GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

DOOM 3 BFG Edition

DOOM 3 BFG Edition is the ultimate collection of groundbreaking games that defined the first person shooter. DOOM 3 BFG Edition will be available this Fall and features DOOM 3 and the Resurrection of Evil add-on pack, both of which have been re-mastered for the consoles. The package also includes hours of new content - seven new levels entitled The Lost Mission'. DOOM 3 BFG Edition is slated for release for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PC and PlayStation® 3 - marking the first time any DOOM game has ever been released for the PlayStation® 3.
Average Customer Rating:
8.467
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1573%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Review 1 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Can't go wrong with this
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/13
scifidude93
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What can I say? DOOM is a classic series. It comes with DOOM 3 of course, the 2004 PC re-telling of DOOM. The graphics are pretty good. Not the best but hey it was 2004 and at least they re-mastered it on HD! The gameplay is somewhat simple, but that's what made DOOM and DOOM II so popular. Speaking of which, it comes with the classic DOOM and DOOM II. My only complaint is that sound is a bit lacking. But with DOOM, DOOM II and a revamped DOOM 3, plus the Resurrection of Evil expansion pack and new 8 new levels that didn't make the cut? For 19.99, that's a steal! Now if you'll excuse me, I've got a shotgun and some demons to kill.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
its good....for a while
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/13
peachers
Location: henderson nevada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i loved the old dooms and doom3 original was ok but this comes with doom 1 doom 2 and doom 3 with more polished graphics...the gameplay is good but it wont be goo comparing it to todays games its good and the multiplayer is...meh...i just play it for the nostalgia..its good and cheap the gameplay is still pretty good but the load time is terrible
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
JUST A FABULOUS REMAKE!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
HAZEEN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A MUST BUY FOR ANY FAN OF THE SERIOUS OR A GAMER LOOKING FOR TOUGH ENEMIES TO ROUTE! NICE SUSPENSE AND GREAT GUNS. A MUST BUY FOR ANY SHOOTER FAN.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/13
CoLD
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the first Doom game I ever bought and it's awesome. It has 3 Doom game's in one, but the price ($40 right now) is a bit off. Doom is a great buy for people who like scary games. Graphics are good, for Doom 3, of course... other 2 graphics are bad since they're old. Storyline is good as well. Excellent FPS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Can't stop playing once you start.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
JuggaloDC83
Location: Yuba City, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Love the gameplay, the graphics could be a little bit more in detail, but overall the game is killer, love the fact that the first doom from pc is on this verison, that is the best game ever made for pc, and now I own it on ps3!!! WHOOP WHOOP!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
"BFG" Blast From the Grave
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
roostercc800
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its been years sense i have played Doom. I remember playing it in my room and telling my mom i couldn't make it to dinner cuz i was busy doing home work when in all reality i was shooting monsters in the Frickin face!! This is a must have game for the "OG" gamers out there that spent hours playing Wolfenstine 3D and the original Doom. I have played through this game and was so glad that they included all the Doom games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
JoeyKangaroo
Location: New Mexico
I have never played a doom game before, so I got DOOM 3 BFG edition. When I first played, I played the original DOOM, which is insanely addicting, yet frustrating. After playing that, I played the Lost Missions, then DOOM 3. So far I love this game. It's fun and addicting. Even though this game was made back in '04, the graphics still look good. The gameplay is great and so is the sound. While DOOM 3 is not as scary as Dead Space, it provides plenty of jump scares, or startling moments. If ID had gone back and put more efforts into updating the graphics (updating them like Bungie did with Halo Combat Evolved anniversary), I feel the game would have been much more scary. My biggest complaint of DOOM 3 is that you never truly feel doomed because you get plenty of ammo. If you haven't played DOOM at all, I highly recommend this game. Not only do you get DOOM 3, you get DOOM 1+2 and all of the add-ons. I cannot wait for DOOM 4.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Excellent remake of Doom 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/12
VeshalG
Location: Washington D.C.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is still my all-time favorite first person shooter. And I own games such as F.E.A.R. 2, Killzone 3, Call of Duty, and RAGE. People can argue and say the gameplay and graphics of these games are way ahead of Doom 3 but Doom 3 offers the most intense horrifying hardcore first person shooter ever. Initially I would give this game an 8 or maybe 9 out of 10 because the remake of Doom 3 is missing a few goodies from the PC version from 2004 such as the quick save and quick load options and when you die in the PC version it lets you see the monsters and demons gawk at your rotting corpse for almost a good 10 seconds such as the demon knight letting out his outer space alien demonic monster roar as you lay dead and the screen slowly fades as the demon knight continues to gawk at your corpse. These are probably hardly noticeable to most gamers but it really gave the game the cherry on top for me. And also the checkpoint save system should be like the checkpoint save system in F.E.A.R. 2 while it saves your game as you are playing through the game with no annoying interruptions. The check point save system in this remake of Doom 3 seems outdated for some reason. Why ID software and Bethesda? Let's get with the program. It's 2012 with the gaming market probably the most competitive and hardcore as it has ever been. However, This has to be one of the best remakes to a classic game ever with the graphics looking almost as good as RAGE. This is the most intense shooter to me especially when I play the game with my EARFORCE DPX21 gaming headphones with its subwoofer base and surround sound which makes the monsters really jump at you in your face. I am really giving this game a 10 because I want people to push for Doom 4 which I hope is even more hardcore and terrifying than this game. Come on people!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Not Worth 40 Bucks
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/12
Niggles
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a first time Doom 3 player I was pretty excited about finally playing this game. Many people have said it was amazing. Sadly the game didn't live up to everyone's hype.The game itself was pretty boring at times and wasn't scary by any means. I felt the enemies could've been more terrifying. It's not to say this game wasn't good it just wasn't very entertaining. Also the graphical enhancements were not as good as I expected. This game still looks very dated and that was a bit of a disapointment. I also wasn't crazy about the price of this as I felt it was very steep for a game that came out in 2005. Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD was the same type of Graphical HD Remake (If not better) as Doom 3 and it is priced at $14.99. That being said I really can't recommend this game at the current price it's at. When it gets a price drop to $19.99 I would say it's worth getting but until then rent it like I did.
 
My Product Recommendations
Amnesia: The Dark Descent
9.9 out of 10(38)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 10 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Must have for Doom fans
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/12
Kaminari
Location: Las Cruces, NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At $40 this game is a steal. You get 3 great games for less then the price of a normal PS3 game. Not only do you get DOOM 3 with an added episode but you get DOOM 1 and 2. All 3 games play great and with the addition of online multiplayer on all of them how can you go wrong?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Not awesome.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
hammerofjustice93
Location: Atlanta
So, I got Doom 3 the day it came out. I was thinking to myself, "oh this looks cool." Big mistake. I bought it and when I got back to college I played it for about an hour. IT'S SO BORING! You just run around in circles killing "demons" (not scary at all). There is no variety of enemies. Most of the time you have no clue where you are going and there is no way to find out unless you just really really like it and bear with it. I don't like Bethesda games and I asked the Gamestop employee if that would matter and he said, "oh you should still like it anyway, it's a shooter not an RPG." Well, that part is true it is a shooter and not an RPG. However, IF YOU DONT LIKE BETHESDA DON'T BUY IT! The graphic are eh. Didn't really remaster that much. In conclusion, if you're on the fence about it don't buy it. If you've played Doom 3 years ago and you liked it there isn't much of a difference. Personally I think it's boring and I will stick to Dead Space. Hope my review was helpful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
CLASSIC HORROR/ACTION
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
HFBVHFBVUIBFEVIEFBNJHYUG
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok for an old game that came out back in the 90's and still a big hit today, this game still manages to strike fear and exitement i love it and the graphics and bonous missions are great, cant wait till DOOM 4 wich most likely will be next consol generation,
my only complaint is the online and multiplayer is pretty stale its ok just gets really hold and boring fast needs spiced up like maybe one team is the human survivers and other mutant beasts trying to kill each other that would be sweet, its just theres better multiplayer then DOOM, like Duke Nukem Forever has great online multiplayer but all in all for a classic collection plus bonous missions its worth $40 but i wouldnt of paid more then that still worth a buy though good scares, oh yea i was also woundering why final DOOM was not part of collection oh well lol i think DOOM 3 best anyways that is until DOOM 4 :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Perfect for old school gamers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
Erk151
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The bundle contains ALL 3 Doom games, plus expansion packs. I never had a problem with the sound quality of any of the games on there. They did fix some things though, for those that remember how you can't hold a Pistol and a flash light at the same time in Doom 3 well now you can.
The graphics are still dated but what do you expect for the DOOM series. Doom 3 does have support for HDTVs now though, with the faster rendering.
If you are a trophy hunter at all this game pack adds lots of replay value for going through the games and expansion packs on each difficulty.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Its a nightmare! (I mean this in the best way)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/12
Billclay1995
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is wicked! $40 dollars and you get a ton of content, the gameplay is smooth, the controls are great, and new content for a 8 year old game?! YES PLEASE! Do yourself a favor, you like ID games? You love Doom? BUY THIS AND LET THEM KNOW YOU ARE READY FOR DOOM 4!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
A Good Deal, But Not a Great One
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/12
CarrionRoc
I've been playing Doom ever since I was 9 or 10. I remember pouring hours into learning where every hidden area was and the best way to take out multiple enemies faster. I never played Doom 3 though because I owned a PS2 and my PC was never gonna be able to run something like it. So now I get a chance.
Right away let me say that the inclusion of The Ultimate Doom and Doom 2 plus No Rest for the Living (which I have yet to play) is great, but the sound is wrong. First off, let me say that the music level is turned almost all the way down in both games. Even with the music turned all the way up, the regular sound FX are louder when left at the default level. Doom's atmosphere is made up of the gameplay and sound, but the versions included don't sound like Doom. For example, in the Doom II level Underhalls, I'm not sure if there just isn't any music or what, but The Healer Stalks is a very distinctive song within the Doom games and I for sure didn't hear it. Robert Prince’s classic (and timeless) score is almost mixed out of this.
But enough about that, let's get onto Doom 3. Obviously as the original is from 2004 some textures are still rough; heads aren't quite as round as they'd look now. Graphically it's pretty good, but id is notorious for overdeveloping the tech and under developing other aspects. Doom 3 is no exception. As this game is quite slower than the previous games, I'd assume that the story was an important aspect. It appears I was mistaken. I don't know who the protagonist is, nor do I know who anybody else is. Sure, there are named people here and there but you never learn anything about them.
Gameplay is slow, environments are dark, and there are scares to not be jumped at. When I’m playing this all I can think is, “what are they gonna attempt to scare me with next?” Your flashlight barely holds a charge, which I guess is supposed to add to the “frightening” atmosphere. But it’s at least attached to your armor rather than having to switch to it like you did in the previous release.
One thing I hate is how none of the enemies from the original games look the same. The H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks Knight [can’t use “obscene” language in reviews] with his goat like features would have looked awesome with these graphics but he’s not here. Although the Cyberdemon does look sweet. The Barons are absent and the while we get classic zombies in the form of the turned security guards, the regular walking dead are just a generic nuisance.
Some enemies seem really overpowered even on normal. And the hit detection is really annoying sometimes. If I can’t take down a zombie with a single shot to the head then there’s something wrong.
I haven’t played Resurrection of Evil yet but I can’t imagine it being any better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UncleDuck
Miss.
 
Please wait while more information about UncleDuck is loaded.
Additional information about UncleDuck could not be loaded.
BRINGS BACK THE GOOD OL' DAYS
Posted 10/25/12
Played This YEARS ago On My Original XBOX,which still works perfectly. AND LOVED IT.Still Do. And Still Dont Play it W/The lights Out.Loading Time Is A Bit Of A Bummer,a.k.a, A Bit Long. BUT The Game Is Worth it. BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Cant wait
Posted on:10/15/12
dagomaga
Location: colorado co
I so going to buy this i saw the prevew it locks great this is so going tobe my favorite game i have never played the other ones
 
My Product Recommendations
MAG
8.3 out of 10(563)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
3 of my all time favorite games on one disc!!!
Posted on:10/10/12
Kratzilla
Location: Baldwinsville, NY
I've been a huge fan of iD software and Doom since I first installed the shareware version of Doom on my ancient computer in the 90's. I am so pumped to see they are releasing the Doom series on consoles, this is gonna be sick!!! I decided to pre-order this instead of Borderlands 2!!! And to all of you COD fans, don't buy this, it's actually creative and original, you won't like it, LOL!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
BACK TO ALL THE NIGHTMARES!
Posted on:9/2/12
kruell609
Location: Lawndale, CA
Back when this was out for xbox I couldn't sleep for days. When resurrection of evil came out, that was it sleeping was banned from my life for a good long time haha! I recommend this for all those who enjoy first person shooter and horror and for those who enjoyed the doom series! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
COOL GAME!!!
Posted on:9/1/12
TheWIZZ21
Location: Central
I cant wait for doom to come out it is a all time favorite of mine and have been a big fan of doom for a long time cant wait to check out the new features and game levels !!!!!!!!!!
Review 20 for DOOM 3 BFG Edition
Awesome game
Posted on:8/30/12
wheelchairboy88
Location: Amsterdam,NY
I can't wait for this game to come out saw the preview for it on xplay the other day and it looks totally awesome. I also have been a fan of the series since I played the first doom in the 90's.
1 2 next>>