorite things about this game would be the combat and the soundtrack. The combat is very well designed, and the soundtrack is beautiful, as are the graphics. I do have one complaint with this game, it would be the stealth sections. They break the flow of the game and are very forced. You fight giant demons, but have to hide from the guards who are defending a factory. Overall, this is a great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Don't buy xbox 360 version
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/14
gtrplr77
Location: missoula mt
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Do not buy the xbox 360 version of this game. You get almost to the end of the game and it freezes up. That makes it so you have to start all over again. It takes a long time to get all of the power ups and stuff, and it is really frustrating when it freezes at the end. You'd think they could fix this with todays technology.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Awesome I played the demo
Posted on:2/18/14
nomorefanboys
Location: Colorado
LOS has been getting a bad break. critics complained about LOS and fate of 2 mirrors i don't see why both are worthy editions as this looks to be as well. Funny how this and GOW are similar types of game and i liked GOW but LOS was a much better game than any GOW. I was happy to see that LOS is getting a sequel. I have downloaded and played the demo and I am not disappointed mercury steam looks to be doing an awesome job. I am a fan of castlevania from the nes to snes to genesis to ps1 to ps2 to xbox to gameboy, advance to ds to 360, ps3, wii to 3ds. I have played almost all the games spanning systems. as afan of the series i have adjusted to each turn the series has taken. LOS series is still castlevania whether critics agree. I appreciate a different take the prequel to the castlevania saga. I can't wait for the full game cause the demo met and exceeded my expectations
Review 6 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Can't Wait
Posted on:7/11/12
oliver13
Location: Crawfordsville
I'm pretty sure that was Trevor Belmont at the end which is gabriel's son he had with his wife before gabriel unknowingly killed her. Now trevor is trying to kill his father for payback.
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raiaz
 
Please wait while more information about Raiaz is loaded.
Additional information about Raiaz could not be loaded.
Posted 12/29/12
That was actually Alucard. :l you cant tell cant you...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Father and son
Posted on:6/21/12
HiryuGodHand
Location: Six Feet Under, The Ground
Was that... Alucard? I certainly hope so. If Gabriel is at the height of his power now (everyone else saw the future ending in LoS1, right?), wouldn't it make sense to play as Dracula's son and play up to that ending? It would also be awesome if the game took place in Gabriel's castle.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DoctorProfessorDai
 
Please wait while more information about DoctorProfessorDai is loaded.
Additional information about DoctorProfessorDai could not be loaded.
Actually...
Posted 8/13/12
In this game, you play as Dracula, from what I remember hearing from interviews with developers, producers, and such. The entire point of Lords of Shadow in terms of the entire trilogy was that you could see the origins of the Dracula of this timeline, and even play as Dracula, rather than just a reincarnation of him that...in truth, I thought lacked the Dracula feel a little.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Doesn't Win You Like the First, But Still Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
SargeantReaper
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Lords of Shadow series, in my opinion, is a touching tribute to the Castlevania series. The first LoS will always be the best, and its sequel is good, but does have its flaws. Everybody by now knows about the stealth scenes (you can't fight a guy with a grenade launcher, but you destroyed an undead dragon, while human, with a whip). The explanation for it makes sense as you've been out of the spotlight for some time, but come on. On the plus side, the boss fights are cool, the voice acting works, and playing as Dracula is fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Great graphics, music, atmosphere
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/14
jayjohnson
Location: HOuston
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so underrated, if you like god of war, uncharted, assasins creed you will love it.. i loved every part of the game from begining to the end. Few puzzles, great bosses, great, music, voice acitng. is good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
this game is aweomse
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
malo1295
Location: Norman,oklahoma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game far surpasses LOS in every single way i have know idea what game informer was talking about they were outta of there mind.... I give this game a ten outta of ten
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jones082
Chicago, Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about Jones082 is loaded.
Additional information about Jones082 could not be loaded.
Not what I was hoping for
Posted 3/23/14
I seriously had high expectations for this game. From the hype and the way the game developers anticipated it like it was going to be a epic game I was let down. It's not as good as the first LOS it was a lot shorter too. Dracula powers could have been a lot better. It just seem like the game was too rushed to make. The (stealth) missions was a major disappointment and playing as the (rat pack) really sucked. I wasn't really impressed with Castlevania: LOS 2 there are some parts in the game that was fun, but nothing really exciting though the music was terrible it didn't have that Castlevania feel. The ending was bad it left a lot of questions unanswered. I'm looking forward to the first DLC "Revelations" which is being released tueday March 25, 2014. You can get a chance to play as another protagonist Dracula's son Alucard. Leading up to the events of LOS.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Okay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
Vladiii
Location: New Mexico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cool game. Castlevania games in the past would always make the game more interesting with the music. But the music in the last 3 new Castlevania games sucks!!! Im pretty sure many people noticed that. What happend to the great music Castlevania had before!?!?!? Again, the music SUCKS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 12 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
So excited!
Posted on:2/15/14
BAgunner300
Location: Vila Real, Portugal
So, in anticipation for this game I went out and got the first "Lords of Shadow" and I love it! It's such a great game and I finished the first of the 14 chapters maybe 10 minutes ago. So I watched a bunch of reviews on the first one to see if it was worth and and all of them were talking about this twist ending that will shock the hel out of you...Just watched the trailer...I wonder what might happen at the end of the first. smh
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
solid
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
supreme101
Location: vancouver wa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Solid game a few things that could have been done differently but overall satisfied, GI gave it a 6 gs gave it a 7 I give it a 8 cause i think it deserved it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Heard that it won't be that good
Posted on:2/15/14
HokageFrankie94
Location: CA
I just got my Gameinformer Magazine through the mail today and it rated the game 6/10 because it is a patch-work mess and disappointing. So now I'm going straight to Gamestop today and cancel the pre-order for this game
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
supreme101
vancouver wa
 
Please wait while more information about supreme101 is loaded.
Additional information about supreme101 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/27/14
I agree GI is too critical, its a good game it just isn't perfect but what game is
Customer Avatar
blam956
texas
 
Please wait while more information about blam956 is loaded.
Additional information about blam956 could not be loaded.
Ppl cant even make up their own minds.
Posted 2/18/14
well you should not go with game informers review until you play it yourself I don't let other ppls opinion change my view a game if your gonna buy a game get it because you like it not because someone else says its good or suck you have to remember the person that reviewed it probably never was a fan of castlevania in the first place they could just be judging it harshly my advice make your up your own mind . and this is coming from a real fan of castlevania been playing it sice it cam out on Nintendo soooo yeah.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
One of the Best Games Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:6/14/12
coolcole101
Location: P.A.
I own the first one and all of the dlc and theres not a moment when you get bored. This game is hopefully longer,better (if possible) and better graphicsinvolved. The first was perfect and im sure this will be just as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Limited Edition
9.3 out of 10(16)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
CAN'T WAIT OF IT
Posted on:10/4/12
LordAlucard95
this game will be awesome just by watching the trailer, i know it will be good and is it coming out this year or next year because on amazon it said it was coming out Demeber 31, 2013
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
streakninja
 
Please wait while more information about streakninja is loaded.
Additional information about streakninja could not be loaded.
THIS IS TORTURE!!!
Posted 12/16/13
Just played the demo and now I have to wait 2 1/2 months till I can get the real thing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Lord of Shadows 2
Posted on:1/2/13
Pithrivi
Location: SD, CA
I'm glad they're still producing Castlevania franchises. I am hoping there would be an Alucard vs. Dracula there. Looking forward to this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
12.31.13!!!!!!!!
Posted on:1/3/13
oliver13
Location: Crawfordsville
What the heck! why did they just push the release date back an entire year? 2 weeks ago its was due to be released on 12/31/12
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Trailer gives me chills..
Posted on:8/30/13
LivinIsntEasy86
Location: New York, NY
I love the trailer for this game & can not WAIT to play it. :)
I hope that dude at the end with white hair is Alucard... He was in Mirror of Fate if I remember right, so he should be in the following title as well..
Hopefully he is an unlockable character so we can once again swing around swords and shields like the good ol' days of Symphony of the Night.. That'd be nice..
So HYPED!! :D
Review 20 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
being Dracula
Posted on:11/24/12
commandoprojoe
Location: MASS
after playing number 1 i was very impressed by the difficulty and the shear size of the things you had to take down. and that's before he was even all vamped out. i hope they have some plan to restrain him from making the game too easy because of his new powers. if i had to guess they are probably going to make you have to obtain his powers so that your not just taking everything down within seconds. after all what castilvania game doesn't make you work for the winnings? also every battle felt fresh and no receptivity. there was always some big finish that make you feel accomplished.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 2 next>>