GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition

BEFORE HE WAS A GOD, HE WAS A MAN. Vengeance is born in the fires of betrayal in this prequel to the best-selling God of War franchise. Six months have passed since Kratos stood over the bodies of his wife and child, his hands stained with their blood - tricked by Ares into murdering the only people he ever loved. Swearing to avenge them, Kratos broke the blood oath that bound him to Ares, but oaths to Olympus are not so easily broken...
Average Customer Rating:
9.429
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Review 1 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
dolmy
i like you Kratos,all your brutal kills,skills everything.it's really nice to wacht out how you beat some ....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Love Kratos, But WAAAAY too many bugs!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/13
Phynese
Location: Queens, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think Santa Monica Rushed this game out for no reason! I am the Biggest Kratos fan! I mean I Purchased my PS3 because of God Of War! Lets start off by saying the collectors issue was a good buy! $79.00 was a great price and you get a lot! the statue is nice gave to my son! the disc contains the soundtrack ( just incase you want to experience being in the halls of Olympus) and other peripherals... But the game was a headache I mean the other day I took off from work and thought hey let me play GOW.. and I dedicated 5 hours for it to then freeze and I had to manually reboot the system.. when I started again I had lost 5 hours of gameplay... it has done it many times throughout the game also.. I am not the only one also some of my buddies had the same issue... I mean I'm waiting on Santa Monica to fix this issue..im disappointed with overall gameplay.. they should have taken care of this issue! but since I am a GOW fan ill look past it and just wait a while till ill play this game again,.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
THIS IS HOW A GAME SHOULD BE MADE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
HAZEEN
Location: CLOSE TO HEAVEN!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THE [ONLY[ THING THEY COULD IMPROVE ON IS INCORPORATING CO-OP! THIS GAME HAS EVERYTHING! IMPECCABLE STORY MODE !! ADDICTING AND WELL DEVELOPED MULTIPLIER! AND THE BEST SOUNDTRACK THUS FAR! THE MULTIPLIER IS SHORT OF NOTHING! I CANNOT WAIT FOR WEAPONS OR EVEN MORE GODS ON THE DLC PACKAGE! THE DEAL YOU GET WHEN GETTING THE COLLECTORS EDITION IS TOP NOTCH! THERE IS NOTHING MORE I CAN ASK FOR. ONE OF THE MOST SATISFYING GAMES OF MY LIFE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
This game is Spectacular!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/13
HeavenlyKing
Location: US
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is everything I have expected for it to be; brutal and spectacular! This is the most refined GOW game yet (YES EVEN BETTER THAN GOW3), with great combat additions, great variety on the scenery, nice puzzles and great pacing making this game an outstanding experience. It may be not as epic as GOW3, but that is because of it being a prequel, so Kratos cant fight a Titan or other things like that, but still it is freaking epic and ultra fun to play due to the whole amazing package the game is. The last boss fight is incredible!
The combat mechanics have some important changes. First of all you have a rage bar (like in previous GOW games) but when it fills, Kratos does more damage, and can do more moves. You fill it when you attack, and loose some when you are hit. So the game emphasis is to be very aggressive, while avoiding getting hit (dodging, blocking countering) in order to prevent your rage bar to get empty. It really changes the dynamic of the combat and makes it more intense, and satisfying. And also, instead of having it full and have more moves, and do more damage, you can unleash it in one heavy blow that deals damage to the enemies nearby depending on the elemental. So you have to see which tactic to use depending on the situation.
The weapons system in Ascension is really nice implemented in this game. For me better than in GOW3, because of instead getting different kinds of the same blades (that are not as useful as the original), you alter the original blades with elemental power and thus enabling you to some really crazy stuff. Each of them have their own magic similar to GOW3. I think of the Fire of Ares is the main Kratos blade because it charges rage faster than the other elements, but then when the gauge is full you can begin to change elements so that you obtain the benefits they provide: magic orbs, healing orbs, red orbs, gold orbs.
Also you have the ability of using weapons dropped in the stage an complement your combos, or if you dont feel like picking them up, there is a new melee system that is also really sweet. You can also use some gadgets in combat and slow time, or call a "doppleganger". The items are really useful in combat specially in that combat scene lol.
The grapple here is changed. Now you grab opponents with R1 instead of circle, and now you can do a lot more stuff while you have grabbed them. You can either hit the one you grabbed, throw him against other enemies, or even while grabbing him fight other dudes. The combat is freaking awesome as you may be already expecting.
Another addition to combat is that when a monster is about to die, and you trigger the killing minigame, there are some enemies, that offer a QTE-less minigame, and now you are the one to dodge and hit him when having the chance. Those minigames are really awesome because they have a cinematic feel, but you are in complete control. There are also the other minigames with QTEs, they are done very good too, so they dont take the action out of the game. In fact they bring a quite stylish cinematic appeal to the gameplay.
The puzzles and the adventure feel of GOW1 and 2 are back in here. The puzzles are small, but clever, and now you visit more scenarios making of the game a great adventure, with the best pacing in the series thus far.
The soundtrack is the best of any GOW game yet. Even though it has at times music featured in other GOW games, they have been changed and tweaked, making the experience even more epic. I am very glad they changed composer for this game, because even though the ST in previous games was superb, the same core music were on the 5 previous games over and over again, and it was about to become a bit boring really. But now the music feels so fresh, and epic too. The combat soundtrack, when having a great fight, increases the epic level over 9000!! :D
I only experienced some sound glitches few times, nothing major
How the story unfolds, needs more cutscenes I think, but it is good. You get a much deeper story experience than in any other GOW game, but it lack some development, and more story scenes. What I mean with this is that it would be nice to have short scenes in which they tell you more about the story between the main events. The story at times feels isolated, but it is good and compelling. The voice acting the motion capture is top-notch. But you dont get to see it that much in the game.
The game now features a new game plus option, which is really nice, because it adds even more replayability than before. And a chapter select feature so you can replay your favorite part of the game and/or search for collectibles that you missed.
If this game only had the single player portion it would be still the best GOW game out there, with a SP longer than GOW3. BUT there is more in the package, and that is the multiplayer.
The multiplayer is really cool and really entertaining. I picked up ARES as the olympian I would fight for, so that I can also be some sort of Kratos in the MP. Each Olympian gives to his champions different abilities, and some unique equipment with their respective atributes; so it is really cool to play against and with other people that have different kind of sets of moves, and look in awe their great attacks even if they are killing you. The game is well balanced, and even though it is based on MP modes we have already played in other games, the fact that this is GOW, makes them really fun and visceral to play.
The MP is not for button smashers, because the combat system is deep. It looks quite simple on paper, but it offers really good variations and opportunities for you to use in combat once you began to get more acquainted on how the mechanics work.
If you are a GOW fan, you will enjoy this game a lot!!! And if you are not a fan, and you just want to play a great action adventure game, if you play this game, and let it flow you will have an amazing experience with it. For me, this is the best action-adventure/hack n slash game I have ever played this generation. the gameplay, the music, the story, the graphics, are amazing, and together bring to life an outstanding package you can not miss. The finale is so epic! one of the best Boss fight I had in my life!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
So Far...So Good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
AzzKickr
Location: Belleville, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
While I'm not exactly finished with the game (I certainly hope not, hahaha) after being about 4-5+ hours in I'm still taken with the angles, the puzzles, features and graphics that the game is comprised of. With the same familiar fighting system slightly modified I love that I can get right back to the feel of Kratos in little to no time and I can't wait to get back into the arena online to destroy! My PSN is Venom417, see ya out there folks! Pros on the package: You get dlc for playstation all stars and many other in game valuables that you'd otherwise have to pay for. The game case in awesome, the statue is kinda cool, feels cheap but for $20 no complaints!Cons: What cons? This is god of war, there are no cons!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
BREATH TAKING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
g00d0fw0000r
Location: America
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
LOVE THIS GAME not the best god of war but still amazing!! You just cant top off gow 3 with a prequal, but if you like any gows you will love this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
its awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
TheBeastofSparta210
Location: San Antonio,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its awesome cause it comes with all this stuff so i could get my game on and play online with all my friends online with my season pass
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
worst game in the series
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/13
doomdox
I don't know what to say, honestly. After playing every other GoW title multiple times and being amazed each time, even the HD PSP ones, this game is garbage. The controls suck, the story mediocre, the graphics are worse than GoW3, idk, I never write reviews, except when a game irritates me to no end and this is one of them. Plus the Kratos statues' head is too small for it's body, so this game has been a disappointment since I opened the box.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
YAAA!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/13
Kent12525
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not a bad concept. LOVE the graphic of this and the gameplay as well. One minor problem that I'm facing is the delay of sound transferring to the headphone (I'm using the sony pulse headphone and it seem like there's a 1 or 2 seconds delay on it, especially opening chest or ripping monsters apart). Overall, I love the collector's edition for god of war ascension pack (with the exception of the gamestop employee actually gave me a wrong poster which I wouldn't mind).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Totally worth it!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
AcensionIsAlmostReleased
Location: illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome and I I would recommend this to everyone and I would even say this one is better than the third one
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
A TREAT FOR YOUR AUDIO AND VISUAL SENSES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
mojpeptan
Location: Houston, Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is NOT for kids. That's my one disclaimer. Other than that, I would absolutely recommend this. The story is deep. The characters are complex and the score is superb. In a world of FPS monotony, this genre is what reminds people why they love being a gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
such an awesome game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
pauly08
Location: monroeville,pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
now this is my first god of war game and i must say it is awesome!!! the graphics are amazing the gameplay is terrific i just wish i would have started playing all of the GOW games awhile back but now i cant wait to start playing the other ones :) but i havent played the multiplayer yet but for this type of game idk why they would have it so idk if i am going to play it yet but i highly recommend it!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
I Lose My Soul to the Game Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/13
LostHisSoul
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This amazing Collector's edition seriously has it all for just $20 more than the original pre-order! You would be a sucker for not pre-ordering this pack but now it's too late! I lose my soul to this game tomorrow when I get it and I will pay none stop (If I can lol). This game is amazing, the multiplayer was outrageously fun and the 30 minute single player demo was just what I expected.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
B3A$T!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
partyanimal501
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok!! heres the deal, I am a freak about greek mythology, and bloody and awesome games, so when a game comes out that is about both of those, i can't wait to be holding that game, and playing it to my hearts content, I have god of war 3 and it was beast, my favorite part is when you take hades soul. anyways this game also has multiplayer (FINALLY!!!!) that looks just as great as the story.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Cant Wait
Posted on:3/3/13
chefmarcelllus1
when i heard of this game i replayed all the god of war games, including Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta, but when i went to go preorder the collectors edition, it was sold out. Still cant wait till it comes out
Review 16 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
GOW best game ever made
Posted on:2/10/13
lakers91
Location: pomona
Preordered this on June 2012 n I can't believe we r just one month away from getting this...I am a huge GOW fan to get a 6' Kratos statue is mind blowing I cannot wait to get my hands on this game I definitely recommend u guys buy this...I preordered 2 copy's that's how big of a fan I am hey double the Kratos...for those who have never tried any GOW games I recommend u start now
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
This is the reason why I switch to ps3
Posted on:1/26/13
Knightknight
Location: ORLANDO,FL
Cant wait to get this game.Im 99% sure im not going to regret trading my xbox . I just wish i got the omega editon :( trying to look online , looks like nobody is selling thier omega edition , this is just a worth it game , just for 20$ more u get a ton of extra this is a no brainer.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sabinx7
McAllen, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Sabinx7 is loaded.
Additional information about Sabinx7 could not be loaded.
Omega Edition
Posted 3/10/13
I have one man, actually i'm selling it on ebay if you are interested, you should look it up
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
A MUST for Collectors and everyone
Posted on:1/24/13
PungYo
Location: Berkeley,CA
This Collector's Edition is a MUST for collectors, fans, and anyone new to the series everywhere! I'm getting into the this series myself and from what I've seen and know of the previous installments, I have to say this doesn't look like it will disappoint. And for the price? 80 bucks for DLC pass, a 6" statue, Tin steel case, 300's Leonidas skin, and a few other in-game stuff? This beats many other Collector's Edition ever came out! (I'm looking at you Mass Effect 3) Plus if you're new to this series like me, this is a great time to get in with the 'God of War Saga' floating out there packed with 5 full God of War games ( I think that's all of them) for only 30 bucks. So I see no reason why any fans and new comers would pass this Collector's Edition up :)
PS. I've heard that if you buy the "God of War Saga" used, you won't get the codes for the games you have to download from PS Store, so try to get it new for your ultimate God of War collection.
Review 19 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Statue Collector
Posted on:1/21/13
Sabinx7
Location: McAllen, TX
I'm really looking forward for this new game. I know that most of you are looking for something cool to add to your collection, and having 2 different statues of Kratos will do the trick, having this one from Ascension and from the Omega Collection will definitely be an eye opener. Can't wait to see how the whole story unveils.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Can't Wait!
Posted on:1/19/13
McCoy97
Location: Attleboro, MA
The game looks awesome! I have to admit I was hoping it was GOW4, but this game should fill that void. I really can't wait to see how angry Kratos is considering the game takes place very soon after the death of his family. Also, the collectors edition is totally worth it at an $80 price tag. Also, the introduction of multiplayer is a nice addition (trust me Iv'e played the beta.) None the less, I pre-ordered the collectors edition and I can't wait to have this game in my hands on March 12!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 2 3 next>>